Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greetings from NashVegas

Before I start with anything I want to address the Martini Park post from last week. The individual I was referring to in a negative connotation had given me false info. She was NOT the GM; she was the “director of marketing.” The GM of the “former” venue is a great person, who had NOTHING to do with the demise of this venue. The information relayed to me was yet another example of false truths from the “former” marketing director. However, I want to accept full accountability for corrupting the two individual’s titles. I would like to formally apologize to Carlos the REAL GM, of Martini Park who is was not only a good GM, but is an even better person. I wanna thank my good friend Tommy D., for not only addressing this issue, but in the manner in which he did. Tommy D., is not only one of the best DJ’s in the area…he is also a good stand up dude!

Also on a serious note, thoughts and prayers to all extended family, friends, and their loved ones in North West Ohio. The devastation from last Sunday’s Storms were the worst in recent memory, and left 7 dead. I talk about the wonder of and beauty of The Big Guy and Mother Nature a lot, well, in these cases we also see the power in which can be unleashed as well. God Bless all those up North and wished for a speedy recovery back to “Normal Life.”

Greetings from NashVegas. This is a HUGE week for my business, and me. I am truly blessed to have the chances I have; thanx to very good friends, great mentors, and of course the Big Guy above for allowing me to have “some” ability to do whatever the he** it is I do. I consider it an honor to have the chance to “Pay it Forward” and help out like I will be tonight here in Nashville for the Salvation Army flood relief show, headlined by my good friend James Gage!

Also on a side note; as random as my life and stories are; when James picked me up went back to his place. 1.) It is an old church (I slept on what used to be the alter) 2.) I am staying with him and his roommates. His roommates? The Crazy kids from Trailer Choir (Rockin’ Beer Gut, and Rollin through the Sunshine). Yep yet another Random “Forrest Gump” moments for me.

AND as I was just typing this, SCORED tixx to CMA awards! YEP I will be there!!! BTW I have an extra ticket if anyone wants to go!!!

After this Nashville run, I will be back in Columbus for Park Street Festival on Friday, and then due to a change in plans, will be doing the Charity Event for The World Cup at Easton. While I am excited to do This Easton event, I am bummed out.

I was looking forward to doing a GREAT wedding for a young man I watched grow up, and his beautiful fiancé’. They have an amazing story of Love, and timing, they shared with me. I made a decision that hurts me financially, but, I feel in my gut is the right call. I have been attempting to work with a wedding coordinator on this event. This person has been difficult, hard to deal with, manipulative, and attempts to disrupt my business and my other clients. When I addressed my concerns and what our protocol is on “game day,” this person refused to accept how our successful approach to events is handled. This person stated she had been in business for “6 years,” “was not looking forward to working with me,” and “would never recommend me.”

These statements forced me to look back on our 20 year history of being in business and the successes and #failures seen. I made a judgment call based on the best interest of the Bride and Groom on their day, and the future of my company. I do not wish to have my name associated with an event that is being sandbagged by a “coordinator” and jeopardize negatively affecting their day. With that said, I will not be performing at what looks to be a HUGE wedding. I want to thank my buddy Ken Justice for filling in and allowing the situation t start “fresh” allowing for the possibility of a great day for the Happy Couple! In closing on this subject, I found that the coordinator in question has posted in on her website that she has been in busies since 2008. I am NO MATH EXPERT, but, do not believe that is 6 years of being in business. With the statement “I will never recommend you,” I have been “ok” in the last 6 years and AWESOME the last 2 years. Why? Because I learned to do what is right, treat people well, and work hard WITH OTHERS! I have done ok, without her since (whatever year she started), and sure I will be ok in the future. With that said, when she realizes how events, things, and life “really do work. I will be there to work side by side. I had to learn the hard way…I just hope she doesn’t.

