Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greetings from Deerassic Classic-Home of God, Guns, and Good Friends

Greetings from backstage to start off, I hope you will make plans to join me THIS weekend Aug 5, 6, 7 for the 2010 Deerassic Classic, near Cambridge Ohio. THIS IS MY FAVORITE EVENT OF THE YEAR! The Deerassic Classic is the most unique event I take part in.

RIGHT NOW FRANKIE BALLARD is on stage and WE JUST GACE AWAY OVER $3700.00, in the first 50/50 drawing over the weekend. AND I must say…I KILLED IT AT THE KICK OFF PARTY!!!

Some call it the Woodstock of “The White Tailed Deer,” some call it “Woodstock with Horns.” Yea I know, what the he**? I thought the same thing when I was approached to be part of this. This event is over 102,000 strong for a weekend of fun, outdoor lifestyle, Music, and COLD HARD CASH! You don’t have to be a hunter, or even a NRA card holder to come down to Beautiful Easter Ohio and in enjoy a GREAT party.

In addition to being a HUGE party, I will share the stage with local comedian (and friend) Jon Petz, along with Musicians; Tom Jackson, Frankie Ballard, Ruff Creek, Daryle Singletary, Andy Griggs, Rhett Atkins, and my BOYZ Lo Cash Cowboys. NEED MORE how about over a MILLION DOLLARS IN PRIZES AND COLD HARD CASH!!! Check out what you can win ATTACHED!!!

This is a great event for ANYONE even if not an outdoorsman, deer hunter, NRA supporter or whatever. If nothing else it is a great chance to grab a cooler (BYOB!!!) and just…people watch. For more info enjoy the following video:
http://www.deerassic.com/deerassic30s.html
or for tixx
http://www.deerassic.com/DeerassicClassic.aspx

Again, I am trying to expand my social networking abilities, and “circle” would you please take a minute to add me on “LinkedIN.” Also if you don’t mind take a minute to “endorse” or “recommend” me? It only takes a minute and I will do the same. No matter if you are a friend, associate, client, competitor, referral agent, reader of this blog, or whatever…your endorsement and add would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to follow this link;
http://www.linkedin.com/profile?viewProfile=&key=7340104&locale=en_US&trk=tab_pro

It is the first week of August and that means…Football 2 a days, The Ohio State Fair, Deerassic Classic, and my hair is long enough to feather on its own. I gotta admit the kids from ANY of those 70’s and early 80’s TV shows would be jealous!

Last week I was kinda snapped at about by statements. I was called arrogant. NOPE, if anything I have some self esteem issues (I mean come on, you wake up every morning 5’4 and see how you feel-even though I say I am 5’7). ANYWAY I have been raised to fit the situation. I make sure that I take enough pride in myself, and my surroundings to make sure I and everyone around me is comfortable…and for the record, NO SLEEVES this weekend, and LOTS O CAMO!!!

It has been a very busy week this week, including having some front end work done. Not a nose, or chin job, but on my Jeep. My front end was all out of wack and is still not totally right. BUT I was sitting there and had an amazing chat with someone who is NOTHING like me. He was a tall, older, black man. I (if you have not noticed), I am a short, someone what young white male. We were chatting and got embedded in a conversation over accountability. It was a GREAT chat. It was fun to see someone from an entirely different race, and age bracket agree with me on “accountability.” Together we went over ways to work with his son, and in turn youth-and those “oppressed” in general. I tell ya what; between my neighbors and drinks on their porch and this chat at the tire dealership…we could change the world. BUT instead I just got new tires.

This week I was not blessed with the chance to spend time with the person I chat about BUT, last weekend I was off and with the exception of running 8+ miles, I enjoyed a lot of downtime. I even went to one of the places I liked to go to get away, “Cheeseburger in Paradise.” Buffett covers always relax me, and allow me to reflect, while “getting away”-without going anywhere. I truly did allow me to “take off for a weekend last month just to try and recall the whole year.” I am having a blast but reminded myself how quickly it has gone by, as well as all the good and bad experiences I have encounter. I take it as a GIFT to say I have learned from them all…

“If we weren’t all crazy we’ed all go insane!”-Jimmy Buffett

I took off for a weekend last month
Just to try and recall the whole year
All of the faces and all of the places
Wonderin where they all disappeared
I didn’t ponder the question too long
I was hungry and went out for a bite
Ran into a chum with a bottle of rum
And we wound up drinkin all night

Its these changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes
Nothing remains quite the same
With all of our running and all of our cunning
If we couldnt laugh we would all go insane

