Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greetings during a weekend “Off”

A whole weekend not gigging. Oh what to do? To start off, I hope you will make plans to join me NEXT weekend Aug 5, 6, 7 for the 2010 Deerassic, near Cambridge Ohio. THIS IS MY FAVORITE EVENT OF THE YEAR! The Deerassic Classic is the most unique event I take part in.

Some call it the Woodstock of “The White Tailed Deer,” some call it “Woodstock with Horns.” Yea I know, what the he**? I thought the same thing when I was approached to be part of this. This event is over 102,000 strong for a weekend of fun, outdoor lifestyle, Music, and COLD HARD CASH! You don’t have to be a hunter, or even a NRA card holder to come down to Beautiful Easter Ohio and in enjoy a GREAT party.

In addition to being a HUGE party, I will share the stage with local comedian (and friend) Jon Petz, along with Musicians; Tom Jackson, Frankie Ballard, Ruff Creek, Daryle Singletary, Andy Griggs, Rhett Atkins, and my BOYZ Lo Cash Cowboys. NEED MORE how about over a MILLION DOLLARS IN PRIZES AND COLD HARD CASH!!! Check out what you can win ATTACHED!!!

This is a great event for ANYONE even if not an outdoorsman, deer hunter, NRA supporter or whatever. If nothing else it is a great chance to grab a cooler (BYOB!!!) and just…people watch. For more info enjoy the following video:

http://www.deerassic.com/deerassic30s.html

or for tixx

http://www.deerassic.com/DeerassicClassic.aspx

Also to expand my social networking abilities, and “circle” would you please take a minute to add me on “LinkedIN.” Also if you don’t mind take a minute to “endorse” or “recommend” me? It only takes a minute and I will do the same. No matter if you are a friend, associate, client, competitor, referral agent, reader of this blog, or whatever…your endorsement and add would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to follow this link;

http://www.linkedin.com/profile?viewProfile=&key=7340104&locale=en_US&trk=tab_pro

SO; Greetings from The Home Office in Dublin Ohio, for the 3rd week in a row. I was supposed to be on the road, but due to some renegotiating I am at home, and actually have a weekend OF NOT WORKING AT ALL!! This does NOT mean I have not had a productive week. So far already signed 5 contracts, got 2 HOT leads, set plans for a 3rd long term contract, sold 2 new “packages”, helped someone with their dream, linked 3 people to better each other, did a workout package for a friend, ran 20 miles (with 13 left for week), lifted over 3.5 tons, and MADE SURE TO TELL THE PERSON I CARE ABOUT HOW I FEEL…AND MAKE SURE I SUPPORT HER UNCONDITIONALLY. After all of this, would love to say “…when will someone do something for me,” but won’t; there is satisfaction helping others and then self!

I love to work, and especially when my work helps someone else. With the way I like to work…I guess it runs parallel with my TV watching. I am a HUGE fan of reality TV, but not the (what I consider) the cheesy crap. Not a big fan of the ‘Bachelor/Bachelorette,’ out grew ‘Real World,’ and despise those “Housewives.” I enjoy shows about people who WORK and how their unique personalities are infused in their jobs.

“Find out who you are becoming find stories that move your heart. Just like a seed has an image of the tree in it, so does your heart have an image of who you are becoming. Look for stories in movies and books that resonate in your heart, and you will find glimpses of your possible futures.”

From ‘Cake Boss,’ to ‘Orange County Choppers’(a favorite), to ‘Deadliest Catch’ (RIP Captain Phil), to ‘Dog The Bounty Hunter’ (MY BOY!!!), and even The FAT KID shows I am digging. EVEN THOUGH I AM NOT A TREE HUGGER AND BELIVE YOU GOTTA “KILL IT BEFORE YOU GRILL IT” I DON’T LIKE WHEN ENDANGERED SPECIES ARE THREATENED-really diggin ‘Whale Wars’ chronically the adventures of The Sea Sheppard. I love to see other people passionate about what they do, and work hard at it. I really like when the shows show these folks “giving back.” Too many times we get wrapped up in our own success and forget how to “pay it forward.”

Paying it forward, doing for others, remembering history (make sure to watch military video), doing for others are some of the forgotten things NOT being passed on to the next generations, or even reminding ourselves. I was made aware of this, and another area being ‘missed out on” after a “debate” I had with a neighbor regarding “edict.”

I believe there is a time and place for everything and core values should be kept regardless. Maybe I am TOO Old School, or maybe it is the “Cowboy in Me?” When chewing gum, don’t make it look like you are “Mr. Ed” chawing on some curd. Open doors for young and older ladies (and watch yer MOUTH when talking around a lady!), but the one thing that bothers me MORE THAN ANY OTHER MANNER ISSUE IN THE WORLD IS HYGENE, AND INSIDE APPEARANCE.

I saw this first hand in church last week. The person giving the message wanted to let everyone know that “all are welcomed” in the church. I DIG THAT. He encouraged folks to dress as they feel comfortable-I kinda dig that. He brought a person up front who was wearing a BALL CAP INSIDE AT CHURCH, and chawing on his gum. I AM SORRY BUT EVEN IF YOU DON’T HAVE ENOUGH RESPECT FOR YOUR SURROUNDINGS; have enough respect FOR YOURSELF to look, and or act presentable. Hats should be removed during “reverence” moments, National Anthems, when inside, when at tables, and when saying hello to someone. This area is NOT being passed on by any eldor (I now include myself into that role). Encourage manners, pass it on…even if it is not yer own kid. MAYBE help an adult who was not taught?!?!?

There are a few exceptions to this form of “doing right”-one being sporting events. That brings me to another per-peeve. I KNOW WE LOVE OUR BUCKEYES…but no matter if the Scarlet and Grey shirt cost $100.00 IT IS STILL A SPORT TEAM BASED APPAREAL. The price tag does NOT make it a dress shirt. I get FURUIUS when I see someone in nice clothes at a “formal” or at least “nice” event and the person they are with is wearing an Ohio sport team outfit. TAKE NOTE, these items are NOT appropriate when there is a resteraunt that is not focused around a bar, COME ON!!! I mean some of my most expensive jeans are expensive cause they were bought with holes in them…I would not wear them in certain situations, even if they cost more than some of my suits, BECAUSE IT IS NOT APPROPRIATE! The same areas of my wrath can be brought on by excessively overweight people. Take enough pride in yourself to enjoy your favorite foods BUT IN MODERATION!!!

