Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lessons Learned from the Past Week

Greetings from the Home Office in Dublin Ohio. With “THE Season” less than 2 weeks away…O-H!?!?!

That same weekend I am in need of a few generators for a project. If you, or anyone you know has one…I am looking to borrow or rent it. Please let me know if you can help-PLEASE?

Last weekend was an amazing weekend for me. FIRST I ran 10 miles in just over 2 hours. Not great for most…but good for me. THEN I had the honor of giving back and working for the Brave Men & Women of this country.

Saturday I got the chance to volunteer a National Guard event with a good friend I think the world of, and then had the honor of working with the folks at Operation HomeFront.

The event for the National Guard was a great experience for me. I was a volunteer working with kids {YEA I KNOW IT IS A SHOCK that 1.) someone wanted me to work with their kids 2.) I actually enjoyed it-for the record I enjoy working with kids), while their parents were in transition meetings after being deployed.. As soon as I dragged my tired but into the event (the 10 miles was NOT fun at this point}, I saw a kid in the corner dressed in camo fatigues, and oversized reading glasses sitting by himself, and playing chess. I am no chess expert but I believed it took two to play the game of chess. I went over to him and said “hello, my name is Matt.” He did not tell me his name; he told me to “sit down” and began telling me how to play chess. His details were to the point and direct, as well as in-between every sentence was the word “Oye.”

(In my best high pitch lisp) “The Queen moves here around the Knight. Oye. The Knight becomes King. Oye…” If I did not understand the game of chess after the first time, NO PROBLEM…he demanded I learn how to play, by HIS instructions (and NOT reading the manual). To assure this he explained to me about 15 times that morning. I picked up on some characteristics that the young man was “Autistic” (I was later also informed he was a “runner”-glad he did not “go for a walk” before I was told about it). Anyway working that close I was able to see how much Autism really does affect someone. The kid “had it” but could not communicate his thoughts (almost as if they were “jumbled”), he also needed strong structure, as well as the chance to be left alone so he was not misdirected by outside factors. Even with some of the struggles working with this young man, I really enjoyed it. PLUS I gotta admit it was rather humbling being yelled at by a 10 year old autistic kid, because I could not figure out the game of chess.

I was also reminded a great of a great lesson of judgment. There was a group of 4 boys that stand out. They were rowdy, loud, and all trying to be pack leader. Out of this group there were 2 that I focused on. One was taller, staucky, and had a Mohawk haircut into a longer pony tail type “thing.” I immediately thought “uh-oh” this kid is going to be the “bad kid” of the group. Unlike the brainiack looking kid who was also there. The “smart kid” had glasses, was, “heavy set, and had a “clean cut” haircut. I could not have been more wrong about these 2 kids.

The one who was identified as the “bad kid” was actually one of the best kids there. He participated in all of the games (even though he told me they “sucked”); he put deep thought and effort into a few of the projects, and was a leader with the younger kids. He even got “emotional” when he was having a hard time concentrating due to “others being too loud. The “good kid?”

WOW what a lil S.O.B! He was mean, a bully, and verbally condemning of everyone around him (for the record, when the other kids grow to his size…he is in for a whole lot of discomfort). I was reminded a great lesson that day…about judging a book by its cover. Or a bad kid by a Mohawk, and Smart Kid by glasses.

There has been another lesson learned this week. I have been “Dog Sitting.” The dog I have been sitting for is a Boston Terrier (Terrior{ist}, according to Pepper Dog). The little guy has a lot of energy and seems to always want to get his way. My dog is lazy and spoiled and ALWAYS GETS HER WAY! With both of them, I had to find ways to be the pack leader. If I yelled the lil sh*t would bark and run away saying (ha ha catch me of you can-then could fit under the couch or bed), my dog would just go to a corner and put head against the wall. This was not fun for anyone….I was reminded of “calm assertive.”-as Caesar The Dog Whisperer states. I have used a leading tool of quiet dominance, using body language, tone, and calmness to get BOTH dogs to do whatever I needed them to do.

After this, I have enjoyed my time with both dogs. In addition to the above I have also learned what some dogs consider their tail…other dogs consider a chew toy!

So the lessons learned this week are leaders are not always loud, brash, and aggressive and not all kids with Mohawks are bad kids.

All of this from volunteering, and helping someone.

I have always gravitated towards the school of thought of helping others, and always did what I could WHEN ASKED. In the past few years, and especially the last 6 months, I have TRIED to find ways to better someone else’s’ life or help an organization, WITHOUT BEING ASKED. I have SOUGHT OUT ways to help and give back to others. I gotta admit since I have begun to work hard at helping others, my life has changed.