Reading departure signs in some big airport
Reminds me of the places Ive been
Visions of good times that brought so much pleasure
Makes me want to go back again
If it suddenly ended tomorrow
I could somehow adjust to the fall
Good times and riches and son of a bitches
Ive seen more than I can recall

These changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes
Nothing remains quite the same
Through all of the islands and all of the highlands
If we couldnt laugh we would all go insane

I think about paris when Im high on red wine
I wish I could jump on a plane
So many nights I just dream of the ocean
God I wish I was sailin again
Oh, yesterdays over my shoulder
So I can’t look back for too long
There’s just too much to see waiting in front of me
And I know that I just can’t go wrong

With these changes in latitudes, changes in attitudes
Nothing remains quite the same
With all of my running and all of my cunning
If I couldnt laugh I just would go insane
If we couldnt laugh we just would go insane
If we werent all crazy we would go insane

BUBBA IS PLAYING PITTSBURG on Thursday, anyone up for a road trip?!?!?

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:
‎”It’s kind of fun to do the impossible!” -Walt Disney

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
Even though I am at Deerassic 2010 while you are reading this, and I just mentioned some GREAT training songs…I am gonna go back in time with this one. It is NO surprise I miss “The 80’s” and the music that accompanied. Then it was FUN. Howard Jones was always one of my favorite watered down pop artists. Enjoy this song, and I know you will be tappin yer feet and “maybe” bobbin yer head. The theme is AWESOME and needed reminder for many of us.

The old man said to me
Said don’t always take life so seriously
Play the flute
And dance and sing your song

Try and enjoy the here and now
The future will take care of itself somehow
The grass is never greener over there
Time will wear away the stone
Gets the hereditary bone

Don’t try to live your life in one day
Don’t go speed your time away

OK…couldn’t JUST leave on that one with me being around my God fearing, Gun loving American Brothers. I am “Way Out Here.” With those who appreciate; John Wayne, Johnny Cash, and John Deer. Plus I got to open for Josh a few months ago…AND he sang lead on a song that hits close to my heart and situation (one I posted a couple weeks ago). But this one is me!!!

DROID:
Thank you for the suggestions of Kazamm. Looking forward to using this new app to find some songs

HELP:
“Strangers are friends waiting to happen.”
I have a friend who is need of an inexpensive car to buy, or a short term lease. In addition to her car taking a royal s**t, she also had her place broken into and most items stolen. EVEN MORE? She had just used a Friday paycheck to pay down a debt the day before place broken into. Life has kinda flooded her…can any of us help throw her a life vest?

Also as I have been stating, I have friends who are organizing a dart tournament for Operation Homefront, others who are attempting to better themselves by accomplishing some physical goals (in the Nike Woman’s Race)-while raising monies for kids/villages in Africa, and OUR ARMY/NAVY game group is starting to organize for this year’s event on December 11th. Wherever your interests, heart, and wallet guide you, please consider assisting some of the groups that need YOUR assistance, even if it is someone NOT associated with my groups-JUST DO SOMETHIING FOR SOMEONE!!!

PASSING:
“How firm thy Friendship O-HI-O”

President Gee and Zheng Ji – July 2, 2010

President E. Gordon Gee, who was in China earlier this summer, had the opportunity to meet Zheng. During their discussions, Zheng shared some of his Ohio State memories with Gee, including a copy of his diploma and a photograph of himself as a student.

“It was truly an honor to spend time with Professor Zheng,” said President Gee. “He was a leader in shaping the world’s understanding of the complex intersection of mind and body with genetics, nutrition, personal habits, and the natural environment. His innovative thinking and research are unlocking the mysteries of human health and well-being. All of us at The Ohio State University are enormously proud of his work and honored that he was an alumnus of our institution.”

Zheng has been quoted as saying that “maintaining a positive and optimistic attitude and living in an active manner are the main factors of contributing to a long life.”

JUST FOR FUN:
Florida Slips In Party School Rankings

But this is kinda strange I see NO mention of DeVry, or the University of Phoenix (the online college)
It looks like the party’s dying down at the University of Florida. Once ranked as the No. 1 party school in the nation just two years ago – and No. 2 last year — the school is now ranked 7th. This year the University of Georgia partied its way to the top, making its first appearance as No. 1 in the latest Princeton Review rankings for top U.S. party schools. UGA ranked fourth last year. Last year’s first place school, Pennsylvania State University, now sits at No. 3.

