Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lions at The Gate during a technology blackout…and finding “thanks”

GREETINGS FROM backstage of “Hell” here in Dallas Texas. I am working for Hell Run, it is kinda funny, I am on a “dude ranch” and playing country, rock, techno, 80’s etc for a diverse crowd of men & woman (I have deemed them my “Hellians”) getting ready to run their waves through the obstacle course all while my stage is dead middle in a field full of cow pattys…and someone how, I feel like I fit in!

 

This trip also allowed me to see another part of this great country and hear the one thing that melts my “tough guy, sunglasses/cowboy hat/sleeveless shirt, foo man chu” persona…a southern accent on a chick.

 

OH GOOD GAUD!!! Y’all have no ideer what a southern twang does to me! In all honesty she doesn’t even have to be attractive, I just melt when I hear a Southern Belle talk. I probably took more pixx, carried more bags, played more bad songs…just cause the southern girls asked “reel reel nieeece.”

 

I fall for it every time…even when they are being a “smart a**”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILT70PICagI&feature=results_main&playnext=1&list=PLA92AD72172309F6A

 

This trip also allowed me to get caught up…the last 3 weeks, I have been out of loop with no technology with losing my mobile hot spot thingy (that is a technical term right?), and my internet at home going out at the same time (I PAID MY BILL!), and have also been very busy.

 

This week marks the 3rd week in a row I have been on the road. From Vegas, to NashVegas (Nashville), and now Dallas…I am a lil tired!

 

But I LOVE WHAT I DO, and as we enter this Turkey Day Week, I am also THANKFUL for the chances I get and to have some of the friends that I have.

 

Last week while in NashVegas I had the opportunity to not only hang out with some great friends (who clean up nicely in their sparkly dresses), but also had the very cool experience to give someone the chance to go to the CMA’s who probably would never had gotten the chance. All the celebrities, all the stages, and all the things I experience don’t compare to see seeing someone I didn’t even know smile, cause I was lucky enough to give them an opportunity!

 

Kinda funny with all the production, all the sights and sounds of the awards, and all the celebrities (PLUS ALL THE BOOZE)…the highlight of my recent trip to Nashville was not the show, not the people watching, not the really nice hotel (stayed at The Gaylord)…but the friends I was able to go with, and the friends I got to see while there, some planed, some not…all were appreciated. There was one experience with a friend that I enjoyed more than anything. This was the most simplistic moment, yet I enjoyed it more than anything from that trip; just a few simple texts back and forth from a friend back home while I was at the awards. Blake Shelton had just won for “God Gave me You” and kinda fitting to reach out to someone back home to share that with, even if she was not with me, nor “with me.”

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nCf2PoTuh4Q&ob=av2e

 

The song “God Gave Me You” describes many friendships on many levels with me, and (could) for many. Ya know, in some way; good, bad, temporary, or forever-we all encounter someone.

No matter if business, personal, romantic or what, EVERY PERSON is put into our lives to teach us something. I have come to a point in my life that for all those I have met, those I am around, those I get to visit with once a year, and those people who live with me daily (even if only in my thoughts, and my heart) as well as those that are not by my side, in my life, or next to me, some are not even on this earth anymore…I am thankful for all who have come into my life, I am truly blessed and know that for some reason “God Gave Me You!” (and to one, I hope you don’t “miss this blog”)

 

So with the busyness of the weeks, the friends that I have been able to share it with are what makes it all so great. Speaking of friends, one old friend who I used to work with in children’s services reached out to ask my take on the Joe Paterno issue.

 

When I worked for Children Services, I was NOT LIKED. I treated a perp like a perp, and an unfit parent as such, and those that milked the system as the space “occupiers” they were. I was HATED and got written up a lot…but, I did what I felt was right, and what our “system” would not do to protect innocent kids!

 

I believe Joe Pa is one of the greatest athletic figure heads and coaches to ever walk a sideline. However, this does not excuse his role in the recent Penn State scandal. While JO PA IS NOT THE PERP, he is a man who did not act in a morally appropriate role. I believe Jo Pa came from a different time, a time where you did not acknowledge these kinds of situations. This is NOT the way to handle the situation, but I am not positive he knew any different-he was “old school.” No matter what his reasoning, or “why” he handled the situation in the way he did. HE WAS STILL IN THE WRONG, and lives were affected by his decision. He made what I consider a “mistake”-in this case the mistake was not a loss of downs, or a bad play on the field, but to allow a monster to continue his rampage to inflict pain and suffering on those who he had power over.

