Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Swing for the Fences while enjoying life and taking on this months opponent!

GREETINGS FROM 30,000 feet in the air, on my way to “Hell,” Seattle Washington. Now I am not calling Seattle “Hell” (even though I HATE the Grunge Scene that started there), I would however, refer to New Jersey as the closest thing to hell I have seen, as I was reminded during my layover this Morning!

 

I am in route to MC and DJ, Hell Run out on the Left Coast (as the crews Handle OSU events in the Midwest, and Warrior Dash on the East Coast).

 

Kinda funny that I am on so many airplanes in the past few years, but, at one time I was not only scared to fly, but HATED IT, now I feel more comfortable in airports, and airplanes than I do at home.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=up1PgEwMOuM


It is a BIG Weekend for us…and has been a big week for many of my friends!    


This week those of the Jewish Faith in this great country and all over the world celebrated their most Highest Holy Day for the Jewish Faith, Rosh Hashanah, the Jewish New Year. To all my Jewish friends, I wish you all “L’Shanah Tovah Tikatevu” — Literal Hebrew to English Translation: “May you be inscribed (in the Book of Life) for a good year.”

Like most religious celebrations, the holiday is about many things, some better known than others, and many of them quite interesting for all people, Jewish or otherwise.

http://www.foxnews.com/opinion/2011/09/28/why-rosh-hashanah-jewish-new-year-celebrates-exceptionalism/#ixzz1ZHbGnjRU

 

This date on the calendar (and book) also means the leaves are turning, The Boys of Summer are in the final Championship Runs, The Buckeyes are encouraging all in Central Ohio to go “nuts” and wear the Scarlet & Grey as well as the Calendar (as well the leaves) call for an end to pastel colors and break out the Orange!

 

This past week, the regular season of Baseball ended with not one, but 3 magical games that would have made anyone (even non baseball fans) search the history books in one’s own mental library to search for a moment more memorable. I have been told by some of the older folks I chat with that Wednesday night’s games (all 3) will go down in history as equivalent or even greater than “Bobby Thompson’s Shot heard around the world”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrI7dVj90zs

 

Maybe even Ted Williams going 4 for 6 in the final game of the year (taking him to a 400 average-a record still not broken 70 years later). This time of year is SPECIAL! It is America’s Past time crowning champions of grown men playing a little boys game. A game that while I LOVE, I missed out on.

 

I sucked at baseball (probably a lot better now, even though due to injuries I can’t move my wrist), but it was a bonding time for my dad and I. It was a chance to be outside with my buddies, and then head home to see my hero’s on The TV, and having my dad make sure I knew the importance of The Big Red Machine to baseball, and O-H-I-O. I still don’t think he realizes this effect it had on me (especially when he won’t make time to go see games with me anymore).

 

These are grown men playing on a “Field of Dreams” living out what many of us only accomplished when our heads hit the pillow at night. The same pillow that was not used on time in 1990, when even though I was grounded (actually the worst grounding I had ever had-still not sure what I did, but I am POSITIVE It was not my fault though), my dad allowed me not only to watch the final game of The ‘Nasty Boys and The Bash Brothers of Oakland, but stay up late doing so. A night to this day, and anytime I see a field of dirt, sand, bases, grass, Dads and Kids, and kids of all ages playing the game-I WILL NEVER FORGET.

 

So this time of year, these guys make their living…living their dreams, and I can honestly say as I am flying to yet another gig, I too am living out my own dreams, many of which I never thought possible, and MANY I KNOW I DON’T DESERVE! I can honestly say with the exception of a few hours of sleep lost, a few more aches and pains, and a lot of loneliness…every week I get to play on my own “Field of Dreams.” But just like the “Field of Dreams” that brings dads and sons together, this dream I am living would not have been possible without my own dad!

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_wnD6jxREU

 

I get a lot of e-mails, facebook posts, and buddies texting, as well lies over beers at bars (not that I drink), and many folks I see at events saying how much they wish they did what I do. I have said many times I have NO CLUE WHAT IT IS I DO! But I am happy; even though there is some things (and people) I want in my life. AND YES there are people I look up to, want to be like, and yes even envy (those doing what I want to do, or having a life I want {or to be part of}).

 

Ya know what though, it is OUR LIFE we have the opportunity to step up to the plate, and swing at OUR PITCH! Many times we will strike out, but those home runs will make us enjoy the game, and make others want to be in the batter’s box with us.

