Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Growing pains, and valuable lessons

PLEASE JOIN ME:
At
The Blue Jackets 10th Anniversary Season Kick Off Plaza Party FRIDAY from 4:30-6:30 before OUR JACKETS take the Ice against the Stanley Cup Champion Blackhawks

Never permit a dichotomy to rule your life, a dichotomy in which you
hate what you do so you can have pleasure in your spare time. Look for a
situation in which your work will give you as much happiness as your
spare time.
– Edward L. Bernays

I am lucky to love whatever the he** I is do. I am very lucky to have the chances I get, and try to make the best of them, and to use these chances to help others. I must be doing something right due to having more and more opportunities, as well as…having haters.

In regards to helping others. I have used my connections to raise monies and bring awareness, to organizations to try and help. More importantly I try to do JUST BECAUSE or to make someone smile, and for at least a minute give chance to experience some of the things I get to (it also keeps me from taking these opportunities for granted).

THERE IS PROBABLY A LOT OF MISSPELLING AND GRAMMATICAL ERRORS THROUGHOUT THIS, but again, I chose to write free flow to get points across.

Last week I did that. I was able to do for someone, I did this because I chose to, as with all the decisions I make. I DID NOT EXPECT ANYTHING!

I was surprised and well…heartbroken when the person I did this for brought a guy with her. YES WE ARE NOT TOGETHER, but, there have been feelings shared on both sides of a conversation. We were just friends, and I was becoming aware of something going on with someone other than me. I was even at her place on Friday to drop off tixx, and my “gut” hurt. I knew something had changed!

Anyway this would be none of my business, and when some Grey Areas were shown in Technicolor, I did become a little jealous, ok, a lot! But I let her know in a very calm way away from her friends I did not think it was fair what she did. She did not see any problem wit the sitaution. I guess that is where we disagree. But this does not make me right and her wrong and vice versa. We just have a difference in what is going on and our backgrounds have influenced this.

But I will continue to do for her; I have never cared what/who she is with. I enjoy her company and just want to do anything in my power to try and make her…smile!

Yes this is the same person I have referred to in almost every weekly e-mail for the past year.

Over the past couple of years I have been on an emotional roller coaster. Some have heard me moan and groan, others read between the lines in these blogs/emails. But relationships and life itself is in fact a roller coaster of ups and downs!

This is a ride I am choosing to be on and must take full accountability for anything that may or may not happen.

EMOTIONAL ROLLER COASTER
Please stand clear of the opening gates

Please watch your step as you board. Secure any loose articles that may fall during the ride. Once seated please pull down on the lap bar as far as it will go, an attendent will be by to check you momentarily. Please remain seated, keeping your hands, arms feet and legs inside the train at all times. Thank you and enjoy your ride

So that would be life itself then as we become close to the end of the tracks.

Welcome back, once the train comes to a complete stop push down on your lap bars, then pull up. Please watch your step as you exit the train to your left. remember to take any loose articles you may have left while riding. Thank you for riding(Insert ride name) and enjoy the rest of your day at (insert park name).

Life, relationships whatever…hang on, scream, put hands in the air, whatever. You MAY lose your breath, you MAY get a bug in your mouth. Hell you may even wet yer pants from fear, but just enjoy the ride. AND have the courage to get back on no matter how scary it may or may not be.

So to the person that I am speaking to, I care and love you unconditionally. I would to this day walk across glass and fire for you, then leave-because that is what you want. I know this scares the he** out of you, but I am sorry, that is the way I am. I will continue to be the same me regardless what you think of me.

“Rely on yourself and be true to who you are. What’s unique about you is what will take you far. Don’t look to others……to say you’re okay. You KNOW it–so BELIEVE it! Show your own self the way.” – Dr. Wayne Dyer

I have tried to hate her on many occasions, including this week. I cannot! Even with the things that upset me, that is her; and I love and care for all parts of her and her being.

‎”you know you have found something special when you stop thinking only of yourself.”

“Contentment comes from unconditional love. When you love conditionally, you have to keep deciding if the other is worthy of your love. You can never let go of your guard enough to be content. Why not decide once and for all, and love once and for all. And be content.”

The above is a reminder no matter how much it hurt at first…there are feelings of contentment for just feeling the way I do.

This week I have found and been reminded of some of the Angels in my life. Some I knew, and would not turn to, others I was too blind to see, another…she came into my life when I needed it the most, even despite MANY reasons she should not have (NM THANK YOU. You called me your knight in shining armor this week, well you were my angel!)

But that is just it, and angels have many forms and some are disguised so as to not open up (me maybe?). Please take a minute to look at one of the pixx attached: Really dug it. Reminded me, sometimes the angels we need-looking after us, don’t look (or act) like we envision them.

The same can be true to those in our lives, and our situations. I WILL ADMIT I AM REALLY DOWN RIGHT NOW, from “her” to not being able to run Sunday in the Race, to an unknown future next year. But there is GOOD IN IT ALL. “She” made me want to be a better person, she also had the heart that I needed to experience to break out of my shell and care for others. She also showed me how to be a better person…just through her actions. I am lucky to have had all these experiences and am lucky to have known her. I feel very blessed that I also CARE FOR HER, regardless what she thinks of me.

In regards to running, I did not make it to my goal, he** I never even made to the field of play. BUT I found out I can do it, and I need to curb my training0THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME, also I found ways to push myself that I have never done before, and I found I really do have a waist line!

