Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greetings from Port Columbus Airport-NOT where I was hoping to be at this time!

GREETINGS from Port Columbus Airport…where I have been since just after 1am, as I was notified my flight was cancelled at 11:30pm…due to “weather.” While I am very appreciative of the info (glad the e-mail alert woke me up), I was more than a little frustrated that the 800 number that I was told to call was “down for 3 hours,” and no questions were being answered.

 

I elected to be proactive and come to the airport since my flight was scheduled to leave at 6:20am. As I was sitting here, I called again and the 800 folks told me I had to talk to a representative at the counter…that was not open till 4am! So I wait and do some work (more work than just keeping my eyes open-which actually caused me to break out in a cold sweat because it was so difficult).

 

I wait and when a person showed up at 10 till (4am), I approached them and was told they couldn’t do anything till the systems were up and running. This was frustrating cause I was looking at all info FROM MY COMPUTER! But whatever they are the professionals and I don’t ask too many questions. When I did chat with the young lady, she was very nice and tried to be helpful. What did I find out? SHE TOLD ME TO CALL THE 800 number. I swallowed hard, took a deep breath and informed her what I was told. She explained all options and that was none, except to wait till Friday morning to fly out.

 

I left messages to with the guys I am working with to see what they wanted me to do…I also had not eaten since 5pm the day before so I blew my diet on an Oreo Bar and hot chocolate.

 

I decided that yes…the airline did not control the weather, however I was given the wrong info, and ya know what? I AM THE CUSTOMER!!! I went back asked for the manager spoke to him in a non-aggressive, yet firm demeanor (and no not the tone like when I worked at concerts). We came to 2 conclusions/agreements 1.) They don’t control the weather 2.) MATT IS RIGHT!

 

So I got my refund, and on a later flight.  Who is this fine organization? It is AirTran, and they are now bought out by Southwest…guess we will see what happens. I am NOT real impressed right now!

 

BUT BIG PROPS (and I don’t mean prop plane props…) go United, for gettgin me out ahead of schedule.

 

Here we go…In route to The Show Me Fest in Springfield Mizz. First off Happy Father’s Day to everyone this applies to. Especially my Dad, and my hero my Grandfather. This weekend,  I am missing my baby girl (I have not seen her in a few weeks). On this Father’s Day weekend, to the smart a**es out there, quit sending the Father’s Day cards to me, it is no longer funny!

 

It has been a VERY Busy week stemming from a few AWESOME Days in NashVegas watching others do what I love-while learning and admiring. Then into a RAIN SOAKED Park Street Festival on Friday (I actually found a pair of shoes still wet on Tuesday). To an AMAZING day on Saturday at Flying Horse Farms (awesome charity and BEAUTIFUL campus up in Mt. Gilead), and then back to Park Street for Night 2. Sunday caused me to do something I NEVER do…a 4 hour nap! Monday was with Robert Plant (phenomenal artist TRUE rock star), Hoggy’s Bike Night on Saturday, and Weds working with a client and picking up 2 new clients. I AM VERY THANKFUL AND HAPPY to have the opportunities I have…even this one in the airport!

 

This week I was asked by a friend what happened to me. I did not know what she meant and …immediately I was defensive (guilty conscious?) She reminded me how miserable I was at one time, and how the last year or so I seem a lot happier. We also swapped stories of a time she didn’t know I was on a “death bed” and still DJ’ed her son’s Bar Mitzvah. She didn’t even know I was sick and was happy with the job I did…before being rushed to the Hospital for an infected Limpf Node. ANYWAY, the important thing is, today I am alive and some great lessons have been learned.

 

Whatta ya mean?

 

“Matty what happened to you did you find God?” Hmmm…I didn’t know he was lost, but that is beside the point.

 

Yea I guess you could say that. I have re-evaluated my faith in all things including the Big Dude above, and I had a special person walk into my life. I may not be with her, but she brought a happiness to my spirit that cannot be described, only lived. I also found the small things to enjoy…those everyday moments that we all look past or take for granted. I also started to B.S. others into thinking I was happy, and somewhere along the way…I B.S.’ed myself, and in turn I realized I AM HAPPY!

 

I just started thinking happy, allowing my emotions to be what they are, and it all came along and allowed me to be happy. Even if it started as just TRYING to convince myself…it is now true! Now it may be from a person (who I think about everyday and smile), it could be faith in a higher power, it could be from a positive outlook on life, it could be just finding small pleasures in the day…they all add up to something and that is waking up everyday, and looking forward to finding something to be thankful for and enjoy! Life is way too short to not enjoy it, and LIVE IT!


Laugh
 when you can,
apologize when you should,
and let go of what you can’t change.
Life’s too short to be anything… but happy
.

 

These thoughts also allow me to shrug off the everyday B.S. that is spun by some others, even in attempt to try and realize things are not ALWAYS personal. Sometimes someone is just having a bad day or their best does not mesh with your own worst. Like the song says “there ain’t no good guy, there ain’t no bad guy…there’s only you and me and we just disagree.”

 

This week I was jumped on when trying to help someone. It is kinda funny that this exact same thing happened late last summer as I was trying to help someone. Both instances I was attacked. In the past I would have said some mean things and tried to come out the better person. This is not a priority anymore. Actually I tried to learn from these things and I found an appreciation for both involved. PLUS there is only one common denominator…me. I need to re-evaluate my role in the interaction.

 

In both instances neither makes someone the bad person….it just means they are passionate about their causes, and that is respected. Even if I don’t agree or like how they approached me-there is admiration in their desires to succeed, and a learning experience for growth!

 

I stole this from one of the people mentioned above, very appropriate

 

In the end, it is important to remember that we cannot become what we need to be by remaining who we are. ~Max DePree

 


PLEASE JOIN ME:

EVERY TUESDAY-Hoggy’s Polaris Bike Nights

Great Food, and GREAT drink specials. What goes better than Hogs with Hog?

 

THIS FRIDAY June 17th Help provide a vehicle and transportation for a friend of mine who is a missionary in Haiti.

 

In addition to a good dinner and a GREAT CAUSE, we have a chance for you to bid on some killer prizes including 2 Tickets to see Keith Urban July 19th at Nationwide Arena (courtesy of Dream Seats-Your Total Ticket Source), and 3 hours of DJ service (limitations apply)

Friday, June 17 · 6:00pm – 7:30pm

 

Licking Valley High School

 

Texas Roadhouse Dinner (pizza for children) will be served from 6:00 – 7:30pm

 

Cost: $20.00 per ticket for steak dinner. Dinner includes Steak, salad, baked potato, rolls, drink and dessert.

