Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

First week of fall

Greetings from the first days of fall in Central Ohio where the “crisp,” autumn temperatures are a balmy 91’. As I sit here typing I can hear the wind (there is currently a wind advisory for our area) blowing what I thought were the leaves falling to the ground. As I looked out the window I found it was just a bunch of burned, dead, grass blowing against the garage. No fear though, it is O-H-I-O we could have a snowstorm next week! The old saying of “wait an hour the weather will change” is true. Don’t know if we say that enough it is a self fulfilling prophesy, or it REALLY is true. But there has to be some truth cause when you hear it enough…

Somethings we don’t hear enough. I am probably guilty of not saying some things enough. If it is a “thank you,” a “I am proud of you” or just a “hello” out of the blue, can sometimes make a person’s day. I heard all this week and while it has been a VERY stressful week it was those little moments that can make life tolerable…maybe even enjoyable. Sometimes a nice word or greeting is just nice to hear!

I was reminded this week of this not only by experiencing some kind words, but also by remembering how fragile life can be. I watched a person pass away this week. Did not know them, but still felt “strange.” After a few hours of “weirdness” not wanting to do anything, I felt the need to jump back on the horse.

We gotta live to live, not to live because we may die. In regards to others and to expand on the above (and I guess on the last 2 weeks), take a moment to just tell someone how ya feel. It may brighten their day, but more importantly we never know when our time is…so as Garth Says: “So tell that someone that you love, Just what you’re thinking of, If tomorrow never comes”

This MAY not always be a feel good touchy feely moment either. FOR EXAMPLE!!! I have always attempted to show respect to authorities (with the exception of my High School Biology Teacher). Now that doesn’t mean I don’t speed but when caught…I am respectful.

HOWEVER when I am not in the wrong I do not EXPECT OR AGREE with a “Barney with a BADGE” intervening his will on me. This week while parking at Nationwide Garage I was directed and re-directed by parking staff…to a gate that would not open. I was told I had to turn around with no “I am sorry, or let me raise this gate for you.” (Back story I have been parking in this garage since 2000, and have had numerous run in with same attendants-WHO REFUSE TO TREAT ME LIKE A CUSTOMER OR AT THE VERY LEAST TAKE ACCOUNTABILITY FOR THEIR MISTAKES).

WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO THE CLIENT IS ALWAYS RIGHT!?!?!

I commented “common I know it is Pre-Season, but let’s get our heads out of our a**es.” Oh Barney cop did not like this. He snapped at me at told me I “should not talk to them like that!”

MAYBE IF GUNG HO COPPER WAS NOT ON HIS PHONE WHILE HE IS MAKING SPECIAL DUTY MONIES he would have known the whole story. OH IT GETS BETTER! (Barney )I have to refer to him at that, because at time I was under impression I was in the wrong and did not go into a defensive state and did not collect his name.

This “officer” (and I use this term loosely because he is NOTHING like those on the force that work hard and do a job without an ego-those I appreciate and respect), then reached into my vehicle to grab my parking pass and then a parking ticket I had (and been sitting there for a week). Now I am NO EXPERT on the law…but there was no documentation for my arrest, no alleged harm to myself or others, and NO WARRANT IN HIS HAND! So to the good cops THANK YOU, to this Barney and others like him…wanna be a real man and tell others what to do? Become a nun, they are scary, aggressive, and DON’T HAVE TO CARRY A GUN!

PLEASE JOIN ME:
At Park Street Saloon WEDS for Wild Wednesday (COUNTRY NIGHT), and Friday and Saturdays with the Nation’s Hottest dueling Piano Artists
Park Street Saloon in the newest party bar on Park St in the Arena District! This brand new venue is connected to Park St Patio and will be sure considered the hottest destination in Columbus with dueling Piano’s and ME.

A never-before-seen bar and dining experience, featuring the hottest live entertainment ranging from dueling pianos, one-man bands, comedy acts, DJs and more—all to create the ultimate party bar and restaurant.

Bottle service is available and table reservations available by emailing molly@mailrz.com

Hope to see you at Park St Saloon!
Go to http://www.ParkStreetSaloon.com for details

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:
“To me, there are three things we all should do every day. We should do this every day of our lives. Number one is laugh. You should laugh every day. Number two is think. You should spend some time in thought. And number three is, you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy. But think about it. If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.”

When you work too much without interspersing some play into your day, you lose your vitality. Play keeps your heart light and your spirit lively.

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
NOT EDITED:
But this song gets me fired up. I was reminded of it when I was lifting with Pandora last week. No matter if on stage, life, gym, or on the course…this CAN INSPIRE!

I don’t ask for much, just for the chance to make people (OK someone) smile, laugh, feel protected, and just let me take on their (hers) bad days…to just bring on home to me!

DROID:
Pandora is an AMAZING APP, and I cannot get enough of it!!!