 

So yea, I want to be like others, and some (for some unGodly reason) want to be me. But as we look at it, there is always someone who would rather live our life than their own. EVERYONE has one thing, one gift, one moment that sets them apart from others. One (or many) aspect(s) of life that make others want to be us!

 

Even on the darkest day, the days where the game may be rained out…sit in your own dugout, and just be thankful for what you have, and remember there is ALWAYS someone who would not only want to be in your shoes, but also on your team. Appreciate what you have, and try and make room to help others!

 

Once I started appreciating what I have, and thanking those who have helped me, I began to be a lot happier. What makes it even better…knowing that the harder I work, and the more chances at bat I get, I also get to help out someone (like the batters before or after the “star player”-those that make the superstars who they are).

 

I know I won’t ever be a Superstar…BUT KNOW that I am honored to rock a stage for so many events, and in front of or behind those I not only enjoy being around, but also those who are superstars in my eyes.

 

I still am not sure what it is I do, but here is a video of one of our recent events:

http://video.capitals.nhl.com/videocenter/console?catid=811&id=124591

 

Speaking of the stages that rock…a few years ago I was lucky enough to play the hallowed halls (well the stage) of The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland Ohio. This week this year’s nominees were announced. While the nominations of artists I listened to as a kid means I am getting old…I AM VERY EXCITED about this year’s nominees. This will be the single best year EVER for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, with the likes of:

 

Guns & Roses

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRIbf6JqkNc (special meaning for me, first CD a girl ever bought for me)

 

Beastie Boys

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z5rRZdiu1UE (Licensed to Ill actually changed my life. I remember I got for my birthday the day before I left for 6th Grade Camp-I guess I am STILL fighting for my right to PARTY-Ay!)

 

The Cure

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXCKLJGLENs&ob=av2n (wow just took me back to High School Homecoming)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sS6t56U9tBg&ob=av2n (the guitar is haunting!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X8UR2TFUp8w&ob=av2n (still do!!!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RS_ux2H473I (I can’t post just one, I LOVE this band!!!)

 

Eric B. and Rakim

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bnz88nltvns&feature=fvst

 

Heart

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Cw1ng75KP0 (The Sisters Wilson are amazing!)

 

Joan Jett

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3T_xeoGES8 (A staple at every one of my gigs)

 

Red Hot Chili Peppers

http://www.youtube.com/user/Djustlike?blend=7&ob=5#p/u/45/DIiW64UXNpk (I liked them before they were SELL OUTS!!!)

 

The Spinners

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1F5RNdmVTdg (what they had a few hits in the 80’s, so I am not THAT OLD!!!)

 

 

I guess Chas Kaplan and I had better start working on after parties!!!


The Full Article is here http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/click-track/post/guns-n-roses-joan-jett-the-cure-eric-b-and-rakim-lead-2012-rock-and-roll-hall-of-fame-nominations/2011/09/27/gIQAw1Ln1K_blog.html

 

 

This week has been another amazing week, while I will never be in the Rock & Roll hall of fame, I look forward to playing there again, as well as ALL THE GIGS I have the honor of doing. In the past 4 days I have started negotiations with an event that will not only BLOW THE ROOF OFF OF CENTRAL OHIO, but also help our Brave Men & Women of OUR U.S. Armed Forces (I cannot wait to make this announcement. I will say it looks to involve, Toby, Ted, Kid, and Oh, and A few, Residents of Central Ohio). I also just got word of yet another gig in Vegas, I am doing an ALL STAR Celebrity Auto Racing Event…IN VEGAS ON HALLOWEEN WEEKEND!!!

 

I am very excited about all the chances I get, and looking forward to my favorite time of year. The Fall in O-H-I-O is amazing with Football Saturdays, and even Sundays (yes The Clowns and BenGals suck! But still fun), the boys of Summer going after a championship before the sun finally sets on the season and give way to the artistic canvas that God paints as the leaves turn. As well as “all the good boys and girls getting ready for the Great Pumpkin”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xiSIQzwIPzQ

 

“Good GRIEF” it is a busy time as we head into October! But as we decorate with Orange and Black…please remember to “Go Pink.” October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. I have seen too many beautiful young ladies (of all ages) lose battles and have to fight WAY too hard to overcome this dreaded disease. Please take a moment to give your time, money, or even encouragement to someone (or a group) fighting this courageous fight. A woman is the single MOST beautiful, important, loving, nurturing creature put on earth (yes even the psycho ones!). Take a moment to save a life, and well save a boob. Boobs are pretty cool in my book!!!

