Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greetings from the Home Office in Dublin Ohio-Follow up from last week

Greetings from the Home Office in Dublin Ohio. I have a busy weekend starting Thursday and hope y’all can make it out to some of the events listed below. But first wanna follow up on mailer sent last week (that for some reason many did not get till Monday-thanx G-Mail, glad I was not including my football bets).

FOLLOW UP FROM LAST WEEK:

So last week we left off with the stereotypical “where were you when…” Before this day the only significant “where were you” moments I had was when the space shuttle(s) exploded, and the Berlin Wall fell.

I now know what parents, and older family friends meant when they had long stories of where they were when Elvis died, Lennon Shot, The Vietnam Embassy pull out was, or even when J.F.K. was shot.

“Let every nation know, whether it wishes us well or ill, that we shall pay any price, bear any burden, meet any hardship, support any friend, oppose any foe to assure the survival and the success of liberty.”. –JFK

Much like this quote is how I began to ATTEMPT to live my life after September 11th, 2001. While my health and social life prior were negatively affect due to my job, both were negatively affect AFTER this day as well.

I tried too often to do too much for others. I worked even longer hours and shut myself off even more. The supervisor I was under and a few close friends finally pulled me out of that cycle.

While the days, weeks, months and years since that day has been individual growing experiences I believe it all started for me on “that day.”

I also dug the strong sense of Patriotism that WE as the Country Felt. There are times since this day I wonder what happened, sometimes I am even embarrassed. Have you ever been to a public event (sports, fundraiser or whatever), and the National Anthem is played. The same anthem where we celebrate our Freedom and Patriotism in one large group for 2 minutes 35 second (or somewhere in there depending who is singing), and there is some older guy with a younger kid…NEITHER TAKING OFF THEIR HAT. I feel this is B.S.! I even make a point to call out the “Father of The Year” cause it takes a village of Idiots to raise a Child.

…But some jerk off not taking his hat off to show respect for this country AND THE BRAVE WHO ARE SERVING OR HAVE SERVED is not the point of this.

While that day still bothers me. And the National Pride that immediately followed has faded, there is still good that came from this horrific day.
This country as a whole developed a great deal of respect for the “everyday heros” those who serve fire departments, or Police Departments. The loss of those Brave Men in NYC allowed individuals not only in NYC, Boston, and DC/but also folks form ANY small rural town to appreciate those who serve.

WE ALL found a new found respect for Heros’s serving over seas as well. Current day is NOTHING like it was immediately after the attacks, but there seems to be a feeling of pride towards anyone in uniform. I have been told this is much better than those Brave who came back from Vietnam. So yet another positive for this country out of the ashes of that tragic day.

For me? That day was a life changing moment. Since this day like many others I have a new found respect towards service individuals. Those domestically and abroad. I not only have a strong desire to show verbal appreciation toward these folks but also to do anything I can to show support, financially or through volunteering.

In the immediate days following the attacks, I was hurting like most people but had a calling to do something, from giving blood to attempting to volunteer, to oh yea…doing my job working with kids (that one did fall by the way side. Not the interaction but I admit I MAY not have done all of my paperwork on-time, but that is an entirely different blog).

I was researching the availability to go to NYC to “Ground Zero” to assist in the survivor search. I found that the rescue dogs were also grieving. You see to a dog, finding a survivor (or body) is a game, much like finding their toys. The dogs were in need of companions because they were not finding living bodies after a few days. These animals felt like they could not win the game (don’t we all feel that way at times?). I attempted to go and volunteer. My supervisor at the time would not allow me. She knew I had a desire to help, but (I think) also knew I wanted to go into a turbulent situation to escape my own feelings (of which I do tend to do, but less and less). I then attempted to “join.”

I like many attempted to join, and be one of The Brave I mention so often…not because I felt I was equal to this description but because I had feeling of duty or obligation. I was unable to join due to my “nasty” botched wrist surgery (and yes I know I need to get it fixed still to this day).

So there it is the immediate effects of that tragic day. AGAIN while last Saturday and all the other September 11ths since then DO bother me, they are becoming a day to celebrate. Celebrating the feeling of unity we had, celebrating the memory of those innocent that lost their lives, and celebrating the Brave!!! and for me to celebrate the slap in the face that caused me to re-evaluate myself, how I was living and how I wanted to live.

I had always enjoyed doing for others, but found that I did not make time. From organizations, to friends, to whatever. I was TOO BUSY. Since that day I make time to give back and pay it forward. I still at times take on too much, but often do tell someone I can’t do it. I either ask for help or suggest others who would also be of assistance. This is not that big of deal, we all could and should help. The changes since that day have been more internal.

As I have mentioned I am a little bit of a loaner, however since that day…the friends I do have, I value with all my heart. I still tend to put up a wall at times (as one person has shown me), however those walls are thinner and thinner. I try to let people in and more importantly forgive more and more. I tend to continue to do for others even when I am slapped in the face, or doubted for my reasons. Prior to that day I wanted to be BIG and Billy Badd A**, this is not the case anymore. I want to be in shape and know I can protect someone if I need to, however, I don’t want to be BIG and appear as the aggressor (just because my ego needed it).