Pizza ticket is $5.00 and includes pizza, drink, salad and dessert.

 

The proceeds will go towards the purchase of a vehicle for Ginny Andrews who is working in Haiti. She currently is using the Haitian public transportation system and is very limited in her mission work with no vehicle. Ginny works Angel Missions Haiti where she oversees getting medical visas for children who need life-saving surgery in the states.

Please see her blog for more information on her work in Haiti:

www.ginnyinhaiti.com

 

For questions regarding the Benefit Dinner and Silent action please email Summer Conley at summer_conley@hotmail.com.

 

Donations are being accepted for the Silent Auction. Contact Summer if interested.

 

 

RED, WHITE, & BOOM Friday July 1, 2011

Join me on the Long Street Stage with

       
Noon Alex White      
1pm Maza laska      
2pm Misfit Toys      
3pm The Forties      
4pm She Bears      
5pm Alleyes Path      
6pm TheCompressis      
7pm Ghost Shirt      
8pm Phantods      
 9pm-945

10:25 – 11:20

 The Queen Tribute Band-Mr Fahrenheit & The Lover Boys      
 MATT SEXTON MC/DJ ALL      
 

Worthington Family Picnic Monday July 4th

Thomas Worthington HS, Worthington, OH 43085

Mon July 4th: 4:00 pm-10:00 pm

4th of July before the Fireworks. Bring your family to Thomas Worthington High School

 

Good Guys Car Show July 8-10

14th PPG Goodguys Nationals (Jul 8-10, Columbus, OH)

At The Ohio Expo Center

The 14th annual Goodguys PPG Hot Rod & Custom Car Nationals returns to the Ohio Expo Center July 8-10. Huge Indoor & Outdoor Happenin’ at the Ohio Expo Center featuring over 6000 hot rods, customs, classics, muscle cars and trick trucks thru ’72. Shop at 100’s of vendor/exhibitor booths or take a trip to the Swap Meet for automotive related parts and Cars 4 Sale. Check out the Street Challenge AutoCross and the Hot Rod How-To Seminars. There’s fun for the whole family with a Goodgals Gallery, a Model Car Show and kids free model make and take plus live entertainment all weekend long!

 

Please “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton
PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?)
http://www.rmsexton.com

 

ARE YOU READY for your Summer Vacation? I can help put you on point and in shape! Send an e-mail to mattsext@gmail.com for availability and specialized individual workout plans.

 

THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:

A nap every once in a while is not a waste of time. It’s an investment in dreams.

 

All that u need, to have all that u want, will be provided, as if by magic, once u know what u want and do something about it every day.-Jason Mraz

 

“Your life is yours and yours alone. Rise up and live it.” – Terry Goodkind

 

SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:

 

“Born Free”

 

Fast, on a rough road riding

High, through the mountains climbing

Twisting, turning further from my home.

Young, like a new moon rising

Fierce, through the rain and lightning

Wandering out into this great unknown.

 

And I don’t want no one to cry,

But tell ’em if I don’t survive:

 

I was born free!

I was booooooorn free

I was born free, born free.

 

Free, like a river raging

Strong, if the wind I’m facing.

Chasing dreams and racing fathered time.

Deep like the grandest canyon,

Wild like an untamed stallion.

If you can’t see my heart you must be blind.

You can knock me down and watch me bleed

But you can’t keep no chains on me.

 

And I’m not good at long goodbyes,

But look down deep into my eyes,

 

I was born free!

 

Calm, facing danger,

Lost like an unknown stranger,

Grateful, for my time with no regrets.

Close to my destination,

Tired, frail and achin’,

Waitin’ patiently for the sun to set.

 

And when it’s done believe that I

Will yell it from that mountain highhh!

 

I will bow to shining seas

And celebrate God’s grace on me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu3rsha1ZtI

 

 

WOW!

Saw Robert Plant on Monday with my Buddies from Dream Seats, and our good friend S.B., it was an AMAZING SHOW with great friends!

for now I smell the rain, and with it, pain

and it’s headed my way

Aw, sometimes I grow so tired

but I know I’ve got one thing I got to do

A-ramble on, and now’s the time, the time is now

Sing my song, I’m goin’ ’round the world

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31Xv4pQ9dMQ

 

Reminds me of growing up back in Nerk Ahia. Plus it is MY form of Country-True Hick Hop!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-iiB_DOySs

 

 

QUESTION OF THE WEEK:

What won’t Meatloaf do for love???

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9GNhdQRbXhc

…maybe he is onto something

 

HELP:

If you can, help others; if you cannot do that, at least do not harm them. – Dalai Lama

 

Anyone know any info on these two?

Sara Apple & 4-year-old son Max missing: Father’s plea, vigil Tuesday

While friends were organizing a candlelight vigil for Tuesday evening to show their support for the family of Sara Apple and her 4-year-old son Max who both vanished Thursday, Sara’s father was issuing a statement and plea for their safe return and thanking people for the overwhelming love and support they have already received.

Sara and Max Apple were last seen Thursday evening between 5:30 and 6 p.m. when Sara picked Max up from daycare. Sara had sent her husband a text saying she was planning to stay at her mother’s home that night. She never made it there and neither she nor her little boy have been heard from or seen since. Police are “looking carefully” at her husband and at all other possible scenarios of their disappearance.

 

Sara’s father, and Max’s grandfather, Mark Yohman issued the following statement:

 

“I just wanted to say that Trish [Mark’s wife] and I are overwhelmed by the love and support. We can’t tell you how much it is appreciated. No matter how many times we say thank you it will never be enough. Sara and Max are very loved.

 

“We spoke to the detectives today and they are leaving no stone unturned. As you may be aware, the FBI is assisting in the search. They are looking in Ohio as well as outside of Ohio. They said to spread the word to everywhere.

 

“One if the important keys is to find the car. Please share the flyers that are out there. Not only does it have their beautiful pictures, but it lists the make and model of the car.”

 

“With people like you,” Mark said, “we are going to find them. We cannot wait to Hug Sara and kiss Max’s face all over.”

 

Important details about Sara’s car

Sara’s car is a 2004 White Saturn Ion. It is missing a passenger side mirror.

