Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lions, Tigers, Bears, Black Birds, “Oh my” and nuns, with Terrorists…all in a few words of a fortune and some bad jokes?

GREETINGS FROM The Home office in GLOOMY, RAINY, and COLD Dublin Ohio. In addition to the dreary outside weather, it has not been a bright week for me either. The weather is not only bothering my sinuses, but also my knees. This kinda sucks! It is rather ironic that while I was NOT running in last Sundays Columbus Nationwide Marathon, I could barely walk the next day-I was jumping on and off the stage at the finish  (gathering things that had blown off in the WIND TUNNEL of the finish line!). Thanl you to Brent LaCount and all the staff at The Columbus Nationwide Marathon for allowing us to be part of a great event that caused us to be inspired by all who past by!

 

Even though I am not even close to running a marathon, a half…or for God’s sake a (decent paced) 5k, I am trying to find good in everything-not really sure what that is right now, but I am sure there is a silver lining in those clouds above.

 

However I am not really helping myself, I was reminded of a great night with an old friend and one of my favorite bands. And well I have started listening to a lot of Counting Crows this week, while they are one of my favorites…they are not exactly a band that I should listen to (when in certain moods). As I have said many times the mesmerizing lyrics, and tone of Adam Duritz, Matt, Charlie, Dan…and the rest of the boys, takes me to place in my mind that I have buried deep. It is not a fun place to visit, but probably needed not only to try to “fix me,” but also to enjoy the good times even more. Have 11:42 kill? Check this out:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yWmsjWnQ6VI

 

With all this nasty weather, gloom, and whatever, it is my perfect own lil kingdom…cause I am beginning to think I really am “The Rain King”

 

When I think of heaven (Deliver me in a black-winged bird) 
I think of flying down into a sea of pens and feathers
and all other instruments of faith and sex and God
In the belly of a black-winged bird
Don’t try to feed me
I’ve been here before and I deserve a little more

I belong in the service of the Queen I belong anywhere but in between
She’s been crying I’ve been thinking And I am the Rain King-Adam Duritz

 

I guess this is a good thing since I hope to be delivered (to Heaven) ‘In a black winged bird’ cause ONE I watched Edger Allen Poe’s “The Raven” last night on some Halloween movie marathon. And TWO well…”nutball” Christian Radio Station owner, Harold Camping is calling for the end of the world again on Friday (6th times a charm?) …so I got that going for me.

 

This week in the midst (and mist) of a bad week, had an IM pop up on my screen from an unlikely source. Someone reached out to say he wanted to talk. I won’t go into detail about what, but it was welcomed (and needed).

 

No matter how bad of a week I had, I would have to say, that Muammar, Gaddafi has had a worse week than anyone. He was living in a sewer, captured-alive, and then shot in the head by his own gold plated gun. I THINK he may even have it worse after his death…rumor has it, the 40 virgins he will encounter are Catholic Nuns, and I speak of experience THEY ARE MEAN! (watch out for the blackboard erasers, they are more accurate at throwing them than a pi**ed off Libyan using a gold gun at point blank range!)

 

Finally!!! Some justice for the 1985 attempted murder of Doc Brown by the Libyans at Twin Pines Mall parking lot.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NDS81Ibazdk

 

While I am a lil down, it has been a week full of growth (TRYING to accept people have opinions and those opinions MAY BE DUMB AND MAY NOT BE BASED ON ANY FACTS!), I have booked over 8 gigs-that was kinda cool. In addition to the friend IM’ing me, another offered help on a frustrating situation, and my car…while it is not fixed (after a 5th wheel came off a trailer and hit me), it is not all that bad-and I am ok.

 

Speaking of gigs…

Please add my buddies at Marketing Activation Group on Facebook I am lucky enough to be part of their team as they have a lot of exciting (world finals, and year end) events coming up:

https://www.facebook.com/marketingactivationsgroup

 

SO YEA, I am finding the good in bad things, but I hope things change soon, as the fortune cookie I got this week said “A thrilling time is in store for you.” While I may be a lil down…I am convinced that the fortune cookie is WRONG, I think “A thrilling time is HAPPENING to you!”

 

No matter what for me, and many in Central Ohio, it has been a WILD WEEK!

This is a scene from a truck stop Southbound on I-70?http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NecK4MwOfeI&feature=fvsr

 

ANIMAL “OPEN-GATE”:

FIRST OFF
Hats off to Muskingum County Sheriff Matt Lutz regarding this week’s animal escape and owner’s death. During Bizarre events and while admitting he is “not a media guy,” he handled himself well. Also to Jack Hanna and the staff of The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, as well as The Wilds, and the entire Muskingum County Sheriff’s Office.

Like I said The weather has been a real “bear” this week. Good days to “monkey” around, and eat a lot cause I have been “hungry like a wolf.”

Last Tuesday; A mountain lion, a monkey and a bear remained on the loose. Rumored to be walking into a bar to await punch line.