On that note, with The Ohio State Fair opening this year I would like to share a few of my favorite Fair Food Items; (and yes I DID focus on that transition)

1.) Deep Fried Oreos (one of the best things EVER)
2.) Donut Burgers (2 sweet glazed donuts with a salty, greasy hamburger in-between. THIS IS AMAZING)
3.) Lemonade, or as I call it Sugar Water with a slice of Lemon…but SO GOOD!
4.) Italian sandwich-I know anybody can make it, but it just tastes better when at a fair covered in peppers
5.) Tie fair fries and corn dogs. Both are so simple yet just taste better when deep fried in non health code compliant grease. I think the stench of fair “attendees” and “carnies” add to the aroma

With this being a lot of peoples first week training for the Columbus Marathon (as I am training for the half), you MAY be able to afford the above. Next week, we shall go over my favorite “training” songs.

So it has been a very productive week, and looking forward a restful and productive weekend. To all my buddies, and friends I have had the honor of spending time with, THANK you for that chance. I am glad schedules worked out. AND TO that OTHER PERSON, I hope to have the chance to spend more time with you this weekend…

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:
Life is like trying to nail Jell-O to a wall. It will end either in surprising triumph, or a complete mess. Regardless; the wonder, intrigue and fun in trying makes it worth it!!!

First time does not work? There are a lot of walls in life (that need to be broken down), and we all know…there is “ALWAYS ROOM FOR JELLO!” Enough practice to make it fun!!!

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
Kinda suns it all up…
HOLY SH**T. This sums it all up!!!

“I used to love ’em and leave ’em
I’d brag about my freedom
How no one could tie me down
Then I met you…

I saw the light
I’ve been baptised
By the fire in your touch
And the flame in your eyes
I’m born to love again
I’m a brand new man”

DROID:
I want to find the app that I can hold phone up around radio, at concert, or at bar and it will tell me the song playing. Thoughts?

HELP:
“Strangers are friends waiting to happen.”

In the next few weeks I will be asking for assistance. Not for me, but for Friends of Mine and Strangers to you. I have friends who are organizing a dart tournament for Operation Homefront, others who are attempting to better themselves by accomplishing some physical goals (in the Nike Woman’s Race)-while raising monies for kids/villages in Africa, and OUR ARMY/NAVY game group is starting to organize for this year’s event on December 11th. Wherever your interests, heart, and wallet guide you, please consider assisting some of the groups that need YOUR assistance, even if it is someone NOT associated with my groups-JUST DO SOMETHIING FOR SOMEONE!!!

PASSING:
“I like to believe that my best hits border on felonious assault.” Jack Tatum…

Jack Tatum, a three-time Pro Bowler with the Oakland Raiders and a star at Ohio State, died Tuesday of a heart attack, according to multiple reports. Tatum was 61.

A first-round pick by Oakland in the 1971 draft (No. 18 overall), Tatum earned a reputation as one of the hardest hitters to ever play in the NFL — a fact played out in his nickname, “The Assassin.”

“I like to believe that my best hits border on felonious assault,” Tatum once said.

His hit on Sammy White in Super Bowl XI, a game won 32-14 by the Raiders, still endures on NFL highlight reels. Tatum’s most punishing tackle, though, came on Patriots wide receiver Darryl Stingley during a 1978 preseason game. As Stingly went up for a pass, Tatum delivered a crunching blow high, paralyzing Stingly.

Tatum also played a role in one of sports’ most famous plays, “The Immaculate Reception,” Franco Harris’ dramatic playoff game-winning touchdown catch for the Steelers. It was Tatum’s hit on Pittsburgh’s Frenchy Fuqua that redirected a Terry Bradshaw pass into Harris’ arms. Harris went on to score a touchdown to give the Steelers a 12-7 victory.

After nine years with the Raiders, Tatum was traded to Houston in 1980, then retired following the season.

Tatum was a three-time first-team All-Big Ten player for Woody Hayes’ Buckeyes from 1968-70 and twice earned All-America honors.

After retiring from the NFL, Tatum battled with diabetes, a disease that wound up forcing the amputation of all five toes on his left foot, then later his right leg.

ENTERTAINMENT:
I have always said I wanted to go Sky-Diving; it is even on my top 5 “To Do” Lists every New Year. Last week I was told someone I care about lost a friend who died while skydiving. With that said…I still want to, but, out of respect for her…I will not mention it again. BUT here is something that has also always fascinated me. I love animals, and the water…this is a GREAT week for TV. Shark week on Discovery starts Sunday! Been with dolphins, watched walesa
http://dsc.discovery.com/tv/shark-week/

MUSIC:

Tiffany and Debbie Gibson Talk About Maturing Miley

Newly grownup Miley Cyrus has drawn a fresh supporter — and it’s someone who’s been the down teen-idol road before. In an interview with Us Weekly, ’80s pop star Tiffany defended Hannah Montana’s risque new image. Seventeen-year-old Cyrus has been criticized for behavior that many feel is not befitting a teen who is not yet of legal voting age. The “Party in the U.S.A.” singer most recently came under fire for wearing a skimpy bodysuit to June’s Much Music Awards, where she performed her new single “Can’t Be Tamed.” And the tight, black leather pants she wore for an MTV concert last week can’t be winning her any fans in the modesty department.

The video for “Tamed” was itself called out for being too risque as was Miley’s “Britain’s Got Talent” appearance. On the show, the teenage triple threat faked a sultry kiss with a backup dancer.

Asked about today’s teen singers, Tiffany stuck up for Miley, whom she feels is vying for viability in a market defined by pop-stars-as-sex-symbols. Tiffany believes Cyrus is stepping into the more mature image “appropriately,” something she partially attributes to the guidance of the young performer’s parents. About Billy Ray and Cindy, Tiffany explained: “It really matters what base you have around you. Very much so.”

