Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thoughts (and dreams) for the week!

These mailers are usually filled with some events, and few experiences I have encountered over the past week, and my personal take on “life.” All along with some small hope of faith, belief, victory, success or whatever you want to call dreams/goals. I will be honest…I got NOTHING right now. Feel free to send me some of YOUR thoughts cause I am emotionally drained. Seems that there are a lot of negative events shaping up in the world, and…what seems like even more in my own personal space.

I have some “small” big moments, that allow me to get by, like a stressful morning and running around in the heat to see a mother duck and her ducklings (is that the correct term) not in a pond, or pool…but in the sprinklers of a flower bed. That was kinda cool. I dig these kind of small wonders…but I gotta be honest…they are not making up for some of the B.S. I am experiencing OR seeing.

I had about 6-8 paragraphs of “crap” written. I erased them-I want to focus on the positive. I will just say I am in a low point, probably like some many other people. I will come out of all this a better and stronger person-regardless if I get what I want. I will say; I am at one of those “valleys” in the mountains. Yet I know there have been high spots in my past, and WILL BE some amazing altitudes in my future. I guess we all have dreams, sometimes we are violently awoken from a sound slumber interrupting those dreams. I was not tapped awake, or even shook. I was hit with a mutha f**king baseball bat!

Yet even with the current feelings, situation, and whatever…I am trying to be positive. One of those old timer stories of hope come to mind.

“During a drought, there were 2 farmers, both praying for rain to make their crops grow. Both men prayed the same amount and with the same emotion. The difference was while one farmer was sitting back hoping for a miracle, the other was preparing his farm, expecting a miracle. The farmer who prepared his field received the needed rain, because he prepared and believed it would happen.”

I am down right now…but continue to prepare my field; I believe and expect things will get better!!!

Focusing on the good:

I have feelings for someone and just want her happy

THE USA Soccer Team is making history

I finally opened up on some personal emotions/feelings of which I have not done in 16 years

I wake up above ground every day

I got a new bike (feel like a little kid ridding everywhere)

There are those small “I saw God Today” moments

I am lucky enough to have the talents, and ability to help others…and have the intestinal fortitude (AKA BALLS!) to want to

I have just landed a gig for OSU Home Football games, and been offered a position with a local sports marketing company.

THOUGHT FOR WEEK:
You have these problems because you need the gifts they carry within.

GREAT SONG FOR WEEK:
I was taught to fight, taught to win
I never thought I could fail

No fight left or so it seems
I am a man whose dreams have all deserted
I’ve changed my face, I’ve changed my name
But no one wants you when you lose

DROID:
QUESTIONS FOR DROID OWNERS:
Seriously I NEED a calendar program any suggestions?

PASSING:
Amanda Bynes Career
Amanda Bynes is done acting, the 24-year-old star announced on Twitter.
“Being an actress isn’t as fun as it may seem,” she tweeted from her verified account. “If I don’t love something anymore I stop doing it. I don’t love acting anymore so I’ve stopped doing it.”

However, she admitted that she’s a little young to call it quits already.

“I know 24 is a young age to retire but you heard it here first,” she tweeted. “I’ve #retired.”

Following her star-making roles on Nickelodeon’s sketch comedy “All That” and her own show on the network, “The Amanda Show,” Amanda starred alongside Jennie Garth on the WB sitcom “What I like About You” and hit the big screen in such films as “She’s The Man” and “Hairspray.”

If she holds true to her retirement revelation, her last film project may be the fall comedy “Easy A,” co-starring Emma Stone, due September 17.