However we learned Tuesday Night reports of Noah’s Ark events really were taking place in Southern Ohio. The reports of “Lions, Tigers, & Bears” and Oh My also-Baboons, Leopards, and Monkey’s were on the loose in the flooded area of Terry Thompson’s “farm” full of “exotic animals.” (NOT PETS!)

 

The first impression I got was all kind of jokes and one liners. Many I stand behind, cause 1.) you must laugh in any event to “get by.” also…with the exception of one (Cowardly…not Lion but,) human life lost, as well as 55(+?) beautiful animals lost this story on the surface is tragically funny.

 

BUT funny cannot describe the images of the carcasses, the feelings of those who are outraged of the lives lost, and the feelings of the HERO’s of the Muskingum County Sheriff’s office who SAVED LIVES from their IMMEDIATE ACTIONS! Not to mention many grieving family and friends of T.T.

Muskingum County Sheriff Matt Lutz is a class act. I am an animal lover, and he has my full support! While yes there needs to be action, and some of the calls for that action are from those yelling (calling) with passion…please remember while many are passionate about condemning the actions taken by Muskingum County Sheriff Deputies, NONE of those officers wanted to do the actions, NONE were trained for the actions taken, ALL were acting on orders, and ALL WERE ACTUALLY ON SITE…not watching the news, or playing armchair deputy on the internet!

If they had not acted, many in Zanesville could have woken up in a ‘Hangover’ to find a Tiger in their bathrooms:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vhFVZsk3XEs&feature=related

It is a HORRIBLE situation that was preceded with horrible laws (Ohio and Mizz are only states with current laws-was scheduled to change in 6 weeks by Governors Office), and put into action by a selfish moron’s idiotic acts (both suicide and letting the “cat out of the bag”-or cage).

I come from the school of thought if we can’t laugh then, there can be no progress. I am an animal lover and don’t want to see ANY animal hurt, however innocent human life carries more value than an innocent animal (that has instincts to kill). I also was a sociology major, I love when two groups who are so passionate and disagree, while making asinine statements with no facts (like the people who say “why couldn’t they cage the 48 animals” in an hour and a half before dark?!?!?).

 

I guess good people who when filled with passion make (idiotic) statements, it humors me and I have found this week that the social network is full of good people making themselves out to be morons making statements they CANNOT back up.

 

Finally, this is a story that could not be written in Hollywood and it is happening in our back yard, we have to embrace it! Fun…yea I am having fun in a difficult situation, but more so, I am fascinated by all the facts coming up, the lessons learned from after the fact, and those who are stepping up to the plate like Sheriff Matt Lutz (a person I would have assumed was a hill jack before this), Jack Hanna, as well as all the allies and foes of Terry Thompson. All are learning experiences and lessons that I am embracing.

The final count from this tragedy:
56 Animals -total

49 Dead
6 Saved
1 Missing

DEAD
2 Wolves
6 Black Bears
2 Grizzly Bears
17 Lions
1 Baboon
3 Mountain Lions
18 Tigers

SAVED
1 Grizzly Bear
3 Leopards
2 Monkeys

MISSING?
1 Infected Monkey

With all that said…while “we think the monkey was eaten by the lion,” oh sh*t we may have to live all this again?

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=Mj9SUJdpJS4


To those who think “it was not all that bad,” REALLY!!! Were you there? Cause these people were!

Residents Come Dangerously Close To Escaped Animals
Several people spoke on Wednesday about their close encounters with escaped exotic animals.

That included one man who said he came within 30 feet from a tiger, 10TV’s Tanisha Mallett reported.

Sam Kopchak lived near the property where more than 50 animals escaped in Zanesville.

Kopchak took a new horse to pasture when he first spotted a bear, then a tiger, Mallett reported.
He said that he slowly walked his horse back to the barn.

“Thank goodness we made it down to the barn, I had a little time getting him in the stall,” said Kopchak.  “Got him put away and I closed all the doors.”

Joel Harris also said he found himself near one of the escaped animals while he was driving to a friend’s house.

“I looked in my rear view mirror as we are going past and I saw something that was black and it wasn’t a cow and it was really big so we turned around and went back and it was a bear,” Harris said.

http://www.10tv.com/content/stories/2011/10/19/zanesville-close-encounter-animals.html

 

The ANSWER to the question all the “so-called experts” asked “But why didn’t they just tranquilize the animals”

To the “professionals” on all social networking sites…NO “they” could not “just tranquilize” the 56 (wild) animals who were shot by Sheriff Deputies. I know a few pictures move you (and me as well) but that does not mean you (or any of us) know more than Director Emeritus of the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium-Jack Hanna, or the professional at The Wilds. BOTH advised Muskingum County Sheriff Matt Lutz to “put down the animals to preserve human life.” While tragic, it was the only scenario available for a positive solution. So before you ask (or post) questions…watch the videos to know the answer to your questions. Still feel like you know more? Why didn’t YOU have 56 “traps” or tranquilizers in your possession? Better yet, there is still a monkey on the loose, feel free to show you know more than any of the other proven professionals. I stand behind Lutz, Hanna, the staff as well as the all the deputies who are aching right now at having to perform a duty none wanted to do, nor were trained to do in the academy!