The rankings are based on the e-mail surveys of 122,000 students at more than 370 colleges across the nation. The list is just one of hundreds compiled in this year’s edition of “The Best 373 Colleges.” For the infamous party school list, colleges are ranked based on alcohol and drug use, popularity of Greek life on campus and the amount of time spent studying outside of class. Many students eagerly await the rankings each year hoping their school will earn bragging rights by topping the list.

“I think it’s a sad day for students here at UF, especially losing to Georgia,” said University of Florida telecommunications senior, Kari Beckerman. “Not that I really party that much, but now I can’t say I go to the number one party school anymore.”

Some potential students even look to the list as a factor in deciding where to attend college. Others are indifferent to the rankings, saying they don’t have much effect on UF’s atmosphere or reputation.

We visited a popular library on UF’s campus to hear from students currently in the midst of studying for summer school final exams — what did they think about UF’s latest ranking?

“I don’t really care too much. I think Gainesville will always be seen as a party town regardless of its ranking,” UF business graduate student Hadi Nosseir told us, as he grabbed a coffee on a quick study break. “Either way, I don’t pay thousands of dollars a year to party.”

Surrounded by papers and textbooks, UF animal sciences senior Jessica Ashley, took a moment from studying for her microbiology final to express her feelings about the drop in ranks.

“It’s a bit of a disappointment, but I’m really here for the academics, so it’s not a big deal,” said Ashley. “I don’t think it’s a great thing for UF to be considered a party school, but it has a great academic reputation, so I don’t think the party thing has a negative impact.”

While ranking high on the list is a plus for some students, school officials cringe at the thought of being ranked No. 1. In fact, being ranked at the top tends to prompt university officials to beef up their schools’ alcohol and drug resistance programs.

As for the soberest university in the nation? Coming up on the 13th year in a row, Brigham Young University, in Utah, takes the cake. It was also the No. 1 school for drinking milk and ranked third for having the most conservative students.

Here’s the official list:
1) University of Georgia
2) Ohio University — Athens
3) Pennsylvania State University — University Park
4) West Virginia University
5) University of Mississippi
6) The University of Texas at Austin
7) University of Florida
8) University of California — Santa Barbara
9) University of Iowa
10) DePauw University
11) Florida State University
12) University of Wisconsin-Madison
13) University of Alabama — Tuscaloosa
14) Sewanee — The University of the South
15) Indiana University — Bloomington
16) University of Colorado — Boulder
17) University of Missouri
18) University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
19) University of Maryland, College Park
20) Michigan State University

ENTERTAINMENT:
This is VERY “entertaining” 😉

MUSIC:
According to Nielsen BDS–the service which tracks and reports all airplay of songs on radio, TV, and Internet–a country musician had the most airplay of any artist, in any genre, in the past decade.

Which musician are we talking about? Well, there are certainly plenty of country entertainers with mega-amounts of airplay under their Stetsons, so this might be a tough one to guess.

However, in this case–the winner is Tim McGraw. The singer, actor, and husband toFaith Hill’s airplay numbers are truly staggering: He racked up a mind-boggling7,965,000 radio spins over the period spanning January 1, 2000 to December 31, 2009. This ranks him ahead of such chart toppers as Beyoncé, Jay-Z, and Britney Spears.

Nielsen presented McGraw with a commemorative plaque to mark the feat, with company president Eric Weinberg commenting, “[McGraw’s] career and songs have resonated not only with his fans, but has become part of the fabric of America, evidenced by his unprecedented airplay.” Not a bad way to put it, eh?

Aside from this latest accolade, McGraw has plenty to boast about regarding his work in the entertainment field. Since he debuted in the early ’90s, he’s sold more than 40 million albums; scored 30 number-one hits; and has three Grammys, 14 Academy of Country Music Awards, 11 Country Music Association Awards, and 10 American Music Awards to his name.

Additionally, he’s nailed down a solid screen career–his latest project is the upcoming Country Strong, costarring Gwyneth Paltrow, which will be released in December.

Congratulations, Tim! Thanks for doing country music proud

POLITICS:
This is awesome! I “Hope” it helps with your own personal “Change”

MILITARY:
Please join my friends of Operation Homefront at Tee Jaye’s Country Place
1880 Stringtown Road Grove City, OH on August 11 from 6:00am – 10:00am
OH will team up with my biddies Rick Knight and Miss Lisa from 95.5 The HAWK and will be broadcasting live at TeeJay’s Country Place in Grove City and will be asking fans and listeners to bring in school supplies for Operation Homefront Ohio. They would like to have a handful of Operation Homefront Ohio volunteers on hand to collect the school supplies donated by the general public.