There is a family-of-four stick figure sticker on the back window. The license plate is FCQ-5079.

 

LOCAL NEWS:

Upper Arlington approves new entertainment district

 

The Upper Arlington City Council opened the door for seven more liquor licenses when it approved a Lane Avenue entertainment district last night.

 

With all members present, the council voted unanimously in favor of the proposed 40-acre development area from Welsford Road to east of North Star Road.

 

“It is a good economic development tool and it is something that can enhance and protect one of our commercial corridors,” Mayor Frank Ciotola said this morning.

 

With passage of the ordinance, the area could add up to seven “D-5j” liquor permits, which allow the sale of beer, wine or liquor in the district. The city has 17 other permit holders, the maximum allowed by state law for its size.

More than a dozen residents voiced continued concerns last night about parking issues in the area, Ciotola said. Most opposed the ordinance.

 

Critics have said that development along the stretch of Lane Avenue would essentially turn their residential roads into commercial parking lots, and some have pushed for a precinct-wide alcohol ban.

 

Ciotola said the Council listened to residents’ concerns but that zoning laws already regulate parking issues.

To ban alcohol in the area now, residents would have to force a citywide vote to prohibit alcohol throughout the entertainment district. City officials said it would be difficult to gather wide support for such a ban because the parking issues don’t affect most residents.

 

Entertainment districts are intended to revitalize communities by promoting sporting, cultural and arts and entertainment establishments. In addition to Easton Town Center, which earned the designation in 1999, Grandview Yard, the Continent, the Arena and Brewery districts and Upper Arlington’s Kingsdale Shopping Center carry the designation.

 

For an area to qualify as an entertainment district, state law requires at least $50 million in future development for cities of 20,000 to 100,000 residents.

 

Now that the district has been created, business owners can apply for a liquor license through the state. Ciotola said that, to his knowledge, no applications had been filed yet.

 

GREAT STORY (of a text that should have been):

Girl : hey

Boy : hii =)

Girl : how are u ??

*Boy types : I’m miserable! I need u back! I miss u ! I LoVe U!

*Then erased it…

and typed,,

Boy : I’m fine

Question is…should the text have been erased?

 

PASSING:

James Arness, Marshal on ‘Gunsmoke,’ Dies at 88

James Arness portrayed Marshal Matt Dillon on “Gunsmoke” for 20 years after the series debuted in 1955.

James Arness, who burnished the legend of America’s epic West as Marshal Matt Dillon, the laconic peacemaker of Dodge City on “Gunsmoke,” one of the longest-running dramatic series in television history, died on Friday at his home in Los Angeles. He was 88.

 

A family spokeswoman, Ginny Fazer, confirmed the death. Mr. Arness was terribly shy and had almost no training as an actor. A wartime leg wound made it painful for him to mount a horse. But he became the best-known tin star of his era, portraying the towering, weathered marshal for 20 years, from 1955 to 1975. He also made some 50 films and television movies, mostly westerns, in a career that stretched across five decades.

 

To a generation of television viewers, Mr. Arness and “Gunsmoke” embodied a new, more adult vision of the mythic Old West: a quiet, vulnerable lawman facing not stereotyped villains and clichéd situations but a chaotic frontier freighted with moral judgments and occasional failure. He might be too late to stop a killing. He could save a girl from kidnappers, but not from her father’s brutality.

 

Audiences had long been accustomed to western heroes who never were, having been sanitized by the trail songs of Gene Autry and Roy Rogers and the righteous gunplay of the Lone Ranger and Hopalong Cassidy . But Marshal Dillon never got the girl, did not love his horse, wore only one gun and fired it reluctantly, usually drawing last but shooting straightest in dusty street duels. Over the years, the marshal was shot 30 times.

 

Mr. Arness, a 6-foot-7 giant whose stoic personality was remarkably like his character’s, was ideal for the part. He had been reared in a family of Norwegian descent in Minnesota and became an outdoorsman who loved fishing and hunting. He came home from World War II a wounded, decorated and aimless veteran. He worked menial jobs, tried radio and was collecting veterans’ benefits when he drifted to Hollywood.

 

He developed slowly, appearing in 30 movies before his mentor, John Wayne, rejected the Dillon role and recommended him instead. “Gunsmoke,” which began in 1952 as a radio show with William Conrad, landed on the CBS television network as a half-hour black-and-white drama set in a raw Kansas town in 1873.

In the premiere, which established the tone for the series, Marshal Dillon faces a gunslinger who had killed an unarmed man. The outlaw insists on a showdown, and the marshal, always a moral touchstone, must accommodate him.

 

“He’s a gunman, Doc,” Dillon says to Doc Adams. “He has got to be eliminated.”

 

The supporting cast was a snug family, stock but multilayered characters who spent much time talking: the beer-drinking philosopher, Doc (Milburn Stone); the careworn Long Branch saloonkeeper, Miss Kitty (Amanda Blake), her love unrequited; and the lame sidekick, Chester Goode (Dennis Weaver). Characters and actors came and went in tales that often focused on travelers passing through on their way west.

 

“Gunsmoke” was not an instant success. But from 1957 to 1961, when it became a one-hour series, it was the top-rated show on television, seen every week by 40 million Americans and millions more in Britain, where it was called “Gun Law.” It bred dozens of copycats, including “Have Gun, Will Travel,” “Wagon Train,” “Rawhide,” “The Rifleman” and “Bonanza.”

 

The ratings declined until 1967, when color and a new time slot sent “Gunsmoke” back into the Top 10 until the 1973-74 season. The show was still in the Top 30 when it was canceled in 1975. In its 20-year run, there had been 635 episodes. Mr. Arness had been in the saddle for all of them, and would ride again through decades of reruns and sequels.

 

He was born James King Aurness in Minneapolis on May 26, 1923, one of two sons of Rolf Aurness, who sold medical supplies, and the former Ruth Duesler. (His parents divorced in the 1940s.)

 

Mr. Arness’s younger brother was the actor Peter Graves, who starred for years on television in “Mission: Impossible” and appeared in scores of movies, including “Airplane!” (1980) . He died in March 2010.

James attended public schools and graduated from West High School in Minneapolis in 1942.

 

In his first year at Beloit College in Wisconsin, Mr. Arness was drafted into the wartime Army as an infantryman. During the invasion of Anzio, Italy, in 1944, his right leg was shattered by machine-gun fire. Hospitalized for nearly a year, he underwent a series of operations but for many years suffered pain, especially when mounting a horse, and walked with a slight limp. He won the Bronze Star and the Purple Heart.