I am enjoying the small things more, not stressing on alleged “big problems” and working hard at making my own life better so I can continue to do for others. I have found the harder I work at giving back, the richer I feel, and the less I have to work at trying to be successful.

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:
Be strong without being angry, and learning to be kind without being enabling (idiot compassion, as Buddhists call it).

“A true measure of your worth includes all the benefits others have gained from your success.”

“Be miserable. Or motivate yourself. Whatever has to be done, it’s always your choice.” – Wayne Dyer

As a man or woman thinks, so r they, or your mentality determines your reality or what you think about comes about. Your thoughts r powerful. You must take responsibility with thoughts you hold in your mind on a consistent basis because if you don’t then other people will control what u think about and u will find that u are becoming and doing what others think u should instead of what you want – Keith Cameron Smith

This short clip contains some of the best thoughts I have seen or heard all week!

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
Saw the “full video” for the first time; I gotta say I actually shed a tear! This week the High Schoolers are in full swing, and MY BUCKEYES are in full heated practices. This video is PERFECT!

It is NOT the song, or the pixx of famous players, or plays (Especially not the sc-UM Heisman Pose! ). It is the in and out of the video that gets me. Coaches molding young players, kids living their dream…being the rock stars of small towns on a Friday Night. I did not play my senior year. I focused on my dream…the same small town kid wanting to be a rock star that I am chasing today. BUT, before I take “my field” I get those same “butterflies,” pacing backstage, or in the hallway at a wedding. I DO feel a little guilty I am more committed to “excellence” today than I was then.

CONFESSION: If I would have committed myself “then” as I do today…I wonder where I would be. I REFUSE TO LOOK BACK. I may not have done it then, but today, tomorrow, and as long as I am breathing-no matter what I am taking on, I will always “Play Like a Champion.”

DROID:
Need app to scan in “shopper cards” so I don’t have to carry all those key chains. Any thoughts?

HELP:
I have a friend who is need of an inexpensive car to buy, or a short term lease. In addition to her car taking a royal s**t, she also had her place broken into and most items stolen. EVEN MORE? She had just used a Friday paycheck to pay down a debt the day before place broken into. Life has kinda flooded her…can any of us help throw her a life vest?

Also as I have friends who are attempting to better themselves by accomplishing some physical goals (in the Nike Woman’s Race)-while raising monies for kids/villages in Africa, and OUR ARMY/NAVY game group is starting to organize for this year’s event on December 11th. Wherever your interests, heart, and wallet guide you, please consider assisting some of the groups that need YOUR assistance, even if it is someone NOT associated with my groups-JUST DO SOMETHIING FOR SOMEONE!!!

CHECK THIS OUT:
NEW YORK — The author of “The Secret” now wants to share “The Power.”

Atria Books announced Tuesday that Rhonda Byrne’s follow-up to her pop culture phenomenon that sold millions of copies comes out next month. “The Power,” like “The Secret,” is a guide to positive thinking, how “everyone is meant to have an amazing life.”

Atria, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, plans a first printing of 2 million copies.

Byrne is an Australian who has worked as a television and film producer. Her central claim in “The Secret” is that the “law of attraction” governs our universe. She said in 2007 that “when you think and feel what you want to attract on the inside,” the law will bring you closer to what you want.

PASSING:
Bobby Thomson dies at 86
Hit ‘Shot Heard ‘Round the World’ to put Giants in 1951 World Series

Bobby Thomson, who hit the legendary home run dubbed “The Shot Heard ‘Round the World” and inspired perhaps the most famous broadcasting moment in baseball history, has died. He was 86.

Thomson, who had been in poor health for years, died Monday night at his home in Savannah, Ga., the Associated Press reported.

The Brooklyn Dodgers were two outs from the 1951 National League championship when Thomson hit his dramatic home run, sending the New York Giants to the World Series and sending broadcaster Russ Hodges into hysteria as he repeatedly screamed into his microphone, “The Giants win the pennant! The Giants win the pennant!”

“Bobby Thomson will always hold a special place in our game for hitting one of the signature home runs in baseball history,” Commissioner Bud Selig said in a statement. “The Shot Heard ‘Round the World will always remain a defining moment for our game, illustrating the timeless quality of the national pastime.”

The Dodgers and Giants moved to California after the 1957 season, but Thomson’s feat never was forgotten in New York.