So there are situations and people that no matter how they look or feel…can better us, IF WE ALLOW THEM TO!

There was a lot of crap there, but some things I needed to say…not only to be honest, but also to put in writing for me!

And to wrap up: 2 words of advice…1.) DO NOT EYEBALL ME WHEN I AM TALKING TO A FRIEND, while it was cute…if you invade my personal space too much, or if I am in a mood, and feel forced to defend myself (THAT IS VERY LOOSE LANGUAGE-THAT I HAVE FOUND WORKS!), it may prove to make your day VERY BAD! 2.) I am sure I will get some buddies writing to make fun of me, that’s ok, I am comfortable with myself to know I have big arms, and strong chin, and a big heart!

INFO:
Frog Bear Replacement Opens Just In Time For Hockey Season

There is a new bar to watch the games, and hang before ALL EVENTS at Nationwide Arena

Tim Emery, the operator of two Boston’s Gourmet Pizza restaurants in Central Ohio, including one in the Arena District, got the keys to the former Frog Bear & Wild Boar tavern this week and had been working quickly to reopen it as 343 Front, just in time for the start of the NHL season next door.

If you stop in over the coming weeks, don’t get too attached to the name, menu or decor. Emery plans to rechristen the establishment the Tavern on Front and gradually change the interior and food lineup in the upcoming months.

“We obviously didn’t want to do that at the doorstep of hockey season,” he said. “Long-term, we’ll renovate into Tavern on Front.”

The Jackets play their home opener THIS FRIDAY Oct. 15.

Nationwide Realty Investors LLC terminated the Frog Bear lease last week and turned to Emery’s Trinity Management Group Arena District LLC. Nationwide

Realty spokeswoman Tina Guegold said Frog Bear violated the terms of its lease, but she wouldn’t be specific. Emery said his group had told Nationwide Realty over the summer they’d be interested in other restaurant opportunities in the Arena District. They got the call about the Frog Bear space two weeks ago and took the space Monday.

Emery said he hopes to continue to be a place where bar-goers head before or after games and shows at the arena, but he wants to generate more lunch and dinner trade at the restaurant.

THOUGHT(S) FOR WEEK:

Can you imagine the overtime these Chilean miners have piled up? I have a bunch of jokes, but wanted to wait till they were all safe and deemed healthy!

Enjoy the little things in life, for one day you’ll look back & realize they were big things. -D. Bran

STOLE THIS, BUT, Made Me think

Where would you be if not for that person who helped you in your time of greatest need? Me. I would be either homeless or dead. So don’t judge to harshly because that person who needs help could easily be you. In the past 7 years I have a whole laundry list of people who have helped me, financially, emotionally and spiritually to get back to being the person who I was supposed to be. Just wanted to say thank you.

“Seize every opportunity along the way, for how sad it would be if the road you chose became the road not taken.”

RevRunWisdom: Never give up ppl!!! When u feel ur heart gettin tired,,, jus walk with ur legs!

SONG FOR THE WEEK:
YEP!!! No video, but needed song

JUST FEELIN THIS AFTER EVENTS OF LAST WEEKEND:

THIS MASH UP IS AMAZING!!! It HAS TO LIFT YA UP, There are Miracles EVERYWHERE!

HELP:
Please take a moment and vote for “this kid” who is not only a HUGE talent on the track, but also, one of the neatest young men I have ever met. This up and coming athlete seems to be well beyond his years, AND, is articulate, respectful, and POLITE. He is a GREAT ROLE MODEL for not only youngsters his own age…but anyone!

VOTE HERE:
http://www.sikids.com

Read each nominee’s profile. To vote for your favorite athlete, click on the circle next to his or her name and hit the “Submit Your Vote” button on the bottom of the page. This week’s top three vote getters will be our SKOTY finalists. Voting closes on October 18 at 12 P.M. EST.

Sage K., Age: 15

Sage doesn’t have his driver’s license yet, but that hasn’t stopped him from becoming one of Indy Car’s rising stars. Sage captured the 2010 USF2000 Driver’s Championship, helping Andretti Autosport win the team title as well. He won nine races in 12 starts and was named Rookie of the Year despite being the youngest driver on the circuit and one of only two Americans competing. Sage also belongs in the winner’s circle away from the track. He’s active in Operation Smile, a worldwide charity that provides life-changing surgery for children with facial deformities, such as cleft lip and palate.

PASSING:
The emotional roller coaster?

HAPPY BIRTHDAY:
Grandma Hammond-she turns a very YOUNG 90 this week. AND SHE IS not only a much better person than me (and all who know her), but also she is in better shape than me; all 4 foot of her! I am lucky to have this “Grandma” in my extended family!

JUST FOR FUN:

ENTERTAINMENT:
The star-crossed filming of Transformers 3 suffered another accident today when Bumblebee drove through an intersection and sideswiped a Washington D.C. Police SUV. The crash was not part of the script and the yellow Camaro was seriously damaged

Several streets around downtown D.C. were closed off for filming; why the D.C. police SUV with sirens blaring decided to use the closed street isn’t clear. The video from local TV station Fox5 shows crew members covering Bumblebee up after the accident.

Another spectator near the scene showed how the filming began, with the Optimus Prime semi leading a number of vehicles down the street at high speed before Bumblebee was set to join them.