 

After the war he returned to Minnesota, took odd jobs and was a radio announcer before moving to Los Angeles in 1946. He began acting at an amateur theater and met the producer Dore Schary, who put him in a few movies in 1947. Unsure of his future, he drifted around Mexico, but returned to Hollywood determined to be an actor called James Arness.

 

In 1948 he married Virginia Chapman and adopted her son by a previous marriage, Craig. The couple had two children, Jenny and Rolf, and were divorced in 1963. In 1978 he married Janet Surtees; they lived in the Brentwood section of Los Angeles. She and Rolf Arness survive him, along with a stepson, Jim Surtees. Survivors also include six grandchildren and a great-grandchild. Jenny Arness died in 1975, and Craig in 2004.

 

Critics praised Mr. Arness’s performance as an unjustly accused man in “The People Against O’Hara” (1951), and he was memorable if unrecognizable in the title role of the science-fiction thriller “The Thing From Another World,” better known as just “The Thing” (1951). In the next few years he was in dozens of films, including “Big Jim McLain” (1952) and “Hondo” (1953), which both starred John Wayne.

 

Wayne was one of Hollywood’s biggest stars then, and a television role did not seem the right move for him. But Mr. Arness, his protégé, turned out to be a masterly casting choice. Its 20-year tenure made “Gunsmoke” the longest-running scripted prime-time show in American television history, a record that stood until it was broken by “The Simpsons” in 2009. (“Law & Order” reached the 20-year mark in 2010, but was canceled before it could overtake “Gunsmoke.” No other show currently on the air comes close.) Besides reruns, it spun off books, board games, a trove of merchandise and endless nostalgia.

 

Mr. Arness was nominated for three Emmy Awards in the “Gunsmoke” years and later made dozens of television movies, including “The Alamo” (1987) and “Red River” (1988). He also starred in the mini-series “How the West Was Won” (1977) and the short-lived crime series “McCain’s Law” (1981). From 1987 to 1993 he also made five

“Gunsmoke” television-movie sequels. “James Arness: An Autobiography,” written with James E. Wise Jr., was published in 2001.

 

BIRTHDAY:

This week in 1775 and in 1777, two of the nation’s three most important events took place.

The creation of the Continental Army — in 1775 — and the design of the American flag — in 1777 — were done by resolutions passed by the Continental Congress meeting in Philadelphia.

 

Of course, sandwiched between those two events was the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776.

It seems strange that the Continental Congress first decided it had to have an Army, before independence was declared and before soldiers had a national flag under which to fight.

 

But, like any legislative body, past, present or future, that’s how things work.

In 1775 the resolution which was adopted called for a small military force totaling 810 men in 10 companies.

The decision stated: “Resolved that six companies of expert riflemen be immediately raised in Pennsylvania, two in Maryland and two in Virginia; that each Company consist of a captain, three lieutenants, four sergeants, four corporals, a drummer or trumpeter; and 68 privates.

 

“That each company, as soon as completed, will march and join the Army near Boston, to be there employed as light infantry under the command of the Chief Officer of that Army.

 

“That the pay of the officers and private be as follows: a captain 20 dollars per month; a lieutenant at 131⁄2 dollars; a sergeant at 8 dollars; a corporal at 71⁄2 dollars; a drummer or (trumpeter) at 71⁄2 dollars; privates at 62⁄3 dollars; to find their own arms and clothes.

 

“That the form of enlistment be in the following words: ‘I have this day, voluntarily enlisted myself as a soldier in the American Continental Army, for one year, unless sooner discharged. And I do bind myself to conform in all instances to such rules and regulations as are, or will be, established for the government of said Army.’ ”

Hence started the nation’s land forces, which during the past 236 years have fought in many wars and other lesser engagements as the Army flag with its 183 battle streamers, attests.

 

There are 16 streamers issued for the Revolutionary War, six for the War of 1812, 10 for the war with Mexico, 25  for the Civil War, 14 for Indian campaigns from 1790 through 1891, three for the Spanish American War, three for the China Relief Expedition, 11 for the Philippine Insurrection, one for the Mexican Border Service, 13 for World War I, one for the World War II American Campaign, 21 for World War II Asiatic Pacific Campaign, 16 for the World War II European-African-Middle East Campaign, 10 for the Korean War, 17 for the Vietnam War, three for Armed Forces Expeditionary conflicts, three for Southwest Asia Service, one for the Kosovo Campaign, one for the Afghanistan Campaign, one for the Global War on Terrorism and one for the Iraq Campaign, as well as numerous presidential citations and other commendation streamers.

 

Whenever the Army flag is with all it’s streamers it is a reminder of the service’s 236 years, beginning with a little more than 800 soldiers.

 

As for the creation of the American flag, it was established by a resolution 234 years ago today.

The decision simply stated: “Resolved, that the flag of the United States, be 13 stripes, alternate red and white; that the union be 13 stars, white in a blue field representing a new constellation.”

 

Often the design of the Betsy Ross flag —   with 13 stars in a circle in the blue union — has been touted as the first.

But, historically there is no such evidence, while there is some the design did not appear until the 1790s, and there is no connection the design was actually hers. However, she did make flags of various designs.

 

As each new state was admitted a new stripe and star was added until someone realized if it continued the size of the flag would become unwieldy, which led to a decision to limit the stripes to 13, one for each of the original states, and to add a star for each state, which now numbers 50.

 

Today is a day to honor two special parts of our history — the Stars and Stripes and the soldiers pledged to defend the national banner, and by doing so, the freedom and liberties of every American citizen.

ENTERTAINMENT:

Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. —–. Ferris Bueller

“Life moves pretty fast,” as a famous teenage philosopher once said, and before you know it, a quarter-century has gone by. It’s hard to believe it’s been 25 years since the release of ‘Ferris Bueller’s Day Off’ (on June 11, 1986).

Though dated in some ways (there’s a lot that clearly marks it as a product of the ’80s), the movie feels as fresh as ever, thanks to the eternal exuberance of Matthew Broderick in the title role and the ability to accurately evoke timeless teenage concerns that was writer/director John Hughes’ trademark.