“A guy came up to me on the street just last week and said, ‘I still hate you!’ ” Thomson told the Los Angeles Times in 1981. “But he laughed when he said it. I still get a kick out of it … all those years, and people still remember it so well.”

The Giants had trailed by 13 1/2 games on Aug. 11, but they won 37 of their final 44 games — including 12 of their final 13 — to force a three-game playoff with their crosstown rivals.

The Giants won the first game 3-1. The Dodgers, with a lineup that featured future Hall of Famers Jackie Robinson, Pee Wee Reese and Duke Snider, won the second game 10-0.

On Oct. 3, in the decisive third game, the Dodgers led 4-1 heading into the bottom of the ninth. Don Newcombe, who had won 20 games that year and had held the Giants to four hits through eight innings, gave up three hits to the first four batters in the ninth, and Dodgers manager Charlie Dressen replaced him with Ralph Branca.

With a city on its collective feet, Thomson hit Branca’s second pitch for the home run that capped the “Miracle on Coogan’s Bluff,” a reference to the setting of the Giants’ home field, the Polo Grounds.

“‘I didn’t run around the bases, I rode around ’em on a cloud,” Thomson said after the game. “‘I felt as if I was actually living one of those middle-of-the-night dramas. You know, everything was hazy. I heard yells. I saw papers flying. I noticed people jumping through the air, but through it all, I just kept riding high on that cloud.”

Thomson, a three-time All-Star who hit 32 homers in 1951 and played for the Cubs in 1958 and ’59, lived in the New York area for years after his career and forged a friendship with Branca. The two often made joint appearances for charity.

The relationship was strained after reports the Giants stole signs during the 1951 season, although Thomson insisted he had no idea what pitch Branca was about to throw.

JUST FOR FUN:
Road Worker Gets School Crossing Spelling Wrong

Looks like someone’s getting detention!

A road contractor in North Carolina was recently hired to paint the word “school” near a high school traffic zone but made the ultimate typo after misspelling the word across a freshly paved stretch of road.

The traffic area in question read “shcool” as a result.

The contractor, who works for a company called Traffic Markings, has already corrected the misspelling, the local Fox affiliate reports.

According to the station, this isn’t the first mishap on record. In 2009, a Miami-area road crew also misspelled the word “school” and in 2007, the same thing happened in Kalamazoo, Michigan

OH yet another “GEM” from The Carolinas

ENTERTAINMENT:
The Counting Crows will headline the Pelotonia Opening Ceremony on Friday, August 20! These guys – led by Adam Duritz and Dave Bryson – are known for their incredible live performances. And fueled by the energy, passion and cause of our riders and volunteers, this has the potential to be one of those special concerts you jut don’t want to miss.

The Counting Crows burst onto the scene in 1993 with the release of August and Everything, which included hits Mr. Jones, Round Here and Rain King (my personal favorite CC song). In 2004 they received an Academy Award nomination for best song for Shrek 2’s Accidentally in Love.

MUSIC:
Don’t know if I agree, but, Men’s Health compiled the 10 greatest songs of the 80’s
The Best 10 Songs of the ’80sPosted by MH Editors on 08/07/10

1“Billie Jean”
2″When Doves Cry”
3″Every Breath You Take”
4″Jump”
5″Welcome To The Jungle”
6″Waiting For A Girl Like You”
7″You Shook Me All Night Long”
8″Another Brick In The Wall”
9″Walk This Way”
10″With Or Without You”

“WHERE IS DON’T STOP BELIVING?!?!?!” The single greatest rock song in the history of mankind!!!

RELIGION:
In recent weeks there has been some debate over the issue of a Mosque at The “Ground Zero” site. I am at a cross roads on this issue. I would WELCOME any other person’s thoughts on this debate.

I, on surface, believe this is a slap in face, of a horrific crime and tragedy. I believe there is a sense of entitlement of wanting this location. I ask was there a Mosque in the area before? Why is there a need/want for one now?

However I also look at history, OUR country was established to escape religious persecution AKA Freedom of Religion.

BUT, OUR country is “One Nation Under God.” Not a Nation under Allah
There is a stereotype of negative behaviors of those who practice the Muslim faith. This is an unfair stereotype. This beautiful religion’s origins CAN BE traced to the origins of Western Religion and Judaism. All are thought to be decedents of Abraham.