Please plan to attend from 6:00am-10:00am. As always wear you OH shirt. If you do not have one, one will be provided to you that day

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:
I wanna thank my good friends Brian and Jamie Kaufman from Dream Seats. I got a last minute call last Sunday to sit second row for Jeff Dunham-and a GREAT PRICE. Wanna sit up front for ANY of your favorite live events call 614-340-8989

YOU DA MAN:
My buddy James Gage is making some HUGE waves in Nashville. In addition to having my favorite song on his new cd…James is being courted to open for John Rick (Big & Rich). Keep doing your thing buddy, but just remember who to bring out on your WORLD TOUR!!! For more info on James; http://www.jamesgagecountry.com

WHAT THE HE**?
Miami Heat Fire Entire Season Ticket Sales Staff
With the arrival of LeBron James and Chris Bosh to South Beach, the Miami Heat have become the biggest attraction in South Florida.

The “dream team” has already sold out all season tickets, leaving the ticket sales employee somehow obsolete within the organization.

The team called the dismissal of thirty people “a difficult decision” and placed the people with a company to help them find replacement jobs.

The staff of the Miami Heat must have felt blessed to have the dream team in their town—what could be a safer job?

Instead, a decision that seems to have benefited all of South Florida has claimed its second victim (the city of Cleveland being the first one).

The demand for tickets is so high that its surprising the entire sales division has not been fired. Opening day tickets are already estimated to reach the $250 mark.

Anyone still looking to buy season tickets, if any become available, will be directed to the season ticket deposit program

SPORTS:
Mark Cuban vs Nolan Ryan

Sports owners usually become famous only after they buy a team. But the two parties going head-to-head for the Texas Rangers in the bankruptcy auction Wednesday are already nationally renowned.

One group is led by Nolan Ryan, the quiet and beloved Hall of Fame pitcher who pitched for 27 seasons, threw seven no-hitters (including one at age 44), struck out a record 5,714 batters, won 324 games and once taught Robin Ventura a very public lesson about proper baseball etiquette. The other is led by multibillionaire Mark Cuban, the outspoken and controversial Dallas Mavericks owner who has taken his team from doormat to perennial playoff team, been fined more than $1 million for insulting referees, competed on “Dancing With the Stars,” been thrown through a table at a WWE event and once worked an afternoon selling Blizzards after saying that a league official couldn’t successfully manage a Dairy Queen.

Clearly, either would be a welcome change compared to outgoing owner Tom Hicks, who somehow still owes Alex Rodriguez $25 million despite trading him to the Yankees more than six years ago. How would the Rangers operate under each man, though? Off-Base compares the two.

Cuban would bring peace to the arbitration process by going to the hearing, listening to the player’s agent make his case and then responding: “Are you sure you’re asking for enough? Because I’ll pay whatever you want. And I’ll throw in an extra plush robe for your locker. Just let me know.”

Ryan would bring refreshing perspective to arbitration hearings by saying: “Shoot, in 1973 I won 21 games, pitched 326 innings, struck out 383 batters, threw two no-hitters, made the All-Star team, finished second to Jim Palmer in the Cy Young vote and the Angels paid me $47,000. And I was happy to get it. And you want me to pay you $7 million for going 12-14 with a 4.58 ERA in 197 innings? Son, what do you say we cut through all the B.S., get rid of the lawyers, and you and me just wrestle for it?”

Cuban would sit next to the Texas dugout each game, insulting umpires so often that baseball would finally fund a reliable instant-replay program simply on revenue generated by fines levied against him after his first year.

Ryan would sit in the bullpen, ready and able to take the mound for a couple of innings and strike out batters with 92 mph heat at age 64.

Cuban would add very hot dance teams on the dugout roofs.

Ryan would add dancing groundskeepers.

Cuban would shorten long waits at the concession stands by pitching in to help serve the ice cream sundaes in those mini batting helmets. He also would innovate by serving the sundaes in regulation batting helmets. Would you like your sundae super-sized to the Barry Bonds replica helmet?

Ryan would innovate by selling autographed regulation batting helmets that he personally cracked as a pitcher with 98 mph beanballs.

Cuban would sign every 18-year-old in the Dominican Republic, regardless of the cost, accurately saying it would pay off with division titles for years and years to come.

Ryan would sign Jamie Moyer to a five-year contract, saying, “I think this young man will really help us in a couple of seasons when he fully matures.”