So this week I have been very melancholy and kinda bummed about the above, and a few other issues. As I was getting ready to come to The Ville, I was feelin a lil bummed and just blah…I put on my hat, buckle, and especially my boots and I HAD NO WORRIES! It was kinda funny when I was little my parents would take my boots away from me stating they made me 6 feet tall and bullet proof. In last 5 or so years my buddies can always tell when I have my boots on (not JUST cause I am taller!), but my chest comes out a little more, and sometimes my sleeves disappear. I guess that instead of going to a shrink when I am down…I will just “Giddy Up!”

It has been a BUSY week, and past weekend already. After returning to C-Bus on Sunday I scored some House passes to Muirfield for Golf Tourney. It was a great day hangin with friends as always, an ended up at Bogey Inn. This is the traditional spot to be during the tourney, but in recent years it has fallen off. But went anyway. I was there for about 10 mins before I was kicked out? For fighting? For Lipping off? For damaging something? NOPE!

I demanded to be treated like a customer and the bartender has THE EXACT SAME NEGATIVE ATTITUDE AS I ONCE HAD! This “rock star” behind the bar” snapped at a buddy of mine 3 times when he asked for a drink and certain kinds of vodka. This is not that big of a deal but the way in which we were addressed caused me to call out the young man. He did not like this and kicked me out. I went quiet and was cool, asked for a manager explained situation, let know I was respecting authority and left, and informed him, I had been behind bar before-had same attitude-and suggested he be given a break. The manager left (I found out actually owner), came back, apologized and bought my next round. All while the young man was storming out coming over to us stating he had been fired because of us. Another friend stated…no because of your actions. I was there at one point in my life…I just hope he, like the wedding coordinator “gets it” before they dig too big of a hole to dig out!

As I have said I have had some negative actions that I am not proud of, and….INTERUPTING (The Dance by Garth is playing in the background-How fitting!) some very hurtful experiences but there is power in everything good and bad if we find it. If you can’t? Well when driving down the highway of life…remember the rearview mirror (that you see behind you/where you have been), is much smaller than the front window (where you see where you are going). What’s in front is a bigger picture!!!

THOUGHT FOR WEEK:
If all was going your way all the time, you would become a spoiled child, wouldn’t everyone? Difficult people are just one of the ways God teaches us to expand beyond our egos and accept other perspectives on life.

GREAT SONG FOR WEEK: How bout you?

DROID:
QUESTIONS FOR DROID OWNERS:
1.) Which is better Droid of I Touch 4?

PASSING:
Yet another shirt had to go under the knife and sacrifice its sleeves

ENTERTAINMENT:
LETTER FROM MY BUDDY JAMES GAGE
Hey ya’ll!.. WEDS is the start of cma fest and a city of craziness!!..this is being sent to those of you who may possibly be coming down for the fun. A week from today is the CMT Awards. after the awards we’re having a big ole post awards party @ Big Shotz on 2nd Ave. located directly across the street from the Wild Horse Saloon. Myself and many other Artists, writers, and friends have been invited to come and jam out. and their feedback is awesome! i will also being giving (by silent auction) my own personal gibson epi that i personally paid for. and has my own wrap on the back of it.. all proceeds of the evening will be benefiting the Salvation Army.

For those who maybe weren’t aware. an unbelievable flood crashed Nashville and the surrounding counties. some businesses are just now opening their doors and many homes and lives have been changed forever. there will not be any charge to enter the all star jam. as this truthfully is dedicated to the fans of country music. all we ask is if you could throw in a buck or two into the bucket to benefit those who need bottled water. new clothes and a toothbrush. i was fortunate enough to live right in the middle of town and not be harmed in any way. but on the other side of the freeway, a half a mile there were businesses 6 feet under water!..incredible. the most devistating thing ive ever lived to see.