Those who practice the Muslim faith are not evil, just as those who practice Western religions are not extremists. The 1% of Muslims who believe in Jihad are just as evil as the 1% of “Christians” who blow up abortion clinics in the name of their God.

I am at a cross roads on this issue, the only reason I am weighing more heavily on one side of the issue than the other…is my strong sense of Nationalism. I CAN BE SWAYED one way or the other. There are strong arguments on both I would love to hear your thoughts…

This was an interesting article I found on this Hit topic
The Untold Story Behind the “Mosque at Ground Zero”

Americans have a right to assemble and worship freely in this country, period. It’s not only a founding principle of this nation, but a main justification for its founding. It is why many White Christians flooded to this country in the first place.

Those opposed to American Muslims practicing their right to build a religious and cultural center on their private property near Ground Zero and in concordance with all laws and regulations reluctantly concede that they have no legal grounds to challenge it. So they argue instead that they should voluntarily forgo their right out of sensitivity for the sacredness of that site.

This is a particularly disingenuous line.

If it is about sensitivity for the sacred, then why aren’t those same people opposing the deli, bar, coffee shop, and offices, or strip club for that matter, that are open for business in that same sacred vicinity?

What is particularly indecent or insensitive about American Muslims building a house of peace, community, and worship that doesn’t apply to the New York Dolls gentlemen’s club?

Let’s be blunt: it is only indecent and insensitive if you buy into the canard that American Muslims are somehow collectively guilty for 9/11. That is the coded message at the heart of opposition to the center. It is a message we reject on its face.

American Muslims bear no collective guilt or blame for the crime of 9/11. We have nothing to apologize for and everything to be proud of, including our loyalty and hard-earned livelihoods. We are not guest citizens, we are not second-rate citizens; we reject marginalization and require no validation. We are equal citizens living and worshipping in our country.

We are part and parcel of the diversity of America including the diversity of the 3,000 people who died on 9/11. We are part of the diversity of the hundreds who were injured and those who were first responders to Ground Zero. We are part of the diversity of the millions who grieved and still grieve. When “they” attacked “us,” we were attacked. We are part of the “us” not the “they.”

The whole brouhaha about the “Mosque at Ground Zero” is frankly bogus. It has little to do with sacred ground, or sensitive hearts. It does however have everything to do with the exploitation of the sacred and the sensitive for the furtherance of the sacrilegious and the insensitive: the phenomenon of Muslim-bashing that is ravaging our nation today.

The Cordoba House, now Park51, is an old story. In fact, it was reported on in the New York Times and other mainstream media as far back as two years ago. Why the frenzy now?

That’s not all: Muslims have been worshipping at Mosque Manhattan a few blocks away from Ground Zero, long before Ground Zero was Ground Zero; in fact, since 1970, before the twin towers were the twin towers.

So again, why the sudden frenzy?

Failure to ask “why” is a collective indictment of the media establishment (with a few notable exceptions). Just as the media shirked its responsibilities in questioning the Bush administration on the justifications for the war in Iraq, now too it fails to properly investigate, scrutinize, and report the origins of this controversy. Here is what it failed to tell you:

The “Ground Zero Mosque” fiasco is a fabricated controversy that traces its origins to a couple of long-time anti-Muslim goons from the annals of the hate blogosphere by the names of Robert Spencer and Pamela Geller as a flagship campaign of their newly founded organization, Stop the Islamization of America (SIOA). SIOA is part of an emerging phenomenon of astroturf anti-Muslim organizations that seek to project any public expression of Muslim life in this country as tantamount to a stealth “Islamization of America.” (Except it’s not so stealth since everyone and their mother is talking about it).

It was SIOA that first coined the misnomer “Mosque at Ground Zero,” purposely twisting the reality that the proposed Muslim cultural center near Ground Zero is neither a Mosque nor at Ground Zero. It was the SIOA that sought to redefine Imam Rauf as a radical Imam even though he was heralded by the Bush administration, the FBI and others as a moderate voice of reason. It was the SIOA and its partners that ruthlessly sought to stoke the fears and suspicions of otherwise good, unsuspecting Americans.

The fact that bigots see fit to peddle sensational dribble for a living is not shocking.

The fact that the media is unwilling or incapable of calling it out is disturbing.

The fact that a significant segment of this population stands to be duped by it is disappointing.

And the fact that public officials who should know better are all too content pandering to the bigoted, misguided, and confused in search of votes this election season is outright nauseating.