HELP:
I believe that the very purpose of life is to be happy. From the very core of our being, we desire contentment. In my own limited experience I have found that the more we care for the happiness of others, the greater is our own
sense of well-being.
~ Dalai Lama

As I have been stating, I have friends who are attempting to better themselves by accomplishing some physical goals (in the Nike Woman’s Race)-while raising monies for kids/villages in Africa, and OUR ARMY/NAVY game group is starting to organize for this year’s event on December 11th. Wherever your interests, heart, and wallet guide you, please consider assisting some of the groups that need YOUR assistance, even if it is someone NOT associated with my groups-JUST DO SOMETHIING FOR SOMEONE!!!

Have someone you know who does for others and you want to recognize? Here is a great contest!
http://www.1049theriver.com/contests-and-giveaways/104-9-the-rivers-vacation-on-the-music-boat-presented-from-our-friends-at-heartland-bank-where-banking-feels-good/

PASSING:
Man who inspired Lynyrd Skynyrd name dies in Florida
Former coach and P.E. teacher Leonard Skinner of Jacksonville was the namesake for the famed Southern rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd.

JACKSONVILLE (AP) — Leonard Skinner, the basketball coach and physical education teacher who inspired the name of the Southern rock band Lynyrd Skynyrd, died Monday in Florida, his daughter said. He was 77.
Skinner died in his sleep at the St. Catherine Laboure Manor in Jacksonville, where he had been living for about a year, his daughter Susie Moore said. Skinner had Alzheimer’s disease.

He was working at Robert E. Lee High School in Jacksonville in the late 1960s when he sent a group of students to the principal’s office because their hair was too long. Those students later formed a band, using a variation of Skinner’s name for their own.

During an interview in January 2009, Skinner said he was always bothered by the way the legend grew to say he was particularly tough on the band members or that he had kicked them out of school, according to The Florida Times-Union, which first reported Skinner’s death.

“It was against the school rules,” Skinner said then. “I don’t particularly like long hair on men, but again, it wasn’t my rule.”

The band became popular in the mid-1970s, with hits such as Sweet Home Alabama and Free Bird. Three of the band members, including lead singer Ronnie Van Zant, were killed in a 1977 plane crash. The band regrouped and continues to perform today.

Years after sending the young students to the office, Skinner found his son listening to an album called Pronounced Leh-Nerd Skin-Nerd. The son, also named Leonard, said his father wasn’t particularly impressed.

After discovering the connection, Skinner eventually became friends with some of the band members, according to the paper. They even performed at a Jacksonville bar the former coach owned.

Skinner later allowed the band to use a photo of his Leonard Skinner Realty sign for the inside of their third album, and he once introduced them at a Jacksonville concert.

Skinner’s children said their father was never completely comfortable with being linked to the band but did grow to embrace it.

“He made a lot of new friends,” Moore said. “That in itself really brought a lot of wonderful people in our family’s lives, simply because they were Lynyrd Skynyrd fans, and they wanted to meet Dad. They loved him. They’re part of our extended family now.”

BIRTHDAY:
Sunday is “Fitness Guru” Jack Lellane’s Birthday. Turning 96 and HE STILL WORKS OUT 2 HOURS A DAY!!!

Jack LaLanne still works out every day as he approaches his 96th birthday, and he’s done it without steroids. LaLanne says taking steroids is “like eating poison.” LaLanne has kept his physique by eating right and exercising.

He won’t be having chocolate cake and ice cream to celebrate when he turns 96 on Sunday. He says he quit eating bad food when he was 15. You can still see LaLanne pushing his various products on informercials. He’s out with a new one to prevent older people from taking dangerous falls. It’s called the “Better Balance for Life” kit and is available on his website.

By exercise. I’ll tell you one thing, you don’t always have to be on the go. I sit around a lot, I read a lot, and I do watch television. But I also work out for two hours every day of my life, even when I’m on the road.
Jack LaLanne

Do you know how many calories are in butter and cheese and ice cream? Would you get your dog up in the morning for a cup of coffee and a donut?
Jack LaLanne

Focus on your problem zones, your strength, your energy, your flexibility and all the rest. Maybe your chest is flabby or your hips or waist need toning. Also, you should change your program every thirty days. That’s the key.
Jack LaLanne

I do it as a therapy. I do it as something to keep me alive. We all need a little discipline. Exercise is my discipline.
Jack LaLanne

I have spoken to a whole group of millionaires, head executives at Microsoft. Boy did I chew those guys out.
Jack LaLanne

I only eat fish – no chicken, no turkey, just fish. I get all my protein from fish and egg whites.
Jack LaLanne

I’d rather see you drink a glass of wine than a glass of milk. So many people drink Coca-Cola and all these soft drinks with sugar. Some of these drinks have 8 or 9 teaspoons of sugar in them What’s the good of living if you can’t have the things that give a little enjoyment?
Jack LaLanne

If you’ve got a big gut and you start doing sit-ups, you are going to get bigger because you build up the muscle. You’ve got to get rid of that fat! How do you get rid of fat? By changing your diet.
Jack LaLanne

Look at the average American diet: ice cream, butter, cheese, whole milk, all this fat. People don’t realize how much of this stuff you get by the end of the day. High blood pressure is from all this high-fat eating.
Jack LaLanne

