Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May be an anniversary of “the music dying,” BUT “Super” week full of rodents, forgetting the scrapes and bruises of life, and wearing Red

GREETINGS FROM the Home Office in Dublin Ohio, as I pack my bags and head for Marion CountyNot the Marion in, Ohio…but one farther West. I am a little down this week, but I am headed for a “Super” time in Indy, which this weekend will not be home to the Colts and Peyton Manning (who has JUST been cleared by the NFL to play again), but to the Patriots and Giants…as well as lil Bro Eli Manning (Eli despite being in this Super Game, MAY be having a worse week than me?). Speaking of bad weeks…I hope JLS is well on her way to recovery from a recent procedure.

 

Indianapolis is known for The Indy 500, and right now while the weather is nice…it is a lil chilly for those open cockpit, open wheeled pieces of machinery that scream at 260mph in May. This weekend, the Capital of Indiana is hosting the Super Bowl…and I am headed there!!!

 

While this is exciting, this weekend always is kinda a weekend of memories for me. For about a 6-7 year run every Super Bowl Saturday Night I was involved with an event that probably wasn’t as big as I thought…but the memories were huge.

 

What started out as “just a reason to party,” or just for “Shi*s & Giggles” (which was later the name given to the event) became a “Pre Super Bowl Party” for many business owners in Downtown Nerk, as well as many of their friends…who became my friends and even mentors (God help me for some of those influences!)

 

But this event also later lead to being an “Anniversary Party” for my “Florida Mom’s.” Yea there was a lot, er…ok A LOT of food consumed, and I usually blew my diet(s) for the whole weekend while getting ready and tearing down (a process that usually took 45 minutes, ended up taking days?). The highlight of this event every year for me was just being with her, and loved ones on this special day, and so on this Super Bowl weekend…gotta say Happy Anniversary (and I still don’t want to know what “the other” anniversary in December is for!).

 

This group not only taught me a lot, they also opened me up to some great music (and I hope I did for them as well). I am reminded this February 3rd of “a long long time ago, I can still remember how that music made me smile…I knew if I had the chance, that I could make those people dance, and MAYBE they’ed be happy for awhile?” as Don McLean said while nibblin’ on that American Pie. Once I learned the meaning behind the song…I can honestly say “American Pie” changed my life.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CA60B21ZcXs&feature=related (Garth Brooks Tribute to Don McLean-and Don almost didn’t come out on stage in Central Park due to his stage fright. If you watch the video, you can see Garth look over to bring him out, thank God he finally did…and thanx to Garth Brooks, Don McLean’s career was resurrected)

 

On February 3rd 1959 the music community changed and we lost the great Buddy Holly, Big Bopper, and Ritchie Valens. It may be the day after Ground Hog Day…but to many it is the anniversary of the day the music died.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Day_the_Music_Died

 

So thank God I am not flying out of Iowa! But here in the Midwest, there will be thousands walking around in Indy, and Millions rushing around to grab their grub to watch the Big Game at home and abroad. Many at home may be excited to watch the commercials, however there is one player who I am excited to watch rush around, and even just walk onto the field. The New York Giants, and Boston College standout-Mark Herzlich is playing in his first Super Bowl. These are huge accomplishment for ANY ATHELETE, however, Herzlich stands out even more!

 

2 years ago Mark Herzlich was diagnosed with Ewings sarcoma. Doctors said he may not live, let alone walk…or even play football. This athlete not only became an elitist to his field by making the Super Bowl, but also a hero to many by just LIVING, and even walking.

 

Wednesday Herzlich posted: “2 yrs ago I was told I might never walk again. Just WALKED off plane in Indy to play in The #SuperBowl,’’ on Twitter.

 

No matter if you are a Giants or Patriots fan…this is a great story. Read more; http://www.boston.com/sports/football/patriots/articles/2012/02/03/mark_herzlich_cancer_survivor_inspires_at_super_bowl/

 

The man is a true hero. But there are true hero’s off the field of play this Sunday as well. I may wear some Blue, some Silver, and definitely some Red. Not because it will be easy to fit in with Giants and Patriots fans, seeing those are the colors of both teams in this heavily betted game, but because Friday is “Go Red for women.”

 

PLEASE, I encourage everyone…this does not cost a dime, and it is a great sounding board, and even fashion statement…just to get folks to talk about this disease, a disease that is the #1 killer of women. If you are reading this a work, and don’t have any red on, find a red piece of ribbon or tape and pin it to yourself. Maybe go home at lunch and change…or if going out Friday night, wear red then. Just help create a dialog on this disease.

 

Go Red For Women asks people to wear red on Friday
Friday is National Wear Red Day to raise awareness that heart disease is the number one killer of women.
More women die of heart disease than all forms of cancer combined. Unfortunately, heart disease is often silent, hidden and misunderstood. That’s why Go Red For Women is asking women to participate in the 9th Annual National Wear Red Day to make ending heart disease a reality.

http://www.heraldnews.com/news/x1975888656/Go-Red-For-Women-asks-people-to-wear-red-on-Friday#ixzz1lGkRwEbP

 

ALSO, speaking of support, I am looking for 35-50 Bands, DJ’s, and Entertainers to fill over 13.1 miles for the Capital City Half Marathon on Saturday May 5th from (approx 8am-Noon). This is not only a GREAT TIME, but also a chance to get yourself in front of over 12,500 folks and name in 15,000 race packets…and make a couple bucks at an hour of the day you would not be making a dime, all while supporting some folks “running down a dream.”

 

For more information for yourself or band, or if you know of a person who may be interested please contact matt@m3ssports.com

 

I have posted the above on facebook, but after the recent “timeline” changes, I am considering Google Plus more and more over facebook…plus they have a cool commercial
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSsJtzPng5U

 

Feel free to “add me to your “circles?”

https://plus.google.com/i/DvDtX-avFrc:drCIeSSWhT0

 

Been busy this week planning for Capital City Half Marathon, booking 3 weddings, and finalizing some plans with The Blue Jackets. All of this with a very exciting lead on a new project for the fall.

 

BUT this week has NOT been a fun week! I had a major account mislead me, utilize my ideas I had been working on since OCTOBER, tell me a check was in the mail…then back out of the event. This, unfortunately is just part of life, and the game in which this career that has chosen me to do “whatever the hell it is I do.” It IS NOT FUN, and financially it sucks, and actually it is never fun to be told no, or even have someone else do what you want. BUT the upside is, the events that I get hosed on, get bigger and bigger-showing that hard work does pay off and the experiences get bigger-even if they don’t always happen. This is the silver in the lining in the dark clouds.