 

Ok the turbulence is getting a lil rough and I am starting to rethink my love of flying. I think the plane, like me…really does not want to be in Jersey! I hope we land…and the ONLY Hell I see is the event on Saturday (and the brief stay in Jersey!).

 

Have a GREAT WEEKEND, decorate with orange, wear the Scarlet & Grey, but THINK PINK!!!

 


PLEASE JOIN ME:

Hell Run Seattle October 1

http://www.hellrun.com/seattle/
Warrior Dash Virginia Oct 1 (Hosted by our own DJ White Maumba, AKA Big Ticket)

http://warriordash.com/register2011_virginia.php
Saturday before the Buckeyes take on “Sparty” join The Crew at AT&T FanZone on The St. John Arena Grass lot

 

For a Yuengling Ohio Event on Sunday (that I still have no concrete details for. Updates will be posted on facebook page)

PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton
PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?)
http://www.rmsexton.com

 

TIME TO BOOK YOUR 11-11-11 Weddings

“Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

 

Friday 11-11-11 is a HUGE day on the wedding Calendar. If you or someone you know is getting married, and wants to use that day please feel free to refer our services to them. We have some events that day, but can cater to each client and make their day special, and memorable (outside of the easy day to remember on the calendar). We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

ALSO,  fall is here and New Year’s Resolutions are right behind that. It is the perfect time to get started early. DON’T wait on the crowded gyms in January! Let me help you get into your best shape (inside and out!) Send an e-mail to mattsext@gmail.com for availability and specialized individual workout plans.

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

 

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town (starting Oct 7)

Columbus Blue Jackets Home Opener Friday October 7th

 

October 11-16 in Las Vegas Nevada at Las Vegas Raceway (sharing stage with Good Charlotte)
Sunday October 16 Columbus Nationwide Marathon
October 27-Nov 3 Celebrity All Star Racing Event in Vegas!

 

October 29th HarleyWeen at C&A Harley Davidson

 

October 30th Blue Jackets Halloween Event

 


THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:

‎”You cannot dream yourself into a character: you must hammer and forge yourself into one.” – Henry D. Thoreau

 

Get angry ~ get furious but never crumble to resentment.

 

When you blame others, you give up your power to change. ~ Douglas Adams

 


SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:

Charlie Must have known me before I was born?:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bs4y5si8DGs

 

GREAT SPIN ON A CLASSIC SONG…by an AMAZING ARTIST (plus I was following his tweets while recording this LIVE in February, we both were kinda going through the same B.S., but he has more talent to let it out than I do!)

WOW…what a great spin!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f45d_LaNEeA&feature=player_embedded#!

 

In town on Sunday…such a fun song!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDTZ7iX4vTQ&feature=player_embedded

 

Reminds me of growin up in Nerk Ahia

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EU-zks4FRlI

 

GREAT SONG for inspiration!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJWOr9h4s1M&feature=player_embedded#!

 

How about even more inspiration?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jXrmAKBBTU&feature=player_embedded

 

I got the chance to see the “Legendary” Jackson Brown this week. While I have never agreed with his politics, I did like his music. The concert was an “acoustic” show that was supposed to be audience requests. The audience did its job and J.B. ignored most, and did whatever the he** he wanted. So I paid $125.00 for one guy to be onstage (NO BAND, NO PRODUCTION) to do what he wanted. I guess he like many aging granola eating liberal hippies who are still pi**ed they really don’t have a voice, want paid for what little voice they have left? But…I did pay it, and came away realizing that if George Soros would have paid all his bills to the performers of the last two “Rock The Vote” campaigns that my pricing would have been a lil less!?!?! But this is an amazing song regardless-even though I did not hear it, I left after 6 songs!!!

Load Out

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtuvXrTz8DY

 


QUESTION OF THE WEEK:

I am not sure about this; I do know it is thought provoking. What do you take from this?

 

UC Berkeley Bake Sale Ignites Protests, Debates
Berkeley Protest Turns Violent

A controversial bake sale sparked tense protests and counter-protests today over racism, diversity, and affirmative action at the University of California, Berkeley.
Hundreds of students gathered on the school’s Sproul Plaza to voice their opinion on whether the state’s public universities should allow affirmative action, and the dispute was centered around a bake sale.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/berkeley-bake-sale-sparks-rallies-debate-race/story?id=14613509

 


HELP:

… that devotion to God begins with devotion to your family and community. It is much easier to proclaim abstract and remote love, then to step into the midst of living and keep an open heart through the thick of it. Be there where you are needed the most.