It’s not clear who is at fault, but it’s yet another example of an accident on one of Michael Bay’s action-charged sets.

MORE:
Deadliest Catch Stars Rejoin Series

Just weeks after announcing their exit, Deadliest Catch stars Capts. Johnathan and Andy Hillstrand and Capt. Sig Hansen are back aboard the hit Discovery Channel series, a network rep confirms.

The Hillstrands announced their exit on Sept. 28th, saying they were unable to continue filming the show due to ongoing litigation with the network. Discovery sued the brothers a week prior for $3 million, claiming the stars refused to finish work on a planned Deadliest Catch spin-off, entitled Hillstranded.

Hansen was not involved in the lawsuit, but left the series in support of the Hillstrands.

“We’re happy we worked everything out with Discovery,” the trio said in a statement. “A deal’s a deal. We’re heading up to Dutch Harbor to start filming the new season of Deadliest Catch and hopefully it will be the best one yet.”

As part of the settlement, Discovery’s lawsuit will be dropped and the Hillstrands will complete work on their spin-off, according to The Hollywood Reporter, which first broke the news.

“Everyone worked really hard on putting together Hillstranded and we’re looking forward to wrapping that up,” the brothers added in a statement. “It’s something new that we hope people will enjoy.”

Season 7 of Deadliest Catch is set to begin filming next week.

MUSIC:
Miley’s New Video: Parents’ Council Would Like To Tame It

Has Miley Cyrus finally gone so far with her increasingly sensual image that she’s been condemned by her own father?

Well, no, not exactly. But her racy new music video, “Who Owns My Heart?,” has been slammed by the Parents Television Council. Funnily enough, when you check the list of folks sitting on the advisory board for this conservative watchdog group, the biggest-name celebrity listed there is—you guessed it—none other than Billy Ray Cyrus!

Apparently, Papa Cyrus was not advising the Parents Television Council when they released a statement saying: “It is unfortunate that she would participate in such a sexualized video like this one. It sends messages to her fan base that are diametrically opposed to everything she has done up to this point. Miley built her fame and fortune entirely on the backs of young girls, and it saddens us that she seems so eager to distance herself from that fan base so rapidly.”

But by “us,” the Parents Council apparently doesn’t mean that board member Billy Ray is saddened, too. Or is he, secretly? Even if you don’t have any problem with Miley getting so sexy at 17, there’s evidence that it’s hurting her just on a career level.

Rarely has a song gotten so much media attention and yet been as commercially unsuccessful as Cyrus’ “Can’t Be Tamed,” the title track of her latest album. Even after a series of controversial performances of the song on various TV shows and awards programs, the single quickly flamed out, debuting at No. 8 but disappearing from the Billboard Hot 100 chart altogether after a mere 10 weeks. (By comparison, her 2009 smash “Party in the USA” spent 28 weeks in the top 10.) The Can’t Be Tamed album is also absent from Billboard’s list of the current 200 bestselling albums, just four months after it came out. It’s sold 260,000 copies to date, anemic by the standards of the previous three Cyrus releases.

Given the performance at radio and retail of the current album and previous single, you might have expected the 17-year-old singer to retreat to safer territory for the new video. But maybe you didn’t get the message last time around: Miley can’t be tamed… not even by failure!

And so “Who Owns My Heart?” pushes the same buttons as the last video. She writhes around on a bed without pants on (though there are only quick flashes of what appears to be black underwear). She gyrates freely and suggestively with both men and women on the dance floor at what no one would mistake for a high school sockhop.

Whether this is envelope-pushing or not depends on your frame of reference. Compared to most other dance-pop videos, it’s standard fare, if not downright tame. Compared to the videos being put out by other underage girls and/or stars who still have sitcoms running on the Disney Channel, it’s provocative.

The fact that Hannah Montana’s fourth and last season is still on the air complicates things—or should, to some people’s minds. Although taping for the show wrapped up in May, the season is being stretched out long enough by the Disney Channel that its status as a first-run show won’t end till next March’s two-part season finale.

With her 18th birthday approaching next month and her status as a tween TV idol months away from officially ending, Cyrus seems to feel that there’s no time to waste in attracting a demo of fans that are her age or older. Bit throwing one solidified fan base over for a less certain new one is always a calculated risk at best. And Cyrus may have jettisoned her young-girl support before she had a substitute audience of older teens and adults locked in.

It’s easy to see how Cyrus and her team may have thought she’d already graduated to the next level of demographics. Initially, she had a hard time crossing over from Radio Disney to Top 40 because programmers saw her appeal as skewing too young. But “See You Again” was just too undeniable a song not to play, as was “Party in the USA.” Then came “Can’t Be Tamed,” and as a single, it was…deniable. Radio Disney couldn’t touch it, and Top 40 didn’t care. Her move away from guilty-pleasure rock & roll bubblegum to dance-pop suddenly made her a competitor to Lady Gaga and a hundred other hitmakers, and though it worked with Dr. Luke helping her out on “USA,” it didn’t with the duller songs on the new album.

And it may have been the very raciness of her new image that sunk her with Top 40 radio. All the outcry about her alleged sexualization at 17 just reminded radio programmers of what a chance they’d taken with their older listeners by throwing her in with more mature artists in the first place.