Here’s another underreported fact:

The battle raging on now is not one that pits Muslims on one side and non-Muslims on the other as critics would have you believe. It is in fact a showdown between Americans of all backgrounds (Muslim and otherwise) who are fighting for the freedom and dignity of what it means to be American, on one side; and those who are willing to throw those values under the bus in exchange for publicity, notoriety, ratings, or votes, on the other.

It is a struggle between those wishing to affirm our pluralism and our equality as color-blind, race-blind, and faith-blind citizens and those wishing to immerse us into identity politics that make some more equal than others.

The Park51 battle is a microcosm of this generation’s struggle for the soul of America.

That’s the untold “Mosque at Ground Zero” story any red-blooded American journalist who still has respect for the integrity of the profession should be telling.

POLITICS:
Please see the e-mail that was circulating this week (in pictures).

It was sent to all students in the John Glenn School at Ohio State University.

Apparently the Strickland event this week with the President wasn’t exactly the hottest ticket. Why else do you end up having to give away two full tables and expedite security protocols?

MILITARY:
Military priests do their best to make most of war-time situations

The Rev. Capt. Carl Subler celebrates mass at an outpost for two Catholic soldiers in Afghanistan. Subler was a priest for three years at St. Francis de Sales Roman Catholic Church in Newark for three years before entering the army.

Because of the shortage of Catholic priests, many of them have learned to do more with less. No one knows that better than Father Carl Subler.

For the past year, Subler has been serving as the youngest U.S. Army Catholic priest stationed in Kandahar, Afghanistan.

Before that, he was stationed in Iraq for four months. Subler was at St. Francis de Sales in Newark for three years before he went back to active duty. Subler served four years in the Navy as a radar and data link operator before becoming a priest.

To celebrate Mass with soldiers at an outpost near Kandahar meant carrying his Bible, chalice and vestments in a cardboard box.

A place of worship was wherever he could gather troops for a short respite for Mass. That meant Mass would be administered at the back of a Humvee, in an empty shelter or out in the open.

Always on the alert, soldiers knelt on the dirt with weapons nearby. Subler would cover his uniform with the vestments, making steel-toed combat boots the fashion of the day and never removing his sunglasses.

What he found in Afghanistan is what he expected: extremely high temperatures reaching 120 degrees. But he said the troops had fairly good morale.

Subler was attached to a Stryker unit, which is an eight-wheeled armored troop transport that is used to move troops and supplies in and out of outposts. Sometimes, Subler had to journey to the outposts on foot.

“I spent a lot of time at the morgue and in the hospitals seeing wounded,” Subler said. “The dry heat just saps the water out of you.”

Oftentimes, Subler, 35, was in the midst of the fighting, being pinned down by the Taliban and sleeping beside the Strykers at night.

He recalls being out on a foot patrol where the heat and the weight of the body armor and gear was too much for one soldier. So, Subler volunteered to carry the 60-pound robot that is used to detonate small bombs.

“The Taliban was hitting us from three directions and we had to go over walls and crawl through a poppy field,” Subler said. “I was about ready to cut that thing off my back.”

But Subler said he wouldn’t change a thing.

He wants to be where the troops are who have to make difficult decisions to help them with their spiritual life. He wants to spend his career in the Army.

“What I gained is a much greater appreciation for America,” he said. “I hope I don’t lose that. This is a great country — no wonder everyone wants to get in. I don’t blame them. We have a very soft life here.”

Currently at Fort Lewis, Washington, D.C., Subler does not know where he will be stationed next.

“I wouldn’t mind going to Germany or Italy for a tour, but with such a shortage of priests, I could get sent back (to Iraq or Afghanistan),” Subler said. “It doesn’t matter to me as long as it is not Afghanistan for a while.”

GLAD Subler was not one of these guys; but do respect, honor, and appreciate their sacrifice

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:
Tami Longaberger is not one of my favorite people, BUT, I think the world of her dad…and the way he ran Longaberger baskets before he died. This is a great article about admitting failure, and working hard to correct mistakes.

What is Longaberger’s future?
Longaberger adapting to, surviving tough times
BY KENT MALLETT

NEWARK — Tami Longaberger knows she’s made mistakes running The Longaberger Co., but she vows the basketmaker will adapt to changing times and survive the recent recession

The company that founder Dave Longaberger started in 1973 with five weavers, barely avoided bankruptcy in the 1980s, enjoyed an explosion of growth in the 1990s and has lost 88 percent of its work force in the 2000s.

It’s been a difficult decade for the company that sells baskets that are handmade in America, a rarity these days. The decade started and ended with a recession that has taken a toll on most U.S. companies.