Tiffany’s former ’80s rival, Debbie Gibson, has a different take on the newly grownup Miley. Debbie, who has met the young star, praised Cyrus’s talent and her down-to-earth attitude, but described her the image as being “a little too much too soon.” The “Electric Youth” singer feels there’s nothing wrong with embracing childhood, and wishes Miley would realize this before it’s too late.

But Debbie — who prefers to be called Deborah now, thank you very much — all grown up now, as is former pop-chart foe, Tiffany. The two made an appearance at San Diego Comic Con last weekend to promote their upcoming film “Mega Python vs. Gataroid” — a sci-fi flick about a mutant snake attack. In “Python,” Debbie and Tiffany will fend off the monsters as a pair of Florida women who are once again caught up in rivalry.

I was always a Tiffany fan as a kid, now I am a “Deborah” fan, since I learned she wrote her own songs (before Taylor Swift made It cool). BUT Tiffany DID pose in Playboy so…Brings up the question Debbie or Tiffany?

Since DeVo is from O-H-I-O, AND playing The State Fair Next week…
http://vitality.yahoo.com/video-second-act-mark-mothersbaugh-21098726

This is out now

POLITICS:
While “Our” Commander in Chief was busy gabbing it up with the ladies from “The View” (OK I admitted to watching Bret on there but not OBAMA!)-this appearance was more important than going to the 100th Anniversary Celebration of a small organization of “TRUE Community Organizers,” also known as THE BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA!!!

IS IT CHANGE OR BLAME?

Obama’s message to voters: Things could be worse

WASHINGTON – President Barack Obama, who rocketed to the White House promising “change you can believe in,” is now telling voters they shouldn’t change a thing.

His message for the fall elections, which are looking ominous for his Democrats, is that Republicans caused the nation’s economic troubles, but he and the Democrats are starting to fix them. So stick with the Democrats and don’t go back to the GOP.

“This is a choice between the policies that led us into the mess or the policies that are leading out of the mess,” Obama said recently in Las Vegas.

Trouble is, it’s a tough sell to voters who’ve seen little progress.
Unemployment is stuck near double digits and polls show many voters have decided Obama’s policies are to blame, not his predecessor’s.

Obama often frames the argument by saying that Republicans had their chance to drive, then drove the car into a ditch and shouldn’t get the keys back. But voters may be concluding that Democrats, who control the White House and both chambers of Congress, have had their chance at the wheel, too, and haven’t gotten very far.

“From the American public’s point of view, the people in charge at this point are the people who own the problem,” said Andrew Kohut, head of the nonpartisan Pew Research Center.

Obama’s challenge for the next four months is to turn that perception around.

So he’s traveled, from Buffalo, N.Y., to San Francisco, reminding voters of the mess he faced when he took office: a shrinking economy, lost jobs, weak markets, aneconomic crisis becoming international in scope.

Now, even though unemployment hasn’t dropped to the 8 percent level the administration once projected, the economy is gradually picking up and adding jobs, the president says. Putting Republicans in power, he contends, would reverse the momentum.

But the White House knows it can’t just be about blaming George W. Bush, though the former president’s enduring unpopularity helps Obama’s case. Obama must try to take it a step further and get voters to view

Republicans now running for office as little more than extensions of Bush who would advance the ex-president’s same policies.

“This isn’t about relitigating history,” said Obama senior adviser David Axelrod. “This is about history repeating itself.”

Will the strategy work in an election year roiling with anti-incumbent sentiment? That’s not yet clear, though it hasn’t appeared to boost Democrats’ standing much so far.Midterm elections typically deal a drubbing to the president’s party anyway, and for Democrats it could mean losing control of the House.

Republicans say they intend to keep the focus on Obama’s policies, which they cast as deficit-busting, big-government boondoggles. “Democrats can attempt to spin it any way they want, but unfortunately for them this election is going to be a referendum on the president and his party’s failed economic policies,” said Rep. Pete Sessions, R-Texas, chairman of the National Republican Congressional Committee.

But Obama’s pickings were slim when it came to campaign themes.
The narrative that worked so well when Obama was a presidential candidate offering himself as a transformational figure who could change Washington is no longer at his disposal. He can hardly claim to have delivered on that promise because he hasn’t changed Washington, at least not much, as he’s acknowledged.

Obama’s stacked up a remarkable, if controversial, string of legislative successes, from last year’s economic stimulus bill to the health care law and now the financial overhaul bill. But his vaunted eloquence on the campaign trail has often seemed to desert him as he’s tried to sell those policies to the public. To the 14.6 million people out of work nothing else much matters anyway.

At the same time, the desire for change that Obama helped ignite is still burning. But this time it may work against him. As Bush recognized shortly before leaving office, calling for change is a luxury denied to incumbents.

“I was the guy in 2000 who campaigned for change. I campaigned for change when I ran for governor of Texas. The only time I really didn’t campaign for change is when I was running for re-election,” Bush told ABC News in December 2008.

In the end, trying to convince voters that things are moving in the right direction, although not as fast as he or they would like, might be the only message Obama can reach for.

“Is it the best that they can do, I think, is really the question. And I’d have to say yes, it is,” said Stephen Hess of the Brookings Institution.

So Obama tells voters every chance he gets that things would be a lot worse if not for the stimulus bill and other steps he took. At least the recession never became a depression, the president says.

Proving a negative is a hard argument to make, but Obama keeps at it. He has little choice.

Sometimes, the president sounds confident the message will get through.

“Americans don’t have selective memory,” Obama told NBC News recently. They’ll remember “the policies that got us into this mess as well.”
Other times, he doesn’t sound so sure.

“I know that sometimes people don’t remember how bad it was, and how bad it could have been,” Obama said in Racine, Wis.

So this election year, instead of beckoning voters to change the future, Obama is just hoping they’ll remember the past.

MILITARY:
Today, only 2 percent of the people know the name of someone serving in uniform. That means 2 percent of your listeners can actually conjure up the image of someone wearing the uniform of the military of the United States.
Oliver North

This is MOVING, God D**N IT, watch this, and WE MUST REMEMBER, AND LEARN FROM THE HERO’S THAT HAVE SERVED!!!