And time certainly hasn’t diminished the movie’s impact, which continues to be felt to this day. Here are some of the ways ‘Ferris Bueller’ has influenced pop culture — not just movies, but also TV, music and beyond.

Movies
‘Ferris Bueller’ earned $70.1 million, making it the 10th biggest hit of 1986. It cemented the reputations of teen star Broderick (famous since 1983’s ‘WarGames’) and teen-life comic auteur Hughes (who had already released ‘Sixteen Candles,’ ‘The Breakfast Club’ and ‘Pretty in Pink’). It was actually the last teen movie Hughes would direct (he wrote one more, ‘Some Kind of Wonderful,’ which was essentially a rewrite of ‘Pretty in Pink’ with the sexes reversed); after ‘Ferris,’ he turned to writing comedies about clueless adults (‘Planes, Trains and Automobiles,’ which featured another memorable role for ‘Ferris’ co-star Edie McClurg) or very small children (‘Home Alone,’ ‘Baby’s Day Out,’ which were largely ‘Ferris’ rewrites with much younger protagonists).

Still, ‘Ferris’ made a big impression on young, aspiring filmmakers who saw it. Kevin Smith’s movies have numerous references to ‘Ferris,’ and his Jay and Silent Bob characters frequently break the fourth wall to address or wink at the audience, à la Ferris. Jason Reitman, who would grow up to make ‘Juno’ (featuring perhaps the smartest-talking screen teen since Ferris) and ‘Up in the Air,’ has said that seeing ‘Ferris’ changed his life.

‘Ferris’ made stars out of most of its cast. Mia Sara, who played Ferris’ girlfriend, Sloane, enjoyed a run, however brief, as a leading lady in movies and TV miniseries. Alan Ruck (glum pal Cameron), who cited it as the best movie role he’s ever had, went on to a successful run on TV’s ‘Spin City.’ Jeffrey Jonesand McClurg have enjoyed long careers as character actors, but both are best remembered for their roles as vengeful principal Rooney and his bubble-haired secretary, Grace.

Jennifer Grey parlayed her role as Ferris’ sulky sister Jeanie into a lead the following year in the movie that cemented her fame, ‘Dirty Dancing.’ Lyman Ward and Cindy Pickett, who played Ferris’s sweet, clueless parents, fell in love and married in real life; they also played parents again in the 1992 horror film ‘Sleepwalkers.’ And the film offered most moviegoers their first glimpse of Charlie Sheen, as the bad-boy drug offender who charms Jeanie. (Not a big stretch, perhaps, though he proved his versatility by playing a straight-arrow soldier later that year in ‘Platoon.’)

And Matthew Broderick? As he noted during his tribute to Hughes at the 2010 Oscars, “For the past 25 years, nearly every day someone comes up to me, taps me on the shoulder and says, ‘Hey, Ferris, is this your day off?'” For all his career success in movies and on Broadway over the last 25 years, Ferris remains his signature role. He seems a little irritated by that notion, as if fans won’t let him move on, but he’s also used it to his advantage. Fans’ fondness for Ferris is what made Broderick’s shocking performance as an embittered high school teacher in 1999’s ‘Election’ work. To see a gone-to-seed Broderick scrambling to crush irrepressible student Reese Witherspoon’s perky ambitions is to realize with horror that Ferris Bueller has grown up to become Mr. Rooney.

Even Ben Stein, playing a droning economics teacher who didn’t even have a name, turned his brief ‘Ferris Bueller’ appearance into a career. His flat, dull voice and know-it-all manner made him an in-demand comic actor, commercial spokesman, even game show host (‘Win Ben Stein’s Money,’ in which he matched wits with contestants over trivia challenges). He’d been a speechwriter for Presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford, but still, he owes his prominence as an economic pundit to the fact that he played one in a teen movie.

Television
Ben Stein’s career wasn’t the only incidence of ‘Ferris Bueller”s impact on the small screen. There were some direct attempts to duplicate the film’s success by converting it into a sitcom. One was NBC’s ‘Ferris Bueller,’ which starred Charlie Schlatter (later of ‘Diagnosis Murder’) as Ferris and an unknown namedJennifer Aniston as Jeanie; the other, a knockoff called ‘Parker Lewis Can’t Lose,’ aired on Fox and starred Corin Nemec. Both shows debuted in 1990. Curiously, the ‘Ferris’ show was canceled due to low ratings after 13 episodes, while the ersatz Ferris on Fox lasted three seasons.

The movie’s frequent breaking of the fourth wall wasn’t new to TV (George Burns had done it for years in his 1950s sitcom), but it became an increasingly popular device after Hughes and ‘Ferris’ popularized it. The smart-alecky teen leads on ‘The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air’ and ‘Malcolm in the Middle’ frequently turned aside to address the viewers.

Music
The parade scene’s use of ‘Danke Schoen’ introduced a whole new generation to Wayne Newton, and it sent the Beatles’ 23-year-old recording of ‘Twist and Shout’ rocketing back up the singles chart. Years later, alt-rockers Save Ferris and Rooney would take their band names from the movie.

The film’s most lasting musical legacy, though, was popularizing Swiss band Yello’s song “Oh Yeah.” Played while the camera lingers lovingly over Cameron’s dad’s Ferrari, the song started popping up in othermovies and TV shows and turned into a sonic cliché, quick shorthand for the on-screen introduction of a drool-worthy hot car or hot babe.

And Beyond …
In 1990, First Lady Barbara Bush quoted Ferris’s “Life moves pretty fast” epigram during a college commencement speech. (Her husband’s vice president, Dan Quayle, cited ‘Ferris’ as his favorite movie.) Stein’s “Bueller … Bueller …” and “Anyone? … Anyone? …” became popular catchphrases.

Academics have debated what ‘Ferris Bueller”s ultimate meaning is. For some, it’s a relic of the Reagan ’80s, a celebration of wealth, privilege and selfishness set to a drum-machine beat. And it is that, though if it were just about snobbery and solipsism, moviegoers would resent Ferris as much as Jeanie does. Yet he remains popular among people of all backgrounds. (“The sportos, the motorheads, geeks, sluts, bloods, wastoids, dweebies, dickheads — they all adore him,” says Grace. “They think he’s a righteous dude.”)