Of course, her history of controversy for supposed suggestiveness goes back two and a half years now. Hard to believe, isn’t it, that it was April 2008 when news broke about Cyrus, then 15, posing in bedsheets for Vanity Fair? In 2009, she danced around a pole at the Teen Choice Awards in a fashion that made her not every parent’s choice. Also that summer, she broke up with model Justin Gaston, when she was 16 and he was 20, to take up with her somewhat more age-suitable Last Song costar, Liam Hemsworth, who is only two and a half years her senior. Hackles were further raised when a secretly recorded video of the 16-year-old performing a risque dance for a 44-year-old producer at the Last Song wrap party was leaked. “It’s what people her age do,” explained Billy Ray Cyrus.

This year brought her wearing a corset in the “Can’t Be Tamed” video in May, followed by Cyrus simulating kissing a female dancer while performing the single on Britain’s Got Talent in June. In July, the New York Times published a story headlined “Fans of Miley Cyrus Question Her New Path,” which theorized that it was not prude moms who were rejecting the saucy new image but Miley’s own tween fans.

There are still some scolds among the older set, to be sure. Hollywood Life, the site run by former tabloid queen Bonnie Fuller, recently ran a story allegedly quoting a “Cyrus family insider” as saying, “We’re concerned for her. She’s 17 years old, but is the one who makes the money and calls all the shots in the family. No one tells Miley no.” Fuller wrote a separate editorial noting how Cyrus has been seen partying into the wee hours in clubs she can’t legally enter, and addressed Billy Ray and Tish Cyrus directly: “Your daughter may be a big star but she’s still your little girl and that means you need to be her parents.”

So far, Cyrus’ image change has been a bust, at least when it comes to affecting her music career. Of course, she’s only one smash single away from having a chart comeback and having her accelerated maturation perceived as a brilliant career move. The problem is, the smash single that will turn it back around for her probably isn’t “Who Owns My Heart,” and probably isn’t anywhere else on the Can’t Be Tamed album.

So her next chance to prove that this sexy-mama thing is working out for her in terms of numbers and not just blogging controversy is the movie LOL: Laughing Out Loud, in which Cyrus’ character engages in some very un-Disney-like behavior. That recently wrapped film won’t come out till after Hannah Montana has finally concluded its run. But we have a feeling the Parents Television Council will have something to say about it.

Meanwhile, any bets on how many days or hours it’ll take until Billy Ray’s photo disappears from the advisory board page on the PTC website? Surely, having an organization that he supposedly helps lead condemn his little girl—and, by implication, his parenting skills—is breaking his achy breaky heart.

Judge for yourself?

POLITICS:
October – when destinies are changed, incumbents defeated and friendships forged…

Ohio House District 93- Andy Thompson’s Wife is a Teacher, Forced to Pay for anti-Thompson Attack Ads

This is absolutely shameful, and Jade is very brave for speaking out in the Marietta Times:

I’m Jade Thompson and my husband, Andy Thompson, is running for the Ohio House of Representatives. I am a teacher at Marietta High School. Imagine my chagrin when my friends and colleagues began showing me the awful attack ads against my husband which they had received in the mail. Now imagine my dismay when I saw that those defamatory mailers were paid for by the Ohio Education Association – my teachers’ union. In effect, they are using my union dues to attack my husband! This is a new low, even for the OEA.

There was a recent letter to the editor about AEP withdrawing its support from the Ohio Chamber of Commerce because the chamber made a political endorsement. The writer found it “inappropriate and shameful” for that organization to ignore its members. I wonder if she would say the same for the OEA, an organization that endorses the most liberal candidates in the field and which month after month promotes progressive causes and programs in its member newsletter. Are Ohio’s teachers that unanimously liberal or does our union simply not represent our views at all? If teachers are representative of the larger voting public then you would expect that our political views would be just as diverse.
Teachers should be free to spend their hard-earned dollars to contribute to the candidates and causes they actually support. The OEA and its parent organization, the NEA, refuse to acquiesce because they have an obvious agenda. After all, as the general counsel for the NEA once said in federal court, “if you take away payroll deduction, you won’t collect a penny from these people, and it has nothing to do with voluntary or involuntary. I think it has to do with the nature of the beast, and the beasts who are our teachers … (They) simply don’t come up with the money regardless of the purpose.” Teachers, this is what your union thinks of you.

Read more: http://www.rightohio.com/2010/10/12/ohio-house-district-93-andy-thompsons-wife-is-a-teacher-forced-to-pay-for-anti-thompson-attack-ads/#ixzz12HjrOov7

MILITARY:
Congrats to my “darker,” and “stockier” “Brutha from Anotha Mutha” Allen “Mitch” Mitchell. Mitch has just completed his training for LT status. Way to go buddy!

Stole this from facebook:
A word of advice from a Marine to a Soldier and I know this from experience.. keep your mouth shut and ears open!!

MILITARY/POLITICS/WHAT THE HELL:
Feds to Sue New York Board Over Military Voting Violations, State Official Says

The Move Act requires all states to mail absentee ballots to overseas military voters 45 days before Election Day.

The New York State Board of Elections has reached an agreement with the U.S. Department of Justice to settle a lawsuit targeting New York City and four other counties the DOJ has accused of violating the MOVE Act, the state board’s chairman told FoxNews.com on Tuesday.

The agreement was worked out between the Elections Board and the DOJ on Friday and on Tuesday morning, Douglas Kellner, co-chairman of the state board, told FoxNews.com.