 

Tranquilizing animals complicated, perilous
Hours after a suicidal man unleashed dozens of his exotic animals on Muskingum County, a veterinarian drew close to a 300-pound tiger and shot it in the neck with a tranquilizer dart.

The dart’s anesthetic did nothing to subdue the big cat, which “just went crazy” before being shot to death by deputies, Sheriff Matt Lutz said.

“He sort of exploded,” recalled Dr. Barbara Wolfe, director of wildlife and conservation medicine at the Wilds animal preserve southeast of Zanesville. “He roared, he got up, and he came straight for me.”

Even in a controlled setting like the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium, tranquilizing large exotic animals so they and their captors stay safe is a challenge. Cut a large number of those animals loose, leaving them free to roam the countryside on a rainy night, and their unpredictability leads to dangerous confrontations like the one that left the tiger dead, veterinary experts say.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2011/10/20/tranquilizing-animals-complicated-perilous.html


I am SICK AND TIRED of these “social network” and “letter to the editor” “ARM CHAIR Veterinarians” saying how the situation “should have been handled!” They have as much credibility as people sitting on Wall Street, NOT WORKING…saying they DESERVE a job. However there is ONE PERSON who is more ASSINIGNE than anyone else “TV Ministry Evangelist” (and in my humble opinion bible thumping dumb ass, who uses organized religion to scare people into giving him millions), Pat Robertson.

 

Pat Robertson: God Let Zoo Animals Escape to Bite Gay People
Televangelist Stirs Controversy With Latest Remarks

As dozens of escaped exotic animals terrorized the town of Zanesville, Ohio, the Rev. Pat Robertson raised eyebrows today by saying that “God allowed those wild animals to escape because he wanted them to find gay people and bite them.”

Rev. Robertson, who made his remark during a regular broadcast of his 700 Club television program, said that the Book of Revelation made explicit reference to “escaped lions, tigers and bears running around Ohio biting gay people” as a prelude to the Rapture.

http://www.borowitzreport.com/2011/10/19/pat-robertson-god-let-zoo-animals-escape-to-bite-gay-people/    

 

BACKGROUND:

Gov. John Kasich Speaks Out Over Exotic Animal Law
Animal Rights Activists across the country are outraged with Ohio’s laws when it comes to exotic animals.
Now Gov. John Kasich is coming under fire from some animal groups Wednesday night, ONN’s affiliate WEWS reported.


A ban on exotic pets expired in April and Kasich didn’t renew it. Now some groups are criticizing the governor for not doing enough fast enough…

Under that plan, the Ohio Department of Natural Resources would have been in charge of enforcing the ban, but the governor said that would have exceeded their authority.

http://www.onntv.com/content/stories/2011/10/19/story-gov.kasich-animal-law.html

 

From the other side of argument (but I don’t totally disagree)

Ohio under pressure to pass wildlife law
The US state of Ohio came under pressure Thursday to quickly regulate the trade in “exotic” animals after dozens of lions, bears and rare tigers freed by their suicidal owner had to be killed.

Less than 24 hours after police announced the slaughter, nearly 28,000 people had signed an online petition, posted by an Ohio resident, urging Governor John Kasich to ban the sale and ownership of wild animals.

“Ohio has some of the most lax regulation of exotic pets, and after this disaster, it is apparent that this lack of regulation has been a threat to public safety and the welfare of the animals for too long,” it said.

A spokesman for Kasich said Wednesday that work was already under way to ban the sale or importation of exotic animals in Ohio and that legislation should be tabled in about 30 days.

“We think the legislature will move very quickly on it,” spokesman Rob Nichols told AFP.

http://news.yahoo.com/us-police-kill-escaped-lions-tigers-bears-020951746.html


This is a one sided piece but does show the “11 hour law” written by Strickland

For anyone wanting a very detailed outline of events of the Bill(s) by both Governors, here is a good bi-partisan chorological line of media stories:

http://storify.com/michaelscott81/ohios-exotic-animal-trail-past-incidents-and-prese

 

No matter what your thoughts…help those beautiful animals who were RESCUED by HEROS of the Columbus Zoo, The Wilds, and The MUSKINGUM COUNTY SHERIFF’s OFFICE!

Columbus Zoo and Aquarium and the Wilds are working closely with law enforcement to preserve the lives of exotic animals as the situation permits. We are advisors assisting law enforcement with containment and relocation, with some animals being transported to the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium for evaluation.