Why does everyone want to be Ferris, or at least befriend him? It’s that urge to enjoy life’s pleasures and experience freedom, as Stein has noted in the DVD commentary. That’s why the film will live forever, he says. “We want to be free. We want to have a good time. We know we’re not going to be able to all our lives. We know we’re going to have to buckle down and work. We know we’re going to have to eventually become family men and women, and have responsibilities and pay our bills. But just give us a couple of good days that we can look back on.”

 

MUSIC:

Robert Plant’s new album nominated for all kinds o sh*t…BUT this aint’t yer daddys country, but maybe yer Grand Daddys!

 

On Monday Night I got to see Robert Plant….arguably the greatest rock star, AND HE SANG BACK UP while letting the other musicians onstage shine! Talent & Gentleman!

 

Singer reinvigorates Zeppelin material, blues

Robert Plant last night converted the merely surprising comeback of his two recent albums into a near-miraculous transformation during a thrilling 90 minute set in the Palace Theatre.

 

The Led Zeppelin singer who set the standards and limits for rock gods to follow, not only performed selections from his semi-acoustic 2007 outing with Alison Krauss and last year’s Band Of Joy, but revisited Zeppelin hits with a liberty that made Bob Dylan’s reinventions sound tame.

 

With a near-perfectly structured set, Plant also illuminated the folk influences of those old warhorses and showed his inspirations to be impressively constant over more than 40 years.

 

Merely hearing the lyrics from a handful of manically-delivered Zeppelin originals was alone a generous gift.

 

Ramble On finished the show proper with a gentle introduction built with acoustic guitar, standup bass and bouzouki. Tension was built by guitarist Buddy Miller on one of his many vintage guitars before Plant and singer Patty Griffin exploded on the chorus. An amazingly right recasting of What Is And What Should Never Be confounded expectations by retaining the bluesy swing of the original and, without ever exploding, its crescendo.

 

Black Country Woman drew new roots out of the previously-electrified country blues.

 

In The Mood from 1983 highlighted Plant’s longtime fascination with English folk by quoting Fairport Convention’s (Come All Ye) Rolling Minstrel; last night’s performance of Fairporter Richard Thompson’s House of Cards drew the connection again.

 

But it was Plant’s deep connection with blues and gospel that hit hardest. Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down was the show’s most profound moment not just because of the spooky delivery but because it nearly exploded with tension, borne of Plant’s career-long understanding that the blues depends on the implicit and dangerous appeal of evil.

 

The song also included Plant’s first of just a few shrieking passages.

 

North Mississippi All-stars opened with a short set that nonetheless set the stage as near perfect as could be imagined. The trio is now a duo of guitarist Luther Dickinson and drummer brother Cody. The two filled the stage with a mean bunch of boogie and gospel that stuck to the spiritual essence of the music even while it ranged to Bo Diddley beats, to Allman Brothers melodies and bent sound effects.

 

Convicted Killer Confesses to Shooting West Coast Rapper Tupac Shakur
According to a statement he gave to AllHipHop.com, Isaac says he was paid $2,500 by Richmond to shoot the West Coast rap icon.

“In 1994, James Rosemond hired me to rob 2Pac Shakur at the Quad Studio. He gave me $2,500, plus all the jewelry I took, except for one ring, which he wanted for himself. It was the biggest of the two diamond rings that we took. He said he wanted to put the stone in a new setting for his girlfriend at the time, Synthia Ried. I still have as proof the chain that we took that night in the robbery.”

Isaac even implies Sean “Puffy” Combs knew about the plan all along.

The Quad Studios robbery and shooting occurred less than two years before Tupac was murdered on Sept. 7, 1996.

Isaac is currently serving a life sentence for unrelated crimes at MDC Brooklyn.

Rosemond is CEO of Czar Entertainment who manages performer such as The Game and Sean Kingston.

According to the Smoking Gun, Rosemond is currently a fugitive from justice; he’s wanted by the DEA and federal marshals in connection with his alleged leadership of a cocaine trafficking ring.

Isaac’s full statement:

My name is Dexter Isaac. On Monday, May 23, 2011, James Rosemond released a statement in which he named myself and another individual, a Mr. Winston Harris (who I do not know), as government informants. I would like to clear the record on that statement: I have never been a rat for anybody and I do not have any deals nor was I made any promises by any government agency for information on Mr. Rosemond. Mr. Rosemond has crucified good reporters like Chuck Philips, at the LA Times, and Alison Gendar, at the Daily News, for telling the truth about him and his activities. He claims they had no proof that he was a rat for the government, which is an outright lie, because Mr. Rosemond, you signed a proffer agreement with the U.S. Attorney’s office in New York on 10-20-1998. Mr. Rosemond, I have copies of your presentence report fromNorth Carolina dated 1-13-1997 and other documents about you working with the government sending people you befriended to prison so you can maintain your own freedom. I have met with individuals on whom Mr. Rosemond has told.

Jimmy, I say to you: I have kept your secrets for years. You have never been arrested because of me, or anyone of our friends because of me. How dare you call me an informant! I have stayed silent in prison for the past 13 years, doing a life sentence like a real soldier should, when you and everybody have turned your backs on me. I have never gotten any help nor asked for any help from you or anyone since being locked up.

As a matter of fact, when I was first notified a couple years ago that the feds and Chuck Philips were investigating you, I wrote you and sent you everything they sent me. I kept it real with you because that’s what real G’s do. Anyway, that was before I found out that you were, in fact, already a turncoat rat for the government. Mr. Rosemond, if I was an informant like you, I would’ve been home years ago with my family, not doing life in prison.

Now I would like to clear up a few things, because the statute of limitations is over, and no one can be charged, and I’m just plain tired of listening to your lies.

In 1994, James Rosemond hired me to rob 2Pac Shakur at the Quad Studio. He gave me $2,500, plus all the jewelry I took, except for one ring, which he wanted for himself. It was the biggest of the two diamond rings that we took. He said he wanted to put the stone in a new setting for his girlfriend at the time, Cynthia Ried. I still have as proof the chain that we took that night in the robbery.

Now I’m not going to talk about my friend Biggie’s death or 2Pac’s death, but I would like to give their mothers some closure. It’s about time that some one did, and I will do so at a different time. Jimmy, you and Puffy like to come off all innocent-like, but as the saying goes: You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time.

Mr. Rosemond, I ask you: Are you going to flip on Puffy when the feds get you? To save yourself like you have done in the past? Because that’s what a rat does. So in closing, we shall see who the rat is, in the near future.