Like I said that day 9 years ago SUCKS! But I am learning to celebrate it for the lives remembered and for the changes that I was forced to make to make me a better person. While it has been 9 years, I am still not where I want to be, however, that day gives me a reminder of what/who I want to be.

Terrorist actions are used to interrupt daily living and cause someone to live, think, and even fear actions. The terrorist actions on that day DO CAUSE ME TO LIVE DIFFERENT, THINK, AND LIVE IN FEAR. Not due to being scared of “them” but because I want to live a better life of service to others, and in turn…me!

M
September 12, 2010

Last week I wanted to weigh in on the proposed Koran burning in Florida. I Was going to rant what an idiot this “Religious Nut-ball is.” NOW I will say he is a genius! He is using the same type of terrorist threats that are aimed at us toward select members of the Islamic world. These who care, are the VERY ONES that he is targeting. I now see the the geniuses in his idiocy. I don’t condone burning a religious artifact, however I do like how he is using their same tactics against those who want to strike fear in us.

Speaking of fear, thanx for all the calls/texts/emails from everyone regarding the gas explosion in San Fran while I was out there. Yes it was a HUGE explosion and many lives were lost with even more damage…I was fine. I did not see anything from the explosion other than smoke while I was jogging on Friday Morning.

The trip last week seemed to be longer than most while the actual “work time” was less than normal. The ride out was LONG, however beneficial. I was lucky enough to be referred a GREAT BOOK.

‘The Energy Bus’ is about not focusing on the everyday bad, or hard times…but focusing on how to make them better and use the rough times to get ahead. The book follows the story of a guy who is having a bad run of luck from work to home to even one day car breaking down and shoe laces breaking. He must ride bus, and life is changed over a 2 week period while his car is being fixed. His bad situation led to events that bettered his life. Kinda like how I found out about this book.

I had to take my Jeep into shop, and after 3 frustrated times back and forth (BTW still not fixed “right”), I started BSing with a guy who was totally different than me. He was older, tall, articulate, and black. While I am Younger (compared to some), SHORT, Articulate only in regards to hill-jacks, and tend to be more pale than dark complected. What I found was that a bad situation led to a GREAT conversation and chat with someone who was nothing like me. While we chatted he discussed how to handle bad situations with grace, dignity, and resolve. I told him how to get some work ethic into his sons skull without a swift kick in the a**. He also recommended ‘The Energy Bus’ to me. I AM RECOMMENDING IT TO ANYONE WHO COULD USE “SOMETHING.” I have the audio book if you are interested or to find out more;

http://www.google.com/products/catalog?rlz=1C1SNNT_enUS379US379&q=the+energy+bus&um=1&ie=UTF-8&cid=12653231786965188512&ei=X1-STNDsFMH_lgevh7ynCg&sa=X&oi=product_catalog_result&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CCoQ8wIwAg#

I know I will get some people saying; how long this is and they don’t have time to read etc etc etc. I then am obviously not writing this FOR you. This is for me, but as an open book to allow others to see inside a person who is sometimes misunderstood.

To one of those people, I found a new favorite quote:
“I believe in you, even if you don’t believe in me”

Take a peek at this:

PLEASE JOIN ME:
THURSDAY
At Park Street Cantina

I wanted to invite you to an event I am co-hosting for Ohio Senate candidate Frank LaRose later this month in Columbus.

Thursday, September 16th
5-7 pm
Park Street Cantina
533 Park Street
Columbus, OH 43215

Tickets are just $35, payable to ‘LaRose for Senate’ with credit card or personal check. Food and drinks will be provided.

Frank is someone who I believe can make a real difference in Ohio. He is the kind of leader we need in the State Capitol. I think once you have the opportunity to meet Frank, you will feel the same way.

I hope to see you there!

For more information on Frank, visit his website, http://www.FrankLaRose.com.

You can RSVP via Frank’s Facebook page

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call me Jon Coorey at 330-631-2553.

Thanks for all of your help,

John Coorey
Campaign Manager
LaRose for Ohio Senate

Mobile: 330.631.2553
Office: 330.869.0022

71 Westgate Circle
Akron, OH 44313
http://www.FrankLaRose.com

Paid for by LaRose for Senate – Michael George, Treasurer – 3800 Rosemont Blvd, 109-C Akron, OH 44333

JOIN ME SATURDAY:
Ohio University vs Ohio State Tailgate Party

Harrison House
222 W. Lane Ave
Columbus, OH

Block up from Varsity Club toward High street on Lane Ave. The tailgate will be an “ALL INCLUSIVE” with your food and drinks being provided (both non-alcoholic and alcoholic). The event will start at 9am and conclude at 4pm Saturday Sept 18th. The cost is $50 if you preregister or $75 at the door. To register go to http://www.ohioalumni.org/ohio-osu and scroll down to Saturday event

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:
To “someone out there”- I believe in you…even if you don’t believe in me

When we go back to the drawing board that we take an eraser bc some things change & we need to be ready – but don’t drop the marker so you can stay in control!!

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
EVEN WITH SOME OF THE PAIN, HURT, AND VALUABLE LESSONS LEARNED…I WILL ALWAYS DO IT IN “THE WAY OF MY MUSICAL HERO!”