 

So I have had some down time this week, and there has been a lot of Football reports, like that of Mark Herzlich, but mostly about the battle of two elite quarterbacks, and an Indy quarterback who is not even in the Super Bowl-yet stealing the thunder of his lil bro, a side story I find rather entertaining! The Super Bowl is also filled with some events that some tune into that have nothing to do with the score.

 

Many tune into the Super Bowl, just for the commercials. These commercials have been leaked ALL OVER the internet (I have been trying not to watch, but did break down and watch the Ferris Beuller commercial). Let’s face it there is only so many spins you can watch on the game itself on ESPN, so I decided to have my own week of football with a “Friday Night Lights Marathon” and am happy to report the Dillon Panthers have won the Texas State Championship. Julie and Matt are gonna stay together, Coach Taylor and his wife Tammy are expecting while he goes to TMU to coach…and that was just after The Season One DVD.

 

Also all over the TV on Thursday, Buckeye Chuck did not see his shadow, but Punxsutawney Phil did. I hope that the realm of Furry Rodents will be like the Presidential Race and “as Ohio goes”-showing we will have an early Spring. BUT, to get even with  Punxsutawney Phil (and all his offspring)…I will be eating “Ground” (up) Hog” for the remainder of the week.

 

So yea…been in front of the TV, and trying to find the fun, and other things of life to get my mind off the crap! I did however, have my first run outside in Ohio in many months and shattered my personal best. Somehow I did a 7:21 mile pace (I think the GPS was off a lil). Even if it was technical error, I ran hard…harder than I ever had before. In the past I always held back on my runs (maybe just as in living life period). So it got me thinking, and reading, and reflecting.

 

“Life Begins At The End of Your Comfort Zone.” –Neal Donald Walsch

I mean come on, most of us know how to ride a bike. How did we learn? We learned by finally sucking it up, forgetting all the falls, all the scrapes, and all the bruises and finally go! Even if some of us did it with our eyes closed, being pushed, and screaming all along-making us have a memorable ride, while teaching and laying the skills for many future 2 wheeled journeys.

 

I am ready to get back on my bike this “late” spring (hope Phil, the rodent, was wrong). And despite the setback this week, I am excited about “forgetting all the falls, all the scrapes, and all the bruises” and continue going down my own ride of life. Even if “eyes closed, being pushed, and screaming all along!”

 

I just hope my “rides of life” include some warm weather stops. With all the boots, buckles, and hats while wanting sand and sun, some have said I am a Caribbean Cowboy? While that may have seemed like a slam, I don’t think it is. It is being surrounded by an environment I NEED, with the work ethic I have, and a mindset of livin’ life right. All with a really cool hat!
This week I am travelin’ to Indy, but also those warm vacation spots I have been to, and all those that exist only in my mind that allow me to escape. When doing so I stumbled on this gem, and I got goose bumps!!!


“Seen the false horizons fade away like bisons
Headed for the jungle, cowboy can’t endure
Never look back, that’s what he swore
I’ll take my pony to the shore

Somewhere, somewhere

Take another road to a hiding place
Disappear without a trace
Take another road to another time
On another road in another time
Like a novel from the five and dime
Take another road another time

Follow the equator, like that old articulator
Sail upon the ocean (oooh, sail away) just like Mr. Twain
Never look back, this is my plan
Run my pony through the sand

Somewhere, somewhere

Leave my cares behind
Take my own sweet time 
(take my own sweet time (time))
Ocean’s on my mind
”- Take Another Road Jimmy Buffett, Jay Oliver, Roger Guth

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=avk7j3RTiaA&feature=fvwrel

 

Have a Super Weekend filled with journeys, and even your own escape as you push outside of what we are comfortable with, forgetting the scrapes and bruises of life…just shut your eyes and LIVE! Allow someone to push you…but maybe, be that push for someone else?

 

PLEASE JOIN ME: 

FRIDAY: Join my Crew at The Filling Station for the “All request Dance Party”

 

SATURDAY: Please join my crew providing sound for our buddies, The Filthy Habits at The Loose Goose in Grandview (Grandview Ave, just off 670 behind the new Sunoco station). Can’t make it Saturday; make sure you check this place out. My buddies Zack Zonker, and Joey Blayze also play here!

 

SUNDAY: If you are in Indy, shoot a text and I will give details on where I am


PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of
 our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton

PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?) http://www.rmsexton.com

TIME TO BOOK YOUR 2012 Events
“Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

February 10-11

Be on the lookout for another exciting partnership between Premier Entertainment, SOS AUDIO/RM Sexton Enterprises and, and Silent Disco in the Cincinnati Area.

 

February 14th Join me rocking the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The St. Louis Blues for the Columbus Bi-Centennial Game (Pending)

 

February 18th

Join my Crew rocking the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Chicago Black Hawks

 

Join my Crew at The Detroit Sports Festival (with The Red Wings, The Pistons, The Lions, The Tigers and many more D-Town based sports teams and celebrities)

 

February 19th

My Buddy DJ Detoto kicking the Fashion 5k at The Mall at Tuttle Crossing

 

February 26th

Join my crew and our friends from Premier Sports for the “Last Chance for Boston” marathon in Dublin http://www.premierraces.com/lastchance/lastchance.html

 

March 1

Rock Star Bikini Party The Official Rockstar Bikini Party will be held on March 1, 2012! at: The Vault! 35 E. Gay Street between High St. & 3rd St. Directly across from the Residence Inn.

http://rockstarbikini.com/events.html

 

March 4

My crew rocking the start line for the Arnold Classic Pump & Run (while I am competing in it)

 

March 1-4

More events for the Arnold Classic Weekend, announced soon

 

 

THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:
This week ESPECIALLY!
Difficult times are the greatest opportunities in disguise. When we face difficult times we have to put in determined work to get ourselves into Joy. But let me tell you, when you can get yourself into Joy despite what is happening around you, your life must change – it’s the law! In addition, as you become Joy in difficult times you are becoming the master of your emotions, the master of your life, and the master of the law of attraction. Difficult times are your greatest opportunity to practice yourself into Joy.-From The Secret Scrolls