A recent layoff of 35 full-time employees reduced the company’s employment to 975. That marks the first time it’s been less than 1,000 since the late 1980s, down from a peak of more than 8,200 in 2000.

“We know how to pick ourselves up and get back in the game,” said Chief Executive Officer Longaberger. “That’s what this company was built on: having the courage to make the tough decisions.

“One of the mistakes I made over the last 10 years was I didn’t recognize we needed to change sooner. I didn’t listen to those people saying we need to adjust and change.”

Some of those changes involve embracing new technology, expanding opportunities for sales associates and updating the product line.

Other changes could include selling The Place Off The Square, the company-owned hotel in downtown Newark. The hotel is not formally for sale, but the company would be willing to listen to offers, Longaberger spokesman Tom Matthews said.

The company also is meeting with officials in Europe about possibly expanding its sales to another continent.

HELP FOR INDEPENDENT CONSULTANTS

Longaberger recently lifted many of its restrictions on independent sales consultants, who now are able to advertise their business, set up their own websites and sell baskets online, at an open house or in retail locations.

For years, consultants were limited to direct selling, while customers could buy baskets on eBay.

Online sales increased 200 percent from 2008 to 2009, and half of this year’s sales have been online.

“We opened the world of opportunity to our sales force,” Longaberger said. “We do all we can to help our sales force to reach their customers.

“We have to reinvent the company with the realities of our future in mind. When you’re doing the same thing for 40 years, you’ve got to change. Longaberger is a company that’s a business in transition.”

So, while some consultants still sell through the traditional home show, others rely on the Internet, taking orders on the phone or what Longaberger calls “cash and carry” at local stores.

“We’re trying to give them the tools and make it easier for them to chase after customers and find customers,” Matthews said. “Not everybody embraces these, but they have options to not only make sales, but contacts to build upon.”

Technology is clearly one tool Tami Longaberger thinks all consultants should have in their toolbox.

“We have some sales associates who don’t even own a computer, and that’s affecting their business,” Longaberger said. “They need to change or they won’t reach their customers in the future.

“They are running their own business and have to make decisions that are best for them, as well. This is a wonderful career with, really, limited capital investment or startup costs.”

CAN’T LIVE IN THE PAST

Longaberger embraces its tradition as much as any company, but tradition has sometimes been broken in favor of better business practices.

“Would I like to go back to the way we did things in the ’90s? Absolutely,” Longaberger said. “But, we don’t have the luxury of living in the past.”

Tami’s father, Dave Longaberger, started many of the traditions, but he never was wedded to a practice that wasn’t working.

“One of my father’s sayings was ‘subject to change,'” Tami said. “To stay in one place was not what he was about and not what this company was about. Some people forgot that’s what this company is all about.

“That heritage of adaptability, that courage to change and reinvent themselves — those are the people who will be going into the future with us.”

That future might not include many of the employees, consultants or business practices of years ago, but Longaberger said there is a future.

“We’re one of the few American craft companies left in the United States,” Longaberger said. “When other companies are shutting their doors, ours remain open. Longaberger has been around for a long, long time. We’re here, and we’re going to be here.”

YOU DA MAN:
Don’t mess with Letha Toops down at the Zaleski General Store.

The Vinton County crossroads store is one mom-and-pop shop where Mom won’t hesitate to pop off some shots.

For the second time in nine months, the 67-year-old great-grandmother grabbed her handgun and blazed away Saturday when robbers dared enter her store. Her aim might leave something to be desired – there’s no evidence that she plugged one of the bad guys – but her desire to protect her store is not in doubt.

“I was mad more than anything,” Toops said yesterday from her store near Lake Hope State Park, about 60 miles southeast of Columbus. “We’ve worked hard for all our lives for what we got. It makes me mad when they think they can come in and take everything we got.”

She was behind the counter about 5 p.m. Saturday when two men wearing camouflage clothing and mesh-type masks entered. One was carrying an assault-style rifle; the other, a shotgun.

She got the drop on the men, firing four shots through the store’s metal counter with her small-caliber handgun. As the bullets pierced the floor in front of them, the bandits turned tail.

But they weren’t done ducking. Toops’ brother and husband, the only other people in the store, got in some shots, as well. Larry Webb grabbed his sister’s gun and fired off the last round at the bandits’ car as they took off north on Rt. 278. Jerry Toops, 69, pulled a handgun from his waistband and fired once, too.