 

The “alleged perp,” Jerry Sandusky is an individual who preyed on those who could not defend themselves under the guise of “Child Advocate.” His recent interview with Bob Costas shows his inability to comprehend his actions, this not only makes him a bad person…WORSE it makes him a perp who is a danger to society, and needs to not only be removed from any further contact to hurt anyone else, but also needs to be PUNISHED FOR HIS ACTIONS! The first person who should have punished Sandusky is now assistant coach Mike McQueary.

 

I remember watching #9 as a quarterback for PSU. He was MEAN, aggressive and had a borderline rage on the field. I thought it was so cool to see a big red head guy acting as a quarterback who could have easily been a linebacker at “Linebacker U.” McQueary with his size, and perceived rage…SHOULD HAVE STOPPED THE ACT WHILE HE SAW IT HAPPENING. I am not going to go into if he should have called, or even if he did call the authorities. There is ONE thing he should have done, and ANY OF US should do…ACTED ON A PERP WHO IS TAKING ADVANTAGE, HURTING, OR WHATEVER someone who cannot defend themselves. Yes doing so may have caused for some fines, maybe even losing his job. Yea he would have had to answer for his aggression…but ya know what? JUST AS I HAD TO ANSWER FOR MY JOB WITH CHILDREN SERVICES OFFICIALS…I would have done what I thought was right to PROTECT someone.

 

We in the long run only answer to a few-The Good Lord above, those who we come in contact with, and ourselves. WE AS A SOCIETY must act by doing what is right not only JUST when covenant or easy. I don’t have my job with Children Services anymore…but I am PROUD OF MY ACTIONS! The very same actions that were not taken on by McQueary, and the very same actions that because were not taken “officials” could cover up. The fiery mean red head I thought was such a billy bad a** on the field, I have found to be nothing but a pussy!

 

There NEEDS to be action, there needs to be consequences, and there needs to be HEALING. I hope that the victims come to a peace and are able to go on with their lives, I hope that this is a learning experience for ALL to make sure this does not happen ANYWHERE, and hope that there is a way for Jo Pa to be remembered for the coach he IS and not the person who made a poor decision. I hope that Sandusky has the same acts are taken AGAINST him by someone he cannot protect himself against, and I hope McQueary learns that characteristics of a fierce leader are not only shown on the field of play!

 

I hope all of this, and that The Institution that is Penn State, the INNOCENT PLAYERS, and the proud Alumni-fans and all associated with PSU (outside of the direct officials with knowledge of this situation) are not punished! I also hope this gives strength to those who know of actions that are currently taking place against innocent victims, and I hope those victimized in the past now have the power to stand up against the perps they feel powerless against!

 

This is a great time to learn from mistakes, learn from actions done, as well as to take a stand all while exercising the power of forgiveness to those who were not directly involved.

 


ANIMAL GATE:

This NEEDS TO BE WATCHED by anyone who thinks The Zanesville Sherriffs acted inappropriately

http://www2.nbc4i.com/news/2011/nov/04/11/deputies-faced-charging-exotic-animals-during-esca-ar-815629/?referer=None&shorturl=http://bit.ly/vABcQh

 


OCCUPY:

 The “Occupy” movement, whether displaying itself on Wall Street or in the streets of Oakland (which has, with unspeakable cowardice, embraced it) is anything but an exercise of our blessed First Amendment. “Occupy” is nothing but a pack of louts, thieves, and rapists, an unruly mob, fed by Woodstock-era nostalgia and putrid false righteousness. These clowns can do nothing but harm America.