 
SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:
Really digging this song, melancholy yet somehow…uplifting

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UAsTlnjvetI&ob=av2n

 

WOW…all I can say is WOW

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwLn0NpySIk

 

“it’s my time It’s my life,
I can do what I like
For the price of a smile, I gotta take it to right
So I keep living, cause the feel’s right
And it’s so nice, and I’d do it all again”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=klk8QPcfFYQ

 

Yet…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUe8uoKdHao

 

Just kinda feelin this from one of my favorite albums of all time (think I dig the organ)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RloXtzcCAf8&ob=av2e

Amy has such a soothing voice over the crunchy guitars
http://www.vevo.com/watch/evanescence/my-heart-is-broken/USWV41100052?utm_source=youtube&utm_medium=watch&utm_campaign=myheartisbroken_evanescence

 

 

DID YOU KNOW?:
An average person produces enough saliva over their lifetime to fill up two swimming pools

 
QUESTION OF THE WEEK:
Do you know when the Ohio Presidential Primary is, and when is the deadline to register?

February 6th is the Voter Registration  deadline
http://www.sos.state.oh.us/SOS/elections/Voters/register.aspx

 

Ohio early voting in 2012 presidential race to begin Tuesday; 1 week left to register
Early voting begins Tuesday in Ohio’s March 6 presidential primary.
Registered voters may begin showing up in person to county election boards, and absentee ballots that have already been requested will start being mailed.

Residents have until Feb. 6 to register to vote in the primary, or to submit any name or address changes that have taken place since they last voted. The primary determines the respective Republican and Democratic nominees for office.

Early in-person voting is set to continue until 6 p.m. March 2, the Friday before the election. Locations and hours vary by county.

Requests to vote absentee by mail must be submitted in writing to the county election board by noon on March 3.
http://www.MyOhioVote.com .

 
FUNNY:

The Best Way To Handle A Reporter’s Dumb Question Is To Ask Him About His Wife’s Infidelity
North Carolina dominated NC State last night, which has become something of a theme. The Wolfpack haven’t beaten their I-40 rivals since 2007, so for fan favorite Scott Wood, that’s tantamount to never.

“How frustrating is it to have never beaten North Carolina?” a reporter asked Wood after the game. That’s a close cousin to those awful “how does it feel” questions, which only deserve your scorn. But Wood fired back with “I don’t know.

 

Has your wife ever cheated on you?”

Deathly pause.

“That’s probably about how frustrating it is.”
And, scene.
http://deadspin.com/5879910/

 

 

HELP:
Please take a moment and vote for my buddy, David Heasley for Columbus Music Awards Best Photographer. David, and Cover Photography, take some of the best pixx in town, and even can make me look good.

 

In addition to working magic with a lens, he is also one of the best dudes in town. Please vote for my buddy at the following http://thecolumbusmusicawards.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=category&id=12&Itemid=97

 

Voting is officially opened for the 2012 “Infinity Coaches’ Charity Challenge”, a competition between 48 of the top college basketball coaches in the nation. This year, Coach Thad Matta has been selected for the challenge, and we are thrilled to support him! As a part of the promotion, each coach has been asked to select a charity, and we are excited to announce that Coach Matta has chosen Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio! If we help Coach Matta receive the most votes, a donation of $100,000 will be given to RMHC of Central Ohio!

 

RIGHT NOW THAT TEAM FROM UP NORTH IS WINNING!

Fan participation will determine the ultimate winner over an eight-week period beginning January 18th by registering and voting on a custom microsite on www.ESPN.com/Infiniti.  For the first six weeks, four brackets of 12 coaches will be paired against each other, with the winners from each group moving onto the next round in week seven and the final round in week eight.  Fans can vote for up to four coaches per day.  The winning coach will be announced March 9, 2012.

Here is what we need you to do:
1. Go to ESPN.com/Infiniti and vote for Thad Matta in the Midwest Region
2. If you already have an ESPN account, submit your username and password. If you do not, you will need to register. It’s a very simple process.
3. Share this with all of your friends
4. Repeat steps 1 – 3!
Thank you all for your support. Together we can help Coach Matta win and earn $100,000 for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio.

 

 

MUST WATCH:

Sometimes…just a lil hug is all that is needed? I was having a rough day on Thursday and was reminded first hand of this, but the video SCREAMS even louder than the dog.

http://www.godvine.com/Meet-the-Scared-Dog-That-Only-Wanted-a-Hug-1087.html

 

GREAT READ:

Forget Networking. How to Be a Connector
We all know people like them, people who seem to know everyone. They’re always able to help — or if they can’t, they know someone who can. You meet them for the first time and in 15 minutes, you’re talking with them like you’re childhood friends. They’re successful, smart and funny, with a likable touch of self-deprecation. And they’re interested in everything.

Who are they? Connectors. Take Maryam Banikarim, senior vice president and chief marketing officer at Gannett, publisher of USA Today. She has a perfect job for a connector — she helps link Gannett’s various newspapers and media outlets “and bring the pieces together.”

“I like people and am genuinely curious,” says Banikarim, 42. “I like stories and want to make connections. But I didn’t know the word for it until my husband read Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point and said, ‘I finally have a word for you — a connector.’ ”
http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/222707

 

 

PASSING:
The entertainment community has lost some legends this week

This week we lost Don Cornelius of “Soul Train.”

 

Rest in Peace Don. You opened this white kid, with no soul up to a new kind of music that I could not get anywhere else in Nerk Ahia (except 6am on syndication on Saturday Mornings).

 

May you now forever have Peace, Love, and SOOOOUUUUUuuuullllll
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=nFRy4f73HTg

 

And we also lost Robert Hegyes, who played the Jewish Puerto Rican wisecracking student Juan Epstein on Welcome Back Kotter.

 

But just this week I have just found out that mid January the broadcast community, and Central Ohio lost another…one who I looked up to not just for his size, his power in the community, or even cause he wrote a me a paycheck at one point in my career. WE have lost Bob Pricer, longtime WCLT owner, Military Hero, community activist…and someone who scared the sh*t out of me.

 

Robert “Bob” Pricer was remembered as a legend, a hero and, most of all, as humble.