Your donation will assist in defraying costs for the relocation, care and rehabilitation of the released animals in our care.

http://www.columbuszoo.org/news/10-19-11/help_animals_recovered_from_private_animal_menagerie_in_muskingum_county.aspx

 



OCCUPY:

No corporate greed here

Just read about a guy who gave up his job as a corporate lawyer in NYC to become a Lego artist–yep, a Lego artist. The guy makes life-size Lego sculptures that routinely sell for $20,000…umm, why did no one mention this at Career Day???

 

VIDEO: This is AWESOME, and SAD, at the same time

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=wrPGoPFRUdc#!


The Student Loan Racket:  (MAYBE a POINT, but you, AND I, signed the paperwork!”
“…horrible reality of the student loan industry. I’ve talked about how schools have no incentive to keep costs under control, how student debt is the next “credit bubble,” and how student loans cannot be discharged through bankruptcy (which is ridiculous).”

http://abovethelaw.com/2010/09/the-student-loan-racket-now-in-one-easy-to-understand-graphic/

 


MAYBE you would have a job, “that you are entitled to…if you were not a racist DUMBASS!!!

L.A. teacher loses job over anti-Semitic comments
Los Angeles school officials say a substitute teacher has lost her job after making anti-Semitic comments during an interview.

In a statement Tuesday, schools Superintendent John Deasy condemned remarks made by Patricia McAllister during a protest rally last week.

In an Oct. 12 interview with Reason.com at a Los Angeles rally, McAllister said “Zionist Jews and the Federal Reserve” need to be run out of this country.

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?f=/c/a/2011/10/18/BA401LJ9CQ.DTL#ixzz1bQccFSLX

 


PLEASE JOIN ME:

In Supporting Herman Cain in his bid for the GOP Presidential Nod

https://www.hermancain.com/donate#sc=929webAD16


Saturday join my Buddy Chris O at The Filling Station for a special “Buckeye Night Off” All request Dance Party


Sunday join me, my buddies from M3S Sports the Step Up For Stefanie 5k / 2 Mile Fun Walk/Run at Ohio Stadium. Proceeds will benefit the Stefanie Spielman Fund. So stop out to The Horseshoe as I rock out, and “fight like a girl!” (also will be rocking some custom new swag from Rusted Apparel!) http://stepupforstefanie.org/

PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton
PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?) http://www.rmsexton.com

 

TIME TO BOOK YOUR 11-11-11 Weddings

“Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

 

Friday 11-11-11 is a HUGE day on the wedding Calendar. If you or someone you know is getting married, and wants to use that day please feel free to refer our services to them. We have some events that day, but can cater to each client and make their day special, and memorable (outside of the easy day to remember on the calendar). We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

ALSO, fall is here and New Year’s Resolutions are right behind that. It is the perfect time to get started early. DON’T wait on the crowded gyms in January! Let me help you get into your best shape (inside and out!) Send an e-mail to mattsext@gmail.com for availability and specialized individual workout plans.

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

We still have room to book your event!

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

October 23rd Step up for Stephanie 5k and Fun Walk at The Horseshoe
October 27-Nov 3 Celebrity All Star Racing Event in Vegas!

October 28th Yogi’s Halloween Party

October 28th Filling Station Halloween Party

October 30th Blue Jackets Halloween Event

November 7-10 CMA 45th Awards (Nashville)

November 10th 236th Marine Corps B-Day

November 19th Hell Run Texas

November 25 Blue Jackets Black Friday Event

November 27th Blue Jackets Event

November 29-Dec 4th (PRI Racing Event Orlando Florida)

December 3rd Warrior Dash South Florida

December 7-12 NFR Finals in Vegas

December 10th Army vs. Navy Viewing Party (details to come)

December 17th Blue Jackets Holiday Game

December 31st Yogi’s  NYE Party

Filling Station NYE Party

Blue Jackets NYE Game

 


THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:

“Imagine how great of a world this would be if we replaced the words “I, Me, My and Mine” with “You, Us, Them and Ours.” – Todd Reigle

 


SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:

Matt is BACK! (and better than ever!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=vqeVzsGVxzQ

 

WOW
Amazing version of a GREAT SONG (I guess this is why Margaritas and Jimmy Buffett remind me of a few?)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=GRr2lKURsKs#!

 

The “tubes” being played here are awesome!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4C8e7nNLZNs&ob=av3n

 

Rediscovered this AMAZING SONG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JDt4xIZezU

 

AFTER THIS WEEK, I HAD TO ADD THIS SONG!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o8ZnCT14nRc

 

 

 

DID YOU KNOW?:

The Earth’s population is expected to surpass 7 billion on October 31, 2011.

 

 

 

QUESTION OF THE WEEK:

What Does a 400% Increase in Antidepressant Use Really Mean?

Antidepressant prescribing has risen nearly 400% since 1988, according to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). More than 1 in 10 Americans over age 12 now takes an antidepressant, the study finds, and yet two-thirds of those with severe symptoms of depression do not take antidepressants at all.