“Occupy” is nothing short of a clumsy, poorly-expressed attempt at anarchy, to the extent that the “movement” – HAH! Some “movement”, except if the word “bowel” is attached – is anything more than an ugly fashion statement by a bunch of phone, iPod wielding spoiled brats who should stop getting in the way of working people and find jobs for themselves.

http://news.yahoo.com/frank-miller-doesnt-think-much-occupy-wall-street-194424503.html

 

PLEASE JOIN ME (you know, someone who WORKS, and does not want a handout for the government!):

 

In Supporting Herman Cain in his bid for the GOP Presidential Nod

https://www.hermancain.com/donate#sc=929webAD16


FRIDAY
 join my Buddy Chris O at The Filling Station for the “All request Dance Party”

 

SATURDAY join my buddy “Big Ticket” aka “White Mamba” as he rock The AT&T FanZone before The Buckeyes take on The Nitany Lions of Penn State

SATURDAY…if in Dallas Texas, see you in “Hell!” I host the Pre/Post race party for “Hell Run” and pump up the sold out waves of “Hellians” as I send them to Hell at the start line.

 

PLEASE JOIN ME, in hating The Meat Chicken, that “Team from Up North.” Yes it is time to start HATE scUM week!

 

PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton
PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?) http://www.rmsexton.com

 

 

ALSO, fall is here and New Year’s Resolutions are right behind that. It is the perfect time to get started early. DON’T wait on the crowded gyms in January! Let me help you get into your best shape (inside and out!) Send an e-mail to mattsext@gmail.com for availability and specialized individual workout plans.

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

 

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

 

November 23rd Pre-Turkey Day Party at The Filling Station with my buddy Joey Blayze Covering for me

 

November 24th Flying Feather (Tartan Fields)

November 25 Blue Jackets vs the Buffalo Sabers Black Friday Event

November 27th Blue Jackets Event

November 29-Dec 4th (PRI Racing Event Orlando Florida)

December 3rd Warrior Dash South Florida

December 7-12 NFR Finals in Vegas

December 10th Army vs. Navy Viewing Party (details to come)

December 17th Blue Jackets Holiday Game

December 31st Yogi’s  NYE Party

Filling Station NYE Party

Blue Jackets NYE Game

 


THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:

WHY MOST PEOPLE ARE FULL OF IT, AND HOW TO NOT BE ONE OF THEM

 

Another in the series “How to be Taken Seriously.” This time, we’ll focus on not being full of sh*t.

 

I’ve got an exercise for you. For the next seven days, make a concerted effort to count how many people with whom you come in contact who end your conversation with “I’ll call you,” or “Let’s get coffee!” or “We should connect for a drink!”

 

In two weeks, go back and visit the list you made, and see how many of them followed up on their suggestion.

 

The answer will more than likely be “none.”

 

We live in a world where 99% of the people you meet are full of shit. It just is. It’s not up for debate, it’s not a scientific fact, it just is. I think this is the case for several reasons, but the most logical one is as follows: We all want to be thought of as “The nice guy.” Ironically, by doing this, we usually come across as full of shit, as opposed to the nice guy. If we play the nice guy role in the beginning “Call me! Happy to help!” Or “Let’s get coffee!” and then never follow up, or cancel plans, or never answer the resulting email, not only are we blowing our “nice guy” persona, but then we’re proven as even worse than a “not nice guy,” we’re proven to be full of shit. At least if you’re not nice and honest, you’re true. But being nice on the surface and never returning the call moves you from “nice” to “not nice” to “full of shit.” And that’s the worst place to be.

 

Others are full of shit because they only look out for themselves, feel the need to attempt to win by taking everyone else down, or simply put, just don’t care. Whatever the reason, just look around – there’s no doubt we’re living in a world full of people who are just full of shit. I’m on an Amtrak as I write this, and the guy next to me just got off his phone with a “OK, you too – Totally have to get together, no doubt, I’ll call you!” He hangs up, and under his breath, as he’s shaking his head, he mutters, “douche.”

 

So if that’s the case, there’s one really awesome thing you can take out of it. If everyone is full of shit, it’s never been easier to be at the top of your game and own the playing field. Think about it – It’s the same logic as the kinda-thin girl who hangs out with fat girls – By comparison, she looks hot. If everyone else spends their time disappointing everyone else, all you have to do is rise 1% above the fray, and you win it all.

 

So here’s how:

 

1) Exceed relatively low expectations. Again – We don’t expect much out of people anymore. Used to be we’d expect stellar service on all counts – Whether it was the windshield being washed when we pulled up to the gas station, or our meal being brought to our table – that’s pretty much gone nowadays.