Better late than never?
France declares war against al-Qaida

PARIS – France has declared war on al-Qaida, and matched its fighting words with a first attack on a base camp of the terror network’s North African branch, after the terror network killed a French aid worker it took hostage in April.

The declaration and attack marked a shift in strategy for France, usually
discrete about its behind-the-scenes battle against terrorism.

“We are at war with al-Qaida,” Prime Minister Francois Fillon said Tuesday, a day after President Nicolas Sarkozy announced the death of 78-year-old hostage Michel Germaneau.

The humanitarian worker had been abducted April 20 or 22 in Niger by al-Qaida in the Islamic Maghreb, and was later taken to Mali, officials said.

The killers will “not go unpunished,” Sarkozy said in unusually strong language, given France’s habit of employing quiet cooperation with its regional allies —Mauritania, Mali, Niger and Algeria — in which the al-Qaida franchise was spawned amid an Islamist insurgency.

The Salafist Group for Call and Combat formally merged with al-Qaida in 2006 and spread through the Sahel region — parts of Mauritania, Mali and Niger.

Officials suggest France will activate accords with these countries to stop the terrorists in their tracks.

“It’s a universal threat that concerns the entire world … not just France or the West,” Defense Minister Herve Morin said Tuesday on France-2 television. “We will support local authorities so these assassins and (their) commanders are tracked, judged and taken before justice and punished. And, yes, we will help them.”

Algeria, Mauritania, Mali and Niger in April opened a joint military
headquarters deep in the desert to respond to threats from traffickers and the al-Qaida offshoot. U.S. Special Forces have helped the four nations train troops in recent years.

The United States said it would help the French “in any way that we can” to bring those who killed Germaneau to justice, according to U.S. State Dept. spokesman P.J. Crowley.

“There is no religion that sanctions what can only be described as cold-blooded murder,” Crowley said Tuesday.

Fillon refused to say how France would act. “But we will,” he said in an
interview with Europe 1 radio.

And perhaps it already has. On Thursday, the French backed Mauritanian forces in attacking an al-Qaida camp on the border with Mali, killing at least six suspected terrorists. It is the first time France is known to have attacked an al-Qaida base.

France said it was a last-ditch effort to save its citizen, while Mauritania said it was trying to stop an imminent attack by fighters gathering at the base.

For the French, the move may have backfired. The al-Qaida group said in an audio message broadcast Sunday that it had killed Germaneau in retaliation for the raid. However, French officials suggested, however, that the hostage, who had a heart problem, may already have been dead. Even now, “We have no proof of life or death,” Morin said.

“We can expect an increase in the French riposte,” said Antoine Sfeir, an expert on Islamist terrorists who has traveled in the region.

An estimated 400-500 such fighters are thought to roam the Sahel region, a desert expanse as large as the European Union.

Despite meager numbers, the region’s al-Qaida fighters pose a clear threat.

Among the more recent victims, a British captive was beheaded last year and two Spanish aid workers were taken hostage in Mauritania in November. Spain is working to free them. Mauritanian soldiers also have fallen in numerous attacks.

The head of the French Institute of Strategic Analysis suggested the French government’s rhetoric was normal.

“It’s important to make that kind of announcement,” Francois Gere said. “I think it’s made of the same stuff” as former U.S. President George W. Bush’s tough line on al-Qaida.

But “a government has to make clear it must respond strongly” while maintaining the discretion needed to ensure cooperation, Gere said. In the past France has been cautious because those governments don’t want the appearance of interference from the West, he said.

Spain has maintained a low profile as videos by the al-Qaida franchise regularly call for the conquest of “al-Andalus” — a reference to the period of Muslim rule of much of Spain in medieval times.

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:

PSA for the National Parks that encourages people to carry pepper spray when they hike rather than firearms, which now are permitted in national parks. Timing is everything…now for this story (bet PSA is now recut!)

Jack Hanna repels charging grizzly in national park

Columbus zookeeper Jack Hanna pauses during a 5-mile hike along a narrow trail with deep drop-offs in Glacier National Park. His quick thinking kept a group of hikers safe on a trail where two people were severely mauled in 2005.

Jack Hanna repels charging grizzly in national park
A close encounter with three grizzly bears on a narrow hiking trail in Montana has made a pepper-spray believer out of Jack Hanna.

The nation’s favorite zookeeper still sounded shook up yesterday as he told the tale by phone in dramatic, Hanna-like detail.

It started Saturday when he and his wife, Suzi, were returning from a 5-mile, late-afternoon hike to Grinnell Glacier in Glacier National Park on a narrow trail with sheer cliff on one side and a steep drop-off on the other. Three hikers from Minnesota were close by.

They all rounded a corner of the trail and, 30 feet ahead, saw a mother grizzly bear and two large cubs heading their direction on the trail.

“We thought of letting them go by, but the trail was cut into the rock and was too narrow,” Hanna said. “So I said: ‘Everybody talk loud and we’ll back up until we can get off the trail.'”

So for about five minutes – Hanna said it seemed like 30 – the five hikers slowly backed up as the three grizzlies continued walking up the trail toward them. Two other hikers, a man and his 10-year-old son, were coming down the trail and began backing up, too.

Then Hanna saw a small rocky clearing they could back into just off the trail.

“I said, ‘Crawl up the hill and put your backs against the wall.'”

The seven of them did, and the mother bear and one cub went by. About 15 yards farther, the trail widened and those two bears wandered away into the clearing.

The second cub, however, just looked at the hikers and didn’t budge from the trail. Then the cub – Hanna estimates it weighed 125 pounds – started to run toward the hikers.

“We don’t know where to go,” said Hanna, the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium’s director emeritus.

But Hanna had a canister of pepper spray, and he held it up as the bear rushed toward them.

“At about 30 feet I unload my pepper spray, and the wind takes it,” he said.

The bear kept coming.

“Then I unload the second spray.”

The bear kept coming.

“Then the third time I unload that pepper spray right in his face.”

The bear turned around and fled.

Hanna said he’s been carrying pepper spray on hikes for 15 years, but it’s the first time he’s used it.

The incident proved to be timely.