Cuban would appeal to free agents by handing out iPads and installing HDTVs and pole dancers at each locker to assure his players have every comfort and technological edge imaginable.

Ryan would replace all TVs with a single 24-inch black-and-white Sylvania in the clubhouse to assure his players spend their pregame in the batting cage or throwing in the bullpen or mowing the outfield.

Cuban would generate extra income by holding WWE wrestling events at the ballpark when the Rangers are out of town.

Ryan would personally hold wrestling matches on the mound when the Rangers are in town. “Any other of you White Sox wanna mess with Texas?”

Cuban would hire a large staff of statistical analysts to search for every possible item of information to judge players and determine the optimum amount of work and rest for a pitcher’s development and continued health.

Ryan would rely on scouts and a strict 160-pitch count for the Rangers’ pitchers.

Cuban would frequently criticize commissioner Bud Selig for lacking innovation, being too wedded to the past and not marketing the game well enough.

Ryan would think the exact same things but would be too polite to say so in public. Instead, he would settle differences at the owners meetings by putting Selig in a headlock and dispensing noogies until Selig hollered for mercy.”Ya’ll gonna make the Marlins and Pirates spend that revenue-sharing money? I can’t hear you!”

Cuban would outspend every club to turn the Rangers into a perennial postseason team and be a constant pain in the ass to every other owner in baseball while entertaining fans across the nation with his outspokenness. Ryan, meanwhile, would keep the Rangers to a reasonable budget, winning titles occasionally but still not often enough that his players are ever asked for autographs as many times as he is

BUISNESS:
Recently I have been given the nickname “The Ghost of the Internet.” Seems MOST OF MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS! Currently I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS WEDDING SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
My ½ marathon training is in the second week and I am going for 9 miles, after a b**ch of a sprint reoutine. Last Saturday I again topped my longest outdoor run ever, (8.04 Miles 1:28, Pace 11 and some change, 5:04 Fast Mile) I am starting to enjoy these runs (but don’t tell “coach.”). I am making these and other physical gains thanx to the products of Visalus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Orwww.sexton.visalusgiving.com

There is an event this weekend you MAY want to check out:

Learn how several stay at home moms now pull in over $5k up to $10k monthly, how others are losing pounds by the dozen and most importantly how much FUN this team has! Blake Mallen has taught thousands of people across the world how to gain better health, make extra to thousands of dollars monthly and how to gain freedom of life back.

The above was a cookie cutter, cut-and-paste. In my own words. I MAKE SOME GOOD MONEY doing NOTHING. I also USE THE PRODUCTS. The Vitamins I have more energy and sleeping better-plus MIGRAINS ARE GONE! Meal replacement; tastes good (I mix with what I WANT not what is pre-made), easy to make-take on road with me, I HAVE LOST 30 POUNDS SINCE JANUARY with little diet change-I AM NOW RUNNING 9 miles. Energy drink, mixes with water, LITTLE caffeine-I AM NOT ALLOWED caffeine.

Plus, I qualified for a THE BMW incentive…

So check it out THIS Saturday 8-7-2010, for only an 1 1/2.
12:30pm- 1pm Networking and Product Sampling
1pm – 2pm Body by Vi Overview
2pm – 5:30pm Success Training with Special Keynote Speaker featured on the cover of Success From Home Magazine: Blake Mallen CMO of ViSalus Sciences

OR:
To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com
http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com
I won’t be there, but will put you in contact with people I TRUST AND WILL NOT HARD SELL OR PRESSURE YOU. More important I will make sure my people keep those that do, away from you!!!

For the distance runners, and those 5k walkers/runners, there is an upcoming inaugural event on Labor Day Sunday. This will be my first in my new role of “Entertainment Coordinator.”
http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

INSPIRATION:
Guess I kinda need these
“When you feel like giving up, remember why you held on for so long in the first place.” ~Unknown
If God tells you something believe Him!!! Never put a question mark where God puts a PERIOD!!!!

As a man thinketh in his heart:: so is he -proverbs 23:7

Your deepest strongest desires:::: these are your true prayers

Your feet will carry you where your heart is

God’s writing the song, I’m just dancing along!

QUOTES:
“Arrogance is believing that you are better than everybody else. Confidence is believing that nobody is better than you” – Johnny Wimbrey

Success is often the result of taking a misstep in the right direction.

“When they discover the center of the universe, a lot of people will be disappointed to discover that they are not it.”

“Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius, and it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring.”