Probably millions of Americans got up this morning with a cup of coffee, a cigarette and a donut. No wonder they are sick and fouled up.
Jack LaLanne

Remember this: your body is your slave; it works for you.
Jack LaLanne

So many older people, they just sit around all day long and they don’t get any exercise. Their muscles atrophy, and they lose their strength, their energy and vitality by inactivity.
Jack LaLanne

The only way you get that fat off is to eat less and exercise more.
Jack LaLanne

They thought that athletes that worked out with my system wouldn’t be able to throw a ball because they’d be too muscle bound. Those are the misconceptions I had to go through for about 40 years.
Jack LaLanne

We don’t know all the answers. If we knew all the answers we’d be bored, wouldn’t we? We keep looking, searching, trying to get more knowledge.
Jack LaLanne

What you need to do is get that tape measure out, and start measuring that gut. Then you start working out and you start eating properly till that gut gets down close to it was when you were in your 20’s. Then you’ll find out what your weight should be.
Jack LaLanne

Yes, exercise is the catalyst. That’s what makes everything happen: your digestion, your elimination, your sex life, your skin, hair, everything about you depends on circulation. And how do you increase circulation?
Jack LaLanne

You can’t get rid of it with exercise alone. You can do the most vigorous exercise and only burn up 300 calories in an hour. If you’ve got fat on your body, the exercise firms and tones the muscles. But when you use that tape measure, what makes it bigger? It’s the fat!
Jack LaLanne

You don’t have to call it God or Jesus. That’s religious humbug to a lot of people, but you’ve gotta believe that nature and spiritual things surround us. That is what put us here! I thank the universe for that every day of my life.
Jack LaLanne

FUNNY:
From my friend Leslie down in South Carolina
An open letter to the man riding a moped down East Cambridge on Thursday wielding a running weed eater in the air
by Lesley Lane on Friday, September 17, 2010 at 10:37am

Dear Man riding a moped down East Cambridge on Thursday wielding a running weed eater in the air,

I have seen some crazy shit in my lowly 30 years on this planet. I’ve seen a vagina grow to the size of an arcade basketball, a two-year-old smoke pot on YouTube, and just this morning I woke up to find that my young daughter has decided that she no longer wishes to be of English/Portuguese decent but rather of Indian decent and has fashioned her very own bindi from a pink stick-on rhinestone which she wore last night as she slept. However, I have never seen a man riding a moped while wielding a running weed eater in the air.

That was until yesterday morning at approximately 11:06 a.m.

I was turning left onto East Cambridge from the red light at Cokesbury Street, the Lil’Crackit on my right. You were across the street, just in front of the Mexican Rental Center, travelling west toward Seaboard Avenue. I was about to pee in my pants and on my way to my mother’s office since it was the closest place with facilities sanitary enough for me to use. Surprisingly you were excitedly riding a moped while balancing a weed eater in the air. Even more surprising was that the weed eater was running.

Now some people might have seen you on Thursday and thought there was some sort of neurological instability there. I have a different opinion. I assume a great deal from here on out so bear with me.

Considering the part of town that you were in combined with your slender build and your chiseled-like facial features, I’m a assuming that you are a crack head, which in my opinion is much better than being a meth head. So I am not judging.

Now, I’ve never smoked crack but I’ve seen the film “Crack Heads Gone Wild.” From what I gather crack heads are fairly talented people. The movie “Crack Heads Gone Wild” features dancing crack heads, singing crack heads and tumbling crack heads. The movie even alludes to the fact that crack heads give great fellatio, most of the time to get more crack. I assume that crack heads are more orally talented because most veteran crack heads have no teeth in their mouth to screw things up. However, one thing I did not see in “Crack Heads Gone Wild” was a crack head riding a moped while balancing a running weed eater in the air. That, my friend, is an act far more talented that any toothless crack head could ever perform if you ask me.

But I digress.

I’m not sure where you came from or where you were headed on your journey. Maybe you were travelling to Taggart, Carolina, or Mineral to get more crack. Maybe you have also been impacted by the trickling economy of late and planned on tidying up your crack dealer’s front lawn with the weed eater in exchange for a rock.

I like you man on a moped wielding a running weed eater in the air so I am going to assume just that; that you were going to do a little landscaping so you could get high. Maybe you chose to landscape because you still have all of your teeth and were worried that your fellatio might not be up to par. I however, would like to assume you chose landscaping over fellatio because you have morals.
In closing, I ask that you forgive me if I am way off base with my crack head speculations. You see, I consider myself morally flexible since I have a penchant for stereotyping. If my speculations about you being a crack head and landscaping for rock are correct this means that a crack head can have more morals than a working white girl who says her prayers every night and hasn’t had a drug in her body since that guy slipped something in my carrot cake shot four years ago at the Fox and the Hound.

I’m only rambling now.