Hanna recently filmed a public-service announcement for the national parks that encourages people to carry pepper spray when they hike rather than firearms, which now are permitted in national parks.

“You can’t do anything with a grizzly; they can run a football field in seconds,” he said.

A California man and his daughter were severely mauled by a mother and two cubs in 2005 on the same trail.

Hanna said park personnel fear that hikers with guns might accidentally kill someone.

And he’s sure he never could have averted a bear attack with a firearm.

“There’s no way I could hit that bear with a gun,” Hanna said.

YOU DA MAN:

The Ohio State University let me back in when I messed up. And a Buckeye is still a Buckeye, no matter if in tree, or if fallen to the ground. Come on Buckeyes, WWWD, What Would Woody DO? He would kick him in the a** and then show him support. WE must do the same. AND he would be GREAT working with kids. Have you read his daily blogs? He has accepted his mistakes and wanting to move on and better his/others lives. I welcome him back. We all get second chances. This time Mo…”Pay it Forward!” Do yer job as a Buckeye to make sure no one else makes the same mistake as you. I got yer back!!! Time and CHANGE will surely (truly) show, How firm thy friendship … O-HI-O!

Prodigal Son?

Clarett returns to OSU

The former running back is back at Ohio State as a student.
Maurice Clarett has returned to the Ohio State University campus, but don’t look for him on the football field.

The university confirmed Monday evening that Clarett has enrolled for classes.

“Maurice Clarett has been granted reentry into The Ohio State University, following a review by the College of Education and Human Ecology, where he was originally enrolled. Maurice resumed his academic career on July 26 for the start of the second half of the university’s summer quarter. Due to the Federal Education Rights andPrivacy Act, the university cannot discuss details about any current student,” university spokesman Jim Lynch said in a statement.

Clarett also released a statement saying he was happy to return to the OSU campus.

“This is a surreal feeling to be back at Ohio State in such a supportive environment. I have looked forward to being back in school and I’m doing my best to fit in with other students. I don’t want to be a distraction or nuisance to the football team or to students on campus,” he said.

Buckeye fans like to remember him most for his role on the field when Ohio State went undefeated and won the national championship in 2002.

But Clarett ran afoul of the law beginning in 2003 when he was suspended from the team for filing a false police report.

In 2004 Clarett sued the NFL to be included in the draft. He lost the case in on appeal, but did enter the 2005 draft where he was taken in the third round by the Denver Broncos. He never played a down for the team and was released in August of that same year.

On January 1, 2006 Clarett he was charged with aggravated robbery after allegedly robbing two people outside The Opium Lounge before taking one of their cell phones.

Police tried to pull Clarett over after he made an illegal u-turn on August 9, 2006. Instead of pulling over he led police on a chase. He reached a plea deal with prosecutors and was sent to the Toledo Correctional Institution for 3½ years.

Clarett was granted an early release this April.

Background
Tressel remains squarely in Clarett’s corner

Jim Tressel made it clear today that not only has he spoken with star-crossed former running back Maurice Clarett regularly in recent months, but that he will continue to help Clarett attempt to get his life back together.

Clarett returned to the Ohio State campus on Monday after enrolling in the second summer session. He is still an inmate in a step-down correctional facility in Columbus, where he has lived since being released from a Toledo prison in April.

Highlights from what Tressel said this week:

“We’ve been working for about the last three months trying to get the I’s dotted and the T’s crossed and get him back in and moving toward a degree. In fact, he just told me today, after his first day of class yesterday, he said he woke up at 4:30 and he grabbed his book and just started studying. He was excited, he says he’s going to do well and he said it’s just so neat for him to be back in the classroom.”

On whether Tressel believes in the phrase, “once a Buckeye, always a Buckeye:”

“Oh absolutely. Anytime someone is part of your life, even if it doesn’t go well, when you try to get it squared away, you’ve got to continue to be there for him. That’s just the way we do things.”

On whether it’s rewarding to see Clarett taking a positive step:

“It’s what you hope for. We all make mistakes, and some are different mistakes than others, but there are always consequences for whatever the mistake is. And if you take care of that, usually the world is a forgiving world and gives you an opportunity — if you’ll do the right things — to move forward, and that’s what he’s trying to do.”

WHAT THE HE**?
Judge blocks parts of Arizona immigration law

PHOENIX – A federal judge on Wednesday blocked the most controversial parts of Arizona’s immigration law from taking effect, delivering a last-minute victory to opponents of the crackdown.

The overall law will still take effect Thursday, but without the provisions that angered opponents — including sections that required officers to check a person’s immigration status while enforcing other laws.

The judge also put on hold parts of the law that required immigrants to carry their papers at all times, and made it illegal for undocumented workers to solicit employment in public places.

U.S. District Judge Susan Bolton ruled that the controversial sections should be put on hold until the courts resolve the issues.

The ruling came just as police were making last-minute preparations to begin enforcement of the law at 12:01 a.m. Thursday and protesters were planning a large demonstrations to speak out against the measure. At least one group planned to block access to federal offices, daring officers to ask them their immigration status.

The volume of the protests will be likely be turned down a few notches because of the ruling by Bolton, a Clinton appointee who suddenly became a crucial figure in the immigration debate when she was assigned the seven lawsuits filed against the Arizona law.

Lawyers for the state contend the law was a constitutionally sound attempt by Arizona — the busiest illegal gateway into the country — to assist federal immigration agents and lessen border woes such as the heavy costs for educating, jailing and providing health care for illegal immigrants.

The opponents argued the law will lead to racial profiling, conflict with federal immigration law and distract local police from fighting more serious crimes. The U.S.Justice Department, civil rights groups and a Phoenix police officer had asked the judge for an injunction to prevent the law from being enforced.

“There is a substantial likelihood that officers will wrongfully arrest legal resident aliens under the new (law),” Bolton ruled. “By enforcing this statute, Arizona would impose a ‘distinct, unusual and extraordinary’ burden on legal resident aliens that only the federal government has the authority to impose.”

The law was signed by Republican Gov. Jan Brewer in April and immediately revived the national debate on immigration, making it a hot-button issue in the midterm elections.