 

WeCanHelp.Org
…the place where people in need and compassionate resources come together.
The charitable organizations that we support, although diverse in mission and resources, each ask the simple question… IF NOT NOW…WHEN?

We are dedicated to honoring and supporting children and families in crisis. We seek out and identify areas of need in each community where we have available resources, then we take on the task of marshalling time, talent, and treasure to focus on those needs. We are committed to providing personal, tangible economic, emotional and spiritual support to those who cross our path in need.
http://www.wecanhelp.org/
 

THOUGHT PROVOKING:

A mother passing by her daughter’s bedroom was astonished to see the bed was nicely made and everything was picked up. Then she saw an envelope propped up prominently on the center of the bed. It was addressed, “Mom.” With the worst premonition, she opened the envelope and read the letter with trembling hands: Dear Mom: It is with great regret and sorrow that I’m writing you. I had to elope with my new boyfriend because I wanted to avoid a scene with Dad and you. I’ve been finding real passion with him and he is so nice-even with all his piercings, tattoos, beard, and his motorcycle clothes. But it’s not only the passion Mom, I’m pregnant and he said that we will be very happy. He already owns a trailer in the woods and has a stack of firewood for the whole winter. He wants to have many more children with me and that’s now one of my dreams too. He taught me that marijuana doesn’t really hurt anyone and we’ll be growing it for us and trading it with his friends for all the cocaine and ecstasy we want. In the meantime, we’ll pray that science will find a cure for AIDS so he can get better; he sure deserves it!! Don’t worry Mom, I’m 15 years old now and I know how to take care of myself. Someday I’m sure we’ll be back to visit so you can get to know your grand children. Your daughter, Judith…

 

PS: Mom, none of the above is true. I’m over at the neighbor’s house. I just wanted to remind you that there are worse things in life than my report card that’s in my desk center drawer. I love you! Call when it is safe for me to come home!!

-ok this was in the Funny Section but could not give it away!!!

 


GOOD READ:

Sometimes a healthy approach to life is learning how to LIVE. Be fearless, don’t overindulge anything, and keep moving. In the article below, LEAN people LIVE. They are not afraid to EAT by enjoying their food, they instinctively know what’s GOOD for their bodies, and they do what makes them happy, like having FUN!

The 7 Laws of Leanness David Zinczenko with Matt Goulding
Why do some people seem naturally thin—able to torch cheeseburgers instantly and never gain a pound? And why do some of us—okay, most of us—sweat and diet and sweat and diet some more, and never lose enough to get the body we want?

Because those “naturally thin” people actually live by a series of laws that keep them from ever gaining weight. And if you know their secrets, you can indulge and enjoy and never gain another pound as long as you live.
http://health.yahoo.net/experts/eatthis/7-laws-leanness#.ToMq7Lzm64M.facebook

 


GREAT READ:

Saying Nice Things about People With Whom You Disagree

Can you say nice things about people with whom you disagree? On the anniversary of 9/11 I posted a nice comment on Facebook about the leadership of President Bush after 9/11. It wasn’t a political statement, just a note of admiration. I was surprised at how many people (many Christians) who wrote scathing things about the President. Some were conservatives upset he wasn’t conservative enough. Others were liberals who were convinced he was the 2nd coming of Hitler.

http://www.crosswalk.com/blogs/daniel-darling/saying-nice-things-about-people-with-whom-you-disagree.html

 

 

PASSING: 

Doritos enlists The Lonely Island for Super Bowl
The football season just started, but Doritos is already thinking about the Super Bowl.

The snack chip brand is going to have its sixth annual “Crash the Super Bowl” contest, which allows viewers to submit their own Doritos commercials and fans to vote on their favorites to appear during the big game.

If the ads score well on the USA Today Ad Meter, which measures the popularity of Super Bowl commercials, contestants win cash prizes of up to $1 million.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/more/wires/09/27/2080.ap.us.doritos.crash.the.super.bowl.0871/index.html#ixzz1Z9vav7zk

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2011/more/wires/09/27/2080.ap.us.doritos.crash.the.super.bowl.0871/

Maybe this is what caused the founder to pass away?
Doritos Creator to be Buried with Iconic Chips
Doritos inventor and Frito-Lay marketing executive Arch West will be buried along side the snack he created. West, who died at the age of 97 last week, was cremated and will be buried in Dallas on Saturday
His family has planned an unusual, albeit touching tribute for West. During the service, family and friends will throw Doritos into his grave before he’s laid to rest. The bright-orange chip will be covered in dirt along side the urn.