 

Sure, it’s awesome to set the bar totally high and exceed it. And I’m not saying don’t do that. But focus on building your reputation piece by piece. If you don’t want to have coffee with someone, don’t suggest it as you’re saying goodbye after your first meeting. If you DO want to have coffee with someone, why not suggest a Skype call, and when you email to follow up, upgrade it to coffee. Start off low and grow quickly. It’s the easiest thing in the world to do.

 

2) Do “unexpected followup” daily. I have a big, big stack of business cards. Probably over 3,500, 4,000 cards. These are people I’ve met once, usually at a conference or trade show. They’re not “contacts,” per se, but they’re also not complete strangers. I keep these cards in a giant fish bowl on my desk, where people who don’t constantly worry about their weight would keep candy. Each day, I pull ten cards out, and email the people on them, just to say hi. No selling, not even that much talking about me – Just asking about them. How are they, what are they working on, etc. This keeps me “top of mind,” and does two other things: Brings some of those people from “quasi-contacts” to “clients,” and as beneficial, makes me first in their mind when someone they know asks if they know anyone who does what I do. Added bonus? I get to say hi. Nice touch.

 

3) Do the little things no one else does. You have any idea how many times I show up at early morning meetings with donuts? I call it “Insta-Hero.” It’s incredibly easy to be the Insta-Hero. Show up to an early morning meeting with Donuts. Make sure there’s a full bowl of candy on your desk when people come by. ALWAYS carry a pen, a stick of gum, and a lighter. (And not just for people who smoke – Lighters can act as a scissor and burn down a loose thread, among millions of other uses.) Be the one who always does the little things, and you’ll be the one people turn to when they have a budget to spend.

 

4) Find out what people are doing. If you had any idea on how many people I have Google Alerts, you’d call me the King of Stalking. But in fact, those alerts are one of the most helpful tools in my arsenal. Someone gets quoted? Drop a congratulatory note. Someone gets promoted? Send cookies. Someone takes a new job? Send a six pack. It’s not hard, doesn’t cost a lot, and keeps you well above the fold of mediocrity. Why? Because no one else does it. Again – When most people are full of shit, it doesn’t take that much to not be! So don’t be! Everyone wins! (Especially you!)

 

5) For God’s sake, if you do nothing else, just be nice! A smile goes a hell of a long way towards proving you’re not full of shit. Just by being a touch nicer – Offering to help someone put their bag in the overhead compartment, letting the obviously time-crunched person go ahead of you at Starbucks… You never know where these small, innocent acts can lead – But yo do know this – If they lead anywhere, they start off with the other person believing you’re in fact, NOT full of shit – And from there, it’s up to you to keep proving that.

 

 

SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:

Back from Nashville and this song is ALL TOO TRUE!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=bax6NJ-J7oQ#!

 

Kinda feel like the first verse of this song…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JxzJAF1BxP4

 

Just not sure who…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k9e157Ner90

 

YEP, I found myself “cursing the mornin’” this week

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jEDdFm3Nx0&ob=av2e

 


DID YOU KNOW?:

The man who discovered the 3D visual effect couldn’t even see it because he was blind in one eye.

Dr. Carl Pulfrich was an early pioneer in the design of sterescopes, images that appear to be three-dimensional that are composed of two separate two-dimensional images. (like a View-Master toy). He’s well-known for observing and documenting what is now known as the “Pulfrich effect”.

The Pulfrich effect is the illusion of depth created by our brains when viewing an object with a dark filter applied to one eye. This effect is the basis behind the 3-D movies that we can see today in theaters.

In Pulfrich’s own words: “I have never been able to observe these effects myself, for I have been blind in the left eye for 16 years.”

http://t.co/NxbNDbmp

 


QUESTION OF THE WEEK:

WHY AM I SO TIRED?!?!?

 


HELP:

Movember-Please donate to the link below

 

MY MOTIVATION

“Raise Funds and Awareness by growing out this “thing” under my nose. Also I hope it will not scare any of my customers away”

 

It is November and I like many are growing the smelling, itchy, food traps under our noses to raise funds for Prostate Cancer Research in a movement called “Movember.”

 

This Movember I’ve decided to donate my face to raising awareness about cancers that affect men.  My commitment is the growth of a moustache for the entire month of Movember, which IS generating conversation, controversy and laughter. AND AN ITCHY FACE!