The law has inspired rallies in Arizona and elsewhere by advocates on both sides of the immigration debate. Some opponents have advocated a tourism boycott of Arizona.

It also led an unknown number of illegal immigrants to leave Arizona for other American states or their home countries.

Federal authorities who are trying to overturn the law have argued that letting the Arizona law stand would create a patchwork of immigration laws nationwide that would needlessly complicate the foreign relations of the United States. Federal lawyers said the law is disrupting U.S. relations with Mexico and other countries and would burden the agency that responds to immigration-status inquiries.

Brewer’s lawyers said Arizona shouldn’t have to suffer from America’s broken immigration system when it has 15,000 police officers who can arrest illegal immigrants.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?
Ohio State Fair butter cow features two NFL players (THAT FEW HAVE HEARD OF!)

This year’s newest butter creation at the Ohio State Fair features two NFL players, Joe Thomas of the Cleveland Browns and Chinedum Ndukwe of the Cincinnati Bengals.

The American Dairy Association Mideast, who sponsored the display, decided to feature the players to promote a new program to help children stay healthy.

The sculptures were unveiled at noon today in the Dairy Building on the fairgrounds, where it’s kept in a 45 degree display case to keep it from melting away.

The traditional butter cow and calf also are on display, sculpted anew this year by a team of artists from Cincinnati. They worked 392 hours and used a ton of butter for the display, equal to 8,000 sticks of butter.

Last year’s sculpture paid tribute to Ohio’s dairy farmers. It depicted three generations of a dairy family as well as a veterinarian, all made of butter.

The first butter sculptures appeared at the fair in the early 1900s.

SPORTS:
12 Reasons Why the Ohio State Buckeyes Will Go
12-0 in 2010

The following 12 “reasons” why the Buckeyes will go “12-0” are more along the lines of justifications of why Ohio State will win each game. There’s not much else to say as far as the intro goes, so let’s dive on in

Last season, Ohio State opened up against Navy, a team whose triple-option offense can give opposing defenses headaches, even if a defensive unit is familiar with slowing down this particular style of offense.

Ohio State actually did a pretty good job of stuffing the run, but was still burned by two touchdown passes, including an 85-yarder late in the second half.

Marshall poses no such threat when they visit Ohio Stadium Sept. 2 for a rare Thursday night game in Columbus.

The Thundering Herd lost their best offensive player, Darius Marshall, to the NFL. Although their quarterback, Brian Anderson, has plenty of experience, Marshall’s offensive line doesn’t, which plays right to the strength of the OSU defense.

Watch for: Marshall’s defensive line. If the strength of Marshall’s defense can force Terrelle Pryor into turnovers, they can keep themselves in the game.

In the end: Marshall’s offense won’t be doing much of anything. OSU should win handily

In each of the past two seasons, the Trojans handed the Buckeyes devastating mid-September losses. The former was a complete thrashing, the latter was a heartbreaker.

OSU fans haven’t forgotten. Nor have the players. They know what is at stake. A shot at the BCS title game may be lost with another early-season defeat.

That’s not to say Miami of Florida won’t come looking for a fight. Although no current Hurricane played in the 2003 Fiesta Bowl, I’m sure boosters, former players, and fans alike have been spoon-feeding them revenge since this game was announced.

This group of Hurricanes is no stranger to big games either. They’re trying to restore glory to “The U.”

Last season, they opened the season against four ranked teams, winning three of them and finished the season 9-4 after a loss to Wisconsin in the Champs Sports Bowl.

Watch for: Jacory Harris. Think Terrelle Pryor-light. If he can space out the green Buckeye secondary, Miami has a real chance.

In the end: The Silver Bullets will be too much for Harris. Expect defensive coordinator Jim Heacock to take a page out of Virginia Tech defensive coordinator Bud Foster’s playbook and pressure the bejesus out of Harris. Last season the Hokies forced Harris into an interception, a lost fumble, and misfires on 16 of his 25 passes

Ohio gave the Bucks fits two years ago in Columbus. The Bobcats actually led 14-12 going into the fourth quarter.

I don’t see a repeat in 2010.

Ohio, which runs a pass-heavy pistol offense, is breaking in a new quarterback. The Bobcats were No. 11 in the MAC last season in rushing offense. That’s double the offensive headaches for OU head man Frank Solich.

Watch for: If OSU is coming off a loss, I wouldn’t want to be wearing green and white come Sept. 18.

In the end: Since I don’t see OSU dropping to Miami, Ohio would be well-served to try and jump out of the gates early. Maybe try and surprise OSU with an onside kick or trick play. Big brother OSU will win easily for what seems like their 900th straight win against an Ohio college.

Frankly, I’m a bit embarrassed that Ohio State is playing Eastern Michigan.

Rivals ranks EMU No. 117 out of 120 teams in their preseason rankings.

The Eagles are headed by former Michigan defensive coordinator Ron English and haven’t won more than four games in a season since 1995.

Watch for: The second team offense and defense to get a lot of work.

In the end: Buckeyes win by at least 40

Ron Zook and Rich Rodriguez. Both on the hot seat, both under tremendous pressure to succeed in 2010. Yet, it is unlikely Zook will get the boot before Ohio State plays the Illini in Champaign on Oct. 2.

However, that makes this Illini team desperate. Desperate teams can be dangerous. Illinois could very well be 3-0 heading into when they meet Tressel’s crew.

On the other hand, the team has to adjust to a slew of new assistants as well as a new quarterback. Exit Juice Williams, enter Nathan Scheelhaase.

Watch for: OSU to attack the putrid Illinois defense early and often. Last season the Illini ranked
last in the Big Ten in scoring defense and 10th in pass defense.

In the end: Jim Bollman’s offense has put up 30 points in each of the last two meetings. Don’t expect that to change

Indiana shouldn’t have a problem scoring points this year. All of their notable offensive stars are back. The problem for Bill Lynch is that his squad probably won’t be able to stop anyone.

Chances are that quarterback Ben Chappell, running back Darius Willis, and wide receiver Tandon Doss will have a tough time running their pistol offense when 105,000 plus are screaming their lungs out in early October.