Anyway, man on a moped who I still think is a crack head, thanks for the opportunity to analyze your possible motives, for allowing me to see something I’ll probably never see again for the rest of my life, and for giving me something to write about this morning other than hotdog plate benefits, and lost Yorkie-Poos.

Very best wishes to you,

L

PS: Mr. Moped Man, I realize that crack head should have been “crackhead” but I am too lazy to go back and fix it now but I have a feeling that if you ever have the opportunity to read this you will not know the difference anyway.

JUST FOR FUN:
‘Master of blue jeans’ holds key to fashion riddle

AFP/HO – Art historians believe they have found a piece of a centuries-old puzzle in the work of a newly discovered …

PARIS (AFP) – Workaday staple and fashion favorite, blue jeans have conquered the planet. But were they born in the textile mills of New Hampshire, on France’s southern coast or the looms of north Italy?

Art historians believe they have found a piece of the centuries-old puzzle in the work of a newly discovered 17th-century north Italian artist, dubbed the “Master of the Blue Jeans”, whose paintings went on show in Paris this week.

Running through his works like a leitmotif is an indigo blue fabric threaded with white, with rips revealing its structure, in the skirts of a peasant woman or the jacket of a beggar boy.

“The works are very attached to the detail of clothing — it was very rare for a painter to characterize the poor with such detail,” said curator Gerlinde Gruber, who helped to identify the anonymous artist’s works.

“And there is blue jean in every painting except one,” she said.

Other details in his work, such as a knotted white kerchief in a painting entitled “Mother Sewing”, enabled curators to locate the scenes in northern Italy, in the region of Venice.

Historians have long traced jeans’ ancestry to two sources outside the United States: a sturdy fabric from the French city of Nimes– “de Nimes”, hence “denim” — on the one hand, and a cotton fustian from Genoa in Italy — “Genes” in French, becoming “Jeans” in English — on the other.

But unlike the finery worn by the upper classes, the clothes of the peasant classes were used until shredded through, leaving no trace.

Until now there were only fragmented written records to rely on to document the shipments of low-cost fabric that flooded from Genoainto northern Europe — and especially England — in the mid-17th century.

“We have accounts from an English tailor saying that his fabric came from Genoa, and that is the origin of jeans,” said Gruber. “But this gives us new documentary proof of a historical reality that has been forgotten.”

In a further quirk, the blue tint of the fabric was painted with the exact same indigo as that used to dye today’s denim, according to curators.

Centuries later, husband and wife design team Francois and Marithe Girbaud earned a reputation as modern-day masters of the jeans world — as pioneers of the baggy hip-hop look, of stonewashing or stretch denim.

“This calls into question the entire history we have been telling up until now,” said Francois Girbaud, who partnered with the Paris exhibition. “And that’s what’s fun.”

“In people’s minds, jeans used to be all about Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, about the United States,” he said. “Nimes or Genoa? I don’t have the answer. But it’s amusing to think that jeans already existed in 1655.”

Ten paintings have been attributed to the Italian artist, eight of which are on show in Paris alongside works by contemporaries such as Michael Sweerts or Giacomo Ceruti, loaned from museums and private collections in Rome and Vienna.

How they came together in Paris is a detective story in itself.

In 2004, the Paris-based gallery owner Maurizio Canesso bought a work in New York by an unknown artist of the Neapolitan school.

Trying to track down the origins of the painting, “The Barber’s Shop”, Canesso found a copy in a museum in Varese near Milan and says “that was when the search really began.”

At the same time in Italy, unknown to him, Gruber had been joining the dots between works she believed to be by the same artist, who she dubbed “The Master of the Blue Jeans” because of the recurring presence of the fabric.

Her search began after two works thought to be by his hand surfaced within a short space of time — the “Woman sewing with two children” and the “Beggar boy with a piece of pie”.

Canesso’s curiosity was aroused by a 2006 article in which Gruber described the paintings, and over the following few years he purchased all the available works attributed to the artist.

With their use of vivid blue set against chiraoscuro backdrops, and focus on humble everyday scenes, the works’ value is estimated at between 60,000 and 800,000 euros according to the Canesso gallery.

GREAT READ:
5 Mistakes Everyone Should Make

Five successful people, ranging from a noted psychologist to a legendary tastemaker, describe their most startling (and most revealing) blunders.
by Amanda Armstrong

1. Totally embarrass yourself.
After the publication of my book Reviving Ophelia, in 1994, I was invited to a prestigious party. I got all dressed up; I was so excited to make connections. I had a wonderful time and was elated as I was walking back to my car. Well, that is, until I felt something on the back of my skirt. While I had gotten dressed for the function, I had apparently sat on a stack of clean laundry, and a pair of underwear had affixed itself. I had spent the entire night that way! I was mortified, but at the end of the day, it just didn’t matter. I went to other similar events after that, and as far as I could tell, that incident didn’t change people’s impression of me one little bit.

I tend to think that we are all always one static-cling mishap away from looking like a total idiot—and believing that helps me keep gaffes in perspective. And, of course, these grand embarrassments eventually loosen their grip anyway, leaving you with an ace-in-the-hole story to crack up your friends with for years to come.