JUST FOR FUN:
For my friend down in Gatlinburg who went and got Ben & Jerry’s (while I could not) and HAD to rub it in…LOL
New Ben & Jerry’s flavors debut at Target, taste like volunteering

New Ben & Jerry’s flavors debut at Target, taste like volunteering – Minneapolis / St. Paul Business Journal

Target Corp. will carry two exclusive flavors of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream at all of its stores as part of a new partnership for the two companies to promote volunteering.
The two flavors are:
• Berry Voluntary is raspberry cheesecake flavored ice cream laced with white chocolate chunks and raspberry swirls;
• Brownie Chew Gooder is vanilla caramel ice cream with fudge brownie pieces, finished with a caramel swirl.
The new flavors were created to encourage customers to volunteer in their local communities through a promotion called “Scoop it Forward.” An affiliate website helps shoppers find volunteer opportunities in their neighborhoods.
After registering for a volunteer activity — and forwarding the volunteer program to five friends — that person and each of his or her friends will receive a coupon for a free pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream, redeemable at Target stores, while supplies last. (Customers can participate more than once, but subsequent volunteering will be rewarded with a $1 discount coupon rather than a free pint).

ENTERTAINMENT:
I don’t understand soccer, but, it sure has been fun and entertaining to watch and experience. Regardless of the “bad calls” (so I have been told they are-he** I have no clue if they are), it is fun to see this country surround a team representing THE USA in the World Spotlight. AND have you noticed the USA Soccer Team has adopted the “Don’t Tread on Me” Rattle Snake Logo that was used when fighting The British in Colonial Period, used my Marine Corp Companies, AND The Tea Party Movement to tell the Government this country is for “THE PEOPLE.”

POLITICS:
With all the problems facing day to day life (and Ecosystems) in this Country, we have found that President Obama has found time to read Rolling Stone Magazine, a magazine I dropped my subscription to in 1996. President Obama is upset he is being criticized? Why does he have expert Generals if he will not listen to their expertise?

Here is the link to the full article:
http://www.rollingstone.com/politics/news/17390/119236

YOU DA MAN:
For those on facebook, please add Ben at I ♥ The Bean

Ben was two-and-a-half years old when he was diagnosed with Neuroblastoma, Stage IV. By the time doctors figured out what was wrong with Ben he was loaded with disease in his bones and bone marrow. He had a big tumor on his adrenal gland.

Ben endured 15 months of intensive therapy including high dose chemotherapy, multiple surgeries, a bone marrow transplant, radiation, and months of oral chemo and antibody therapy.

In June, 2005, he finished his treatment and his scans showed no evidence of disease! He remained cancer-free for four years.

In July, 2009, a routine scan found a mass growing behind Ben’s heart. A biopsy proved that neuroblastoma had returned. Ben had just celebrated his eighth birthday.

Ben’s been back in the battle for an entire year. He’s endured lots more chemo. Too many rounds of radiation. Multiple surgeries. Lots of painful procedures. We’ve recently begun traveling from our home in Colorado to NYC for an antibody therapy that we’re hoping will save Ben’s life.

I ♥ “The Bean”. Those of you who know him highly regard him. Those of you who don’t, well, join this group and you’ll learn quickly that “The Bean” is one amazing little dude!

Here is a an example of a blog devoted to him
Keeping Up Appearances…
Saturday, June 12th, 2010
Happy Birthday, Stronger Than I Look! You’re a year old now. You’ve reached all those milestones of rolling over, sitting up, eating cereal, sleeping through the night, crawling, and now you’re even walking. You’ve come so far but there’s still a long journey ahead of you. A whole life to be lived. Keep growing, little baby. You can do it.

I realize that I’ve posted just 1/3 of the last 12 months and missed many National Holidays along the way. I’ve decided that my blog will continue to celebrate National Holidays and how they apply to my life, since, oddly enough, they almost always do. Plus, I missed National Tap Dancing Day in May and you know I can’t miss posting on THAT particular holiday. Going forward, if I happen to post on a holiday that I’ve already discussed, well, I’ll reevaluate and see if anything else applies. Maybe something’s changed. Or maybe I’ll just find out what the word of the day is and see if I can use it in a sentence.