Many folks have come into my life in the last couple years of living here. they’ve all been invited in some fashion, even if its to come hang out for a few to show their support. i’ll be sharing some original music live for the first time here in nashville. only being heard on 107.1 nashville. and we’ll of course play all the great songs that you’ve always heard amongst radio throughout the country. all i can say is thank you for your friendship and the possibility of considering being a part of a cool evening. God Bless~ J

p.s.~ a special thanks goes to long time buddy matt sexton for driving down on his own $ to help host and fill in the gaps. and s.p.p.g. for paying the band as many of the musicians had lost there gigs for a couple weeks. please see the attached poster for details!

POLITICS:
Buy Arizona
Immigration law supporters rally at Arizona Capitol
PHOENIX — Hundreds of people supporting Arizona’s new law cracking down on illegal immigration rallied near the state Capitol on Saturday afternoon in soaring temperatures.

Hundreds of motorcycle riders kicked off the downtown Phoenix rally by riding in a procession around the Capitol. Supporters waved American flags and some carried signs that read “What part of illegal don’t they understand?”

The rally’s turnout fell far short of the march organized by opponents of the law last weekend, when an estimated 20,000 people gathered.

Demonstrators on Saturday sweated as temperatures reached 105 degrees. Some shaded themselves with umbrellas and clamored to buy cold water and ice cream from vendors.

“For them to come here when it’s over 100 degrees and stand in the heat — it’s awesome,” said 32-year-old Stephanie Colbert of Glendale.

Colbert, who works in a restaurant, said those who disagree with the law and boycott Arizona are misguided because they hurt the immigrant community they aim to support.

“The hospitality industry has a very large population of immigrants, legal and illegal,” she said. “It’s those people’s jobs that are in jeopardy.”

Colbert and her mother, 53-year-old Pattie Sheahan of Phoenix, said they strongly support the new law, which requires police conducting traffic stops or questioning people about possible legal violations to ask about their immigration status if there is “reasonable suspicion” they’re in the country illegally.

“Everybody needs to obey the same laws,” Sheahan said. “If you want to come here, there’s ways to do it. Do it the right way.”

The law, which goes into effect July 29, will also make it a state crime to be in the country illegally or to impede traffic while hiring day laborers, regardless of the worker’s immigration status. It would become a crime for illegal immigrants to solicit work.

Critics have said the law, known as S.B. 1070, will invite racial profiling, while supporters have said it will help fight illegal immigration.

Bill Savage of Phoenix wore a T-shirt that read “Viva los 1070.” He said he attended the rally to support Gov. Jan Brewer.

“We didn’t do anything new. We didn’t write a new law,” the 41-year-old said. “We simply stated what is supposed to be the federal law, and said we’re going to enforce it at the state level.”

Brewer has ordered a state police training board to prepare training standards to prevent racial profiling in enforcing the law.

Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, perhaps best known for his efforts targeting illegal immigrants, drew loud chants of “Joe, Joe, Joe!” when he spoke to the audience at the rally.

One man yelled to him: “We’ve got your back, Joe!”

Arpaio praised lawmakers for passing the law and reiterated that he’ll lock up as many illegal immigrants as his deputies can arrest.

“We’ll put tents from here to Mexico,” he told the crowd, referring to his famed Tent City, a section of the county jail where all inmates are housed in surplus military tents.

The Pennsylvania-based group Voice of the People USA organized the demonstration, which it touted as a grassroots effort. Attendees traveled from every region of the U.S., Voice of the People president Daniel Smeriglio said.

Former Republican Congressman Tom Tancredo of Colorado and GOP state Sen. Russell Pearce of Mesa, the author of the law, also spoke at the rally.

Illegal immigration is an expensive problem — and it’s getting more and more attention, said Tom Dodson, 48, of Tempe.

“I do feel that the public is really starting to take notice of it,” he said. “Now they’re starting to realize that a lot of money’s being spent on these issues.”

Matthew Perdie of Port Jefferson Station, N.Y., said he’s been walking across the country, from New York to California, to draw attention to “big government.” He decided to attend the rally to show his support for the immigration law.

“We’ve got a lot of problems with violence near the border,” the 24-year-old said. “It needs to be stopped.”