“I know he really loved this community and he touched a lot of lives in it on a lot of different levels,” his son Doug Pricer said. “… But he never did things for accolades. He said, ‘Doug, you do this because it was the right thing to do.’”

http://www.newarkadvocate.com/article/20120109/NEWS01/120109016/Longtime-WCLT-owner-Robert-Pricer-dies

 

I am lucky to have know Bob. But even more lucky to know OF BOB. Bob didn’t do many things for his own benefit, or want anything in return. He gave to Big Brothers Big Sisters, and was a major supporter of other community organizations. Bob was a Big Man with a bigger voice. The man had a voice that while was gentle, was very strong and powerful. At one time while working for the station, I was running the Sunday morning church services. There was a problem with one of the audio feeds from the church. Almost 20 years later, I still don’t know if it was my fault or the church…but I knew dead air was bad! So I put in a “reel to reel” full of music, (for those that don’t know this is, a reel to reel is like a giant cassette tape, for those who don’t know what that is…picture 2 ipods spinning next to each other and somehow playing music). So music was playing-but not a church service. The phone rang and I thought it was my supervisor Tim calling to help me (I had paged him), but no…it was a very deep, commanding voice that subtly, and directly said “turn this sh*t off and fix it, now!” Needless to say I somehow got it fixed. Bob never later said anything to me, and never said who he was, but just from the voice, I knew. I also made sure that the following week, I recorded the church service and had it “stashed” in case this problem happened again.

 

I was also asked to do a commercial with Bob. The commercial was Holiday related, and Bob was the voice of Santa Claus. He was the perfect Santa. His voice alone demanded respect but also had a soothing comfort behind it. This was in addition to his size that also had the same effect. My parents, and MANY others had later relayed to me that for many years, and as was stated by those much older than me “back when I was a kid,” Bob played Santa as the Licking County Courthouse was lit. After all those years though…you would have thought he could have got it to light up before the 3rd try? So when recording this commercial I thought it was SO COOL, until I learned while Bob was the voice of Santa…I was the elf!

 

Bob was always friendly to me and everyone I saw him encounter, even if you knew not to mess with him. He always seemed to have a sh*t eatin grin on his face (one in which he earned) and ALWAYS said hello to me, even at a restaurant when with his wife who hated me! Bob was a silent hero in the military and has a story about being a French German American Triple Spy that is SO OUT THERE, it HAS to be true (and a movie!).

 

Bob  not only lives on in ALL who he touched, and many organizations (many we probably won’t know). But Bob also lives on in his son Doug, a person who in some ways has mentored me far beyond what he will ever know. Bob was a great community leader, hard worker, and family man. All traits I see in Doug as he runs WCLT, and raises his son Nick.

 

I have JUST learned that Bob passed back in January and while I am sadden that he is gone, and I am embarrassed I was not  in town, nor did I know and reach out to a family that means so  much to me.


 

BIRTHDAY/ANNIVERSARY:
’78 blizzard remembered
Area residents share stories of fright, adventure
Neil Pierce was afraid for his grandfather’s life.
It was January 1978, and he and his grandfather had plowed through a steep snow bank on the family’s 360-acre Perryton farm on a tractor. Because of the bone-chilling temperatures and snow, they had to pump the oil wells on their property to heat their home.

Once they hit the snowbank, Neil’s grandfather couldn’t go on.

“We got about halfway back and ran into a big snowbank,” Pierce said. “He looked at me and said, ‘I can’t make it back; it’s too far to walk.’ That scared me, when he said, ‘I can’t make it back.'”
http://www.newarkadvocate.com/article/20080121/NEWS01/801210303/-78-blizzard-remembered-nbsp

 

 

ENTERTAINMENT:
“Bing!” here is a lil gift on this Groundhog day week for ya! Even if your name is not “Ned, Ned Flanders?!?”

(The complete Bill Murray movie)

http://www.youtube.com/movie?v=_2OSZV8OlN4&ob=av1n&feature=mv_sr

 

MAYBE if the Da*n Ground Hogs weren’t yelling they wouldn’t have gotten scared and run back inside?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F0BfcdPKw8E&feature=related

 

A lil fun at The Ground Hog Expense?

http://www.miniclip.com/games/whack-a-ground-hog/en/

 

6 more weeks of winter Phil?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bv87T1CQF8E

 

“But Sir if we kill all the Golphers we could go to jail”

“That Gophers you idiot!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gf3QIkQRGtI

 

“So? So let’s Dance”….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4xuZMpmXtc&feature=related

 

MUSIC:
Is Music Piracy Really ‘The New Radio’? Yes and No
Canadian folk-rocker Neil Young is making waves this week after telling reporters at a conference that piracy is “the new radio.”

“It doesn’t affect me because I look at the Internet as the new radio. I look at the radio as gone,” said Young (via The Telegraph). “Piracy is the new radio. That’s how music gets around … That’s the radio. If you really want to hear it, let’s make it available, let them hear it, let them hear the 95% of it.”

If that makes you want to fist pump in solidarity, riddle me this: If we suddenly made music piracy — I realize that’s “public music sharing” for some of you — as legal as waking up in the morning, do you think anyone would spend a penny for music (not concerts, but the songs themselves) ever again?

I have a lot of respect for both Neil Young’s music and his politics, and I’m sympathetic to the principle behind what he’s getting at here (“share the world, man!”) but given the way the U.S. economy currently works, I can’t say I’m with him on this one.
http://techland.time.com/2012/02/02/is-music-piracy-really-the-new-radio-yes-and-no/#ixzz1lFZxQJpy

BOOKS:

‘Mr. G: Creation story” Alan Lightman
The central character of the provocative new Alan Lightman novel existed long before our universe came into being — although long might be the wrong word because he hung around for a while before inventing time.

When the novel opens, Mr. g is drifting through the Void, occasionally in the company of his disheveled Aunt Penelope and kind Uncle Deva. Slightly bored, he invents time, music and space, then begins spinning out billions of universes — “throbbing spheres, distended ellipsoids, gyrating cosmoses thrashing with energy.”
http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/life_and_entertainment/2012/01/29/creation-story-mixes-science-and-religion.html

MILITARY:
NOT a great story of what is happening…but an amazing story of heroism

Recognition Sought for Soldier’s Heroic Acts
When the roadside bomb detonated, it ripped through the fuel tank of the Bradley Fighting Vehicle and ignited like napalm. The seven men seated inside were knocked unconscious and had no chance to escape the fire.