Regardless, I’m going to keep writing since I’ve got so much to say. I can’t keep it in because it drives me insane. Writing is my outlet. And if I don’t “say it, I’ll spray it”. Man. I haven’t used that childhood phrase for a long time. But it’s fitting here. Not writing about life will sit in me like the contents of a bottle of Coke that’s been shaken. Pop the top and KA-BOOOM! I’m sure you’d rather not have the contents of my life hit you in the eye and drench you with the high fructose corn syrup that embodies me.

So, I’ll keep up appearances that I’m Stronger Than I Look. I’m invincible, right?

Hardly. Today, I am exactly as strong as I look. I’m sitting here in the Ronald McDonald House in New York City at 1:27 PM on a Saturday. I’m still in bed, my Colorado Avalanche night shirt looking a little worse for wear. My hair is pulled back in a messy bun. Yesterday’s small bit of eye makeup still adorning my eyes, although it did slide down my face a bit. I’m a wreck.

Ben is playing Super Mario Galaxy 2 and excited about a two day break from the hospital. I’m letting him decide what he wants to do instead of having events planned for him – no required trip to a museum or National landmark – so he’s planning to go to the pet store on Lexington (he wants a small dog so very badly) and go see a movie (either Marmaduke or The Karate Kid). A low-key day is just fine with me.

I have to admit that I’m starting to enjoy New York City (Rhonda, you can say “I told you so” again!). I like knowing where things are. Dylan’s Candy Bar is on 3rd and 60th. Serendipity is just down the street from Dylan’s on 60th. Ben gets his Chicken McNugget fix on 1st Ave and 69th. Nintendo World is at 10 Rockefeller Plaza, just off 48th. I buy Madeline a supply of earrings on Lex and 64th and mail her a package every couple of days, so she knows we’re thinking of her while we’re here in NYC. The pet store we go to nearly every day is on Lexington, between 61st and 62nd. This place is the highlight of Ben’s day.

The pet store employees know Ben and are always excited to see him come through the door. They call out “BEN!” like he’s Norm from “Cheers”. They give him the option of picking out any dog he’d like to play with and we take it upstairs to one of the little play rooms. Lately, he’s been picking out a little Pomeranian he’s named “Princess”. She’s a wonderful puppy. She is very playful and Ben is hopeful that he can take her home when we leave NYC this time. Without bursting his bubble completely, I try to encourage him to just visit with her and enjoy the time we do have together. Don’t make too many plans. Take each day for what it is. I’m kinda tired of living life that way. I’m desperate to make plans. Solid, concrete plans. All the while, completely understanding that even solid, concrete plans change – even for those with a “normal life”.

I’m tired of not having a plan. Or having a plan that changes all the time. For instance, just when we felt like we finally had this radiation hooey all figured out (how many cycles, how many times a day…) our oncologist throws in a bonus round of chemo in conjunction with the radiation. Really? Thanks! That really made our day.

I haven’t written since arriving in NYC because the plan has changed at a rate that spins my head. We keep purchasing one-way tickets between Denver and NYC because we never know the plan or how long we’ll be here. As it stands currently, we’re here through June 25 to finish his 20 cycles of radiation (10 days, two sessions each day) and complete the necessary scans to “plan” what’s next. What I’m hoping will come next is finally getting started on this antibody therapy. Supposing this radiation does what it’s supposed to, we’ll leave here on June 26, start shots in Denver on June 30, and be back in NYC to start antibody therapy on July 5, which will go through July 9th. Then, maybe, just maybe, we’ll have a more predictable schedule.

If this plan doesn’t work out then I don’t even want to contemplate what will come next. If this next phase doesn’t happen that means that the radiation didn’t do what it was supposed to. That means that Ben isn’t clear of disease. That means that he might not be curable after all. That means that a life that is already fraught with emotional terrorism will escalate from Orange to Red (according to the color-coded chart compliments of Homeland Security).

But I’m not supposed to go there, right? Okay. I won’t.