He said the agreement was expected to be filed later today in conjunction with an official complaint.

The consent order, Kellner said, would give the federal authorities power to ensure MOVE Act compliance in New York City and four counties — Putnam, Erie, Niagara and Westchester — which still hadn’t mailed out their absentee ballots as of their latest deadline.

The legal action would mark the most aggressive federal intervention yet amid an ongoing debate over how to enforce compliance with the 2009 Military and Overseas Voters Empowerment Act, known as the MOVE Act. The Department of Justice is expected to intervene in several New York counties that missed deadlines intended to ensure that overseas ballots are sent, received and counted on time.

“The department is in urgent discussions with New York officials aimed at achieving a prompt resolution to ensure our men and women serving in the military and our citizens living overseas have the opportunity to vote and have their votes counted.”

Kellner said the court order likely will mandate one or a combination of the following:

— Further extend the deadline for when returning ballots can be counted.

— Require election boards that are just now mailing ballots to do so by express mail.

— Send an e-mail notification to every absentee voter on file reminding them that they can download their ballot over the Internet or have the ballot e-mailed to them.

“In either case, the voter would have to print it out,” Kellner said of the third provision, “which doesn’t work for everybody.” (Military personnel serving on the front lines are unlikely to have a printer they can use to easily print out ballots.)

The New York State Board of Elections certifies state ballots and holds a supervisory role over the individual county boards, but the individual counties are charged with getting their own ballots out.

On Sunday, FoxNews.com reported exclusively that the four New York counties and New York City had missed the deadline. The 2009 MOVE Act requires states to send out ballots to military and overseas voters 45 days prior to an election.

New York State had been granted a waiver to this provision by the Justice Department, giving the local boards an extra 15 days to get their ballots out — until Oct. 1. But that date came and went, and the ballots in the city and four counties remained unsent.

“The Department of Justice certainly wants remedial action — as do we — and a court order might be helpful in that it will give DOJ direct powers of contempt over five county boards that have been out of compliance,” Kellner said.

He said that the five elections boards were told of their legal and legislative obligations to get all absentee ballots out by Oct. 1, but they flouted the law.

“There is no excuse other than defiance,” Kellner said. “They were told what their obligations were, but they didn’t agree with it — and I understand why. It’s because New York’s general election ballot isn’t final yet. The last day for making substitutions is tomorrow.”

Under New York’s election schedule, ballots have until Oct. 12 to be finalized, meaning that the version of the ballot available by the state’s extended deadline was not the final accurate ballot.

“But the state board certified the ballot and reminded them they were still required to send out the ballots. They were required to use the form that was certified on that date,” Kellner said. “Some of the local boards thought they knew better than state board of elections or Congress or legislature and did it their own way. …

“They should drop everything and get these ballots on plane to Afghanistan immediately.”

On Monday, New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg weighed in.

“I don’t know whether or not the Board of Elections has failed to send out absentee ballots to the military or anybody else, but if they have failed it really is reprehensible,” Bloomberg told Fox News.

“We send our young men and women overseas to fight and to die for us, and we don’t care enough to make sure they get the right to exercise their franchise? That’s what they’re over there fighting for as much as anything else.”

By Monday night, it remained unclear just which of the counties still had yet to mail their ballots.

David Kogelman, counsel to the New York Senate Election Committee, said the Senate Election Committee would be calling for oversight hearings into why the ballots didn’t all get out in time.

“They should’ve gone out, and the State Senate — we’re going to be looking into why they didn’t get sent out on time,” Kogelman said. “I’m sure the ballots will be sent out at some point.”

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:
The Columbus Blue Jackets-Welcome back for a 10th Season!!!

AND:
My Buddies Randy and Tommy Hampton are putting on a GREAT EVENT!!!

Fall Charity Crawl on Park Street . I would greatly appreciate it if you could send this out to your contacts (personal, media and otherwise) as well as gather your friends & register your own team! This is a wonderful cause and means a lot to me, and too many of my friends (especially Randy because of his nephew), it will benefit so many different groups of children and will be a very fun event. I would love to see you involved! If you participated in the Crawl for Cancer it’s much like that. Let me know if you have any questions or need additional info. http://www.fall-crawl.com

FUNNY:
Think About it?
Do you think Trash man shower before going to work?

YOU DA MAN:
In this Case there are 3. 1 and 2 are Jessica and Linda Inkrott. These 2 have not only fought hard against injury and limited training times to train and prepare for the Nike Woman’s Race in San Francisco. This race is a major fundraiser for Leukemia and Lymphoma Societies, AND these 2 have worked hard to raise funds for a charity near and dear to their hearts, A Child Lives, which is a funding account for African Villages that Linda has established. Way to go girls!!!

The other, my good friend, Jeff Moody. Jeff has not only taught me about sound but also the benefits of “driving the bus” (you have to use hand motions when say it!). Jeff is a genius when dealing with sound, but, he HAS MORE IMPORTANTLY taught me through many lectures, and just through his way of dealing with situations, of how to handle and just…drive the bus. Thanx “Buddy Boy” I am glad to be working with you again…or at least on same block. ALSO wanna welcome his wife, who he forces to read this and thinks I have WAY TOO MUCH TIME ON MY HANDS!