“He’ll love it,” commented his daughter Jane Hacker in the Dallas Morning News.
http://www.ibtimes.com/articles/220550/20110927/doritos-inventor-dead-arch-west-burial.htm

 

ENTERTAINMENT:

Andy Rooney to retire from ’60 Minutes’ after Sunday’s broadcast

After being with “60 Minutes” in some capacity since its beginning over four decades ago, Andy Rooney is ready to call it a day on his weekly segment talking about anything and everything pertaining to life.

http://www.examiner.com/tv-in-national/andy-rooney-to-retire-from-60-minutes-after-sunday-s-broadcast 

 

 

MUSIC:

“Music is Better Than Words”-Seth McFarland (yes the Dude who does the voices for Stewie, Peter, Cleveland, and BRIAN on Family Guy!!!)

 

I am listening to this amazing “throw back album as I type this!”

MacFarlane’s Big Band Album No Joke
Mocker Makes Nearly Unmockable Music

Before you hear the first note of Seth MacFarlane’s debut album, you know it won’t be terrible. You know this because MacFarlane recently hosted two of the most vicious hours in television history — in the form of the Charlie Sheen roast — and a guy who just presided over that bloodthirsty a gathering isn’t about to hand his cutthroat contemporaries a rusty blade they can torture him with for the next 25 years.

Sure enough, even if it is a certifiable vanity project, MacFarlane’s “Music Is Better Than Words” is far from rotisserie-ready.

The celebrated mocker has made a nearly unmockable album — which is saying something, given the inherent risibility of TV’s adult-animation king endeavoring to steal not just from Homer (as Mike Tyson put it at the roast) but Hoboken.

The voice of Stewie places himself squarely in Sinatra territory, leaving nary a punchline or even ironic wink to be found in the 14 big-band standards and show tunes he interprets… except the ones songsmiths like Rodgers & Hart and Meredith Wilson put there themselves 50, 60, or even 75 years ago.

Let’s be Frank: He’s not. But if you put MacFarlane on the bandstand next to, say, Frank Sinatra Jr, it might be a close call.
http://www.reuters.com/article/2011/09/27/us-album-sethmacfarlane-idUSTRE78Q01Y20110927

 

I must be in a crooner mood?

Legendary pop singer Tony Bennett achieves his first No. 1 album on the Billboard 200 with “Duets II,” making the 85-year old the oldest living act to reach No. 1. His all-star collaborations album bows in the top slot with 179,000 sold in its first week according to Nielsen SoundScan.

The 14-time Grammy Award winner’s previous high on the chart came in 2006, when his first “Duets” set debuted and peaked at No. 3 with 202,000. Bennett has been charting on Billboard’s charts since 1951 and notched his first hit on the Billboard 200 album tally six years later. Until today, the oldest living artist to top the Billboard 200 was Bob Dylan, whose “Together Through Life” debuted at No. 1 in 2009 when he was 67-years old.

Bennett’s “Duets II” features 17 pairings with such stars as Lady Gaga,Mariah CareyCarrie Underwood and the late Amy Winehouse. Last week, Bennett made news as the oldest living artist to chart on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart, when his duet with Winehouse, “Body and Soul,” debuted at No. 87.

 

The following is a link the video with the late Winehouse:

http://www.vevo.com/watch/amy-winehouse-tony-bennett/body-and-soul/USSM21101620

 

http://www.billboard.com/news/tony-bennett-85-achieves-first-no-1-album-1005373552.story#/news/tony-bennett-85-achieves-first-no-1-album-1005373552.story

 

 

BOOK:

The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World
There’s never been a Web site like Facebook: more than 350 million people have accounts, and if the growth rate continues, by 2013 every Internet user worldwide will have his or her own page. And no one’s had more access to the inner workings of the phenomenon than Kirkpatrick, a senior tech writer at Fortune magazine. Written with the full cooperation of founder Mark Zuckerberg, the book follows the company from its genesis in a Harvard dorm room through its successes over Friendster and MySpace, the expansion of the user base, and Zuckerberg’s refusal to sell. The author is at his best discussing the social implications of the site, from the changing notions of privacy to why and how people use Facebook—increasingly it’s to come together around a common interest or cause (the eponymous Facebook Effect). Though significantly more informative, thoughtful, and credible than Ben Mezrich’s The Accidental Billionaires, it may be hamstrung by its late entry; the furor over Facebook has more or less subsided, and potential readers are more likely to be using the site than to be reading about its origins.