2. Ruffle people’s feathers.
Years ago, when I began working at a business school, I sat in meetings quietly, afraid I would say the wrong thing. Some people spoke up and were scoffed at. I didn’t want that to happen to me, so I held my tongue. I soon realized that my silence implied that I was on board with whatever was being said. I started voicing my opinion, even on controversial subjects, regardless of how my comments would be received. Occasionally colleagues would roll their eyes, but I found that even those who disagreed with me came to respect me for not backing down. Sometimes my ideas will make me unpopular, sure, but that’s better than being a blank slate.

3. Follow trends blindly.
Looking back on my life, I find it hard to think of a fad I did not embrace. When glam rock glittered, I bleached my hair and wore a dangly earring. When punk rock raged, I donned black leather. Not until my 50s did I find my look—I call it Carnaby Street mod circa 1966—which allowed me to hop off the trend merry-go-round. But I am grateful for this process: It took a fashion odyssey to help me find out who I really am.

4. Be willing to fail—doing something you love.
In 1997 I had just graduated from law school (with tons of student-loan debt) and was interviewing for high-paying positions at big firms. The problem was, my heart wasn’t in it. So I took myself out of the running in order to build a small Internet publishing company with a friend. After a year of barely staying afloat, our venture went the way of a 404 ERROR message. I was broke and unemployed, and Sallie Mae was hot on my tail. I wondered what endeavor I should try next.

It sounds crazy, but once again I decided to throw caution to the wind and just do what I wanted. I began working as a trial attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice. Over the next few years, I held a wide array of fascinating jobs that I took because they captured my imagination: serving in the military, reporting from Iraq for the Washington Post, and, most recently, becoming a full-time author. Some might consider me flighty for changing careers so often, but I contend that the key to professional happiness is asking yourself two simple questions every single day: Are you passionate about what you do? And if not, what are you going to do instead?

5. Carelessly put yourself at risk.
I’m a terrible skier, and I’m not being hard on myself when I say that. Small children and monkeys are more coordinated than I am. So it was with unbridled terror that I once found myself alone on a black-diamond ski trail in the middle of a blizzard. (Long story.) With nobody to carry me down, I didn’t have a lot of options. So I wept—and had a fairly supplicating talk with God about my imminent death. (I believe I made a series of promises involving church attendance, reduced alcohol intake, and forgoing swearing.) And, finally, I skied—slowly, with zero elegance, and whimpering like an infant the entire time—down the mountain. It wasn’t pretty, but I did it.

The point being, sometimes you have to get in over your head to realize that you’re not really in over your head at all. Two years ago, I got a job that I desperately wanted but had no idea how to do. So I took it, endured several panic attacks, and eventually learned the ropes. My choices were either figure it out or get fired. The bottom line: Most of the time, a high-risk situation won’t kill you, because you are stronger than you think. And it’s never a bad thing to be reminded of that.

MUSIC:
Thursday night I had the chance to go see Little Big Town, and Sugarland. YES J.M.I. you should have gone!!! I also had the chance to work with some GREAT people, who teach me a lot-by just being around them!

Before the LBT, and Sugarland Concert, I played the Pre-Party event at Frog Bear Wild Boar. It was a fun crowd and I got to spin my own unique blend of country-which I have not been able to do for awhile. MORE IMPORTANT…I got to work with some TRUE professionals that I also am honored to call friends. Wood, Zuko, and Stacey, as well as, Chad Highland worked the crowd, mingled, and did the host thing all while making each person (listener) in attendance feel like they knew each personally. People like this teach me a lot by just being around them. PLUS having the chance to chat with them, made me feel like they gave 2 sh*ts about me as well! Going above and beyond…wanna thank Chad Highland for some AMAZING tixx that J.M.I did not get to enjoy ;), BUT David Babner and his G.F. did. This allowed for a great seat for a surprisingly entertaining show.

I say surprised because I have seen Sugarland 5-6 times and well..it was just ok. They were usually the opener and played in front of a curtain and did not put on much of a show. I basically went to hear LBT harmonize-which WAS AWESOME, and Kim Roads AND HER BIG HAIR is beautiful, but I digress…

Sugarland has COME A LONG WAY. The 3 person band is now a duo, and Jennifer Nettles has cut her hair and gone from just an artist to A PERFORMER! Lil Jennifer in her short mop top curly hair OWNED THE STAGE ! She worked all sides and ya know what? YOU COULD TELL SHE WAS HAVING FUN, as she belted out her hits, and worked in a few more…I COULD HAVE DOEN WITHOUT THE PEACE BLAH BLAH BLAH song in THE FINALE’ but all in all it was a great show with a stage production that was well put together and well utilized. They have worked hard and formed their craft to the point they HAVE EARNED THEIR SUCCESS!

Kinda like their first hit. And while I am a dude…I can still relate to some parts of this song. I had to get help to get where I am, and I know it, appreciate it, and am thankful for it! Not only am I reminded what a good show is, and having fun on stage is…but also reminded to that I would not be doing this without the help of good friends, clients, and my parents and grandparents that bailed my a** out of trouble on more than one occasions.