The new research, led by CDC epidemiologist Laura Pratt, was based on responses from about 12,000 people who took part in a national annual health survey in 2005-08. The findings were released on Wednesday as a National Center for Health Statistics Data Brief.

 

The findings reflect the paradoxical reality of depression treatment in the U.S. While some observers complain that antidepressants are being handed out like candy, the data show that patterns of prescription generally adhere to what is known about depression prevalence in the U.S. In fact, the research suggests that depression is consistently undertreated.
http://healthland.time.com/2011/10/20/what-does-a-400-increase-in-antidepressant-prescribing-really-mean/#ixzz1bQSi5vyV

 

 

 

HELP:

PLEASE VOTE for my buddy, Adam Fears to be on Country Concert 2012 in OH as an “Opening Act”!!!
http://www.countryconcert.com/openingactssurvey.htm

 

 

 

FUNNY:

With recent negative press for Central Ohio, and the new “Barbie” figure being releases with tattoos…this seemed fitting! (Thanx C.M.)

Mattel recently announced the release of limited-edition Barbie Dolls for the Greater Columbus market:

“New Albany Barbie”
This princess Barbie is sold only  on the square in New Albany. She comes with an assortment of Kate Spade Handbags, a Lexus SUV, a long-haired foreign dog named Honey and a cookie-cutter house. Available with or without tummy tuck and facelift. Workaholic Ken sold only in conjunction with the augmented version.

“Dublin Barbie”
The modern day homemaker Barbie is available with Ford Wind star Minivan and matching gym outfit. She gets lost easily and has no full-time occupation. Traffic jamming cell phone sold separately.

“Reynoldsburg Barbie”
This recently paroled Barbie comes with a 9mm handgun, a Ray Lewis knife,a Chevy with dark tinted windows, and a Meth Lab Kit. This model is only available after dark and must be paid for in cash (preferably small, untraceable bills) ..unless you are a cop, then we don’t know what you are talking about.

“Upper Arlington Barbie”
This yuppie Barbie comes with your choice of BMW convertible or Hummer H2. Included are her own Starbucks cup, credit card and country club membership. Also available for this set are Shallow Ken and Private School Skipper. You won’t be able to afford any of them.

“Lancaster (pronounced Lan -caster) Barbie”
This pale model comes dressed in her own Wrangler jeans two sizes too small, a NASCAR t-shirt and a unicorn tattoo on her shoulder. She has a six-pack of Bud light and a Hank Williams Jr. CD set. She can spit over 5 feet and kick mullet-haired Ken’s butt when she is drunk. Purchase her pickup truck separately and get a confederate flag bumper sticker absolutely free

“Grove City Barbie”
This tobacco-chewing, brassy-haired Barbie has a pair of her own high-heeled sandals with one broken heel from the time she chased beer-gutted Ken out of Grove City Barbie’s house. Her ensemble includes low-rise acid-washed jeans, fake fingernails, and a see-through halter-top. Also available with a mobile home.

“Victorian Village Barbie”
This doll is made of actual tofu. She has long straight brown hair, arch-less feet, hairy armpits, no makeup and Birkenstocks with white socks. She prefers that you call her Willow . She does not want or need a Ken doll, but if you purchase two Victorian Village Barbies and the optional Subaru wagon, you get a rainbow flag bumper sticker for free.

“Eastland Mall Barbie”
This Barbie now comes with a stroller and infant doll. Optional accessories include a GED and bus pass Gangsta Ken and his 1979 Caddy were available, but are now very difficult to find since the addition of the infant.

“Short North Barbie/Ken”
This versatile doll can be easily converted from Barbie to Ken by simply adding or subtracting the multiple snap-on parts.

 

 

GREAT READ:

This is a BEAUTIFUL STORY!

Couple Married 72 Years Dies Holding Hands
An Iowa couple who was married for 72 years died one hour apart last week in the hospital as they held hands.Photos: Family Pictures Of Gordon and NormaFamily said the story of Gordon, 94, and Norma Yeager, 90, is a real-life love story.Yeager Family On the day she graduated from high school, Norma Stock promised to spend forever with Gordon Yeager. The couple got married on May 26, 1939 in State Center.”They’re very old-fashioned. They believed in marriage til death do you part,” said son Dennis Yeager.
http://www.kcci.com/r/29528191/detail.html

 

 

 

PASSING: 

34 years ago this week, Johnny Van Zant’s older brother Ronnie, who died in a plane crash in 1977. Ronnie was the lead singer of Lynyrd Skynyrd; Johnny took over after his death.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=rf_7IomySm4

 

 

BIRTHDAY/ANNIVERSARY:

21 years ago this week, the Cincinnati Reds swept the Oakland A’s in four games to win the 1990 World Series!

 

 

 

ENTERTAINMENT:

I am so excited for this weekend. I get to meet the “Original” Dark Knight in tights!

To the Con, Robin!… Burt Ward To Attend Wizard World Mid-Ohio Comic Con!