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND!!!

DROID:
Any suggestions on a new fun app?

HELP:
Happiness is a by-product of an effort to make someone else happy-Gretta Brooker Palmer

As I have been stating, I have friends who are attempting to better themselves by accomplishing some physical goals (in the Nike Woman’s Race)-while raising monies for kids/villages in Africa, and OUR ARMY/NAVY game group is starting to organize for this year’s event on December 11th. Wherever your interests, heart, and wallet guide you, please consider assisting some of the groups that need YOUR assistance, even if it is someone NOT associated with my groups-JUST DO SOMETHIING FOR SOMEONE!!!

PASSING:
West Side Marine Killed In Afghanistan
COLUMBUS, Ohio — A 23-year-old Marine sergeant from the city’s west side was killed last week in Afghanistan when he stepped on an improvised explosive device, family members said Sunday.
Stories about Jesse Balthaser surfaced over the weekend, many about his sense of humor and his strong desire to join the United States Marine Corps from an early age.

Balthaser was so eager to join up that his parents needed to sign paperwork to let the young man enlist while he was still in high school, 10TV’s Danielle Elias reported.

“He was a smart kid, but he was more of a hands-on kind of guy,” said his mother, Nancy Balthaser. “So the Marines was kind of a perfect fit for him at the time.”

The Hilltop native and West High School graduate went on to serve tours in Iraq and Afghanistan with the 1st Marine Division, 3rd Combat Engineer Battalion.

He was killed Friday after his unit was involved in a firefight. Erin McSweeney, Balthaser’s girlfriend who is pregnant with his daughter, said they were told that his death was instant.

“They had dismounted to do a check and sweep, and Jesse stepped on an IED,” McSweeney said. “They don’t know if he was shielding it, but he took the initial blast.”

Rick Balthaser said three Marines and a chaplain came to his home on Saturday with the news.

“You just don’t believe that it’s true,” he said. “That’s what I said. I thought, this can’t be happening.”

Balthaser’s parents said they were still waiting to hear from the military when their only child will be returned to Columbus.

Balthaser’s daughter, already named Regan Michael, is expected to be born in December, a month after her father’s tour was scheduled to end.

“(Jesse) was the one that made it seem that it was going to be OK and was so happy to come home and have his little girl,” McSweeney said.

http://www.10tv.com/live/foundation/slideshow.jsp?file=/local/stories/2010/09/07/slideshow-marine-killed.html&image=1&adsec=&tot=7&sid=102

HAPPY BIRTHDAY:
My “Moms” Pat Hull

And wanna say Happy Anniversary to my neighbors Michael and Kathleen Green. Love in their hearts and snake eyes in years. Happy 11th Anniversary. I have enjoyed out times on the decks, and wish you many more happy years!

NO NOT Cinco De Mayo, BUT THURSDAY Mexico Celebrated It’s Independence.

Mexican Independence Day Confuses the Web
by Claudine Zap

Get out your Mexican flags: September 16 is the 200th anniversary of Mexican Independence Day. But put away your guacamole hat. It’s not that holiday. Let us explain.

Mexican Independence Day has serious roots. It marks the day in 1810 when the Catholic priest Miguel Hidalgo y Costilla called for the people of Mexico to rise up against Spanish rule, which led to a 10-year war to break with the monarchy. We of the former British colonies can certainly relate.

The day is marked Hidalgo-style with the ringing of church bells and “el grito,” the cry of independence, in town squares across the country. Celebrations will be kicked off by President Felipe Calderon shouting “Viva Mexico” around midnight at the Zocalo in Mexico City, one of the largest public plazas in the world. Next up will be a parade attended by a crowd of two million. To keep the peace, 14,000 police officers will also be in attendance. The government is hoping that a $40 million public party will keep the focus on Mexico’s past glory, not its present misery: Drug wars, a sinking economy, and a sagging tourism industry.

But you’ll notice it’s September. In America, aside from parades like the one held in East Los Angeles this weekend, the big day in Mexico is not noticed in the U.S. We like to get excited about Cinco de Mayo, the fifth of May, known to many as the day of margaritas and merrymaking — and not observed by Mexico at all. It’s not even an official Mexican holiday. But maybe the U.S. should adopt it: The day commemorates Mexico’s underdog victory over French troops led by Emperor Napoleon III — who detested the U.S., by the way — at the Battle of Puebla in 1862. And hey, who wouldn’t want to celebrate that?

If search is any indication, celebrants are a little unclear on the difference between the two holidays. Lookups on “mexican independence day” spiked almost 200%. Related queries for “mexican independence day history,” “mexican independence day celebration,” and “september 16,” scored high as well. “Cinco de mayo” and “cinco de mayo history” were also spicy hot.

So mark your calendar for May 5, but in the meantime, give a “Viva Mexico!” shout-out for 200 years of Mexican independence.

JUST FOR FUN:
This is FUNNY!!! Dan Patrick is an AWESOME voice over.
Watch for a GREAT LAUGH!

ENTERTAINMENT:
Anyone who knows me knows I have a soft spot for Ice Cream. I love ice cream almost any time of day and year. Here is a list of Milk Shakes not to eat/drink when entertaining yourself and others (BUT J.M.I.-still looking forward to that ice cream;)

The Worst Shakes in America

We all need a little indulgence now and then. An ice cream shake, after all, shouldn’t be much more than a glass of milk with some ice cream blended together.