One way that I’ve been able to work out my worries while in NYC is through walking. I walk everywhere. I borrow a wheelchair from The Ronald or from the hospital and I push Ben all over the city. It’s an exercise in dedication to find the perfect wheelchair for Ben. It has to be roomy enough for him to lay in the fetal position when he gets tired, there cannot be an IV pole attached to the back, the wheels must be properly aligned (or I’ll be stuck with what can only be described as a reject cart from WalMart). And it can’t have any gadgets or gizmos on the back that will interfere with walking. Yesterday, I maimed my toe on the metal gizmo that allows me to pop a wheelie over the curbs instead of dumping Ben out on the street. The injury I sustained yesterday hurt tremendously. I wanted to sit down and cry, but Ben was asleep in the chair and we were in the middle of Times Square. It was fairly crowded so I had nowhere to truly sit down to have my little pity party. I’ve decided though that I missed a grand opportunity to make some money. If only I had a cup, people might have felt bad for “The Crying Woman Who Was Bleeding And Had A Sleeping Kid With Cancer In A Wheelchair”. Passers-by might have thrown a dollar or two our way. Hey. It’s New York City. It could happen. Instead, I continued to walk to Central Park and up 5th Avenue leaving a tiny trail of blood. It was on my jaunt across 72nd street that I witnessed a pedestrian get hit by a taxi cab. He was thrown off his feet and out of the crosswalk. I heard his muffled cry from just a few steps behind me only to turn and see him flying through the air. The man was able to get up shortly thereafter. Fortunately, my autopilot kept making me walk until I had pushed Ben to the other side of the road. I stayed until I heard sirens and then walked the rest of the way back to The Ronald. Shaken. In need of a change of underwear.

So now I can add to my Times Square sign. “Crying Woman Who Is Bleeding And Has A Sleeping Kid With Cancer In A Wheelchair. Witnessed A Pedestrian Get Hit By A Taxi. Need Money. And Fresh Undies.”

Oh, this trip hasn’t been all bad. Sure, we’ve been shocked with additional chemo. Maimed by a wheelchair. Witnessed a man lose a match with a taxi cab. That’s some craziness right there. But we also got to participate in a dedication here at the Ronald McDonald House. Ben read a poem to the guests. I spoke about how great The Ronald has been to us. They gave us a box of butterflies to release, but since it was raining, we brought them back to our room to release the next day. Well, Ben decided to release them in our room that evening. Two days later I am still shooing butterflies out of our room through the teeny tiny crack of our seventh floor window. I’m guessing that The Ronald has had a suicide attempt or two since opening their doors here in NYC because you cannot open the windows more than an inch.
Guess those of us who are on edge will have to take the subway down to the Brooklyn Bridge to end our sorrows.

Or cross at 72nd and Madison.

Thanks, loyal readers. I cannot thank you enough for walking with me through this nonsense.
For more info and to read these amazing blogs http://strongerthanilook.com/

SPORTS:

Titus drafted by Globetrotters

Mark Titus was among six players drafted by the Harlem Globetrotters today, giving the former Ohio State walk-on better known for his Club Trillion blog a chance to continue his basketball career.

It’s an opportunity he plans to pursue. He will try out for the roster during training camp in late September and early October.

“I’m taking it very seriously,” Titus said when I talked with him earlier today. “I’m going to try to do it.”

This would be GREAT
In this time of reorganizing football conferences, let’s do this one
Introducing … The Big Rodeo Conference
Oklahoma State Cowboys, Wyoming Cowboys, McNeese State Cowboys, Boise State Broncos, Cal Poly Pomona Broncos, Santa Clara Broncos, South Florida Bulls, Buffalo Bulls

MILITARY;
Suits for Soldiers
Great American Suits for Great Americans Contest
Operation Homefront is proud to be working with Hunter & Lords & Media Source for this great project! Hunter & Lords is proud to do our their part to support our American military heroes. Making the transition from military uniform to professional business attire can be challenging. Please nominate an Ohio serviceman who you believe deserves to win a custom-tailored men’s suit and dress shoes.