It will be like a trip to the Batcave for “Batman” fans as Burt Ward, who played “Robin” in the original television series, makes his first trip to Mid-Ohio Comic Con, October 22-23, 2011 at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Ward, who was a huge hit at previous Wizard World Comic Cons, joins Adam West (Batman) as Mid-Ohio Comic Con guests from the popular program, which ran from 1966-68 and has lived on for decades in syndication.

Though an avid comic fan growing up, Ward had somehow never read an issue of Batman when he first auditioned for the role of Robin. Quickly impressing the producers, Ward was cast as Robin alongside Adam West’s Batman for an unforgettable three season run that lasted 120 episodes.

The legacy of Batman has stayed with Ward throughout his career. He has reunited with West numerous times to reprise his role as Robin, and has also written an autobiography about his Batman experiences called Boy Wonder: My Life in Tights, signed copies of which will be available at Mid-Ohio Comic Con.
http://www.wizardworldcomiccon.com/tocoroadwebu.html 

 

 

 

MUSIC:

(From Joe Boxer) Toby Keith vs. Hip Hop! “Red Solo Cup” Controversy

If you haven’t yet heard Toby Keith’s new song, “Red Solo Cup,” it’s definitely worth a listen. The song praises the many uses of red solo cups, and is an anthem for parties. However, it has come with some controversy. Apparently hip hop artist Carlton Zeus has a song very similar to Toby Keith’s song entitled, “Sharpie Solo.” Many of his fans have spoken up, calling Toby Keith a song stealer, which influenced Carlton Zeus to make a YouTube response to his fans, where he obviously seems a little upset about the issue

(neither of these are edited for content)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=tP5PrBQ9rnY

 

Red Solo Cup

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKZqGJONH68&feature=player_embedded

 



BOOKS:

Get Off Your “But”: How to End Self-Sabotage and Stand Up for Yourself

In Stephenson’s powerful and practical debut, the psychotherapist and professional speaker reveals how to banish self-doubt and insecurity in a world where they may seem omnipresent. Beginning with the source of his own struggle, a rare and painful disease that causes his bones to weaken and break under minimal pressure, Stephenson offers a structured approach to a wide array of topics, including dating, weight loss, lack of motivation, friendship, finances, and goals. While his advice is encouraging and insightful, Stephenson’s text is also notable for examples, mottos and resonant personal stories of enormous obstacles and accomplishments (his work with the Clinton administration, attaining his Ph.D., opening his own private practice). Though his unwavering optimism can be daunting (bringing one’s day-to-day gripes into sharp relief), Stephenson is empowering and uplifting throughout, and should prove helpful whether facing a lifelong challenge or a more immediate battle.

 

 

 

MILITARY:

Official: U.S. pulling out all troops from Iraq

The United States will withdraw almost all its troops from Iraq by the end of the year, as a current agreement with Iraq dictates, a U.S. official told CNN Friday.
Only about 150 troops, a negligible force, will remain to assist in arms sales.
The United States had expected that some of the roughly 40,000 Americans in Iraq would remain there to aid in training and security.

But the two nations were unable to reach a deal on a key issue regarding legal immunity for U.S. troops, a senior U.S. military official with direct knowledge of the discussions told CNN this month.

The United States wanted to retain immunity but the Iraqis refused to agree to that, opening up the prospect of Americans being tried in Iraqi courts and subjected to Iraqi punishment.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/10/21/world/meast/iraq-us-troops/

 

 

 

POLITICS:

Steve Jobs told Obama in 2010: ‘You’re headed for a one-term presidency’
Jobs was critical of the Obama administration for not being business-friendly and blasted the nation’s education system as it is “crippled by union work rules.”

A highly anticipated biography about secretive Apple co-founder and former CEO Steve Jobs, written by Walter Isaacson, is slated for release October 24. The Huffington Post, however, managed to obtain a copy early and revealed some very interesting tidbits about the life of the Apple visionary — namely that, upon meeting President Barack Obama in 2010, Jobs told him, “you’re headed for a one-term presidency.”

According to HuffPo, the book states that Jobs was critical of the Obama administration for not being business-friendly and blasted the nation’s education system as it is “crippled by union work rules.”

Jobs, who insisted the president personally extend an invitation to meet with him,

told Obama that “regulations and unnecessary costs” make doing business in the United States, as opposed to China, prohibitive.

HuffPo adds:
Jobs suggested that Obama meet six or seven other CEOs who could express the needs of innovative businesses — but when White House aides added more names to the list, Jobs insisted that it was growing too big and that “he had no intention of coming.” In preparation for the dinner, Jobs exhibited his notorious attention to detail, telling venture capitalist John Doerr that the menu of shrimp, cod and lentil salad was “far too fancy” and objecting to a chocolate truffle dessert. But he was overruled by the White House, which cited the president’s fondness for cream pie.