All the gunfire apparently was for naught, Sheriff Dave Hickey said. Area hospitals were alerted to be on the lookout for gunshot wounds, but nobody showed up with a hole.

The Toopses have owned the Zaleski General Store for 21 years. Mrs. Toops last pulled her gun on Nov.10. She was alone in the store when a gunman ordered her to lie on the floor and helped himself to the cash. When he drove away in a pickup truck, she grabbed her gun and squeezed off two rounds.

(A suspect has been charged in that robbery but has eluded arrest. Mrs. Toops is certain that he was not one of the men who came calling Saturday.)

“She’s feisty,” Hickey said. “She’s a pistol-packing momma. … Some must think she’s easy pickings, but they’re not from around here. Everyone around here knows she has a gun.

“She and her husband are good people. Wouldn’t bother a soul otherwise.”

Mrs. Toops was ringing the register yesterday, her gun nearby.

“Don’t come in my store with a mask on or a gun because you are going to get shot,” she said. “I’m not going to ask any questions. I’m just going to shoot, no doubt about it.”

ARE YOU KIDDING ME:
Bull goes crazy and hops into stands injuring 40 people during bullfight in Spain

BY SEAN ALFANO

This bull had his eye on the crowd.

A 1,100-pound bull hopped over a fence and went wild in the stands, trampling spectators Wednesday in Spain.

When the rampage was over, 40 people were injured, including a 10-year-old boy who was sent to intensive care for injuries caused by the bull reportedly falling on him.

The bull had twice tried to enter the 3,500 person crowd before his successful third attempt.

“I saw that the animal had jumped and, after staying stuck on the fence for a few seconds, it came over. Then there was chaos … There was stomping, pushing, shrieks, blows,” one of the injured spectators told the Daily Telegraph.

The bull was killed once it was brought under control.

The incident at the Tafalla arena in the region of Navarra occurred during an event where people goad the bull into charging them, but unlike typical bullfights, the animals are not usually killed.

“The bull caught me and hurled me against the (concrete) seating,” Inaki Zunzarren, who suffered bruises, told the Diario de Navarra newspaper. “What an experience!”

WHAT THE HE**?
NEW YORK — Talk radio host Dr. Laura Schlessinger says she’s quitting her radio show a week after saying the N-word several times in an on-air conversation with a caller.

Schlessinger said on “Larry King Live” Tuesday that she “made the decision not to do radio anymore” because she wanted to regain her First Amendment rights and say what’s on her mind.

She told King she would not renew her contract with Talk Radio Network after her contract expires at the end of the year.

Schlessinger got into hot water last week for using the N-word with a caller that she said was “hypersensitive” to racism. She issued an apology and said on her website that she was wrong in using the word for what she called an attempt to make a philosophical point.

SPORTS:
The Game Gets A New Wrinkle
Posted on August 18, 2010 by MaliBuckeye
Well, an new wrinkle that has been done before… sorta… anyways.

According to the Columbus Dispatch, Nike has announced that the Buckeyes will once again be facing That Team Up North in “Pro Combat” uniforms. This will be the second year that this has occurred, and we alluded to it in yesterdays “Silver Bullet Points“. Update- Yup, as per the official website.

09/02 – Marshall – 730pm
09/11 – Miami – 340pm
09/18 – Ohio U – Noon
09/25 – E Michigan – TBA
10/02 – at Illinois – TBA
10/09 – Indiana – TBA
10/16 – at Wisc – 715pm
10/23 – Purdue – Noon
10/30 – at Minn – 8pm
11/06 – Bye week
11/13 – Penn State – TBA
11/20 – at Iowa – TBA
11/27 – Michigan – T

AND THOUGHT:
The 2010 Reds are 69-51 after 120 gmes. The 1990 Reds were 68-52 after 120 games.

BUISNESS:
Recently I have been given the nickname “The Ghost of the Internet.” Seems MOST OF MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS! Currently I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS WEDDING SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
Knee is REALLY TWEEKED!!! But I ain’t quittin’: Risin’ up, straight to the top. Have the guts, got the glory. Went the distance, now I’m not gonna stop. Just a man and his will to survive…

My ½ marathon training has hit a snag. I have “tweeked” my knee. BUT NOT GIVING UP. I am still working hard in areas I can, and resting my knee as “The Experts” are telling me to. I have completed some tough runs and last week I did a 10 mile run, all with working 2 gigs on Saturday. I am making these and other physical gains thanx to the products of Visalus. This week I have cut back on my runs, yet NOT put on any weight-thanx to the mean replacement shakes I use from Visaulus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Orwww.sexton.visalusgiving.com

For the distance runners, and those 5k walkers/runners, there is an upcoming inaugural event on Labor Day Sunday. This will be my first in my new role of “Entertainment Coordinator.”

http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

INSPIRATION:
If this does not move you…check to see if you have a pulse!!!