Please visit their website for contest rules and to enter
http://www.hunterandlords.com/suits-for-soldiers/

WHAT THE HE**:
Pirates Fire Racing Pierogi Mascot For Criticism
Racing Pierogi Mascot Fired By Pittsburgh Pirates After Criticism Of Team On Facebook

(AP) PITTSBURGH (AP) – The Pittsburgh Pirates are down a pierogi.

The team fired one of the people who races in the dumpling-shaped costumes because he criticized the contract extensions given to general manager Neal Huntington and manager John Russell on his Facebook page.

Andrew Kurtz of New Brighton participated in the Pirates’ in-game pierogi race – a knockoff of the Milwaukee Brewers’ racing sausages – about four times a month.

The Pirates said the 24-year-old Kurtz was already under suspension because of a previous violation of team rules.

An independent minor league team, the Washington (Pa.) Wild Things, immediately offered Kurtz a job as one of its racing hot dogs.

BUISNESS:
I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS WEDDING SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
I recently ran 2 miles in 18 minutes, with a 2 minute warm up, walk. I know this is not much to some of you. BUT to my fat A** and stumpy legs I was very proud of this accomplishment. I have made this and other physical gains thanx to the products of Visalus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Or http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com

INSPIRATION:
That tomorrow you will harvest the seeds you sow today. What kind of seeds do you need to sow today, so tomorrow turns into the dream you have always wanted?

QUOTES:
“The bad news is time flies. The good news is you’re the pilot.” – Michael Altshuler

It cost u nothing 2 dream,, and EVERYTHING not to

Happiness is something you decide on ahead of time!

If you live in the past you will repeat it. If you worry about the future you will create the things you are worrying about. If you take positive actions in the present moment you will experience more peace and become successful and fulfilled. Fear of the future creates stress. – Keith Cameron Smith
You are judged by how much hope you can muster up daily! #NEVERLOSEHOPE!!

“Listen to the mustn’ts child. Listen to the shouldn’t haves, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me. Anything can happen child. Anything can be.”

Truth is, everybody is going to hurt you; you just gotta find the ones
worth suffering for.” -Bob Marley (I am not sure anymore)

Conversation with my buddy John Jurden
Me; Dude it is much easier to not care
John: But not near as much fun!!!
John: Haha. Cool! Glad ya dropped all your macho bullshit! Its okay to care about people!

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

FRIDAY:
DownPlay…and ME! plays Captain Jack’s

Eric Dove and Green Light Go play Papa Boo’s

Dirty Martini is at Captain Woody’s

SATURDAY:
Blood, Sweat, and Beers play Captain Jack’s

Dan & Randy play Papa Boo’s

Teddy Krunkspen and Calendar for Preston play Captain Woody’s

SUNDAY:
Contagious Till 4 plays Papa Boos

Barbed play Captain Woody’s

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

Bobby Lee plays the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

MORE TO DO ALL WEEKEND:
ComFest
For more info http://www.comfest.com/

IN THEATERS:
Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Chris Rock, David Spade, and Rob Schneider star in the best “buddy movie” since Die Hard, “ ‘Grown Ups,’ rated “PG-13.”

DATE MOVIE: Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz star in ‘Knight and Day’ rated “PG-13.”

DVD:
‘Green Zone” staring Matt Damon rated “R.”

‘She’s Out of my League’ rated “R.”

ON MUSIC SHELVES:
Jaron & the Long Road to Love have Getting Dressed in the Dark

Miley Cyrus is letting loose with Can’t Be Tamed

My buddy, Matt, Uncle Kracker has Happy Hour: South River Road Sessions

COMING SOON:
Independence Day Weekend, I am playing The Meadowlands (former) Home of The NY Giants, and NY Jets

ALSO BETTER DAYS I AM SURE!!!

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton

June 25, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