Though Jobs was not that impressed by Obama, later telling Isaacson that his focus on the reasons that things can’t get done “infuriates” him, they kept in touch and talked by phone a few more times. Jobs even offered to help create Obama’s political ads for the 2012 campaign. “He had made the same offer in 2008, but he‘d become annoyed when Obama’s strategist David Axelrod wasn’t totally deferential,” writes Isaacson. Jobs later told the author that he wanted to do for Obama what the legendary “morning in America” ads did for Ronald Reagan

 

 

 

ISSUE 2:

Columbus Dispatch forced to issue a correction after printing a union member’s lie.

Doug Stern is a Cincinnati firefighter who is opposed to Issue 2’s reasonable reforms. He is so opposed, that he appeared in a “We Are Ohio” commercial. As a firefighter, Mr. Stern has my respect. But that doesn’t give him license to lie to the public about the tax-payer funded benefits he receives.

He has a problem with the part of the bill that states that government employees must pay 15% of their health insurance premiums. Why? Because he says he already pays more than that, so the law isn’t necessary.
http://thirdbasepolitics.blogspot.com/2011/10/columbus-dispatch-forced-to-issue.html

 

 

 

BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:

With the weather turning cold…all of Central Ohio needs one of these?

https://www.orderforeverlazy.com/?rtag=foreverlazy&

YOU DA MAN:

After 28 years, two adult children and plenty of drama together, Kiss frontman Gene Simmons wed former Playmate Shannon Tweed in a ceremony broadcast on last night’s “Gene Simmons Family Jewels.” How did the wild rocker feel about finding himself tied down for the first time in his life? “No idea what I’d been scared about all this time,” Simmons mused while talking to his 19-year-old daughter Sophie. “[It was] this stubborn guy thing… it was really stupid.” Smiling and nodding, his daughter simply said, “Yup.”

Simmons’ realization that the woman he’s spent 28 years with is, in fact, “The One” (i.e., life partner, not to be confused with Keanu Reeves’ character in “The Matrix”) was reflected in the no-nonsense, self-skewering wedding vows he wrote. “I always thought I was strong. You made me realize how arrogant, selfish and weak I was,” he admitted. “I’ve never said ‘I love you’ to anybody, but I love you, Shannon Tweed. With all my heart, for the rest of my life.”
http://new.music.yahoo.com/blogs/amplifier/90073/after-28-years-gene-simmons-finally-weds-shannon-tweed/
 

 

 

WHAT THE HE**?:

Lingerie Football League Recruits Michael Jackson’s Daughter

The Lingerie Football League–never shy to push the envelope–has recruited Michael Jackson’s daughter Paris to serve as a spokesperson for the league’s new youth program. As in, MJ’s 13-year-old daughter Paris.

 

http://m.mtv.com/blogs/clutchdetail.rbml?id=http%3A%2F%2Fclutch.mtv.com%2F2011%2F10%2F19%2Fparis-jackson-lingerie-football-league%2F&alt=http%3A%2F%2Fm.mtv.com%2Fblogs%2Fclutchlist.rbml&cid=300

 

 

 

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?:

Atlanta woman wrongly imprisoned for 53 days because of name mix-up
An Atlanta woman says she was mistakenly imprisoned for 53 days because police confused her for someone else with the same first name.

Teresa Culpepper says she called police to report that her truck had been stolen in August. But when they showed up at her home, they arrested her for aggravated assault committed by another Teresa.

“All she has is the same first name. The only descriptions that match are ‘Teresa’ and ‘black female,'” Culpepper’s attorney, Ashleigh Merchant told The Lookout. Culpepper, who is 47, didn’t have the same address, birth date, height, or weight as the Teresa who was supposed to be arrested.

Merchant says Culpepper, who was legitimately convicted of a misdemeanor in the 90s but otherwise has no criminal record, lives in a rough neighborhood where police are frequently on patrol. She and her family were unable to post the $12,000 bond to get her out of jail, so she wasn’t released until her public defender found the victim of the assault and brought him to the court to say Culpepper was not the “Teresa” he had accused.

http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/lookout/atlanta-woman-wrongly-imprisoned-53-days-because-name-144442562.html

 

 

 

IRONY:

Westboro Baptist Church uses iPhone to announce protest at Steve Jobs’s funeral

Members of the Westboro Baptist Church picket every Sunday at a city park near their church in Topeka, KS. (Michael S. Williamson – THE WASHINGTON POST)Westboro Baptist Church announced plans Wednesday night to protest Steve Jobs’s funeral, sending the message out. . .wait for it. . . via Twitter for iPhone.

Margie Phelps, daughter of the small church’s founder and the lawyer who represented the church during their First Amendment case at the Supreme Court, (which Westboro won,) was among the Phelps family members to use Apple products to Tweet about the death of the Apple co-founder.