IRONY:
You know street credit? Swagg has street cred, but, DJ M gets us red neck cred in dat hat-Swagg

SPORTS:
As we are into Baseball Playoffs, I am watching A LOT of the baseball throwback shows. They talk about Musial, Banks, Kaline, and many others. These SAME GUYS used to hang out in Nerk and give clinics to the kids at Babe Ruth Ball Park. I missed out on meeting some legends, many whom are no longer with us!

Ya know Baseball is the perfect metaphor to life. You get multiple chances. There are curve balls thrown at you, and while we each work towards our own goals, to be truly successful, it is a team sport. So swing for the fences. You never know if you will knock the cover off, if you don’t step up to the plate.

BUCKEYES: (new section)
We play in Madison, I have a bad feeling!!!

RELIGION:
Ps 73:26 “My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

I am digging this one. My legs are shot and I cannot run the Half Marathon as I have been training for the last 3 months. Also I will be honest after events of last weekend…I am heartbroken. BUT I get up every day and try to give myself to the big dude above. He knows a hell of a lot more than me!

The book of James chapter 1 says don’t complain or grumble when test come, But COUNT\ADD it up as JOY! #Christian arithmetic-I thought that one was kinda cool!

BUISNESS:
Recently I have been given the nickname “The Ghost of the Internet.” Seems MOST OF MY CLIENTS HAVE FOUND I GET THEIR MESSAGE OUT TO CONSUMERS! Currently I have an extensive list of clients I am handling social networking for. This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

IT IS HOLIDAY PARTY SEASON! If you or someone you know is getting married, please feel free to refer our services to them. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Mention you saw this and receive 15% off AND we will waive your deposit (with a signed contract).

HEALTH:

“We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey.” – Kenji Miyazawa

With that said, I am also testing my mental strength and maturity. I am NOT RUNNING IN THIS SUNDAY’S RACE, due to more than chronic pain in BOTH knees. I am starting a new workout routine on Monday with the hopes of adding some different routines to change up my monotonous program.

With all the down time I am not packing on a lot of weight, and keeping energy levels up thanx to the products of Visalus.

To learn more or to check out some of the products from Visalus OR have the chance to make an extra income…www.sexton.bodybyvi.com Or http://www.sexton.visalusgiving.com

Or those running here in Central Ohio, of for the 2 young ladies I care tremendously about, HAVE A GREAT RACE, and y’all have no idea how much it hurts me, to not be out there. Wanna know how much? Just ask my trainers, and then my shrink. They both have had to see a lot of me lately!

” You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have.”

FOR THOSE RUNNING:
10 Tips for First-Time Half (and Full) Marathoners
-Stolen from Runner World

There is nothing like your first marathon or half-marathon. Although it may be nerve-wracking to venture into the great unknown, the excitement and mystery is what makes these races so much fun.

The number one rule in all of marathon-land (write this one down) is go with what you know and don’t try anything new during your taper, in race week, or race day. I can write this because I’ve made this mistake on numerous occasions. For example, the time I ran the St. George Marathon the week before my wedding and wore a brand spanking new singlet in the race. Guess who had a lovely chafing mark in her wedding photos? Keep it simple and stick with what your body knows–from the foods you eat to the clothes you wear. Every week has been a dress rehearsal for the big dance and it is vital to ignore the nervous voices telling you to buy those new shoes at the expo and wear them on race day. They’re just voices of energy and they’ll subside after the race.

Have faith in your preparation, especially during the taper. Something mystical happens when you begin to taper your mileage to rest up for the race. It’s a little like taking away Linus’s blanket as there is comfort in training because you are actively moving towards your target race. As you reduce the mileage, the nervousness sets in. Remember that tapering allows your body time to rest and accumulate energy at the rate of a slow simmer so that on race day you are fresh and ready to rumble. Review your training log to remind yourself of the base you have going into the race and visualize a strong run during the season. You are well prepared and that is the best insurance against earning that medal.

Watch a running flick. A great way to ease your mind and pump yourself up is to watch a running video. A few of my favorites includeWithout Limits, Chariots of Fire and the Spirit of the Marathon. It’s a great way to relax, stay off your feet and keep your mind focused on the task at hand.

Warn your family and friends that you’ll have the stability of a 3-year-old child on race day. I’ve borrowed this line from myhusband John Bingham, and it’s true. Whether you’re a newbie or a seasoned veteran, making even the smallest decisions like what to eat and what to wear will feel like life changing moments during race week. Ask your support team for extra patience, because they’ll need it. Anticipate this temporary state of immaturity and lay out your clothes the night before the race. It helps to try on everything you plan to wear (bib number, chip on shoe…) The more prepared you are the night before, the better.

Get to the Expo early. Walking and standing for hours at the expo trying to decide which top is the cutest can really take it out of your legs (please refer back to tip four where you won’t be able to make small decisions). It’s best to go to the expo at off-peak times on the first day to avoid congestion and spend no more than an hour shopping. Plus, the vendors will have more supplies of all their goodies on the first day!

Wear your race shirt only after you finish. I have a thing about celebrating too soon, and the race shirt to me, is a finisher’s shirt. I once heard an adventure racer say that you get seven years of bad joo-joo if you wear it before you earn it. Just saying…

Review the course map and break it down. If you’re like me, you won’t have to know exactly where to run because you won’t be leading the race, but it does help to have a mental picture of the course and to break it down into smaller, more digestible pieces. There is nothing worse than toeing the line thinking, “only 13.1 miles to go (or 26.2)!” Review it, break it down and run check point to check point on race day. You’ll worry less, and celebrate more along the way.