WHAT THE HE**!?!?!?
Are you kidding me? This story is not only tragic and sad…but those involved in situation are SICK!
WHAT THE HE**?!?!?
Arizona Elementary School Will Whiten The Faces Of Its Own Students On A Mural Because Some Racists Yelled At It

An Arizona elementary school mural featuring the faces of kids who attend the school has been the subject of constant daytime drive-by racist screaming, from adults, as well as a radio talk-show campaign (by an actual city councilman, who has an AM talk-radio show) to remove the black student’s face, and now the school principal has ordered the faces of the Latino and Black students to be changed to Caucasian skin.

F’ing hell. Read the rest of the details here. And here’s Richard Lawson’s reaction, at Gawker.

What can I say about this? We are talking about a bunch of mentally deranged adults, who have terrorized an elementary school, for daring to paint a mural featuring the faces of black and Latino children — actual black and Latino children who live in Arizona. And we’re also talking about a group of adults who have decided to send a stirring message to their students and the world: when a bunch of mentally deranged adults — and we are not talking about people who are particularly threatening, this is a bunch of utterly gutless mopes, yelling racial slurs from their cars, egged on by some pinhead city councilman cowering behind a radio microphone — threaten a bunch of children, the best thing to do is to accede to their psychotic, racist “demands.”

Seriously, educators of Prescott, Arizona, when some creep demands you whiten the faces of your own students on a mural, the correct response is to say, “No, we will not be doing anything of the sort.”

This story really should be blasted, far and wide. You cable news producers need to get this story in the mix with a quickness. And let me be clear to you all: there are no “two sides to this story.” This is not something you need to have a panel discussion about. CNN, I don’t want to see you plumbing the depths of your counterintuition on your website, or lending credence to the notion that the gutless mopes in their cars, shrieking racial slurs at the images of children have an interesting point of view that we should “hear out” because of the need to be “balanced.” This is your moment to decry, condemn, and brutalize these evil people.

Blast them to hell, or go jump in the Gulf of Mexico.

AWESOME STORY/READ
To Those of Us Born
1920 – 1980

At the end of this email is a quote of the month by Jay Leno.. If you don’t read anything else, please
read what he said.

Very well stated, Mr. Leno.

TO ALL THE KIDS WHO SURVIVED THE
1920’s, 30’s, 40’s, 50’s,
60’s and 70’s!!
First, we survived being born to mothers who smoked and/or drank while they were pregnant.

They took aspirin, ate blue cheese dressing, tuna from a can and didn’t get tested for diabetes.

Then after that trauma, we were put to sleep on our tummies in baby cribs covered
with bright colored lead-base paints..

We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, locks on doors or cabinets and when we rode our bikes,
we had baseball caps
not helmets on our heads..

As infants & children, we would ride in cars with no car seats, no booster seats, no seat belts, no air bags, bald tires and sometimes no brakes.

Riding in the back of a pick- up truck on a warm day was always a special treat.

We drank water from the garden hose and not from a bottle.

We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle and no one actually died from this.

We ate cupcakes, white bread, real butter and bacon. We drank Kool-Aid made with real white sugar. And, we weren’t overweight.. WHY?

Because we were always outside playing…that’s why!

We would leave home in the morning and play all day, as long as we were back when the streetlights came on..

No one was able to reach us all day. And, we were OKAY.

We would spend hours building our go-carts out of scraps
and then ride them down the hill,
only to find out we forgot the brakes. After running into the bushes a few times, we learned to solve the problem

We did not have Play stations, Nintendo’s and X-boxes. There were no video games, no 150 channels on cable, no video movies or DVD’s,
no surround-sound or CD’s,
no cell phones,
no personal computers,
no Internet and no chat rooms.

WE HAD FRIENDS and we went outside and found them!

We fell out of trees, got cut, broke bones and teeth and there were no lawsuits from these accidents.

We would get spankings with wooden spoons, switches,
ping pong paddles, or just a bare hand and no one would call child services to report abuse.