I’m doing this because:

·     1 in 2 men will be diagnosed with cancer in his lifetime

·     1 in 6 men will be diagnosed with prostate cancer during his lifetime

This is a cause that I feel passionately about and I’m asking you to support my efforts by making a donation to support the great work of the Prostate Cancer Foundation and LIVESTRONG.  To help, you can either:

http://mobro.co/MattySexton

 

The money raised will help make a tangible difference to the lives of others, through the world’s most promising prostate cancer research and LIVESTRONG’s programs that support young adults and their families battling and surviving cancer.

For more details on how the funds raised from previous campaigns have been used and the impact Movember is having please visit
http://us.movemberfoundation.com/research-and-programs/.
I am growing out the “Trucker” style moustache, and have attached a very appropriate picture.  

Please help me make my goal of $1000.00, this thing is really itching (let alone VERY ugly!)
Thank you.

M

 

http://mobro.co/MattySexton

 


GREAT READ:

Rudyard Kipling If

If
If you can keep your head when all about you
Are losing theirs and blaming it on you;

If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,
But make allowance for their doubting too;

If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,
Or, being lied about, don’t deal in lies,
Or, being hated, don’t give way to hating,
And yet don’t look too good, nor talk too wise;

If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;
If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;

If you can meet with triumph and disaster
And treat those two imposters just the same;

If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,
And stoop and build ’em up with wornout tools;

If you can make one heap of all your winnings
And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,
And lose, and start again at your beginnings
And never breath a word about your loss;

If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew
To serve your turn long after they are gone,
And so hold on when there is nothing in you
Except the Will which says to them: “Hold on”;

If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with kings – nor lose the common touch;

If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you;
If all men count with you, but none too much;

If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run –
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it, 
And – which is more – you’ll be a Man my son!

 

 

PASSING: 

Heavy D’s ‘Love’ Returns to Billboard’s Charts
Rapper Heavy D Dead at 44
Heavy D, a rapper whose size and crossover success helped make him a major rap star, died Tuesday afternoon at a Los Angeles hospital. According to reports, the 44-year-old rapper was found conscious on the walkway near his Beverly Hills home around 11:25 am when a 911 call was placed.

Following his passing Nov. 8 at 44, Heavy D & the Boyz’ classic hit single “Now That We Found Love” debuts at No. 20 on Rap Digital Songs. It sold 18,000 downloads in the tracking week that ended Nov. 13, according to Nielsen SoundScan. The song had shifted less than 1,000 downloads the previous week.
The track concurrently bows atop the Yahoo! Videos list with 73,000 streams.

After reaching No. 11, “Love” wrapped its Hot 100 chart run exactly 20 years ago this week. The song was Heavy D’s biggest single on the tally, where he notched four other hits through 1995. On the R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart, he posted 14 entries between 1986 and 1994.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNEgUPKxk7A&feature=player_embedded

 

http://www.billboard.com/column/chartbeat/heavy-d-s-love-returns-to-billboard-s-charts-1005543582.story#/column/chartbeat/heavy-d-s-love-returns-to-billboard-s-charts-1005543582.story

 


ENTERTAINMENT:

That cute ‘Jerry Maguire’ kid can probably kill you with his hands now

Tired of child stars beaten down by the pressures of Hollywood and young fame? Looking for a kid who made it big and then got … bigger? Well, check out the transformation of Jonathan Lipnicki, best known as the cute kid with glasses in the 1996 Tom Cruise film “Jerry Maguire.”

Props to Lipnicki for finding something he’s passionate about and making headlines for something other than being stupid and reckless in Hollywood.

http://scoop.today.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2011/11/10/8736043-that-cute-jerry-maguire-kid-can-probably-kill-you-with-his-hands-now

 


MUSIC:

Kid Rock Leads Bash for Legendary Nashville

It’s going to be a big rockin’ time in Nashville next Wednesday (Nov. 23) as Kid Rock, one of country music’s biggest ambassadors, will be turning Music City’s Broadway into a party zone!

In conjunction with the singer’s concert at the Ryman Auditorium, Tootsie’s Orchid Lounge owner Steve Smith will be celebrating the famous club’s 51st anniversary with an all-day event that will feature Kid Rock along with other performers.