BOOKS:

Anyone who knows me, knows my affection towards The “Peanuts” Gang. While I may have at one time related to the lovable loser Charlie Brown…while trying to act like “Joe Cool”-Snoopy on stage I think WE ALL have characteristics of all the characters wrapped up into our own personas.

 

‘Peanuts Guide To Life’-Charles M. Schulz

 

Essentially, this is the best of the best of 50 years of Peanuts, the comic strip by the late Charles Schulz featuring Charlie Brown, Lucy, Linus, Snoopy, and the rest of the beguiling little gang. Peanuts debuted in 1950 and became a global phenomenon, with book collections selling more than 300 million copies in 26 languages and television specials rerun year after year. To create this all-new Peanuts Guide to Life, we’ve combed through decades of comic strips to find those single panels which contain such pithy observations as “Babysitters are like used cars. You never know what you’re going to get,” and bits of wisdom like “Never lick ice cream off a hot sidewalk.” Each droll, stand-alone “speech bubble” or punchline appears with cartoon art. The panels are organized into short chapters, such as “Love” and “Life’s Little Quirks.” For the millions of faithful Peanuts fans, this is a collection of “greatest hits” to cherish and enjoy again and again.

 

POLITICS:

‘There are days when I say one term is enough’ -President Barack Obama

 

Here in O-H-I-O

Gov. Kasich on Ohio’s Budget and Making the Difficult Decisions

 

While recently speaking to the American Institute of Architects, Governor Kasich spoke about the difficult decisions that his team and the leadership in the Ohio Legislature have made to balance Ohio’s budget and create an environment for job growth. You can watch a highlight below:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=woe7KnvBs74&feature=player_embedded

 


MILITARY:

Watch this news story about the training and the bravery of some of the nation’s most interesting warriors.   One of them went along with Seal Team 6 into the compound in Abbattabad, Pakistan to get Osama bin Laden.  These warriors make the title “man’s best friend” mean something tangible.  We thank these four-legged warriors for their unflinching dedication and loyalty. Pass this on to your friends.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fh8XP7bTyb8&feature=player_embedded

 


YOU DA MAN :

Chiefs TE Pope saves 6-year-old boy from drowning

When Kansas City Chiefs tight end Leonard Pope(notes) recently went back home to Georgia, he probably didn’t expect that he’d be talked about as a hero, but that’s just what’s happening after he saved six-year-old Bryson Moore from drowning while he was at a pool party last weekend. Bryson’s mother Anne, who has known Pope since the two were children, told the Amercius Times-Reporter what happened.

 

“Bryson was in the water with the other kids. All of a sudden, I saw Bryson going down in the water and I started screaming. Leonard was inside, and he came out of nowhere and dove into the water without any hesitation, cell phone in his pocket and all. He saved my son’s life, and I am so thankful that he was there for me and my child.”

 

The boy is said to be understandably afraid of the water after the incident, but okay otherwise.

 

Apparently, Pope was the only adult at the scene who knew how to swim, which — let’s go ahead and say it — speaks to some less-than-stellar planning when it comes to a pool party.

And as Mrs. Moore pointed out in the paper, it’s possible that the lockout saved her son’s life. “The fact that he is normally at camp and could have been in Kansas City just proved to me that he was placed here to save my son from drowning … I thank God that he was here. He truly lived up to his nickname “Champ” because he was truly a champion for me and my son this past weekend.”

 

“I didn’t think twice about it,” Pope said on the NFL Network’s Total Access show on Monday. “You know when you hear that motherly voice, and it’s something serious when they’re screaming. She was like, ‘He’s drowning!’ and I didn’t drop anything — I just dove into the water. I brought him back up and handed him to his mom. Patted him on the back and he coughed a couple of times, but he was pretty good for the rest of the day.”

 

Pope said that Bryson probably lost his footing and wound up in the deep end of the pool by accident, and that he didn’t see Bryson’s head above the water; just the young boy’s hands were visible.

 

Pope was then joined on the show by Mrs. Moore via phone, and she voiced her gratitude without reservation. It was a great moment.

 

Marcus Johnson(notes), Marketing & PR Director at Phoebe Sumter Medical Center in Americus, told the paper he wasn’t surprised that Pope went to save Bryson without hesitation. “He is always doing things for the community, and he truly loves the kids and they love him. He is truly a hometown hero and this is just another reason for us to be proud.”

 

Pope, who played in Super Bowl XLIII with the Arizona Cardinals, caught 10 passes for 76 yards and two touchdowns for Kansas City in 2010. The five-year veteran is a free agent under 2010 league rules.

 


SPORTS:

http://governor.ohio.gov/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=lveQuvgwy7Q%3D&tabid=74

 

“70 years after WWII., LeBron James has America rooting for the German… Congratulations

 

 Macy’s ad wrongfully congratulates Heat

The Dallas Mavericks’ win over the Heat is a huge upset for fans in Miami. Making matters worse, an ad in the local paper has mistakenly congratulated the Heat on winning.

 

A full-page ad that ran in Monday’s Miami Herald reads “Congratulations Miami” next to photos of Heat championship T-shirts and hats from Macy’s. One T-shirt reads “Heat 2011 NBA Finals Champions” and the ad shows the Heat’s logo on a hat with the words “NBA Champions.”

 

The ad ran under a story about the Heat’s loss.

 

The newspaper has issued a correction and apologized for any inconvenience. A Macy’s spokeswoman called it an unfortunate error and apologized to Heat fans.

 

The Mavericks beat the Heat 105-95 in Game 6 of the NBA Finals on Sunday in Miami.

 

BUCKEYES:

Speaker Boehner’s advice to Ohio State graduates today: “If you do the right things for the right reasons, good things will happen.” to OSU Summer Commencement Grads 2011

http://www2.nbc4i.com/news/2011/jun/12/dr-gee-on-graduation-day-04658-vi-29456/?referer=None&shorturl=http://bit.ly/iqLtom

RELIGION:

Isaiah 55:12
You will go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and hills will burst into song before you, and all the trees of the field will clap their hands.

 

Psalm 19:14

May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart be pleasing in your sight, LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.

 


BUISNESS:

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 20,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

 

BOOKING WEDDINGS for 2011! We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate.

 

 

HEALTH:

I work out daily, but we all don’t need to be in the gym to “lift.”

Be a LIFTER. Lift people up. You never know when you may need them to lift you.
 

SUCCESS:

Always have a smile, you never know who is watching.