http://www.amazon.com/Facebook-Effect-Inside-Company-Connecting/dp/1439102112

 

 

MILITARY:

Hey, boys will be boys, but sometimes a little fun for our armed forces doesn’t hurt.  This is the U.S. Marines Corps Weapons Company who have become bored during Mojave Viper Training at the MCAGCC/MAGTFTC base in Twentynine Palms.

http://www.allproudamericans.com/What-Marines-Do-When-They-Get-Bored.html

 


ISSUE 2:

Opponents of Issue 2 are spreading a lot of misinformation to get you to vote against reasonable reform. So let’s take a moment to dispel some of their biggest myths.

MYTH #1: Issue 2 doesn’t allow public safety forces to ask for safety gear or staff support.

FACT: Issue 2 allows police officers and firefighters to demand safety equipment – something the old law did not specifically do. As for staffing levels, Issue 2 asks police commanders and fire chiefs to make those decisions based on the best interests of their local communities.

MYTH #2: Issue 2 unfairly blames public employees for Ohio’s budget woes.

FACT: We’re only trying to get the cost of government under control. A recent study found public employees get 43 percent better pay, benefits and job security on average than those of us in the private sector. Issue 2 simply asks government workers to pay at least 15 percent of their health insurance premium and 10 percent toward their guaranteed public pension. That’s hardly too much to ask when many Ohioans have no job at all.

MYTH #3: Issue 2 exempts politicians.

FACT: Absolutely false. Issue 2 asks that all government employees make the same sacrifices. They would all pay at least 15 percent toward health care and 10 percent toward a guaranteed pension, as well as earn pay raises in part based on job performance.

Those are just a few of the common myths we’ve heard about State Issue 2. To learn more, visit the Myths section of our website here. While you’re there, check out our Ad Watch page to get the truth about the latest television ads airing statewide.

Most importantly, encourage your friends and family to learn the facts about Issue 2 as well. This election is too important to let opponents of reform deceive Ohioans into keeping the failed policies of the past.

 

 

SB5:

New poll: SB 5 supporters make gains among voters
Poll

Ohioans’ opposition to Senate Bill 5 has dropped from 24 points to 13 in the past two months, a new Quinnipiac Poll today shows.

“Backers of SB 5 have only six weeks to make up the difference, although public opinion appears to be moving in their direction,” said Peter A. Brown, assistant director of the Quinnipiac University Polling Institute, in a release.

Voters now oppose the measure, on the November ballot as state Issue 2, by 51 percent to 38 percent. In Quinnipiac’s poll released July 20, the new law was getting hammered 56 percent to 32 percent. In May, the gap was 18 points.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2011/09/27/new-poll-sb-5-supporters-make-gains-among-voters.html

 

 

POLITICS:

Poll: Ohio voters against Obama re-election, but he beats the competition

A majority of Ohio voters says President Barack Obama doesn’t deserve re-election, but he still narrowly beats the top Republican candidates in head-to-head matchups.

A Quinnipiac poll released today shows that 53 percent disapprove of his job performance and 51 percent say he does not deserve another term.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2011/09/28/quinnipiac-poll-obama-2012.html

 

 

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:

THIS IS AN AWESOME COMMERCIAL!!! And yet another example of how the “hope” & “change” White House is more concerned about rhetoric than concrete examples of success-kinda like the initial campaign for the Presidnecy!

 

Ford pulls its ad on bailouts
‘Didn’t take the money’ boast ruffles feathers
For the only Detroit automaker that “didn’t take the money” of the federal auto bailouts, Ford Motor Co. keeps paying a price for its comparative success and self-reliant turnaround.

There’s no help from American taxpayers to help lighten its debt load, giving cross-town rivals comparatively better credit ratings and a financial edge Ford is working diligently to erase all on its own.

There’s no clause barring a strike by hourly workers amid this fall’s national contract talks with the United Auto Workers — a by-product of the taxpayer-financed bailout that General Motors Co. and Chrysler Group LLC retain until 2015.