Problem is, today’s food marketers don’t just shake their shakes: They slap them around, toss ’em up against a wall, smack them upside the head, and abuse them in just about every way imaginable until these tasty but modest concoctions become swollen, angry monsters capable of unleashing thousands of calories on your belly in just minutes. Today’s blended drinks come with heaping doses of sugar and fat that neither Baskin nor Robbins could have imagined when they founded their establishment. If you started a shake shop today, with some of the recipes out there, you could call it only one thing: Unfriendly’s.

Still, like I said, you gotta indulge every once in a while. Just make sure your indulgences aren’t one of these worst milk shakes in America.

WORST FREEZE
A&W Root Beer Freeze (large, 32 oz)
820 calories
18 g fat (11 g saturated, 1 g trans)
400 g sodium
136 g sugars

This beverage is made with nothing but root beer and soft serve ice cream—the exact duo that constitute A&W’s root beer float. So ask yourself: Is it worth the extra 500 calories to have it blended and super-sized? Didn’t think so.

Drink This Instead!
A&W Root Beer Float (small, 16 fl oz)
330 calories
5 g fat (3 g saturated)
100 mg sodium
57 g sugars

WORST FLOAT
Baskin-Robbins Ice Cream Soda (vanilla ice cream and cola; large, 28.6 fl oz)
960 calories
40 g fat (25 g saturated, 1.5 g trans)
260 mg sodium
136 g sugars

This float has as much sugar in it as about 10 Fudgsicles. That’s outrageous, and here’s why: Done right, an ice cream float can be a decent route to indulgence (take the example from A&W above). In fact, order it with diet soda, and it’ll often drop below 200 calories. So why can’t Baskin-Robbins make even a small float with fewer than 470 calories? The chain seems to approach the art of beverage-crafting as a challenge to squeeze in as much fat and sugar as possible. Whatever you order, plan on splitting it with a friend.

Drink This Instead!
Ice Cream Float (vanilla ice cream and root beer; small, 16.9 fl oz)
470 calories
20 g fat (13 g saturated, 0.5 g trans)
68 g sugars

Bonus tip: Take a look at what’s being whipped up in the labs of the mad fast-food scientists: The Scariest Food Creations of 2010. Be afraid—be very afraid!

WORST DRIVE-THRU SHAKE
McDonald’s Triple Thick Chocolate Shake (large, 32 fl oz)
1,160 calories
27 g fat (16 g saturated, 2 g trans)
168 g sugars

There are very few milk shakes in America worthy of your hard-earned calories, but few will punish you as thoroughly as this Mickey-D’s drive-thru disaster. Not only does it have more than half your day’s caloric and saturated fat allotment and more sugar than you’d find in Willy Wonka’s candy lab (the equivalent of 13 McDonald’s Baked Hot Apple Pies—or many of these items on our list of The Most Sugar-Packed Foods in America), but Ronald even finds a way to sneak in a full day of cholesterol-spiking trans fat. The scariest part about this drink is that it’s most likely America’s most popular milk shake. Order the hot fudge sundae instead.

Drink This Instead!
Hot Fudge Sundae (small, 6.3 oz)
330 calories
10 g fat (7 g saturated)
48 g sugars

WORST MALT
Dairy Queen Hot Fudge Malt Shake (large)
1,390 calories
45 g fat (32 g saturated, 1.5 g trans)
720 mg sodium
170 g sugars

The occasional small milk shake is a forgivable indulgence. But even forgiveness has limitations—this shake has 150% of your day’s saturated fat and more sugar than two entire pints of Ben & Jerry’s Vanilla Ice Cream. Choose the Banana Shake (and make it a small) instead. It’s the lightest shake on DQ’s menu.

Drink This Instead!
Banana Shake (small)
450 calories
14 g fat (9 g saturated, 0.5 g trans)
55 g sugars

Bonus Tip: For FREE daily food and nutrition secrets and strategies, sign up for our Cook This, Not That! and Eat This, Not That! newsletters. It’ll be like having your own free personal weight-loss coach and nutritionist with you every day!

WORST FRUITY SHAKE
Smoothie King Peanut Power Plus Strawberry (large, 40 oz)
1,398 calories
44 g fat (8 g saturated)
188 g sugars

The goal with this smoothie is to replicate the flavor of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. That would be fine if it weren’t for the fact that Smoothie King’s PB&J comes laced with about 400 calories of added sugars. Skip the peanut butter portion of this concoction altogether and order a Strawberry Shredder instead. It’s fortified with L-carnitine, a derivative of the amino acid lysine that helps metabolize fats for energy; and chromium, a mineral that aids in that process while working to maintain a smooth ride for your blood sugar. Oh, and it’ll save you over 1,000 calories in one cup.

Drink This Instead!
The Strawberry Shredder (small, 20 oz)
356 calories
1 g fat (0 g saturated)
41 g sugars

Bonus Tip: To see more proof of how wayward beverages can utterly destroy your diet, check out the 20 Worst Drinks in America. Many of these drinks contain more than a day’s worth of calories, sugar and fat!