“We couldn’t be more happier that Kid Rock is working with us to make the Tootsie’s Birthday Bash a ‘rockin’ good time for everyone in Nashville,” said Smith. “Kid Rock is a part of Tootsie’s history. It’s going to be a memorable night.”

http://www.kidrock.com/news/bbad7e-kid-rock-leads-bash-for-legendary-nashville-club/

 


BOOKS:

The 4-Hour Workweek, Expanded and Updated: Expanded and Updated, With Over 100 New Pages of Cutting-Edge Content-Timothy Ferriss

“Thanks to Tim Ferriss, I have more time in my life to travel, spend time with family and write book blurbs. This is a dazzling and highly useful
work.”
—A.J. Jacobs, Editor-at-Large, Esquire Magazine, Author of The Know-It-All

“If you want to live life on your own terms, this is your blueprint.”
—Mike Maples, Co-founder of Motive Communications (IPO to $260M market cap), Founding Executive of Tivoli (sold to IBM for $750M)

“Tim is Indiana Jones for the digital age. I’ve already used his advice to go spearfishing on remote islands and ski the best hidden slopes of Argentina. Simply put, do what he says and you can live like a millionaire.”
—Albert Pope, Derivatives Trading, UBS World Headquarters

“This engaging book makes you ask the most important question that you will ever face: What exactly is it that you want out of work and life, and why? Tim Ferriss is a master of getting more for less, often with the help of people he doesn’t even know, and here he gives away his secrets for fulfilling your dreams.”
—Bo Burlingham, Editor-at-Large, Inc. magazine and author of Small Giants: Companies That Choose To Be Great Instead of Big

 


MILITARY:

Justin Timberlake Keeps Promise, Attends Marine Corps Ball
Justin Timberlake is a man of his word.

The multi-talented star made good on his promise to attend the Marine Corps Ball with Corporal Kelsey De Santis in Richmond, VA, on Saturday night, according to the city’s local news station, WTVR.

The wife of a Marine who attended the big night said Justin “posed for pictures and seemed like a normal guy,” according to the station.
http://movies.yahoo.com/news/justin-timberlake-attends-marine-corps-ball-165931874.html

 


POLITICS:

Secret Santas Reach Across Senate Aisles

It seems that a little bit of Christmas cheer is all that’s necessary to defuse the partisan bickering on Capitol Hill. Almost 60 senators from both sides of the aisle have signed up to be Secret Santas, The Washington Post’s Reliable Source blog reports.

“We chose Secret Santas,” Sen. Ben Nelson, D-Neb., told the Post.

http://www.newsmax.com/US/Senate-Secret-Santa-Nelson/2011/11/16/id/418257

 


BUISNESS/PRODUCT OF WEEK:

Small Town Teens to the Rescue
A group of teenagers helped save the town of Leeton, Missouri.

http://abcnews.go.com/WNT/video/small-town-teens-rescue-14757652

http://www.leeton.k12.mo.us/bulldogexpress.htm

 
YOU DA MAN:

Adopted dog repays Ohio family by biting burglar
A southwest Ohio couple who adopted a Saint Bernard to save him say he saved their home from burglary a few hours later.

Rubert “Lee” Littler says he was taking Hercules outside Wednesday night when the 135-pound dog started growling, then charged after a man running out of their basement. The dog bit into the man’s ankle as he climbed a fence and got away. Police say the home’s phone and cable lines had been cut.

Lee and Elizabeth Littler brought the dog home from Highland County’s pound less than seven hours earlier. The dog had been found, bloody and dehydrated, by hikers on Oct. 31.

The Littlers tell The Times-Gazette of Hillsboro that they wanted to keep him from being euthanized but now figure he’s earned a permanent home.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2011/11/11/family-adopts-dog-which-then-bites-burglar.html
 

WHAT THE HE**?, ARE YOU KIDDING ME?, AND BUCKEYES

Ohio State’s Gee praised Smith in recent evaluation
Ohio State President E. Gordon Gee hailed Gene Smith as a “role model” in a recent job-performance evaluation, even as the athletic director dealt with escalating fallout from NCAA violations in the football program.