 


INSPIRATION:

If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change ~Wayne Dyer

 

Life hurts those who try 2 do it all at once.. U must remove a mountain by carrying away small stones-Rev Run

 

 

QUOTES:

Happiness is being at peace, and being with loved ones being comfortable. But most of all it’s about having those loved ones-Johnny Cash
…2 out of 3 ain’t bad-Meatloaf

 

The person who is clearly filled with joy preaches without preaching-Rev Run

 


CLOSING:

You Will Be Mine By Takin’ Our Time-Robert Plant

 

Do all the good you can, …to all the souls you can, …with all the zeal you can, as long as ever you can.- John Wesley

 


TO DO:

THURSDAY:

Ohio Rockers from “Kent State,” Devo “Whip It” at The LC, The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion

Ray Fuller rock’s out with Frank Harrison at Hoggy’s on Polaris Parkway


FRIDAY:

Help provide a vehicle and transportation for a friend of mine who is a missionary in Haiti.

In addition to a good dinner and a GREAT CAUSE, we have a chance for you to bid on some killer prizes including 2 Tickets to see Keith Urban July 19th at Nationwide Arena (courtesy of Dream Seats-Your Total Ticket Source), and 3 hours of DJ service (limitations apply)

Licking Valley High School

Texas Roadhouse Dinner (pizza for children) will be served from 6:00 – 7:30pm

Cost: $20.00 per ticket for steak dinner. Dinner includes Steak, salad, baked potato, rolls, drink and dessert.

Pizza ticket is $5.00 and includes pizza, drink, salad and dessert.

The proceeds will go towards the purchase of a vehicle for Ginny Andrews who is working in Haiti. She currently is using the Haitian public transportation system and is very limited in her mission work with no vehicle. Ginny works Angel Missions Haiti where she oversees getting medical visas for children who need life-saving surgery in the states.

Please see her blog for more information on her work in Haiti:

www.ginnyinhaiti.com

 

For questions regarding the Benefit Dinner and Silent action please email Summer Conley at summer_conley@hotmail.com.

 

SATURDAY:

“Danville-Howard Turkey Festival” at The Danville Village Park in Danville with Little Texas

 

In what appears to be the worst marketed event ever. The Newark Fire Department is having a Fundraiser at Licking Valley High School with McGuffey Lane. No clue on times or other info (only saw mentioned on a support artist page)

 

SUNDAY:

Father’s Day, Happy Fathers Day to all the dads including my Dad Rick and my Grandfather, My Hero Bob!

 

The originator of “Geek Rock,” Elvis Costello plays The LC, The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion

 

FUNNIES:

ALL WEEKEND:

Ralph Harris performs at The Funny Bone Comedy Club in Easton Town Center

 


MORE TO DO:

ALL WEEKEND:

Creekside Blues & Jazz Fest. At The Olde Gahanna and Creekside Park & Plaza, 123 Mill St., Gahanna

This music festival is the showcase for the best blues and jazz music in Ohio, if not the Midwest. Music isn’t all that this renowned event has to offer. Centered around Creekside Park and Olde Gahanna, the Creekside Blues & Jazz Festival promises something for everyone with more than 90 hours of entertainment (presented on five stages), Musical Discovery Zone, Jog for Jazz, Sunday Jazz Brunch at Mezzo Italian Kitchen & Wine, amusement rides, craft vendors, and of course, great food! General Admission: $3; Children under 12: FREE; Military (with ID): FREE Time: Friday, 5-11 p.m., Saturday, 11 a.m. – 11 p.m., Sunday, 12-N. – 6 p.m. Location: Olde Gahanna and Creekside Park & Plaza, 123 Mill St. For more information: (614) 418-9114 or http://www.creeksidebluesand jazz.com

 

Zeppelin Airship Passenger Excursions, at The Ohio State University Airport

One of only two Zeppelin Airships flying anywhere in the world, the Farmers Airship is truly big news, both literally and figuratively – not only is this the Zeppelin’s first-ever visit to the area, but at 246 feet long, the Farmers Airship is the largest in the world!

 

ZooFari 2011 at The Columbus Zoo & Aquarium

This annual, adults-only fundraiser features more than 100 central Ohio restaurants and bars serving appetizer portions of their signature dishes and specialty drinks. Guests “graze” their way through the Zoo enjoying live entertainment on stages scattered throughout Zoo grounds. Come with friends, wine and dine your business associates, entertain your out-of-town guests, or reward hard-working employees—don’t miss Columbus’ best summer party! It is bound to be one wild night as the Zoo’s adult only premier fundraising event takes place. It’s a whole new park after dark!

 

 

IN THEATERS:

The Box office will rack up “The Green” with ‘The Green Lantern,’ rated “PG-13,” starring Ryan Reynolds

 

Not a fan of Jim Carey, but am a fan of “penguins,”  Jim Carrey stars in ‘Mr. Popper’s Penguins,’ rated “PG.”

 

My pick of the week, ‘The Art of Getting By’ rated “PG-13.” For more info

http://www.google.com/movies?hl=en&near=Columbus,+OH&dq=the+art+of+getting+by&sort=1&mid=d8c44261fe023490&sa=X&ei=RrH5TeTWPIv4gAe6pdifBQ&ved=0CCIQwAMoAg

 

A great story, and AMAZING scenery; ‘Buck’  (the story of horse trainer/whisperer Buck Brannaman) starring Robert Redford, rated “PG.” (JMI You HAVE to see this one!)

 

 

DVD:

Red Riding Hood rated “PG-13.”

 

A movie with a lot of potential but a let down, ‘Hall Pass’ rated “R.”

 

‘Battle: Los Angeles’ rated “PG-13.”

 

AMAZING MOVIE: Based on the True Events of 1976 in Cleveland Ohio,

‘Kill The Irishman,’ rated “R.”

 


ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:

All 3 films in the franchise have had GREAT Soundtracks, “Transformers: Dark Of The Moon”

 


COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Weekly Tuesday Night Bike Nights at Hoggy’s Polaris

Columbus Commons Cocktail Event Friday June 24th, and Commons Family Movie Night June 25th (my crew covering I am at Chesney)

Red, White & Boom Long Street Stage Friday July 1st

Worthington Family Picnic Monday July 4th (Worthington High School)

 

Follow us:

www.mattsexton.com

www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton

http://www.twitter@mattysexton

http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

June 16, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