And there’s no assurance the Dearborn automaker can use the commercially advantageous fact that it didn’t “take the money” proffered by the Obama Treasury Department and use it in TV ads angling to sell cars and trucks. Not if the campaign takes a whack at its Detroit rivals and suggests that Ford no longer supports the Obama administration bailouts it backed in public statements and sworn congressional testimony.

As part of a campaign featuring “real people” explaining their decision to buy the Blue Oval, a guy named “Chris” says he “wasn’t going to buy another car that was bailed out by our government,” according the text of the ad, launched in early September.

“I was going to buy from a manufacturer that’s standing on their own: win, lose, or draw. That’s what America is about is taking the chance to succeed and understanding when you fail that you gotta’ pick yourself up and go back to work.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qg5eSM5cJdU&feature=player_embedded

YOU DA MAN:

Victim Finds Carjacked Vehicle With Use Of Cell Phone

A driver said on Wednesday that he was able to find his car that was carjacked by using a program on his cell phone.

Julio Cajero was stopped at an intersection when a man flagged him down on Ponderosa Drive, 10TV’s Jason Frazer reported.

The man pulled a knife on Cajero.

 http://www.10tv.com/content/stories/2011/09/29/columbus-carjacked-car-found-by-victim.html

Now if we used “incentives” (those opposed by local Unions) MAYBE” a member of CPD would have beat this CIVILION to the perp, and stolen item?!?!?

 

 

UMMM…?:

Brad Marchand confirms his Stanley Cup tattoo wasn’t spell-checked

That’s what you get for going to a tattoo “parler.”
http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/blog/puck_daddy/post/Brad-Marchand-confirms-his-Stanley-Cup-tattoo-wa?urn=nhl-wp13420

 


SPORTS:

Is this the first manager traded in baseball?

Ozzie Guillen walked away from the Chicago White Sox on Monday after being unable to secure a contract extension, and he apparently is walking into a new job managing the Florida Marlins.

Guillen’s quest for a new deal from the White Sox was denied, so the talkative, sometimes outrageous and always colorful manager asked to be released from his current contract.

That request was granted.

Guillen’s website later had a post describing how thrilled he was to join the Marlins and how he couldn’t wait to get started. The post was later taken down. Jack McKeon announced earlier Monday that he would retire as Florida manager after the season.

http://espn.go.com/chicago/mlb/story/_/id/7023269/ozzie-guillen-traded-florida-marlins-source-says

 

I just hope he does not try to go to commentary…at least on Beisbol Americano

 

BUCKEYES:

Wednesday marked team photo and media day for the 2011-12 edition of the Ohio State men’s hockey program. The group gathered in Value City Arena for the annual team shot. In addition, the team’s new helmets – with a stripe down the middle – were unveiled, along with the newest home and road jerseys.

 

 

RELIGION:

No matter what religious Sect any of us belong to…this is true for all!

The True Power of Repentance and Forgiveness

Over the last few weeks I have received several mass emails with similar messages:

“In the spirit of the month of Elul — the time when we ask for forgiveness and prepare for repentance during the coming Holy Days — if I have in any way harmed or offended you, please forgive me.”

When I first received such an email several years ago it seemed that this was an appropriate message, and I wrote back to the sender noting that there was no reason to apologize, and thanking him for taking the time to write such a “thoughtful note.” Over time, though, I have come to see how such a note and my glib response trivialize the work of forgiveness and repentance, and point to a common, and potentially harmful, misunderstanding of these terms.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rabbi-alan-lurie/repentance-and-forgiveness-high-holidays_b_983132.html

 


BUISNESS:

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 20,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

 

 

HEALTH:

The best six doctors anywhere
And no one can deny it
Are sunshine, water, rest, and air
Exercise and diet.
These six will gladly you attend
If only you are willing
Your mind they’ll ease
Your will they’ll mend
And charge you not a shilling.
~Nursery rhyme quoted by Wayne Fields, What the River Knows, 1990

 
SUCCESS:

“Look at a day when you are supremely satisfied at the end. It’s not a day when you lounge around doing nothing; it’s when you’ve had everything to do, and you’ve done it.”-Hands on Nashville

 

The 11 Forgotten Laws by Bob Proctor and Mary Morrissey
One of the key figures in “The Secret”- believes that the Law of Attraction is incomplete, and for the first time reveals the 11 Forgotten Laws that will finally uncover the Law’s true potential.

Let’s face it: The current global recession does not seem to be recovering very fast.
Yet, didn’t the movie The Secret offer such hope three years ago? It seemed like a bright future that with millions of new converts to the Law of Attraction, a new era of prosperity and abundance will be ushered in.