Watch for: OSU’s focus. The IU game is a week before the Bucks travel to Wisconsin. They don’t want to get caught looking a week ahead.

In the end: Terrelle Pryor will have a monster game and maybe backup Kenny Guiton will snag a few snaps

I firmly believe this game will be Ohio State’s toughest test of the season. The Buckeyes saw their 19-game winning streak snapped in Madison in 2003. Pryor and the boys barely escaped with a win in 2008.

The star of this Badger team is 2009 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year John Clay. A Beanie Wells clone, Clay is your typical bruising Badger back who also has surprising quickness.

A concern for Wisconsin is that the fact they lost three starters on the defensive front. OSU’s veteran offensive line could manhandle the newcomers.

Watch for: OSU’s run offense. If Boom and Zoom are effective, Pryor will assume full control of the game with the Badgers bringing defenders closer to the line of scrimmage. The Scarlet and Gray offense is at its best when Pryor is out of the pocket on play-action plays.

In the end: The game will go down to the wire. I say the Bucks come on top by three

110 yards of offense through three quarters.

Five turnovers.

One big embarrassment.

Methinks 2010 will be a bit different. While Purdue is bowling with Miami-transfer Robert Marve at quarterback, they won’t be upsetting the Bucks again, especially in Columbus.

Watch for: Purdue had the league’s worst rush defense last year. Expect plenty of Boom Herron and Zoom Saine.

In the end: The OSU defense is marvelous, picking off the Boilermaker signal-caller multiple times

Tressel and the boys will be making their first trip to Minnesota’s new pad in 2010 in a night game featured on the ESPN family of networks.

Pryor accounted for over 340 yards of offense by himself in last year’s meeting, which OSU won 38-7.

Golden Gophers quarterback Adam Weber has plenty of talent but regressed in 2009 after he was second-team All-Big Ten in 2008.

Watch for: OSU caught looking ahead. After Minnesota, the Buckeyes end the regular season against Penn State, Iowa and Michigan.

In the end: The game could be close in the first half, but OSU has too much talent and depth for the Gophers. Bucks win by at least 17.

When Penn State comes to Columbus Nov. 13, OSU begins a crucial end of season stretch that will come to decide their BCS title game hopes.

After Penn State broke their hearts in 2008, the Buckeyes returned the favor in Happy Valley last November.

The Nittany Lions return Heisman candidate Evan Royster at running back and a sturdy offensive line, but are breaking in a new quarterback in Kevin Newsome.

Watch for: The Silver Bullets to stack the line with eight and nine men in the box to pressure Newsome.

In the end: A tough game for Bollman’s offense, but the defense saves the day by forcing three turnovers, including an interception return for a touchdown

Back in 2006, Troy Smith led his No.1 Buckeyes into a hostile Kinnick Stadium and came out with a 38-17 victory.

Last season, in the de facto Big Ten championship game in Ohio Stadium, Devin Barclay’s overtime field goal sent OSU to the Rose Bowl.

The Iowa defense is led by defensive end Adrian Clayborn, who is one of the nation’s best pass rushers and could give Mike Adams and J.B. Shugarts problems.

Ricky Stanzi, who missed last year’s game with injury, begins 2010 as the starter. Stanzi also has two capable receivers in Derrell Johnson-Koulianos and Marvin McNutt.

Watch for: Trick plays and misdirection from a Bollman offense? Not usually. But I think the combination of Iowa’s defensive prowess and the Kinnick Stadium crowd may force OSU’s hand.

In the end: No blowout this time, but Pryor is no stranger to tough Big Ten atmospheres and tends to perform well on the road. Bucks by 10 as they return home to face Michigan with a trip to the national championship on the line

If this were the Cooper era, Buckeye fans may be concerned. In 1993, 1995, and 1996 undefeated Ohio State teams fell to Michigan.

Things have changed under Jim Tressel. In 2002 and 2006, undefeated OSU teams took care of business at home against Michigan.

Expect more of the same in 2010.

RichRod’s offense still isn’t running on all cylinders and the Wolverines are switching their defensive alignment to a 3-3-5.

Watch for: A fast start for Michigan. The OSU players will be having all sorts of emotions thanks to Senior Day, playing Michigan, and being undefeated.

In the end: Pryor quickly corrals the troops and leads four first half scoring drives. Michigan gets within 10 in the third quarter but long touchdowns by Posey and Saine seal the game

BUISNESS:
Recently I have been given the nickname “The Ghost of the Internet.” Seems MOST OF MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS! Currently I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS WEDDING SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
Even though my ½ marathon training “officially begins on Monday” according to my “coach,” I just did my longest outdoor run ever, (5.87 Miles {thought it was 6}, 1:07, Pace 13:03, 11:50 Average, 9:44 Fast Mile) and I AM STILL HAITING IT, but digging the feeling. I am making these and other physical gains thanx to the products of Visalus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Orwww.sexton.visalusgiving.com

For the distance runners, and those 5k walkers/runners, there is an upcoming inaugural event on Labor Day Sunday. This will be my first in my new role of “Entertainment Coordinator.”
http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

RELIGION:
The Secret Every religion on the planet has told us to have FAITH. Faith is when you cannot see how, but you absolutely know that the moment you have the dream it is given to you, and all you have to do is relax and allow the Universe to magnetize you to your dream and your dream to you.

INSPIRATION:
Pain is inevitable. Suffering is optional. Pain is the reaction of the body, and as long as you have the body, some pain is inevitable. Suffering is the contraction of the mind, and unlike pain, is optional. Don’t add suffering to pain, – relax your mind and the suffering will pass.

Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.

QUOTES:
“Chance is like a picture,
it’d be nice if you just take it”

“If you have always believed that everyone should play by the same rules and be judged by the same standards, that would have gotten you labeled a radical 60 years ago, a liberal 30 years ago and a racist today.” -Thomas Sowell


“Ever notice that people who spend money on beer, cigarettes, and lottery tickets are always complaining about being broke and not feeling well?”


“You are the only one who can assume responsibility for your time and clarify what’s really important to you.” Are you spending your time on what is important to you!?!?


“Expecting the world to treat you fairly because you are good is like expecting the bull not to charge because you are a vegetarian.”