We ate worms and mud pies
made from dirt, and
the worms did not live in us forever.

We were given BB guns for our 10th birthdays, made up games with sticks and tennis balls and, although we were told it would happen, we did not poke out very many eyes.

We rode bikes or walked to a friend’s house and knocked on the door or rang the bell, or just walked in and talked to them.

Little League had tryouts and not everyone made the team.
Those who didn’t had to learn
to deal with disappointment.

Imagine that!!
The idea of a parent bailing us out if we broke the law was unheard of. They actually sided with the law!

These generations have produced some of the best
risk-takers, problem solvers and inventors ever.

The past 50 years have been an explosion of innovation and new ideas.

We had freedom, failure, success and responsibility, and we learned how to deal with it all.

If YOU are one of them, CONGRATULATIONS!

You might want to share this with others who have had the luck to grow up as kids, before the lawyers and the government regulated so much of our lives for our own good.

While you are at it, forward it to your kids so they will know how brave and lucky their parents were.

Kind of makes you want to run through the house with scissors, doesn’t it ?
~
The quote of the month is by
Jay Leno:

‘With hurricanes, tornados, fires out of control, mud slides, flooding, severe thunderstorms tearing up the country from one end to another, and with the threat of bird flu and terrorist attacks, are we sure this is a good time to take God out of the Pledge of Allegianc

YOU DA MAN:
DJ. Tommy D.
I would like to give a shout out DJ. Tommy D. Tommy is one of the “institutions” in the local DJ scene. I have “kinda” gotten to know Tommy in recent months, but have the utmost respect for him. Especially after he reached out to me when reading Martini Park info last week. He apologized TO ME! I had no clue why, he wanted to make sure he had nothing to do with my rant. He also informed me I was wrong in a very classes and non-aggressive manner. I not only learned from his phone call, but also found respect for someone I hardly knew! Thanx Tommy, keep dewin yer thang!

SPORTS
Jeter, Jay-Z won’t recruit LeBron to NYC
NEW YORK — The New York Knicks might want the Yankees to help recruiting LeBron James, but Derek Jeter doesn’t see the point.

“It wouldn’t make sense,” the Yankees Captain said.

Knicks president Donnie Walsh wants as many New Yorkers as possible to help convince James to choose Madison Square Garden when NBA free agency opens July 1. James is a Yankees fan, and has a special pair of Yankee-styled Nikes.

“If there’s Yankees that want to help us, we would involve them,” Walsh told the New York Post.

James’ good friend Jay-Z echoed Jeter’s sentiment on recruitment.

“That’s his decision,” the hip-hop mogul and part owner of the New Jersey Nets said in a Rolling Stone interview.

“We’re friends — we’ve still gotta hang out! I don’t want to convince somebody to do something, then have to see him and say, ‘Uh, yeah, we’re 4-30 … sorry.'”

CC Sabathia is also friends with James, but admitted he didn’t know what he’d say to persuade James to pick New York.

“You don’t have to sell winning in New York,” Jeter said.

“If I were going to another baseball team, how would a basketball player help?” Jeter said. “I don’t play basketball. I have nothing to do with that.”

Unaware of Walsh’s comments at the time he spoke about James, Jeter said he doubted the Knicks would ask him.

“I don’t see how it would work,” he said. “It is completely different.”

Jeter, who was a standout basketball player in high school, knows James a little.

“He’s a nice guy,” Jeter said. “He’s a big Yankee fan so I’ve gotten to meet him. I probably think of him as a player like everyone thinks of him as a player — he can do anything.”