WORST SHAKE IN AMERICA
Cold Stone PB&C shake (Gotta Have It size)
2,010 calories
131 g fat (68 g saturated, 2.5 g trans)
880 mg sodium
153 g sugars

There were dozens of contenders in line for the dishonorable distinction of Worst Drink in America, but Cold Stone’s PB&C shake is the only drink in America to stretch across the 2,000-calorie mark. The combination of peanut butter—good in small amounts, horrendous when liquefied in bathtub-size quantities—and chocolate ice cream outpaces even the worst cookie- and candy-strewn shakes that clutter Cold Stone’s embarrassing shake menu. Suck this thing down and you’ve just blasted away a day’s worth of calories, more than 3 days’ worth of saturated fat, and almost as much sugar as an entire 15-ounce box of Chewy Chips Ahoy! Cookies.

Drink This Instead!
Sinless Strawberry Bananza Smoothie (Love It size)
220 calories
1.5 g fat (0 g saturated)
34 g sugars

MUSIC:
John Mayer Deletes Twitter Account (for T.W.)

Fans who want to keep up with John Mayer will no longer be able to do so via Twitter. The singer-songwriter deleted his account, leaving behind 3.7 million followers.

According to the Associated Press, a spokesperson for Mayer said the timing was synched with the end of his Battle Studies Tour that wrapped Saturday in West Palm Beach, Florida.

In April, Mayer hinted that he was considering abandoning Twitter. “I just think Twitter as a form of communication, I think it’s over to be honest with you,” he said at ASCAP’s 2010 “I Create Music” EXPO in Hollywood.

According to OK!, Mayer also cited being frustrated by negative replies from users: “I might as well spend that time making a sandwich or building a model ship or something.”

Mayer’s presence will be missed on Twitter. He was one of the more active celebrities on the site and actually responded to fans. He gave away tickets to free concerts via Twitter. He debated with Perez Hilton after the media personality used the platform to claim being attacked by will.i.am.

Mayer also used Twitter to defend his reputation after his interview in Playboy magazine stirred controversy for his indecent comments about Jessica Simpson and black women.

“Re: using the ‘N word’ in an interview: I am sorry that I used the word,” he wrote, ABC News reported. “And it’s such a shame that I did because the point I was trying to make was in the exact opposite spirit of the word itself. It was arrogant of me to think I could intellectualize using it because I realize that there’s no intellectualizing a word that is so emotionally charged.”

Expect Mayer to be spending more time on Tumblr. “I had 3.3 million Twitter followers back in April when I announced that I’d be predominantly posting on Tumblr, a site that takes all of 25 seconds to sing up for,” Mayer wrote on his Tumblr page last week. “Five months later I have just passed 500,00 followers, a fraction of my Twitter base … I will leave the opining up to you, but I think I made the right move.”

POLITICS:
A young physician by the name of Dr. Roger Starner Jones. His short two-paragraph letter to the White House accurately puts the blame on a “Culture Crisis” instead of a “Health Care Crisis”..

It’s worth a quick read:

Dear Mr. President:
During my shift in the Emergency Room last night, I had the pleasure of evaluating a patient whose smile revealed an expensive shiny gold tooth, whose body was adorned with a wide assortment of elaborate and costly tattoos, who wore a very expensive brand of tennis shoes and who chatted on a new cellular telephone equipped with a popular R&B ringtone.

While glancing over her patient chart, I happened to notice that her payer status was listed as “Medicaid”! During my examination of her, the patient informed me that she smokes more than one pack of cigarettes every day, eats only at fast-food take-outs, and somehow still has money to buy pretzels and beer. And, you and our Congress expect me to pay for this woman’s health care? I contend that our nation’s “health care crisis” is not the result of a shortage of quality hospitals, doctors or nurses. Rather, it is the result of a “crisis of culture” a culture in which it is perfectly acceptable to spend money on luxuries and vices while refusing to take care of one’s self or, heaven forbid, purchase health insurance. It is a culture based in the irresponsible credo that “I can do whatever I want to because someone else will always take care of me”. Once you fix this “culture crisis” that rewards irresponsibility and dependency, you’ll be amazed at how
quickly our nation’s health care difficulties will disappear.

Respectfully,
ROGER STARNER JONES, MD
By: Richard Meckstroth

MILITARY:
Our Hero’s and one of my buddies

http://www.wlwt.com/video/25025998/detail.html

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:
Jeni’s Ice Cream. THE BEST ICE CREAM OUT OF COLUMBUS AND SOME OF THE BEST I HAVE HAD EVER! Jeni’s has unique flavors such as some of my favorites “Salty Caramel,” and “Cincinnati Chocolate Cayenne.” I suggest you check it out, and bring your palate! I am really Jonezing for some Ice Cream!!!

http://jenisicecreams.com/

YOU DA MAN:
We all can be da man…or da woman! Don’t give up and embrace the challenges placed in front of you.

Need some help?

IRONY:
I always HATED OU-AN EX went there. Never thought much of the merit of a degree from there. Now I am on an activation tour operated by an OU grad, and DJ/MC’ing the OU Alumni Tailgate. Well..MONEY IS GREEN, like the Bobcat logo!