I GOT TO EXPERIECE A NIGHT OF PERSUING WHAT I DO, AND TO WATCH SOMEONE ELSES DREAMS COME TRUE. With some more time, hard work, dedication, and patience (the last being the hardest), I too will “make my dreams come true.” And one of those dreams, as Little Big Town sings, is to have someone who should have been there “bring it on home to me.”

Baby Girl Lyrics…BUT fit for a dude

They say in this town, stars stay up all night,
Don’t know, can’t see ‘em for the glow of the neon lights.
And it’s a long way from here to the place where the home fires burn.
Well it’s two thousand miles and one left turn.

“Dear Mom and Dad,
“Please send money, I’m so broke that it ain’t funny.
“I don’t need much, just enough to get me through.
“Please don’t worry ’cause I’m all right,
I’m playin’ here at the bar tonight.
This time, I’m gonna make our dreams come true. (and I have had this VERY CONVERSATION!!!)
Black top, blue sky, big town full of little white lies.
Well, everybody’s your friend: you can never be sure.
They’ll promise fancy cars and diamond rings, all sorts of shiny things,
But, remember what your knees are for.

“Dear Mom and Dad,
“Please send money, I’m so broke that it ain’t funny.
“I don’t need much, just enough to get me through.
“Please don’t worry ’cause I’m all right,
I’m playin’ here at the bar tonight.
This time, I’m gonna make our dreams come true.

I know that I’m on my way.
I can tell every time I play.
And I know it’s worth all the dues I pay,
When I can write to you and say… (AMEN!!!)

“Dear Mom and Dad,
“I’ll send money. I’m so rich that it ain’t funny.
It oughtta be more than enough to get you through.
“Please don’t worry ’cause I’m all right,
I’m stayin’ here at the Ritz tonight (FIRST NIGHT I STAYED AT ONE…I TOUGHT OF THIS SONG!)

“Whaddya know, we made our dreams come true.
“And there are fancy cars and diamond rings,
“But you know that they don’t mean a thing.
They all add up to nothin’ compared to you.

POLITICS:

AND THIS IS EXCITING!!!
Kasich up by 17 points in poll
Fewer Democrats plan to vote than in 2006 or 2008

It’s going to take a “huge” Democratic turnout combined with GOP overconfidence if Gov. Ted Strickland is going to win re-election.

That’s the bottom line for Peter Brown as he assesses a new Quinnipiac Poll that gives Republican John Kasich a whopping 17-point lead less than two weeks before Ohioans start voting.

“Whatever the governor is doing is not working,” said Brown, assistant director of the Quinnipiac Polling Institute. “At this point, obviously things look very good for Mr. Kasich.”

The Strickland campaign unveiled two positive ads yesterday, the first of the Democrat’s campaign.

Independents, who are the key to electoral success in Ohio, favor Kasich by a ratio of nearly 2-to-1.

“If those numbers are born out on Election Day, it won’t be close,” Brown said.

The poll shows that far fewer Democrats plan to vote this year than in 2006, when Strickland won, or in 2008, when Barack Obama won the presidency.

But Brown also said, “This (poll) doesn’t mean the race is over. We still got seven weeks to go, and this is a very unusual year.”

Kasich, a former Lehman Brothers managing director, is up 54 percent to 37 percent over the first-term governor, the largest lead in any poll on the race. The Dispatch Poll published Sept. 5 showed Kasich ahead by 12 points, while other polls give him a lead in mid- to high single digits.

The political landscape in Ohio could portend a good election for Republicans across the country.

“If Gov. Strickland were to lose by this amount, it would be a clear sign that it’s not just a wave nationally, but a tsunami,” Brown said.

Strickland is not doing as well among his fellow Democrats as Kasich is among Republicans in the Connecticut university’s poll, which was taken before Tuesday night’s gubernatorial debate. Even worse news for Strickland: 19 percent of his supporters say they might change their minds, compared with 11percent for Kasich backers.

Almost 60 percent disapprove of Strickland’s job performance, and 63 percent don’t approve of his handling of the economy.

The poll found that Ohio voters are among the most pessimistic in the country. Just 2 percent are “very satisfied” with the way things are going in the Buckeye State, and a mere 21percent are “somewhat satisfied.” Those totals are dwarfed by the 77 percent who are “somewhat dissatisfied” or “very dissatisfied.”

The Quinnipiac telephone poll of 730 likely Ohio voters from Sept. 9 through Tuesday has a margin of sampling error of plus or minus 3.6 percentage points.

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:
My buddies at WCOL! Thanx for all your support over the years, treating me as one of your own, and for allowing me the chance to learn from being around y’all!

YOU DA MAN:
My Buddy who admits he reads this crap! I have a friend who will not be named, he is battling some of his demons. BY BATTELING I mean doing what he has to do to get better for himself, his career, his family, and for those who care about him. DUDE country living on a farm is good for you! Reaching out for help is even better! When you read this it will probably be day 15. Keep it up, and I am proud of you. Get better and when you are work hard rebuild some of those bridges but know…this one is already rebuilt just because you accepted accountability and are working to get better!