But the gunner, Sgt. 1st Class Alwyn Cashe, managed to crawl out of the burning wreckage. Wounded and drenched in diesel fuel, he pulled the Bradley’s driver from his seat before the flames reached there, dragging him to safety.
And then he went back.
http://www.military.com/news/article/recognition-sought-for-soldiers-heroic-acts.html#.TybPIvfOwA0.facebook

 
POLITICS:
Too Funny, (and probably true) not to share

http://www.someecards.com/black-history-month-cards/obama-romney-gingrich-black-history-month-funny-ecard

 

BUT…Jesse Jackson is OUT OF LINE on this one!

Jesse Jackson says GOP demonizing rhetoric will cause Obama assassination
“John Kennedy was demonized. He’s the guy who imposed himself on the south. He intervened. It’s called an interposition. In the end this demon was shot.”

On MSNBC’s Martin Bashir Show Jesse Jackson claimed Governor Brewer’s finger pointing and Congressman West’s comments leads to enraging masses against the President. Jackson then speculates that these masses will turn violent and lead to the assassination of President Obama.

http://www.610wtvn.com/cc-common/news/sections/newsarticle.html?feed=104668&article=9701420&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+wtvnnationalnews+%28WTVN-AM+%28National+-+National+News%29%29

 

 

BUISNESS/PRODUCT/IDEER OF WEEK:
Like a real life Monopoly Board Game
I was originally gonna make fun of this one…until watched. This is the American Dream, and it is along with this town, is dying.
Michigan town for sale
Pontiac, Mich., no longer supported by GM plants, is struggling to stay afloat. In the face of huge budget deficits, the town is now selling off everything, including City Hall. NBC’s Kevin Tibbles reports.

We learned today the u.s. economy continuing to grow now, though it’s a slower pace than expected. Gross domestic product bumped up 2.8% in the final three months of 2011. That’s disappointing to some economists who have been looking for 3% growth. When companies have large inventories, they produce less in the future, which could mean slower growth and fewer American jobs .

 

The city of Pontiac, Michigan, used to stand for American manufacturing. So much so, it gave its name to a great line of automobiles. Well, they don’t make Pontiacs any more, and tonight we’ll show you what has become of Pontiac, Michigan, where the GM plants there are gone and the city is taking extreme measures to stay afloat, selling everything down to and including the walls.

 

Today in Pontiac, Michigan, you can buy the police station, library, golf course , cemetery, even city hall .
…so far, nothing’s sold.
http://video.msnbc.msn.com/nightly-news/46169922#null

 

 

YOU DA MAN-well woman!:

Faith voices cheer Komen cutoff of Planned Parenthood
Faith voices and anti-abortion rights groups cheered Wednesday after the Susan G. Komen Foundation announced it would no longer provide funds for breast cancer screening at 19 U.S. Planned Parenthood affiliates.

The last hurrah, however, may go to Planned Parenthood. Tait Sye, a spokesman for the agency, said Wednesday afternoon that “more than $400,000 from 9,000 donors came in the last 24-hour period.” Add that to a $250,000 “Breast Health Emergency Fund” from Texas oil executive Lee Fikes and his wife, Amy, and the group is closing in on the $680,000 it received from Komen in 2011.

But that won’t quell the excitement among Komen supporters who oppose Planned Parenthood.

http://content.usatoday.com/communities/Religion/post/2012/02/planned-parenthood-komen-breast-cancer/1

 

 

HOW ABOUT SOME MORE ESTROGEN FUELED FIRE? This chick is awesome (and hot!)

Georgia’s Anna Watson Is College Football’s Strongest Female Cheerleader
It’s one thing for professional athletes to have to make an ethical decision about using steroids, but college cheerleaders?

Anna Watson has to be America’s strongest female cheerleader; the University of Georgia student loves spending time in the weight room, and it certainly shows. But she has more important things in her life: Watson passed up a big money fitness modeling contract because she refused to use a legal steroid.
“It’s an elite position to be a cheerleader at UGA,” Watson told Red and Black, her school’s award-winning student newspaper. “They have hundreds of girls try out, and to be selected out of all of those people to be on the team, it’s kind of a big deal. So those girls were very humble and gracious and patient to help me just learn the basic stuff.”

Watson has been cheering since age 5. She can bench press 155 pounds, squat 255 pounds and dead lift 230 pounds. According to the school newspaper, she added an impressive four inches of muscles on her arms in just 10 months.

A deeply religious junior exercise and sports science major, Watson was on the brink of a $75,000 fitness-modeling contract that could have set her up for a lifetime career in modeling — but she turned it down.

Why?
http://www.thepostgame.com/blog/training-day/201201/college-footballs-strongest-cheerleader

UMMM?:

Woman Dumps Man Because He Has Cancer, Still Wants His Super Bowl Tickets
John Wessling and Anson Ainsworth, radio show hosts in Houston, pass along this incredible story of bitchiness and greed. Jason Elia, a television writer living in

Nashville, went to the trouble of getting Super Bowl tickets for himself and his girlfriend and was even going to propose to her at the game on Christmas, but life got in the way. He was diagnosed with bladder cancer and upon hearing the news, his girlfriend apparently dumped him on the spot.

Now, she still wants the tickets because she claims they were purchased with her in mind.
http://deadspin.com/5880284/

 
WHAT THE HE**?:
I could never have gone to school here

Pennsylvania Middle School Bans Boots

A ban on “open top” boots at Pottsdown Middle School in Pennsylvania is not a protest against fashion.

In a letter sent home to parents from principal Gail Cooper Wednesday, “open top boots” are banned in classrooms starting next Monday because students have been bringing in contraband items in their boots.

“Following several problems with these items, I have banned the outdoor, open top boots from our classrooms,” the letter stated. Under this rule, the ban would include the popular Uggs. “Students may continue to wear outdoor boots to and from school to protect them from cold, snow and ice but need to change into a pair of sneakers or shoes before entering homeroom.”