SPORTS:
A’s pitcher Breslow is a bighearted brainiac

The smartest man in baseball recoils at being called the smartest man in baseball. It sounds too pompous, too arbitrary. And then Craig Breslow(notes) starts waxing on about the wonders of DNA sequencing, and his Oakland Athletics teammates hoot and holler as they throw a miniature Nerf football around the clubhouse, and, well, some truths are self-evident, one of them being that these men were not created equal.

So it’s no surprise that the smartest man in baseball is on a mission: He wants to eradicate a disease. Lofty goal for anyone, let alone someone who spends his days as a relief pitcher, and yet Breslow doesn’t give up easily. He graduated from Yale, got drafted, almost went to med school at NYU, bounced around the minors, made it to the big leagues, bounced around there as well, won a World Series and, now that he’s a big leaguer for good, gladly uses the pulpit afforded to major leaguers.

And since it is Childhood Cancer Awareness Month, Breslow has a story to tell about his sister, Lesley. Doctors found tumors on her thyroid and in her lymph nodes when she was 13. Surgery removed them, the cancer never returned and she’s been in remission for nearly two decades. Still, the experience embedded itself in Breslow’s psyche: “It’s really hard to turn your back on sick children.”

Breslow never did. First through genetic research in previous offseasons, and today with his Strike 3 Foundation, Breslow exemplifies the athlete who doesn’t just parrot a cause because it sounds good. He lives it, breathes it and obsesses over it, far more than his earned-run average (a well-above league-average 3.31) or strikeouts (nearly one an inning). In the two years since starting Strike 3, Breslow has raised more than a quarter million dollars, and the foundation’s $100,000-a-year grant allowed Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale to start a Pediatric Bone Marrow Transplant Program.

“I don’t think I could have the success at one without the other,” Breslow said. “The work I do off the field isn’t necessarily a distraction, but it makes me realize there are more important things than getting an out or giving up a hit. And I’ve noticed the more success I have on the field, the more response to our cause.”

The fashion in which Breslow runs the foundation isn’t exactly ripped from leadership manuals. Between 1 p.m. and 11 p.m., he’s stuck at the field. After a game, he’ll send ideas to Joe Lizza, an old friend and the charity’s manager in Connecticut, where Breslow spends his offseasons. Lizza occasionally will reply when Breslow is still up, at 3 a.m. PT, and they’ll pore over everything from potential donors to gifts beyond the bone marrow center.

“What he’s able to do is bridge baseball and the business world seamlessly,” A’s starter Dallas Braden(notes) said. “A lot of guys aren’t able to do that, and his ability to provide a remarkable service and an example for so many people is amazing.

“But he’s not that smart. He fakes it well.”

Breslow faked it well enough for ICAP, a trading firm, to include Strike 3 in its lucrative charity day this year. And this year’s success likely will allow Breslow to hand out satellite grants on behalf of the foundation.

He even convinced A’s reliever Andrew Bailey(notes), last year’s AL Rookie of the Year, to take a board position as director of development. Asked what he has developed thus far, Bailey said: “My own money. Because Craig seems like he does everything else on his own. He talks to everybody. He deals with [problems] himself. We call him The Wizard. He’s smart, he’s the best cribbage player I know, he runs a foundation and he can pitch, too. Not anyone can go to Yale. And not anyone at Yale can study molecular bio … biophy … bio-whatever-it-is.”

It’s molecular biophysics and biochemistry, for the record, and while Breslow may be past his days inside a laboratory, his altruism remains strong. He was nominated for the Roberto Clemente Award this year, meant to honor on-field accomplishments as well as community endeavors. Unfortunately, pitching in relief for a .500 team isn’t exactly the formula for victory.

Rather than focus on contributions both charitable and intangible – “This is a young clubhouse,” A’s starter Trevor Cahill(notes) said, “and we need a guy like him” – the committee skews toward the biggest name. Of the 39 previous winners of the award, only Garry Maddox was never an All-Star, and he won eight Gold Gloves. A half-dozen All-Stars from this season are on the ballot, and Breslow understands what that means.

In all likelihood, he’ll have to wait another year or two or five or more. He’s 30, and since he’s left-handed and alive, Breslow could very well pitch another decade, so he’s willing to wait, to keep putting the Strike 3 name out there and strive to become a new standard bearer of baseball charities, following the Moyer Foundation, through which pitcher Jamie Moyer(notes) has donated more than $20 million to help children.

“We’re committed to this cause,” Breslow said, “and we’re going to see it through.”

Though he may not cure cancer, the smartest man in baseball will try. And by now people should know not to doubt him.

BUCKEYES: (new section)
MINI BUCKEYE BROWNIES

Ingredients:
1 56-ounce container VELVET Churned BUCKEYE CLASSIC Ice Cream
1 10.5 ounce package bite-sized brownies
1/2 cup chocolate ice cream topping
6 buckeye candies

Preparation:
Drizzle a small amount of chocolate topping onto each serving dish. Place three bite-sized brownies on the chocolate topping. Top with a scoop of Velvet Churned BUCKEYE CLASSIC Ice Cream. Place one Buckeye candy into each scoop of ice cream and serve. Top with additional chocolate topping, if desired.