Perhaps you are one of them.

You faithfully followed each and every one of the 3 steps. Yet the results you “attracted” were dismal at best. If you have any doubt about that…
http://www.the11forgottenlaws.com/

 

 

INSPIRATION:

Joel Osteen’s word was just what the Dr ordered… We should always go out each day with a positive attitude, full of hope and expecting God’s favor. But at the same time, we should recognize that most days are not going to go exactly as we planned. Remember, we were created to live in peace. Peace is our position of power. If you get stressed because you got off schedule or upset because your child wouldn’t eat his breakfast, or frustrated because somebody offended you, you’re are giving away your power. Instead, make the decision to release those offenses and disappointments so you can live in peace and enjoy the day as a blessing God prepared for you!

 


QUOTES:

Be Sure You Are Stepping to the Music YOU Hear – No Matter what Other People Think” ~Wayne Dyer

 

If u don’t notice & cherish what u have u will always be complaining about what’s missing & what u don’t have

 

God is like a GPS system.. You must trust you’ll get there but sometimes you feel very lost-Rev Run

 

Stop searching. Happiness is right next to you

 

“Make your breaking point your turning point.”

 

 

CLOSING:

“You can’t talk your way out of what you’ve behaved yourself into.” – Stephen R. Covey 

 

“You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream.” – C.S. Lewis

 

Charisma is a fancy name given to the knack of giving people your full attention. ~Robert Brault

 

Every day do something that will inch you closer to a better tomorrow. ~Doug Firebaugh

 

@RevRunWisdom: May the same God that made my lungs and my eyes… Keep me seeing and breathing.

 


TO DO:

FRIDAY:
Hell Yea! Steve Holy, and Montgomery Gentry come to “My Town”…guess I better get a “Brand New Girlfriend and go!”

Join my buddys Chas Kaplan, Johnny Benz, and DJ Corrupt This Friday at Genoa Park for an incredible FREE concert starting at 5pm Featuring Wallpaper. presented by MTV , Foxy Shazam, FLY.UNION and (MY BOYS) Downplay starting things off at 5PM!! DJ Corrupt and Johnny Benz as the MC!!! Come one come all The Cheesy Truck and many other food trucks will be there including the festivities for ViaCOLUMBUS

Pretty Lights spins at THE LC, Lifestyle Communities Pavilion

Switchfoot: Anberlin is at The Newport Music Hall

If in Nerk, a show NOT TO BE MISSED, the Naked Karate Girls bring their high energy show to Captain Jack’s!

SUNDAY:
Rickie Lee Jones Midland Theatre(Newark)

One of my favorite new bands, Foster the People, plays a sold out show at The LC, The Lifestyles Community Pavilion

One of my wedding staples, David Sanborn, plays The Southern Theatre

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

SNL funnyman Kevin Nealon, plays The Funny Bone Comedy Club in Easton Town Center

IN THEATERS:
Joseph Gordon-Lebitt and Seth Rogen star in the trailer for ’50/50′ rated “R.” Based on TRUE LIFE EXPERIENCES, this movie is touching and POKES FUN AT THE EVIL THAT IS CANCER!!!
The “nightmare” of a movie, ‘Dream House’ is terrifying, rated “PG-13.”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
My buddies, Bearfoot  release “American Story”

THE Soundtrack that will be on the charts for a LONG TIME Footloose (and FYI I am in the video for Big & Rich’s “Fake ID” the first released single)

blink-182 is back (and NOT grown up) with “Neighborhoods”
The all-star band (Sammy Hagar, Joe Satriani, Micheal Anthony, Chad Smith) Chickenfoot, release,  Chickenfoot III (but it is their fourth album)

LeAnn Rimes releases “Ladies and Gentleman”

Swithchfoot is back with “Vice Verses”

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

 

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town (starting Oct 7)

Yuengling Ohio Debut Oct 2 (details soon)
Columbus Blue Jackets Home Opener Friday October 7th

 

October 11-16 in Las Vegas Nevada at Las Vegas Raceway (sharing stage with Good Charlotte)
Sunday October 16 Columbus Nationwide Marathon
October 27-Nov 3 Celebrity All Star Racing Event in Vegas!

 

October 29th HarleyWeen at C&A Harley Davidson

 

October 30th Blue Jackets Halloween Event

 

Follow us:

www.RMsexton.com

www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton

http://www.twitter@mattysexton

http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

September 30, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