Students have been mainly hiding cell phones in their boots, John Armato, director of community relations for the Pottstown School District, told ABC News. The possession of personal electronic devices in school, including cell phones, is not permitted. Students must keep their devices in their lockers between 7:55 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. If a student decides to text or a phone goes off, these types of events are causing disruption to a positive education atmosphere, Armato said.

http://news.yahoo.com/pennsylvania-middle-school-bans-boots-211312705–abc-news.html?fb_action_ids=3169584196614%2C2599439306746%2C2438152484980%2C2438151724961%2C2438142524731&fb_action_types=news.reads&fb_source=other_multiline&code=AQCHr_B75A2KQ17iPMjnIHB9sobyBhEZtW9n5FZOBAdDWHqTt3cr-U3BlHYntLgdHZAaQwWHokwr3zLPk4nN2FkVS2OCCIqdaUbYBdN-CqeAADNw4p-EFCJZ14JcS-r4aA8VifjQtJINfZ9WT-ZDY-HUQK_UHF6svELOfJezI7yV_vfqiOi-aNjreMIXdVG-6mI#_=_

 

 

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?:
While it is an issue…don’t they have more to worry about?

Sugar should be regulated like alcohol, tobacco, commentary says

Should the government regulate sugar, just like it regulates alcohol and tobacco?
A new commentary published online in the Feb. 1 issue of Nature says sugar is just as “toxic” for people as the other two, so the government should step in to curb its consumption.

The United Nations announced in September that chronic diseases like heart disease, cancer, and diabetes contribute to 35 million deaths worldwide each year, according to the commentary. The U.N. pegged tobacco, alcohol, and diet as big risk factors that contributed to this death rate.
http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-504763_162-57369857-10391704/sugar-should-be-regulated-like-alcohol-tobacco-commentary-says/

 

 

SPORTS:

Exclusive: Here Are Plans For A New Professional Football League, Run By Former NFL, XFL, And USFL Executives

The document below is a November confidential summary obtained by Deadspin of something called the Spring Professional Football League, which presents itself as a non-hostile NFL alternative, to be built on the bones of the several leagues that have tried and failed before.

According to its own forecasts, the SPFL, whose management includes a number of former XFL and NFL Europe executives, will debut in 2013 with eight teams playing a 14- to 16-week season. The summary lists the cities under consideration as New York, Washington, Memphis, Orlando, Charlotte, Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Denver, Dallas, Phoenix, Houston, Los Angeles, and Seattle. Teams would be centrally owned by the league, a la Major League Soccer.
http://t.co/3qykQdgG

 

LOCAL SPORTS:

Pataskala’s Shank Racing wins Rolex 24 at Daytona
The little team with no pedigree knocked off the big boys with all those championships.

Michael Shank Racing of Pataskala did it with a pair of drivers hoping Sunday’s victory in the Rolex 24 at Daytona is the kickoff to their career comebacks.

NASCAR driver AJ Allmendinger closed out the twice-around-the-clock win by piloting the No. 60 Ford Riley for the final stint, a nearly three-hour drive that included some door-to-door banging with Allan McNish for the lead.

It was Allmendinger’s first win in a major series in almost six years, and comes about a month after he landed the job of a lifetime with Roger Penske’s NASCAR team.

“It’s just indescribable,” team owner Shank said on his website,www.michaelshankracing.com, about the win. “I don’t know what to say. I’m just so happy to be here — just thankful for the guys that do all the work for us, that hung in with us for those years and it all paid off today.
http://www.newarkadvocate.com/article/20120130/SPORTS/201300317/Pataskala-s-Shank-Racing-wins-Rolex-24-Daytona?odyssey=tab|topnews|text|Frontpage

 
BUCKEYES:

New one becomes great, and a former great goes back home

Barely 2 months after his hiring, Ohio State’s Urban Meyer grabs 25 recruits, has top-5 class

When opposing recruiters brought up Ohio State’s bowl ban and other problems, new Buckeyes coach Urban Meyer fought back.

“It was a two-week assault,” Meyer said after signing 25 players in what many experts have termed a class that is top-5 in the country. “But instead of waiting for that to come, we went after it. We were extremely pro-active.”

Despite a 2012 bowl ban, NCAA probation and recruiting limitations, the forced resignation of Jim Tressel and the most losses (seven) for the Buckeyes since 1897, Meyer’s first recruiting class was an unqualified success.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/colleges/barely-2-months-after-his-hiring-ohio-states-urban-meyer-grabs-24-recruits-has-top-5-class/2012/02/01/gIQA9AbSiQ_story.html

Tressel headed back to Akron in non-coaching role
Former Ohio State head football coach Jim Tressel has been hired at the University of Akron in an administrative role.

Tressel, who received a graduate degree from Akron in 1977, will not work in the athletic department. He was named vice president of strategic engagement, a newly-created position that will seek to improve student life and promote community outreach at the Ohio school.
http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/sns-tsn-abn-tressel-akron-p1-20120202,0,4191997.story

 

 

RELIGION:
Actually just a good thought on not judging

A doctor entered the hospital in hurry after being called in for an urgent surgery. He answered the call ASAP, changed his clothes and went directly to the surgery block.

He found the boy’s father going and coming in the hall waiting for the doctor. Once seeing him, the dad yelled:
“Why did you take all this time to come? Don’t you know that my son’s life is in danger? Don’t you have the sense of responsibility?”

The doctor smiled and said:
“I am sorry, I wasn’t in the hospital and I came the fastest I could after receiving the call…… And now, I wish you’d calm down so that I can do my work”

“Calm down?! What if your son was in this room right now, would you calm down? If your own son dies now what will you do??” said the father angrily

The doctor smiled again and replied: “I will say what Job said in the Holy Bible “From dust we came and to dust we return, blessed be the name of God”. Doctors cannot prolong lives. Go and intercede for your son, we will do our best by God’s grace”

“Giving advice when we’re not concerned is so easy” Murmured the father.

The surgery took some hours after which the doctor went out happy, “Thank God! Your son is saved!”

And without waiting for the father’s reply he carried on his way running. “If you have any question, ask the nurse!!”

“Why is he so arrogant? He couldn’t wait some minutes so that I ask about my son’s state” Commented the father when seeing the nurse minutes after the doctor left.

The nurse answered, tears coming down her face: “His son died yesterday in a road accident, he was in the burial when we called him for your son’s surgery. And now that he saved your son’s life, he left running to finish his son’s burial.”

NEVER JUDGE ANYONE because you never know how their life is and as to what is happening or what they’re going through.

 

How about one for just letting in be in God’s Hands?