MILITARY;
Zac Brown is doing an online documentary series from his dealings and interactions with OUR BRAVE MEN AND WOMEN. Check it out!
http://www.ramtrucks.com/en/letters_for_lyrics/

BUISNESS:
I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS WEDDING SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
I am currently a wearing a size 32 pant and not really doing much to maintain this. When I graduated from High School some (fill in the blank) years ago, I was at a 32. I am stronger and bigger and my waistline is the same. How? Visalus products. Check it out for yourself.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Or http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com

NEW SPRING 2010 FUNDRAISER MIX RELEASED FROM DJ DETOTO! I just finished 60-minute mixtape that I want you all to have… The catch is that the mix is for a FUNDRAISER..Please preview and download for my “Mixes for Charity” fundraiser at http://www.detoto.net/store/index.php?_a=viewCat&catId=17 I will donate all proceeds to my wife’s 1/2 marathon in Boston for Crohn’s and Colitis disease! THANKS! Pass This On!

QUOTES:
“Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful.” -John Wooden

“I’m watching the Jersey Shore preview… Snooki – ‘I don’t tan anymore because Obama added a 10 percent tax on tanning. I think he did that just because of us. McCain, he would never tax tanning. He’s really pale, he’d want to be tan.’

This is the future of America… Not scientists or doctors who cure cancer. Snooki as a political commentator” Pat Melton

I try and have a “school Boy Heart”-Jimmy Buffett so this is appropriate
There are only three things you need to let go of: judging, controlling, and being right. Release these three and you will have the whole mind and twinkly heart of a child.
~ Hugh Prather

someone with true empathy can experience the joy they create for others when doing good deeds
“Successful people are always looking for opportunities to help others.
Unsuccessful people are always asking, “What’s in it for me?” “-Brian Tracy

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

WEDNESDAY:
I am playing Nashville and opening up FanFest after the Awards with my Buddy James Gage for a Salvation Army Relief show for the recent flood victims

THURSDAY:
Park Street Festival w/
The 17th Floor
The White Tie Affair
Red Wanting Blue
Cartel
DJ Bombay

Smoke ’em if ya got ’em… Snoop Dogg plays The Newport Music Hall

FRIDAY:
I am the host DJ at Park Street Festival along with
Saving Jane
Lovesick Radio
Lt. Dan’s New Legs
OfHuman
Brave Youngsters

Synge plays Captain Jack’s
The Filthy Habits play Papa Boo’s
Dr. Awkward at Captain Woody’s

SATURDAY:
I will be doing a HUGE event for the City of Columbus, and raising monies for local charities at Easton Town Center. I will be rocking a stage with my good friends LoveSick Radio, and The Bourbon Kings…as CENTRAL OHIO, and The United States of America Celebrate The USA in The Football World Cup. Stop out to Easton Saturday June 12th at 4pm!!!

A Special Surprise Guest plays Captain Jack’s
Acoustica and Soul Kitch’n play Papa Boo’s
Acoustic Mayhem
Batteries Not Included play Captain Woody’s

Park Street Festival
Smash Mouth
Naked Karate Girls
Dot Dot Dot
Bourbon Kings
Andy Shaw Band
World Famous Weedeaters
Jonathan White
DJ N.A.T.E. and DJ Skys

SUNDAY:
Chris Logsdon plays Papa Boos
The Menu’s play Captain Woody’s

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:
Joel Lindley plays the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

MORE TO DO ALL WEEKEND:
Broadway Across America-Columbus: Presents Chicago at The Palace Theater

IN THEATERS:
It’s The early 80’s all over again in the theaters!

I am in the 4th grad all over again!!! ‘The A-Team!!!’ Starring; Liam Neeson, Bradley Cooper, Quinton “Rampage” Jackson, Sharlto Copley, and Jessica Biel. TEAM is rated “PG-13”

‘The Karate Kid,’ staring Jaden Smith, and Jackie Chan, rated “PG-13”

DVD:
‘Shutter Island’ (great movie to fall asleep to, should be called “Shutter Eyeland”) rated “R.”

John Travolta stars in ‘From Paris with Love,’ rated “R.”

ON MUSIC SHELVES:

Dierks Bentley releases Up on the Ridge

Lee Brice releases Love Like Crazy

Jewel has Sweet and Wild

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton

June 9, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