Invest in your finish line photo. Everyone wants a cool finish line photo, but in order to get it, you’ve got to invest in it. The number one mistake all runners make is going out too fast in the early stages of the race. And that can play havoc on your coolness and suck the life out of your legs early on. I’m an advocate for running negative splits. If you run the first half of the race slightly slower than the second, you have the energy to go fishing in the final miles and pass people (nicely)! And let me tell you, there is nothing more fun and energizing than having the strength and focus to pass people (nicely) in the end! Pace yourself and it will pay off in the long run (pun intended). [Fishing: Picking out a person ahead, say the guy in the red shirt, casting your hook into that fancy red shirt, and reeling him in.)

Run the tangents! It took me several years to learn this nugget of information and I shaved minutes off my time once I did. When a race course is measured (and certified) it follows the tangents to the curves. A tangent is a straight line just outside the curve (or as close to the curve while still on the road). For example, Sandra the runner sees a curve on the course and runs a straight line (tangent to) the inside of the curve. Beth (who is not paying attention and didn’t read this blog) follows the curve in the road. Curve for curve, Beth will end up running more mileage in the end. Sandra will run the measured 13.1 miles (and be showered before Beth finishes). This will help you in two very important ways: One, it keeps your mind actively engaged in running the course as you think your way through every turn. Two, you’ll run only 13.1 miles! You can add more than a quarter-mile to the course by taking the long way around turns! Stay focused,
grasshopper, and set yourself up efficiently as you wind through the course.

Have fun and enjoy the journey. You’ve put a lot of time and energy into training for your first race, the least you can do is enjoy yourself along the way. There are no style points awarded on race day and it isn’t a final exam. You’ve trained hard, you’re well prepared, and race day is truly about the celebration. Soak up the excitement of the crowd and take it all in because you only run your first half marathon once and it’s a special moment.

MORE HEALTH:
AND FOR MY FELLOW MEAT HEADS…THIS IS MY NEW CHEST WORKOUT. I HAVE SOME SIZE, BUT, gonna get the “barrel” chest back!

“Training the upper, middle, and lower chest will help you get all-round development in both strength and size.”

EXERCISES

The following is a high-intensity training routine designed to work the upper, middle, and lower chest. To complete this chest workout within 15 minutes, you’ll need to perform each exercise back-to-back with no rest between exercises. That is, you’ll perform the first exercise, then immediately switch to the second one, and then to the third, completing 8-10 reps for each exercise. You’ll then take a two-minute break. After your brief rest, you’ll repeat the cycle once more. This method of performing several high-intensity exercises for a particular body part without rest between each exercise is known as “giant setting.” To get the maximum benefit from this routine and reduce the risk of injury, make sure you properly warm up your muscles by doing a few push-ups and stretches before you begin the actual workout. Although your training program will vary, you may want to do this routine once every 5 to 7 days as part of a total body program.

INCLINE DUMBELL PRESS

Muscles Worked: Upper chest, triceps

Position: Lie on an incline bench. For extra stability, place your feet firmly on the floor. Hold the dumbells with an overhand grip.

Start: Bring the dumbells into the starting position near the sides of your chest.

Finish: Complete the movement by pressing the dumbells upward, away from your body. Make sure to exhale as you press the dumbells and inhale as you return them to the starting position.

Tip: Make sure the bench is set to an angle of 60 degrees or less, so you’re focusing on training the upper chest and not your shoulders.

FLAT DUMBELL BENCH PRESS

Muscles Worked: Middle chest, triceps

Position: Lie flat on a bench with dumbells in each hand. For extra stability, place your feet firmly on the floor. Hold the dumbells with an overhand grip.

Start: Bring the dumbells into the starting position near the sides of your chest.

Finish: Complete the movement by pressing the dumbells upward, away from your body. Make sure to exhale as you press the dumbells and inhale as you return them to the starting position.

Tip: The flat dumbell bench press allows you to build overall size and strength in the chest. This exercise allows you to get a good stretch when you lower the dumbells.

DIPS

Muscles Worked: Lower chest, triceps

Position: Grasp the dipping bar handles with your palms facing each other and lift yourself so your arms are almost straight with a slight bend at the elbow.

Start: Tilt your torso forward while bending your legs. Hold this position as you slowly lower yourself until your arms are at a 90-degree angle.

Finish: Complete the movement by pushing yourself back up to the starting position.

Tip: For added stability you can bend your knees and cross your feet when performing dips.

For best results in any diet and training program, don’t forget to include wholesome foods in your diet and make sure you get at least eight hours of sleep each night. If you follow these suggestions consistently and train hard, you’ll surely be sporting a bigger chest that commands respect!

INSPIRATION:
“Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.” – Frank Outlaw

QUOTES:
“How beautiful a day can be when kindness touches it.” ~George Elliston

For everything you have missed, you have gained something else.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson …Agree?

‎”I have decided to stick with love. Hate is too great a burden to bear.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

One of The Symptoms of approaching a breakdown is believing that your work is so important-Dr. Wayne Dyer

See the triumphs in others, you will enjoy in them, and find your own!