Me: God can I ask you a question?
God: Sure.
Me: Promise you won’t get mad?
God: I promise.
Me: Why did you let so much stuff happen to me today?
… … … God: What do you mean?
Me: Well, I woke up late,
God: Yes.
Me: My car took forever to start,
God: Okay, …
Me: at lunch they made my sandwich wrong & I had to wait,
God:Huummmm…
Me: on the way home, my phone went DEAD, just as I picked up a call…..
God: All right ~
Me: And on top of it all off, when I got home ~I just want to soak my feet in my new foot massager & relax. BUT it wouldn’t work!!! Nothing went right today! Why did you do that?
God: Let me see, the Death Angel was at your bed this morning & I had to send one of the other angels to battle him for your life. I let you sleep through that~
Me (humbled): OH
God: I didn’t let your car start because there was a drunk driver on your route that would have hit you if you were on the road.
Me (ashamed)………
God: The first person who made your sandwich today was sick & I didn’t want you to catch what they have, I knew you couldn’t afford to miss work.
Me (embarrassed):Ok
God: Your phone went dead because the person that was calling was going to give false witness about what you said on that call, I didn’t even let you talk to them so you would be covered.
Me (softly): I see, God~
God: Oh and that foot massager, it had a shortage that was going to throw out all of the power in your house tonight. I didn’t think you wanted to be in the dark.
Me: I’m sorry God.
God: Don’t be sorry, just learn to trust me…..in all things, the good & the bad.
Me: I will trust you~
God: And don’t doubt that my plan for your day is always better than your plan.
Me: I won’t God. And let me just tell you God, thank you for everything today.
God: You’re welcome child. It was just another day being your God and I love looking after my children…

FINANCE/BUISNESS:
People Who Quit Their Jobs and Made Millions
Have you ever wished you could just quit your job and follow your dream? While reality gets in the way for many, there are some who have taken the chance and ditched their steady paychecks in order to turn their business ideas into reality.

Success is by no means guaranteed, but for the lucky ones the decision to say “I quit” has been handsomely rewarded. With hard work and determination, they’ve been able to turn their ideas into booming businesses.

The following people quit their jobs and went on to make millions, whether it was creating personal wealth or revenue for their company.

I wonder when I will be added to this list?
http://finance.yahoo.com/news/people-who-quit-their-jobs-and-made-millions.html

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 25,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

BOOKING EVENTS FOR 2012! “Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

HEALTH:
If any young lady wants to get me an early Birthday present…feel free to hit the gym?

Kate Beckinsale Glute Workout: Build Buns Like Beckinsale
I personally like her eyes…but

 

Kate Beckinsale is known for kicking butt, but she’s equally admired for her own great glutes. Kick @ss in the gym with this Kate-inspired posterior chain workout!

As vampire death-dealer Selene in the Underworld series, Kate Beckinsale kicks so much @ss she might as well buy in bulk. If Costco sold butt, Beckinsale would buy it and kick it. Unlike peers from other vampire franchises, Beckinsale doesn’t needlessly opine, pine for lost loves, or shimmer in sunlight. Instead, she dodges bullets, smashes faces, flashes fangs, bites the foolish, and slings death in a skin-tight, all-black leather suit.

As film critic Michelle Alexandria of Eclipse Magazine notes, “She doesn’t whine, moan, or sparkle — she just kicks the butt of anyone who screws her over.” That’s our kind of girl at Bodybuilding.com.

She looks great doing it, largely due to a strong lower body and a dangerous, feminine physique. Even if you’re not an Underworld fan, Beckinsale is a role model for those in the business of building a better booty. Of all the silver-screen queens, she has one of the most powerful posterior chains: sculpted glutes, toned hamstrings and a strong back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUcrbUCWKQc&feature=player_embedded

Bodybuilding.com – Kate Beckinsale Glute Workout: Build Buns Like Beckinsale
http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/build-buns-like-beckinsale.html?mcid=facetraining

 

ALSO

15 Ways To Eat Healthy Without Breaking The Bank

I am very committed to eating really healthfully and feeding my family as much nutritious food as possible. Many people complain to me that they can’t buy fresh, organic food because it’s too expensive. It’s interesting to me that 100 years ago we spent twenty-five percent of our disposable income on food and now we only spend ten percent. Furthermore, we’re actually consuming more food than before, while getting fatter and sicker. But I do think we’re starting to make the connection that we have a lot of cheap food in this country, and that cheap food has hidden costs—to our physical bodies, as well as the environment.

How can we eat healthfully without breaking the bank? Although they may not work for everyone, here are the strategies I have used over the years to allow me to eat the way I want and stay within my budget:

1. Cook from Scratch
2. Have a Plan
3. Bulk Bins
4. Case Discounts
5. Shop the Salad Bar
6. Eat Seasonally
7. Great Deals on the Web
8. Farmers Markets
9. Cut Back on Meat
10. Prioritize What is Important to Buy Organic
11. Nutritional Bangs for the Buck
12. Skip Prewashed Salad, Precut Vegetables
13. Drop the Canned and Bottled Beverages
14. Ethnic Markets
15. Purchase Store Brands
http://www.positivelypositive.com/2012/01/30/eat-well/

 

 

THIS IS JUST PURE AWESOMENESS:

I made a traffic stop on an elderly lady the other day for speeding on MN State Highway 210 at Mile Marker 197 just East of McGregor, MN.I asked for her driver’s license, registration, and  proof of insurance. The  lady took out the required information and handed it to me. In with the cards I was somewhat surprised (due to her advanced age) to see she had a Conceal Carry Permit. I looked at her and ask  if she had a weapon in her possession at this time. She responded that she indeed had a .45  automatic in her glove  box. Something—body  language, or the way she said it—made me want to ask if she had any other firearms. She did admit to also having a  9mm Glock in her center console. Now I had to ask one more time if that was all. She responded once again that she did have just one more, a .38 special in her purse. I then asked her what was she so afraid of. She looked me right in the eye and said, “Not an f’ing thing!”
http://www.longislandfirearms.com/forum/m-1325347111.90008/

 

INSPIRATION:.

“When you are Inspired by a Great Purpose, Everything will Begin to Work for You.” ~Wayne Dyer
SUCCESS:

Know Your Teammates: Leadership Lessons from the Super Bowl Quarterbacks

Tom Brady and Eli Manning will square off this Super Bowl Sunday as the two quarterbacks tasked with leading their teams to a championship. Brady and Manning both possess many leadership and athletic qualities that have led them to the top of their sport and to this game. However, one of the primary skills of each of these quarterbacks is an in-depth knowledge of his teammates, and in particular the receivers who are supposed to be on the other end of the quarterback’s passes. That knowledge allows these two elite quarterbacks to play at the highest level and make the people around them better, which is an essential leadership skill in football or business.