‎”Happy moments, praise God. Difficult moments, seek God. Quiet moments, worship God. Painful moments, trust God. Every moment, thank God.” -Unknown

CLOSING:
Had a great chat about life, relationships, friendships, and the past with an old friend. We both stated that time heals whombs and can make enemies friends. The statement was agreed to that…God puts all people on earth to fulfill a role to others. I took that and ran with it:

God put people in your life for a reason; some to be friends, others to make you appreciate your REAL friends, some to make you feel better about self, while some even to make you feel better …you are not them

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

THURSDAY:
The Barracuda Sisters; Ann and Nancy Wilson and Heart play the Ohio State Fair

FRIDAY:
Slightly Stoopid and one of my favorite rap bands Cypriss Hill play The LC. For more info go to http://www.promowestproductions.com

Terry Davidson & The Gears play Papa Boo’s

JunkBox plays at Captain Woody’s

The Divide is at Captain Jack’s

SATURDAY:
My Buddy DJ Legend teams up with Local Firefighter, and THE MDA (aka Jerry’s Kids) for the Annual Volleyball Tourney at Gatsby’s

Babyface plays the Ohio State Fair

Acoustica play Papa Boo’s

Sonic Tramps and Fat Dog play Captain Woody’s

SUNDAY:
The hometown “posers” who say they “give back,” Rascal Flatts play Crew Stadium. IF YOU ARE A FAN…you know their biggest hits are ballads. The only part of this show that rocks is their cover songs. I suggest you listen to the cd at home

Chris Logsdon plays Papa Boos

Jenkins & Scott Band plays Captain Woody’s

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

Keith Collin plays to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

THEATER:
Broadway Across America-Columbus presents Wicked at The Ohio Theatre. This MULTI-Winning play follows the “other” Witches from Oz. For more info: http://www.broadwayacrossamerica.com

MORE TO DO:
FRIDAY:

WaterFire with Ohio Brass Band
For more info: http://www.waterfirecolumbus.com

JazZoo with Satchmo and the Duke featuring Dwight Lenox
At Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. For more information http://www.columbuszoo.org

ALL WEEKEND:

August 5,6,7 Deerasic Classic with LowCash Cowboys, Daryle Singletary, Andy Griggs,
Rhett Akins, and Frankie Ballard
http://www.deerassic.com/deerassic30s.html

Ohio State Fair at The Ohio Expo Center
For more info: http://www.ohiostatefair.com

Get ready for the 157th Ohio State Fair, fun for the whole family! Enjoy a variety of activities and exhibits including educational exhibits and displays, sporting competitions, a fine arts show, free stages with amazing hypnotists, impressive magicians and wholesome kids’ entertainment, exotic animals in the free petting zoo, a farm animal delivery room, helicopter rides, roving performers, youth agricultural competitions, horse shows, an eight acre natural resources park with free kiddie fishing, wildlife and much more! The Midway features more than 60 exhilarating rides sure to excite you, while Kiddieland is home to rides geared toward parents riding with small children. You won’t be able to resist all your favorite Fair goodies from any of the 175 food vendors.

Dublin Irish Festival
August 6-8, 2010 at Coffman Park
For more info http://www.dublinirishfestival.org

Come experience the unforgettable annual Dublin Irish Festival – named “one of the biggest and best festivals in the country” by Chicago’s Irish American News. The Irish Festival features seven stages featuring Irish music and dance. Cultural stages include storytelling, folklore, music and hands-on workshops. Shop the Irish Marketplace for traditional Irish wares and an Emerald Arts Isle featuring hand-made Irish arts. Sample an endless variety of Irish food and drink. Visit the Wee Folk area for children.

IN THEATERS:
Mark Wahlberg and Will Ferrell star in ‘The Other Guys,’ rated “PG-13.”

The dance boogie woogie flick ‘Step Up 3-D,’ rated PG-13.”

Based on the true story of the two men who started internet porn, ‘Middle Men’ rated “R.”

DVD:
A GREAT series of books, and an awesome movie for ANY AGE; ‘Diary of a Wimpy Kid,’ rated “PG.”

This movie actually kinda bothered me. I am not a fan of kids who use drugs, and swear. BUT if you do, ‘Kick A**’ is rated “R.”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Colt Ford releases Mud Digger

Arcade Fire releases Suburbs

The Black Crowes releases a greatest hits package, Croweology

Buckcherry releases All Night Long

Lady Gaga releases a new remix album titled…”Remix”

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Aug 14th Operation Homefront Dart Tourney

Labor Day Sunday http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

OSU Football Season with AT&T

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

August 6, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