Hate Me lyrics
I have to block out thoughts of you, so I don’t lose my head
They crawl in like a cockroach leaving babies in my bed
Dropping little reels of tape, to remind me that I’m alone
Playing movies in my head that make a porno feel like home
There’s a burning in my pride, a nervous bleeding in my brain
An ounce of peace is all I want for you, Will you never call again?
and will you never say that you love me just to put it in my face?
and will you never try to reach me, it is I that wanted space

Hate me today
Hate me tomorrow
Hate me for all the things i didnt do for you
Hate me in ways, yeah ways hard to swallow
Hate me so you can finally see whats good for you

I’m clean now for 3 whole months, it’s one accomplishment that you helped me with
The one thing that always tore us apart is the one thing I won’t touch again
In a sick way I want to thank you for holding my head up late at night
While I was busy waging wars on myself, you were trying to stop the fight
You never doubted my warped opinions on things like suicidal hate
You made me compliment myself when it was way too hard to take
So I’ll drive so fu**ing far away that I’ll never cross your mind
And do whatever it takes in your heart to leave me behind

Hate me today
Hate me tomorrow
Hate me for all the things I didn’t do for you
Hate me in ways, yeah ways hard to swallow
Hate me so you can finally see whats good for you

And with a sad heart I say bye to you and wave
Kicking shadows on the street for every mistake that I had made
And like a baby boy I never was a man
Until I saw your blue eyes cry and I held your face in my hands
And then I fell down yelling “make it go away” just make a smile
Come back and shine just like it used to be
And then she whispered “How could you do this to me?”

Hate me today
Hate me tomorrow
Hate me for all the things I didn’t do for you
Hate me in ways, yeah ways hard to swallow
Hate me so you can finally see whats good for you.

For you
For you
For you

CLOSING:
RevRunWisdom: Your life is improving day by day!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.–Albert Einstein

Courage is being scared to death.. and saddling up anyway. –John Wayne

TO DO:
Here’s what’s happening in CENTRAL OHIO!

FRIDAY:
I play the Jacket’s 10th Season Kick Off Plaza Party

LATE NIGHT Join me at Park Street Saloon

SATURDAY:
One of my Dads Favorites, The Letterman, play The Ohio Theater

Los Lonely Boys play The Palace Theater

-For more on both of these shows http://www.capa.com

LATE NIGHT Join me at Park Street Saloon

SUNDAY:
I WANNA GO! Styx plays The Palace Theatre. For more info http://www.capa.com

FUNNIES:
FRIDAY:
Cedric the Entertainer play Vets Memorial

ALL WEEKEND:
Tony Woods plays to the Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

MORE TO DO:
SATURDAY:
An Evening with Simpsons Creator Matt Groening
Mershon Auditorium, Wexner Center for the Arts
For more info: http://www.wexarts.org

Go Wild at The Wilds with Jack Hanna
For more info http://www.thewilds.org

ALL WEEKEND:
All American Quarter Horse Congress (BTW JMI, I have a pass for you)
For more info http://www.oqha.com

IN THEATERS:
A SEQUAL TO MY FAVORITE MOVIE EVER!!!
George Strait is back in ‘Pure Country 2: The Gift’ RATED “PG.”(DID ANYONE KNOW ABOUT THIS, I JUST GOT IT!?!?!? Pure Country stars the “Super Cowboy,” George Strait and former “Super Man” Dean Caine

TO SHOW MY LEVEL OF MATURITY…I am recommending, Johnny Knoxville and the cast of ‘Jackass 3D.’ This Juvenile, disgusting, and gross movie-I HAVE TO SEE is rated R.”

DVD:
The animated, family friendly, ‘How to Train Your Dragon;’ rated “PG.”

‘Jonah Hex’ staring MEGAN FOX!!! Rated “PG-13.”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Trace Adkins has his greatest hits package, The Definitive Greatest Hits: Til the Last Shot’s Fired

Newbies, The Band Perry have their self titles debut, The Band Perry

Sister Hazel is back with Heartland Highway

Shawn Mullins has Light You Up

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Dead Celebrity 3 Miler

Who says Michael Jackson and his sparkly glove are gone forever? Bring him back to life in the Dead Celebrity 3 Miler! Come dressed as your favorite celebrity and join us for the fastest way to kick off your Halloween evening.

Every runner gets a medal, technical race shirt, 2 free beers, free food and huge post race Halloween party Presented by Frog Bear, M3S Sports and Mich Ultra.
There are also prize packages for the best costumes. This is a costume event. We are looking for the most creative and most like a celebrity that has passed away in the last 12 months. Creativity and passion beat speed every time! PLUS OUR FRIENDS AT FBWB will have the Buckeyes vs. Minnesota on the HUGE Big Screen TVS!

Date: Friday October 29th, 2010
Location: 343 Front Formerly Frog Bear & Wild Boar
Start time: 8:00pm
Distance: 3 Miler
Packet pick-up begins: 6:30pm

Pre-registration and packet pickup will take place at Fleet Feet Sports October 27th through October 29th during regular business hours. Fleet Feet Sports is located at: 1174 East Powell Road, Lewis Center, OH 43035

Course Map: Coming Soon!
Cost:
$35 September 15th through October 28th
$40 on race day

https://www.premierraces.com/smartReg/newRegister.asp?ID=453

http://www.mattsexton.com
http://www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

October 16, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