In the case of Tom Brady, we can compare the style and preferences of the three receivers to whom he threw most often this season. His favorite target this season has been Wes Welker, who is relatively short but is a rare breed of receiver who prefers to run across the field and make the tough catch. Welker is also a prolific pass catcher who finished this season with the fourth highest number of receptions in a single season in NFL history. Brady knows that when he throws to Welker, he can throw across the middle and expect Welker to gain some additional yards after the catch. Deion Branch, on the other hand, is a more traditional wide receiver who can run a wide variety of routes including the deep pass. Branch, who was the Super Bowl MVP in 2005, has very good hands and Brady can throw him the ball further down field than he can to Welker. The third member of Brady’s preferred cadre of offensive weapons is Rob Gronkowski, the tight end in his second professional season. Gronkowski is part of a new breed at his position who possess basketball style athletic ability and is a prolific receiver. When Brady is throwing the ball to Gronkowski, he can throw a pass up high that Gronkowski can jump for, but he also knows that Gronkowski creates match-up problems for the defense downfield with his particular strengths.

The quarterback on the other sideline in Sunday’s game faces a similar challenge. Eli Manning’s two favorite targets this season have been Hakim Nicks and Victor Cruz. Cruz and Nicks both caught passes for over 1,100 yards this season and were a prolific offensive duo. This pair of receivers divided the defensive secondary and created match-up problems due to their distinct advantages. Nicks, a third year receiver from the University of North Carolina, is one of the bigger and stronger wide receivers in the NFL, and he is able to use that strength and his jumping ability to be a big play threat down field for deep throws from Manning. Cruz is more of a traditional “possession-style receiver” who is able to accumulate a large numbers of yards after he catches the ball due to his athletic ability. When Manning is throwing to either one of these receivers, he knows their distinct advantages on the defense and how to exploit these core capabilities.

Both Brady and Manning, as leaders for their organizations, must have a solid understanding of their teammates in order to lead effectively. This same dynamic presents itself in the business world. Whether you lead a small or large team, the first key to be successful is an awareness of your “teammates” and the distinct strengths that they bring to the table. For example, if you know that one of your colleagues is an inspirational public speaker or has a skill for innovative thought and thinking outside of the box, you would want to try and position that person on particular projects or tasks where they could take advantage of this skill.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/karlmoore/2012/02/02/know-your-teammates-leadership-lessons-from-the-super-bowl-quarterbacks/

 

QUOTES:

“Dude you look so much smaller than I am used to seeing you” (said to me last Friday, while it was a compliment…it did bother me a lil).
CLOSING:

Many friends have been sick the last few weeks, and while I like the warmer weather…when it turns to normal seasonal temps and conditions it destroys my sinus’. This was a great quote I found ‘It’s no longer a question of staying healthy. It’s a question of finding a sickness you like.’

 

 

TO DO:

FRIDAY:
Anthrax and Testament with Death Angel play The LC, Lifestyle Communities

The Led Zeppelin Tribute Band, Zoso plays The Newport Music Hall

 

SATURDAY:

My buddies, Downplay rock The Newport Music Hall

The Blackpack presents “S.E.L.L.O.U.T!” at The Midland Theater

MORE TO DO:
SATURDAY:
Wendy’s Chili Open at The Columbus Zoo and Aquarium. My buddy Woody Johnson from WCOL 92.3 and Dom Tiberi from WBNS 10TV, serve up Food from more than 25 local restaurants, music from The Debits, silent auction/raffles, and numerous activities for children will take place at the “Children Open,” which will be held in the Zoo’s Activity Pavilion. The Westerville Sunrise Rotary Club organizes and runs the event, so 100% of the proceeds benefit for Central Ohio Children’s Charities. For more info  www.columbuszoo.org

FUNNIES:
FRIDAY:

John Morgan plays  All Weekend at The Columbus Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

IN THEATERS:
Based on a true story of perseverance no matter how BIG the problem is and how small you feel, Kristen Bell , Drew Barrymore, and John Krasinski star in ‘Big Miracle’ rated “PG.”
‘Chronicle’ is just a fun movie as three high school students make an incredible discovery, leading to their developing uncanny powers beyond their understanding. Chronicle is rated “PG-13.”

This is a must watch video on a viral effort to promote Chronicle

http://news.moviefone.com/2012/01/31/chronicle-new-york-city-stunt_n_1243699.html

‘Woman in Black’ is a terrifying dark movie starring “Mr. Harry Potter,” Daniel Radcliff, rated “PG-13.”

DVD:
Ryan Gosling stars in ‘Drive’ rated “R.”

 

‘The Hammer’ is based on the life of the UFC fighter, Matt Hamill, ‘The Hammer’ is a coming of age drama about the first deaf wrestler’s journey to win a National Collegiate Championship.

 

Justin Timberlake stars in ‘In Time’ rated “PG-13.”

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

February 10-11

Be on the lookout for another exciting partnership between Premier Entertainment, SOS AUDIO/RM Sexton Enterprises and, and Silent Disco in the Cincinnati Area.

 

February 14th Join me rocking the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The St. Louis Blues for the Columbus Bi-Centennial Game (Pending)

 

February 18th

Join my Crew rocking the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Chicago Black Hawks

 

Join my Crew at The Detroit Sports Festival (with The Red Wings, The Pistons, The Lions, The Tigers and many more D-Town based sports teams and celebrities)

 

February 19th My Buddy DJ Detoto kicking the Fashion 5k at The Mall at Tuttle Crossing

 

February 26th

Join my crew and our friends from Premier Sports for the “Last Chance for Boston” marathon in Dublin http://www.premierraces.com/lastchance/lastchance.html

 

March 1

Rock Star Bikini Party The Official Rockstar Bikini Party will be held on March 1, 2012! at: The Vault! 35 E. Gay Street between High St. & 3rd St. Directly across from the Residence Inn.
http://rockstarbikini.com/events.html

 

March 4 my crew rocking the start line for the Arnold Classic Pump & Run (while I am competing in it)

 

March 1-4 more events for the Arnold Classic Weekend, announced soon

 

Follow us:
www.RMsexton.com
www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

February 3, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