I challenge you…be great/do your best/never give up. More important, help someone else be great!!!

QUOTES:
The big problem with our current culture is that there is an unacceptably large population of people who just don’t give a damn and are only worried about themselves. You see it with our politicians in office, down to the kid working at the McDonald’s drive through. if we remove this ‘attitude cancer’, we will see things improve.-Geoff Boyd

He is no fool who gives that which he cannot keep, to gain what he cannot lose. -missionary martyr Jim Elliot

The harder I work at giving back to others…the richer I feel.

“Life is full of beauty. Notice it. Notice the bumble bee, the small child, and the smiling faces. Smell the rain, and feel the wind. Live your life to the fullest potential, and fight for your dreams.”
Ashley Smith quotes

“A dreamer is one who can only find his way by moonlight, and his punishment is that he sees the dawn before the rest of the world.”
Oscar Wilde quotes

‎” Dream for a minute, work for the rest of your time to prove you weren’t dreaming.”

Leaving with, a great moto, and an ironic quote from a great that was taken too soon!

“Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.”
James Dean quotes

CLOSING:
DON’T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS – Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life – Don Miguel Ruiz (The Four Agreements)

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

FRIDAY:
GUESS WHO WILL BE SHARING A STAGE WITH THE BAND THAT HOLDS THE NUMBER ONE SONG IN THE COUNTRY!?!?!?
Lady Antebellum plays the SOLD OUT Muskingum County Fair…BUT I WILL THERE!!!

These Guys Live play Papa Boo’s

The Jackplays at Captain Woody’s

Dawson Cooper Band is at Captain Jack’s

Foreigner plays the LC, the Lifestyles Community Pavilion. For more info http://www.promowestproductions.com

SATURDAY:
Dan & Randy with Enchanted play Papa Boo’s

James and Chad with Catch 22 play Captain Woody’s

Fat Dog is at Captain Jack’s

Hansen plays The Newport. For more info http://www.promowestproductions.com

SUNDAY:
Third Degree Sideburn plays Papa Boos

Moving to Boise plays Captain Woody’s

The Black Crows play The LC. For more info http://www.promowestproductions.com

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:
Michael Ian Black plays to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

THEATER:
Broadway Across America-Columbus presents Wicked at The Ohio Theatre. This MULTI-Winning play follows the “other” Witches from Oz. For more info: http://www.broadwayacrossamerica.com

MORE TO DO:
ALL WEKEND:
All Ohio Balloon Festival at Union County Fairgrounds. For more info http://www.unioncounty.com

IN THEATERS:
Don’t bother going to the movies this weekend…nothing new that is even worth talking about

DVD:
‘Tween Flick ‘The Last Song’ starring Miley Cyrus, rated “PG-13”

The Family Friendly (and I liked it) ‘Furry Vengeance’ rated “PG”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Trace Adkins is “back” with ‘Cowboy’s Back in Town’

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Labor Day Sunday http://www.emeraldcityhalfmarathon.com/

OSU Football Season with AT&T

PLUS:
I wanted to let you know that the Ohio University Alumni Association is sponsoring a Tailgate Party for the Ohio University vs Ohio State game on Sept 18th on Lane Ave. The tailgate will be an “ALL INCLUSIVE” with your food and drinks being provided (both non-alcoholic and alcoholic). The event will start at 9am and conclude at 4pm Saturday Sept 18th. The cost is $50 if you preregister or $75 at the door. We will be showing the game on a Jumbo Screen TV and you are guaranteed to have a great time. You do NOT have to be an Ohio University Alumni to attend the event so please feel free to bring your friends and pass this email along to your other OU friends that will be attending the game day events.

To register go to http://www.ohioalumni.org/ohio-osu and scroll down to Saturday events. If you would like to be a sponsor of the event, please contact me directly from the information below.

Look forward to seeing everyone there.
Saturday, September 18

Bobcat Bash
Sponsored by Ohio University Alumni Association
Register now for this Bobcat Bash
Date Saturday, 9/18
Time 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Location
Harrison House
222 W. Lane Ave.
Columbus, OH

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

August 20, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