WHAT THE HE**?
T.I. got out of jail early, did the whole “giving back TV show thing” and now this?!?!?
Rapper T.I. and his wife were arrested late Wednesday on drug possession charges after sheriff’s deputies smelled marijuana coming from their vehicle during a traffic stop.

Sheriff’s deputies pulled over the Atlanta-based rapper, Clifford Harris, 29, and his 36-year-old wife, Tameka “Tiny” Cottle, about 10:30 p.m. at 9255 Sunset Blvd. in West Hollywood.

“During the course of the traffic stop, deputies smelled a strong odor of marijuana emitting from the vehicle,” L.A. County sheriff’s officials said in a statement.

“A narcotics investigation ensued,” during which T.I. and his wife “were found to be in possession of a controlled substance,” the statement read.

They were taken to the West Hollywood sheriff’s station and booked on drug possession charges.

Sheriff’s officials did not specify why the two had been pulled over and what specific drug they were alleged to have.

T.I., a multiplatinum rapper with such hits as “Whatever You Like” and “Dead and Gone,” is on probation after serving seven months in prison on weapons charges. He was released earlier this year.

His album “King Uncaged” is set to release this fall.

Cottle, an R&B vocalist who sang in the group Xscape, has starred in the BET reality series “The Tiny & Toya Show.”

Harris and Cottle each posted $10,000 bail and have been released, sheriff’s officials said.

The rapper and his wife were arrested on charges of possessing “pills resembling Ecstasy” that deputies found in their vehicle after pulling them over on suspicion of making an illegal U-turn, said Nicole Nishida, a spokeswoman for the L.A. County Sheriff’s Department.

“The pills are being tested as we speak,” she said.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME:
OU Bobcat, NOT EVEN A STUDENT. AND WHY GIVE HIM EVEN A MINUTE OF HIS 15!?!?!

Ohio Apologizes For Mascot’s Behavior
MASCOT TELLS HIS SIDE OF STORY

“It was actually my whole plan to tackle Brutus when I tried out to be mascot,” said Brandon Hanning, formerly known as Ohio University’s Rufus Bobcat. “I tried out about a year ago, and the whole reason I tried out was so I could come up here to Ohio State and tackle Brutus.”

And that’s what he did Saturday, wrestling unsuspecting Brutus to the ground before 105,075 screaming college football fans at Ohio Stadium. Ohio State got even in the end, trampling the visiting team, 43-7.

The tussle led to an apology from Ohio University on Monday and the 19-year-old Hanning is banned from further affiliation with the school’s athletics department. Actually, he’s not even a student there anymore; he now attends nearby Hocking College.

Hanning, of Meigs County in southeast Ohio, not far from Ohio University’s campus in Athens, suited up about 15 minutes before the Bobcats faced Ohio State, went on the field near the OU cheerleaders and waited for his chance.

It came as Brutus and an Ohio State cheerleader hoisted an OSU flag, and prepared to lead the Buckeyes players onto the field. With his Bobcat head in place, Hanning ran along the sideline and got in position.

“As soon as they started running onto the field, that’s when I went,” he said.

The Bobcat sideswiped the Buckeye, who got back to his feet and continued his sprint toward the end zone.

But Rufus, um, Hanning, wasn’t done.

He then chased Brutus into the end zone, climbed on his back and rode him to the ground. The two then tussled, with Rufus punching the Buckeye in his oversized head while fans booed.

Bobcats athletics spokesman Jason Corriher released a statement calling the actions “extremely poor judgment and sportsmanship” and saying that the university regrets the negative effect they may have on the relationship between the two schools.

Bobcats coach Frank Solich summed up it nicely: “Obviously we needed to tackle the guy with the ball, not the mascot.”

Hanning said he thinks the reaction to the tackle has been “a little blown out of proportion.”

“Either everybody loved it or everybody hated it. It’s never been anything in the middle,” he said.

“I think I planned it pretty well … and I definitely would have done it again.”

IRONY:
This was written by a scUM fan. Oh the “Irony” of an “elite” school grad spelling as bad as I do, when commenting on the recent OU Mascot event!

“I think it was great, buit that is because I am not a bucleye fan. So of course I would enjoy it.”

RELIGION:
I’m Catholic. That means I love Jesus and liquor.

BUISNESS:
I have picked up 3 more accounts. This is a great time for a business to have me manage its’ social networking. I have access to over 15,000 “friends,” “likes,” or as I call it… “customers.” MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS IN AN INEXPENSIVE FORMAT.

If you are interested in this service please e-mail me for a one on one meeting to see if this service is right for your business or group. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS HOLIDAY BOOKING SEASON! If you or someone you know is booking a Holiday Party, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s event, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:
Since we last chatted…I ran 12 miles. Since then my knees are jacked even worse. I think I may have to reconsider the half marathon in October…this has really bummed me out.