Gee met with Smith a few months ago to discuss his performance for the year ending June 30, said OSU spokesman Jim Lynch. Gee then followed up with a one-page memo to Smith on Oct. 21. Lynch said that is the only written record of the evaluation.

http://www.buckeyextra.com/content/stories/2011/11/17/gee-praised-smith-in-recent-evaluation.html

 


IRONY:

Jay-Z’s ‘Occupy Wall Street’ T-Shirt Won’t Benefit Protestors

Jay-Z is releasing a new line of T-shirts in support of the Occupy Wall Street movement Friday via his Rocawear clothing label, but he doesn’t plan to share any of the profits with the protesters.

The rapper was recently seen wearing one of the shirts, which tweaks the phrase “Occupy Wall Street” by crossing out the “W” and adding an “S” to make it read “Occupy All Streets.” The shirt is currently on sale at theRocawear official website, with a list price of $22.

The protests, which started Sept. 17 in New York, have since spread to Los Angeles and other cities as demonstrators protest corporate greed and corruption.

The Business Insider noted the “irony” in that Jay-Z has no intention to distribute any of the proceeds to protestors.

http://www.billboard.com/column/the-juice/jay-z-s-occupy-wall-street-t-shirt-won-t-1005510362.story 

 


RELIGION:

Church’s ‘gentle worship’ service aids those with special needs

In Marion, Jennifer Emberg wipes away a tear of joy during Emanuel Lutheran Church’s “gentle worship.” With her is her son, Matthew, 9, who has autism. She loves being able to attend with her entire family.

Matthew Emberg, who is 9 and autistic, knew the opening hymn well.
So did Dorothy Simmons, 83, who uses a walker and has trouble standing and sitting repeatedly during church.

After all, the hymn’s a familiar one.
Kumbaya, my Lord, kumbaya.

They joined about 35 others at Emanuel Lutheran Church in Marion yesterday for a “gentle worship” service, intended for people with special needs.

The service, which started in August, is offered the fourth Sunday every month.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2011/10/24/gentle-worship-fulfills-special-needs.html

 
BUCKEYES:

Rumors are swelling that Urban Myer. There seems to be new internet chatter about Urban Meyer coming to Ohio State (scout.com, wikipedia). Rumors saying announced during Duke vs Ohio State Basketball Game on No 29th. When asked by ESPN Meyer declined to comment.

 


SPORTS:

The End of Paterno
“Let me start with this: I am writing a book about Joe Paterno. I am getting paid a sizable amount of money to do so, some of which I plan to donate to the charity of Joe’s choice, some of which I plan to keep. I have been working on this book, on and off, speed bumps and traffic jams, for a couple of years now. I moved away from my family, to State College, for the football season. I had many hard feelings about that. But I believed — as my wife believed — that it was the right thing to do. I came here to write about one of the giants of sports. And my wife and I both felt that the only way to tell the story, for better and worse, was to be around it every day.

The last week has torn me up emotionally. This doesn’t matter, of course. All that matters are the victims of the horrible crimes allegedly committed by former assistant coach Jerry Sandusky. I cannot say that enough times. Sometimes, I feel like the last week or so there has been a desperate race among commentators and others to prove that they are MORE against child molesting than anyone else. That makes me sick. We’re all sickened. We’re all heartbroken. We’re all beyond angry, in a place of rage where nothing seems real. The other day, I called it “howling.” I meant that in the purest sense of the word — crying in pain.

So, two points to get out of the way:
1. I think Joe Paterno had the responsibility as a leader and a man to stop the horrific rapes allegedly committed by Jerry Sandusky, and I believe he will have regrets about this for the rest of his life.

2. Because of this, Joe Paterno could no longer coach at Penn State University.

http://joeposnanski.si.com/2011/11/10/the-end-of-paterno/

 

 

BUISNESS:

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 20,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

 


BOOKING HOLIDAY PARTIES for The remainder of 2011! “Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

We have some events that booked, but can cater to each client and make their day special, and memorable. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s event, a moment to remember. Refer us and receive 15% of contracted rate. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 


HEALTH:

Big employers hike health-insurance premiums for smokers and the obese

More and more employers are demanding that workers who smoke, are overweight or have high cholesterol shoulder a greater share of their health-care costs, a shift toward penalizing employees with unhealthy lifestyles rather than rewarding good habits.