“Westboro will picket his funeral. He had a huge platform; gave God no glory & taught sin,” Margie tweeted Wednesday night on her iPhone.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/under-god/post/westboro-baptist-church-uses-iphone-to-announce-steve-jobs-funeral-protest/2011/10/06/gIQAJqBjPL_blog.html

 

 

 

RELIGION:

Sometimes it takes being upside down, to get it?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXsQbzBQ6ck

 

 

BUISNESS:

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 20,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

 

BOOKING WEDDINGS for remainder of 2011! “Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

 

Friday 11-11-11 is a HUGE day on the wedding Calendar. If you or someone you know is getting married, and wants to use that day please feel free to refer our services to them. We have some events that day, but can cater to each client and make their day special, and memorable (outside of the easy day to remember on the calendar). We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

 

 

HEALTH:

Why a personal trainer is making himself obese… on purpose

A fit guy who is deliberately making himself fat.

Since May, Drew Manning has gained about 70 pounds on purpose. And he’s not done yet.

Drew is a personal trainer and has always been the “fit guy.” He’s now on a journey he calls Fit 2 Fat 2 Fit where he spends six months (he has about 4 weeks left) eating  unhealthy food and not exercising, then he will take six more months to get fit again. Why? To experience for himself what it’s like to be overweight, how tough it is to lose weight, and ultimately show others how to get fit. But this is solo extreme

http://shine.yahoo.com/channel/health/why-a-personal-trainer-is-making-himself-obese-on-purpose-2583990/

 

 
SUCCESS:

“I love the man who can smile in trouble, gather strength from distress and grow brave by reflection.” – Thomas Paine

 

 

INSPIRATION:

“Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out if they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you.” – William James

 

“Nothing is impossible; there are ways that lead to everything, and if we had sufficient will we should always have sufficient means. It is often merely for an excuse that we say things are impossible.” – François de la Rochefoucauld

 

 

QUOTES:

See everything; overlook a great deal; correct a little. ~Pope John XXIII

Oh I believe in song lines obvious and not-I’ve ridden them like camels to some most peculiar spots. They run across oceans through mountains and saloons and tonight out to this dessert where I sit atop this dune-Jimmy Buffett

 

 

CLOSING:

 ‎”It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who, at worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.”
~Teddy Roosevelt

 

 

 

TO DO:

THURSDAY:
The Justin Bieber of country music, Hunter Hayes plays The Bluestone . For more info http://www.liveatthebluestone.com

SATURDAY:

Join my Buddy Chris O at The Filling Station
SUNDAY:
It is STILL HIP TO BE SQUARE, Huey Lewis & The News bring “Soulville”
to the Midland Theater in Downtown Nerk
David Sedaris plays The Palace Theatre

 

 
MORE TO DO:
ALL WEEKEND:

Circleville Pumpkin Show. For more info www.pumpkinshow.com

The 45th All American Quarter Horse Congress at The Ohio Expo Center

2011 Wizard World Mid-Ohio Comic Con, at The Greater Columbus Convention Center. BURT WARD AND ADAM WEST WILL BE THERE!!!

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:
J. Medicine Hat, plays The Funny Bone Comedy Club in Easton Town Center

IN THEATERS:
The movie, that “the final 15minutes WILL MESS YOU UP FOR LIFE” ‘Paranormal Activity 3,’ rated “R.” I still have night terrors about the first 2!

“Mr. Bean” is back in ‘Johnny English Reborn’ rated “PG-13.”

‘The Three Musketeers’ rated “ PG-13.” DON’T BOTHER

 

 

DVD:
Johnny Depp , Penélope Cruz , Geoffrey Rush , Ian McShane , Astrid Bergés-Frisbey , are back in Disney’s ‘Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides’ rated “PG-23.”

 

The hilarious, ‘Bad Teacher’ starring Cameron Diaz , Justin Timberlake , and Jason Segel , rated “R.”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
Brantley Gilbert  shows country wide on ‘Modern Day Prodigal Son’

Montgomery Gentry  is back with ‘Rebels on the Run’

Casting Crowns  release an amazing album ‘Come to the Well’

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

October 23rd Step up for Stephanie 5k and Fun Walk at The Horseshoe

October 27-Nov 3 Celebrity All Star Racing Event in Vegas!

October 28th Yogi’s Halloween Party

October 28th Filling Station Halloween Party

October 30th Blue Jackets Halloween Event

November 7-10 CMA 45th Awards (Nashville)

November 10th 236th Marine Corps B-Day

November 19th Hell Run Texas

November 25 Blue Jackets Black Friday Event

November 27th Blue Jackets Event

November 29-Dec 4th (PRI Racing Event Orlando Florida)

December 3rd Warrior Dash South Florida

December 7-12 NFR Finals in Vegas

December 10th Army vs. Navy Viewing Party (details to come)

December 17th Blue Jackets Holiday Game

December 31st Yogi’s  NYE Party

Filling Station NYE Party

Blue Jackets NYE Game
Follow us:

www.RMsexton.com

www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton

http://www.twitter@mattysexton

http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

 

October 21, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