AND YOU HAVE TO PUT IT IN THIS!

VELVET ICE CREAM BROWNIE CONES

Ingredients:
1 18.25-ounce box brownie mix
12 cake ice cream cones
1 1.75-quart container VELVET “DINOSAUR CRUNCH” Ice Cream

Preparation:
Prepare the brownie mix according to package directions. Remove the cake cones from their packaging and set a cone in each individual muffin cup. Divide the brownie mix batter into the 12 ice cream cones. Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30-35 minutes. Cool. When ready to serve, press down the middle of each baked brownie cone and top with a small scoop of DINOSAUR CRUNCH Ice Cream. Freeze until ready to serve or serve immediately.

ENJOY!

RELIGION:
“You know you were raised Catholic if…while you’re watching Star Wars you hear “may the force be with you” and you respond “and also with you”

I saw first hand the power of prayer in the last couple of days. I have been volunteering with a church group at Ronald McDonald House at Children’s Hospital. There are some GREAT stories of hope and fight (in little bodies). There was a family who seemed to have lost a lot of hope. They were in need of a heart for a little one. After we had made all the families dinner (ok…more like after I cleaned up the tables), the family was leaving, but saw the pastor in the parking lot. They stopped him and a prayer was said led by the pastor in the “Church of the Paved Parking Lot” (that could be an GREAT COUNTRY SONG-think I will work on that), anyway…prayers were said and given. Last night I received a text from a friend who works at RMH. She told me the “family who you pastor friend prayed with was just given a heart a few hours ago.” This is pretty freakin’ cool!!! Prayers aren’t always answered BUT in this case they were, and in a small way, I was involved-and feel blessed for that opportunity!!!

BUISNESS:
Recently I have been given the nickname “The Ghost of the Internet.” Seems MOST OF MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS! Currently I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS HALLOWEEN BOOKING SEASON, if you or someone you know is getting married; please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
My ½ marathon training is back on track as many know I had “tweaked” my knee. I stayed off for a few weeks and slowly getting back into some longer runs, while going to PT. I did not lose much and am back on track while keeping energy levels up thanx to the products of Visalus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Or http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com

For the partiers, or light distance runners:

The Oktoberfest Meiler Vier
M3S Sports celebrates Thanksgiving, Cinco De Mayo, St. Patrick’s Day and the Irish Festival, so, why not Oktoberfest? The Inaugural Oktoberfest Meiler Vier was such a huge success that we have decided to do it again! Join us for a great run or walk, followed by beers and brats at the Columbus Oktoberfest (click here to visit the festival web site). The race will take place Friday night September 24th at 6pm right around the Tapping of the Keg Celebration and will again be limited to the first 500 participants.

Date-September 24, 2010

Start time-Approx 6:15pm – the race will start on the news and in conjunction with the tapping of the keg!

Course-The event will be a 4 mile course that will start and finish at the Natural Resources/Commercial Pavilion at the Ohio Expo Center.

Field-Open to all runners and walkers. Every runner will receive a technical shirt, a finisher’s medal and some world famous Schmidt’s Sausages, cold beer, and much more. “Willkommen!!!!”

Goodies Tech shirt – Finishers Medal – Bahama Mama – Free Bier, Free Crème Puff

Entry fee $35 through July 31st, $40 August 1st until race day, and $45 on race day

INSPIRATION:
Adversity though very painful, it will build you up the same way your immune system is able to fight off infection. Weak immune systems sometimes allow us to get sick because we have not been immune to the infection (flu shot) Dr’s put in bad stuff to get our body use to it. Adversity in our lives work the same way, once we get immune to the adversity in our lives we can handle it & navigate through much better! doc

QUOTES:
Accomplishment: Knowing that you are making a difference and changing things for yourself and others. Being able to recognize that the road is long but staying the course will lead you to your goal!

Don’t be a fool; a mistake is a lesson in disguise…only a mistake if you don’t learn the lesson.

CLOSING:
It is worth remembering that the time of greatest gain in terms of wisdom and inner strength is often that of greatest difficulty.

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

FRIDAY:
Barbed Wire is at Captain Woody’s

Blood Sweat and Beers is at Captain Jack’s

AND I AM VERY EXCITED…Toad The Wet Sprocket is at The Midland Theater.!!! (I saw the Counting Crows for the first time when they Opened for Toad). These guys are AWESOME!!!

SATURDAY:
Velvet Vibrations play Papa Boo’s

Left of Center plays Captain Woody’s

The 3rd Annual Streetfolk Festival is at Captain Jack’s

THIS SATURDAY AND EVERY BUCKEYE HOME GAME join Matt Sexton and the SOS AUDIO Crew as we host the HOTTEST Tailgate in Central Ohio (just off Lane Ave).

Across the Field mixes the HISTORY of the past with “The Danger Brothers’ with the current entertainment of the future “Eric Dove and Green Light Go.” With the future of entertainment the “Nuts” from SOS AUDIO. Playing on the Monster Energy Drink Stage (provided by R.M. Sexton Enterprises).

Stop by before or after the Buckeyes Win OVER OU! Across the field has the largest selection of Buckeye Memorabilia in Central Ohio to get you ready for The Shoe!