Policies that impose financial penalties on employees have doubled in the past two years to 19 percent of 248 major U.S. employers surveyed recently. Next year, Towers Watson, the benefits consultant that conducted the survey, said the practice — among employers with at least 1,000 workers — was expected to double again.

In addition, another survey released on Wednesday by Mercer, which advises companies, showed that about a third of employers with 500 or more workers were trying to coax them into wellness programs by offering financial incentives, such as discounts on their insurance.

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/insight/2011/11/20/punishing-bad-habits.html

 


SUCCESS:

“A successful man is one who can lay a firm foundation with the bricks others have thrown at him.”—David Brinkley

 


QUOTES:

If you cannot do great things, do small things in a great way 

 

“Let him that would move the world, first move himself.” Socrates

 


CLOSING:

“Your actions, and your action alone, determines your worth.” – Evelyn Waugh

 


TO DO:

Here’s what’s happening in Central Ohio!

FRIDAY:
The Kingston Trio play The Midland Theater

SATURDAY:
Paul Simon plays The Franklin County Veterans Memorial

SUNDAY:
Buddy Guy with Special Guest Michael Williams-play The Midland Theater in downtown Nerk

MORE TO DO:
Friday and Saturday:
Sesame Street Live: Elmo Makes Music
Dates: November 19-20, 2011
Location: Nationwide Arena
www.nationwidearena.com

ALL WEEKEND:
Wildlights at the Columbus Zoo and Aquarium
Dates: November 18, 2011 – January 1, 2012
Location: Columbus Zoo and Aquarium
Hours: Sunday-Thursday 5-9 p.m. Friday-Saturday 5-10 p.m. Closed the evenings of Nov. 24, Dec. 24 and Dec. 25.
Admission: Adults $14. Seniors $10. Children 2-9 $9.
Address: 4850 W. Powell Rd., Powell, 43065
Phone: 614-645-3550, 800-666-5397
Web: www.columbuszoo.org!

 

Holiday Fantasy of Lights at Alum Creek State Park
Dates: November 19, 2011 – January 2, 2012
Location: Alum Creek State Park
Hours: Monday-Thursday 5:30-9:30 p.m. Friday-Saturday 5:30-9:30 p.m. Sunday 5:30-9:30 p.m.
Admission: Pictures with Santa: $5, Car – Monday through Thursday: $10, Car – Friday through Sunday: $15
Address: 3615 S. Old State Rd., Delaware, 43015
Phone: 740-548-4631
Web: www.ohiostateparks.org

FUNNIES:
Brian Posehn, plays The Funny Bone Comedy Club in Easton Town Center

IN THEATERS:
The Family Friendly, and my pick of the week, ‘Happy Feet 2’ rated “PG,” staring the voices of : Elijah Wood, Robin Williams, Hank Azaria, Alecia Moore (P!nk), Common, Brad Pitt, and  Matt Damon
The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part I, rated “PG-13.” AND I can honestly (and NOT proudly) say…it did not suck!
The Descendants, rated “R.” starring George Clooney, Shailene Woodley, Mary Birdsong, Nick Krause, and Judy Greer

ON THE  MUSIC SHELVES:
David Nail  releases, The Sound of a Million Dreams

ONE OF MY FAVORITES
Cross Canadian Ragweed  releases, a Box of Weed [5CD/DVD Box Set]

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Ohio State Pre-Games at AT&T FanZone in front of St. John’s Arena prior to all home games

 

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

 

Novemember 23rd Pre-Turkey Day Party at The Filling Station with my buddy Joey Blayze Covering for me

 

November 24th Flying Feather (Tartan Fields)

November 25 Blue Jackets vs the Buffalo Sabers Black Friday Event

November 27th Blue Jackets Event

November 29-Dec 4th (PRI Racing Event Orlando Florida)

December 3rd Warrior Dash South Florida

December 7-12 NFR Finals in Vegas

December 10th Army vs. Navy Viewing Party (details to come)

December 17th Blue Jackets Holiday Game

December 31st Yogi’s  NYE Party

Filling Station NYE Party

Blue Jackets NYE Game

Follow us:

www.RMsexton.com

www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton

http://www.twitter@mattysexton

http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

November 20, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