BUT I am not packing the pounds on as I lay off the cardio thanx to the products from Visalus.

Check it out for yourself AND find out if you have the chance to make extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Or http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com

For the partiers, or light distance runners:

The Oktoberfest Meiler Vier
M3S Sports celebrates Thanksgiving, Cinco De Mayo, St. Patrick’s Day and the Irish Festival, so, why not Oktoberfest? The Inaugural Oktoberfest Meiler Vier was such a huge success that we have decided to do it again!

Join us for a great run or walk, followed by beers and brats at the Columbus Oktoberfest (click here to visit the festival web site). The race will take place Friday night September 24th at 6pm right around the Tapping of the Keg Celebration and will again be limited to the first 500 participants.

Date-September 24, 2010

Start time-Approx 6:15pm – the race will start on the news and in conjunction with the tapping of the keg!

Course-The event will be a 4 mile course that will start and finish at the Natural Resources/Commercial Pavilion at the Ohio Expo Center.

Field-Open to all runners and walkers. Every runner will receive a technical shirt, a finisher’s medal and some world famous Schmidt’s Sausages, cold beer, and much more. “Willkommen!!!!”

Goodies Tech shirt – Finishers Medal – Bahama Mama – Free Bier, Free Crème Puff

Entry fee $35 through July 31st, $40 August 1st until race day, and $45 on race day

INSPIRATION:
ANY OF THESE STORIES CAN INSPIRE
http://battleforcancer.blogspot.com/

QUOTES:
I got a lot of responses from the last to mailers/blogs. I wanted to share these. Kinda funny!

“YOu speeling and grammer are atrocious”

“I bet you wear Red, White, and Blue Underware”

And to follow up on opening, I say a lot, but don’t know how to take but some folks I care about made a point to say…

“Dude, I am happy for you, you deserve it”

“I am proud of you”-this one from this person, meant more than she will ever know!

Here is a great last quote
“I work at living, most people work on dying-Jack LaLallane

CLOSING:
If you worry a lot, then day after day you are learning how to worry even better. If you think about doing something a lot, then you are learning how to think about doing. Every moment you are happy, you are learning how to be even happier. Every time you act, you are learning how to take an action even better. What is it that you’ve been learning today? What is it that you want to learn tomorrow?

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

MATT’s SCHEDULE:
WEDS: Hockey Pre-Party at FBWB
THURS: LBT, and Sugarland Pre-Party at FBWB
FRI: Hockey Pre-Party at FBWB, Octoberfest at Fairgrounds, Park Street Saloon (Late Night)
SAT: AT&T at OSU FanZone (St. John’s Arena), Across The Field Tailgate (Olentangy and Ackerman), Class reunion (PRIVATE), Park Street Saloon (Late Night)
SUN: Lifestyle Family Fitness Cooperate Event (PRIVATE)

THURSDAY:
Sugarland, and Little Big Town at Nationwide Arena

Little Brown Jug-Delaware County Fair
http://www.delawarecountyfair.com

FRIDAY:
The Divide is at Captain Jack’s

SATURDAY:
Chicsa plays Captain Woody’s

LoveSick Radio at Captain Jack’s

LoCash Cowboys plays the Hebron Music and Arts Festival

Crew Stadium welcomes Gary Allan, Randy Houser, and Jerrod Niemann (thanx for all the calls/texts/emails) due to scheduling conflicts I cannot be at show, and this has nothing to do with a poor working relationship between WCOL, Country Jam, and myself

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

Vince Morris plays to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

MORE TO DO:
ALL WEEKEND:

Grab a Bier and a Braught at The Columbus Oktoberfest
Dates: September 24-26, 2010
Ohio Expo Center: http://www.columbusoktoberfest.com

IN THEATERS:
Michael Douglas, Josh Brolin and Shia LaBeouf star in ‘Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps,’ rated “PG-13.”

DVD:
‘Robin Hood,’ rated “PG-13.” Russell Crowe again is in an over the top movie, and once again…it sucks! The ONLY GOOD THING?!?!? Kate Blanchette!

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Zac Brown Band has “You Get What You Give”

He’s good at drinkin beer! Billy Currington has “Enjoy Yourself”

Direct from Country Jam, Randy Houser releases “ They Call Me Cadillac”

Phil Collins does what every aging rockstar is doing, releases a greatest hits collection OF OTHER PEOPLES MUSIC! But actually this is pretty good titled “Going Back”

NO CLUE who she is, but, Selena Gomez & the Scene have “Year Without Rain” I was told by a 9 year old she is BIG!

Maroon 5 had “ Hands All Over”

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

EVERY WEDNESDAY
Wild Weds at Park Street Saloon

MOST FRIDAY’s and SATURDAYS
DJ sets with Dueling Pianos at Park Street Saloon

OSU Football Season with AT&T AT OSU FANZONE AND ACROSS THE FIELD Tailgate with the ‘Historic’ Danger Brothers, and my Buddy Eric Dove and Green Light Go.

Follow us:
http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

September 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