Not going to the game? Hang out and watch the action on the HUGE Jumbo TV’s, all while enjoying an ICE COLD Budweiser (or many).

For more info:
Across The Field
2781 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43202-1508
(614) 261-3680

OSU vs. OU Bash (The Battle of Ohio) at Harrison House (Lane Ave)

Bobcat Bash will be on Lane Ave in the back parking lot of the Harrison House.

You do NOT have to be an Ohio U grad to attend the events or register online; you just have to have OHIO spirit.

The Bobcat Bash will be an all inclusive with:
The Game live on our Jumbo Screen
Smoked Pulled Pork sandwich, bag of chips and both cole slaw and baked beans
Vitamin Water, PowerAde, Fuze, Smart Water
Miller Lite, Coors Light, Jack Daniels, Finlandia Vodka
Cola Beverages

We will also have performances before and after the game by SWAGG and DJ Matt Sexton will be the host MC.

Please let all of your friends know about the event and make sure that they pre-register online even if they are not OU Alumni so that they receive the discounted rate. This is going to be an event that you and your friends will not want to miss. To register go to http://www.ohioalumni.org/ohio-osu-pregame-events#saturday and scroll down to Saturday events. If you would like to be a sponsor of the event, please contact me directly from the information below.

Saturday, September 18
Bobcat Bash
Sponsored by Ohio University Alumni Association

9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Location
Harrison House
222 W. Lane Ave.
Columbus, OH

SUNDAY:
John Schwab plays Papa Boos

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

“Roast Master,” Greg Giraldo plays to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

MORE TO DO:
SATURDAY:

WaterFire with the Ladies of Longford at Genoa Park (COSI). For more info http://www.waterfirecolumbus.com

The downtown riverfront will be aglow during WaterFire, a string of wood-fueled bonfires in the river in downtown Columbus. WaterFire begins at dusk and is a one-of-a-kind experience providing an opportunity for everyone to enjoy an evening out with the arts. WaterFire will be held during the Riverfront Arts Festival with a special performance by Ladies of Longford.

The Poorly Organized, and even more poorly marketed, Hot Licks Blues Festival in Downtown Granville. Check out the GREAT Line Up, and the HORRIBLE web site…http://www.freewebs.com/hotlicks/

ALL WEEKEND:
ARRRRR you Ready?!?!?
Pirate Weekend on the Santa Maria. For more info http://www.santamaria.org

Delaware County Fair (Home of the Little Brown Jug) at The Delaware County Fairgrounds. For more info http://www.delawarecountyfair.com

IN THEATERS:
The Master of Suspense, M. Night Shyamalan, is back with ‘Devil,’ rated “R.”

DVD:
CHICK FLICK!!! ‘Letters to Juliet’ Rated “PG.”

Queen Latifah, and Common star in “Just Wright rated “PG.”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
The lovable duo of Joey + Rory release, “Album Number Two”

Jamey Johnson has “Guitar Song”

The “quiet member” of the Muzic Mafia, James Otto releases “Shake What God Gave Ya”

Linkin Park FINALLY is back with “Thousand Suns

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Starting Next Week, “Wild Weds” at Park Street Saloona. I AM BACK C-BUS, bringing my Buddy Tommy B. along for the ride for COLUMBUS BIGGEST COUNTRY NIGHT!

Free Bus to-from Campus, Concert Tixx give aways, and ROCKY BOOT weekly give aways. PLUS ALL YOU FAVORITE COUNTRY MUSIC AND MORE!!!

Next week:
2nd Annual Vier Miler party

Start Time – This is your chance to be a star! The event starts with the Taping of the Keg Celebration which will be on LIVE television. It is our expectation that we will Tap the Keg and start the Race by 6:15 p.m. Please be ready to go no later than 6:00p.m.

Parking: Free Parking is available at the fairgrounds right near the start and finish. However, you need to pick up your parking pass at packet pickup at Fleet Feet Sports in order to get in free.

Packet Pickup: Begins September 22nd at Fleet Feet Sports in Polaris during normal business hours.

Due to the size of the field we STRONGLY encourage you to pick up your race packet at Fleet Feet Sports.

If you absolutely can not pickup your packet during those times, Race Day Packet Pick Up will be at the Commercial Pavilion from 3:30 p.m. to 5:30 p.m.
http://us.mc529.mail.yahoo.com/mc/welcome?.gx=1&.tm=1284651614&.rand=8fuv0sn2s25sd#_pg=showMessage&sMid=0&fid=%2540S%2540Search&filterBy=&squery=m3Ssports&vp=1&srf=&.rand=1206702078&midIndex=0&mid=1_22_1_29711_0_ABIxvs4AAWiNTI%2BL0wQPqWrIVdc&fromId=dbabner@m3ssports.com&clean&m=1_22_1_29711_0_ABIxvs4AAWiNTI%2BL0wQPqWrIVdc,1_1246_1_37859_0_ABExvs4AASF1TI7KBgZTSi20EE0,1_2357_1_64407_0_AAsxvs4AAUIPTIo2wwygCSLeenA,&sort=date&order=&startMid=0&.jsrand=4097735

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

September 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