A “Legacy” – has more meaning than gold, silver, precious stone or currency; it is your time that you give to your family, friends’, staff members or peers. Be a listening ear to someone that may really need your time; leave them that “legacy” before your day is over. I may not tell you what you want to hear, but I WILL LISTEN! Doc

I liked this sent by a friend of mine

I had a song for this week…but this is much better, and should probably be taped to your bathroom mirror where one could read it every day.

You may not realize it, but it’s 100% true.

1. There are at least two people in this world

that you would die for.

2.. At least 15 people in this world

love you in some way.

3. The only reason anyone would ever hate you

is because they want to be just like you.

4. A smile from you can bring happiness to anyone,

even if they don’t like you.

5. Every night, SOMEONE thinks about you

before they go to sleep.

6. You mean the world to someone.

7. You are special and unique.

8. Someone that you don’t even know exists loves you.

9. When you make the biggest mistake ever,

something good comes from it.

10. When you think the world

has turned its back on you take another look.

11. Always remember the compliments you received..

Forget about the rude remarks.

And always remember…

when life hands you Lemons,

ask for Tequila and Salt and call me over!

Good friends are like stars………

You don’t always see them,

But you know they are always there..

“Whenever God Closes One Door He Always Opens Another, Even Though

Sometimes It’s Hell in the Hallway”

I would rather have one rose and a kind word

from a friend while I’m here

than a whole truck load when I’m gone.

Happiness keeps You Sweet,

Trials keep You Strong,

Sorrows keep You Human,

Failures keeps You Humble,

Success keeps You Glowing,

But Only God keeps You Going
Salt

CLOSING:
Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny. . .

I have found that I started writing thit sh*t, and then
started to wonder about it, then started to believe it, then
started to live it…now seeing it!!!

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

THURSDAY:
OUR “Uncle” Ted Nugent brings the Call of The Wild to the LC Pavilion. Come out and enjoy ‘The American Dream’

The Jimmie Van Zant Band plays Screamin’ Willies

Grand Funk Railroad plays the Pickerington Violet Festival

FRIDAY:

Craig Morgan plays The Knox County Fair

LoCash Cowboys play the Pickerington Violet Festival

Eric Dove & Green Light Go play Papa Boo’s

Kicking Dixie is at Captain Woody’s

DVJ Jai Money plays his unique video mix at the Summer Luau at Captain Jack’s

SATURDAY:

Kenny Rogers plays The Lancaster Festival

“Nerd Rockers” Weezer play The Ohio State Fair

Jenkins and Scott Third Degree Sideburn play Papa Boo’s

Acoustic Mayhem and 171 play Captain Woody’s

Incredible Awesome Brothers plays Captain Jack’s

7th Cycle plays The Newport Music Hall

SUNDAY:
The Dark Star Orchestra (Grateful Dead Band) play The Historic Midland Theater

Long Tall Deb & The Drifter Kings plays Papa Boos

Barbed Wire plays Captain Woody’s

FUNNIES:
FRIDAY:

My Buddy John Petz & Matt Jergens at Music in The Park, Friendship Park
Gahanna, 43230

FUNNIES:
SUNDAY:
Jeff Dunham along with “Achmed,” “Walter,” “Peanut” and the rest of the crew play The Ohio State Fair. I saw him last year, and laughed so hard…I lost my voice the next day!

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

J. Medicine Hat brings raunchy hypnotism to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

THEATER:
Broadway Across America-Columbus presents Wicked at The Ohio Theatre. This MULTI-Winning play follows the “other” Witches from Oz. For more info: http://www.broadwayacrossamerica.com

MORE TO DO:
FRIDAY:

WaterFire with Wonk the Band
For more info: http://www.waterfirecolumbus.com

ALL WEEKEND:
Ohio State Fair at The Ohio Expo Center
For more info: http://www.ohiostatefair.com

Get ready for the 157th Ohio State Fair, fun for the whole family! Enjoy a variety of activities and exhibits including educational exhibits and displays, sporting competitions, a fine arts show, free stages with amazing hypnotists, impressive magicians and wholesome kids’ entertainment, exotic animals in the free petting zoo, a farm animal delivery room, helicopter rides, roving performers, youth agricultural competitions, horse shows, an eight acre natural resources park with free kiddie fishing, wildlife and much more! The Midway features more than 60 exhilarating rides sure to excite you, while Kiddieland is home to rides geared toward parents riding with small children. You won’t be able to resist all your favorite Fair goodies from any of the 175 food vendors.

IN THEATERS:
A cast of people I REALLY dislike; ‘Dinner for Schmucks’ starring Steve Carell, Paul Rudd, and Zach Galifianakis. This remake from 1998 is rated “PG-13.”

Tween Chick Flick ‘Charlie St. Cloud,’ rated “PG-13.” And starring Zac Efron, and Kim Basinger. Don’t ask me about it…I saw Zac was in it and refused to watch!

MY PICK OF THE WEEK!!! ‘Cats & Dogs: Revenge of Kitty Galore’
The epic struggle for control of planet Earth continues in this sequel to the 2001 comedy that had pet owners all across the world looking at their house pets in a whole new light. Rated “PG,” “C&D” stars the voices of Chris O’Donnell and 30 Rock’s Jack McBrayer.

DVD:
‘Clash of The Titans,’ great movie about being true to self, yet asking for help. PLUS amazing special effects! “Titan” is rated “PG-13,” and stars Sam Worthington, and Liam Neeson.

‘Repo Men’ rated “R,” Starring Jude Law, and Forest Whitaker

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Lil Wayne and Drake release Rikers Island

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
August 5,6,7 Deerasic Classic with LowCash Cowboys, Daryle Singletary, Andy Griggs,
Rhett Akins, and FRANKIE BALLARD
http://www.deerassic.com/deerassic30s.html

Aug 6th My Buddy DJ Legend teams up with Local Firefighter, and THE MDA (aka Jerry’s Kids) for the Annual Volleyball Tourney at Gatsby’s

Aug 14th Operation Homefront Dart Tourney

Labor Day Sunday http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

OSU Football Season with AT&T

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

July 30, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

