Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Take care of ourselves, and others (those around us, and those we miss) and celebrate our failures

GREETINGS FROM the Houston Rodeo as I am just getting here after a late start out of Atlanta. I think out of the 35-45 times I have flown through Atlanta, I have been on time once or twice!

 

Even though this and many other delays are frustrating (btw this one was due to having to fix “a tray table” yep the same type of tray table that is needed for things like typing this-is it REALLY that necessary?) But not all things I encountered on planes and in airports are bad. Last week I was fortunate enough to see some “guardian angels” do what they are trained to do, just this time in their “everyday life.”

 

Last week when flying back from Atlanta (yes was delayed coming home from the ATL then as well) there was a gentleman in the isle next to me. He was a heavy set, middle aged black male, and didn’t say anything to anyone, so I assumed he was by himself. During the “beverage service” (cause that is needed for a 1 hour flight?!?!?) the stewardess approached him and asked if he wanted anything. I was typing a report, but noticed and thought he was kinda rude not to reply, but I just sighed and went on my way. A few minutes later I heard the person next to him ask a few times “Are you ok? Sir are you ok?!?!”

 

Ok this kinda got my attention, but I have found keeping to myself during flights keeps people from talking to me, and keeps me from SCREAMING at dumb a**es who don’t know how to travel. So I continued to type away, but looked to my right…I did do a double take!

 

The black male who was heavy set did not look right. He was staring straight ahead with a blank stare, sweating profusely (wow spell check caught that one!), kinda shaking, and his round face had his eyed almost protruding out (kinda looked like a pug). The stewardess’ were awesome. They secured him right away, calmly asked if a paramedic or medical person was on board, and tried to get him to respond. Since I am nowhere near a medical expert, or even a “Doctor” of love…I went back to typing to try to stay out of their way. The stewardess’ also notified the captain of a “medical situation” and “we may need to land”-oh great I had a full day back in Ohio, and I just wanted to get home.

 

Two people came to aid the person in the isle next to me. One a male who was there first, and another a female who arrived second. The male, switched places with the guy directly between the now “patient” and himself, and began talking to the patient. The female was kneeling in the isle between us-ya know, now that I think about it, when I stand in the isle I get yelled at!

 

They both went through all the things they (I guess) were trained to do to assess a situation. The male was taking the lead and barking answers to the female. They assessed the man was in a diabetic episode and asked the stewardess for some kit, oxygen, and sugar “lots of sugar!”

 

The kit arrived and they did something to him with an object in it. What that was, I don’t know…I was typing. They then got him some oxygen from a portable tank. The tank could not reach from the isle to the patient, so I get “hey arms can you hold this?” Usually I am honored when someone notices I work hard in the gym…BUT I WAS TYPING! So I was now involved in this, and well, I couldn’t type anymore because my laptop had fallen when they brought the oxygen. So I am now not a business person working on a flight, but a good Samaritan?

 

They worked on the guy and gave him a cup of water , and what was deemed “all the sugar on board.” They made a “syrup” out of the water and sugar and forced it down his throat, followed by some orange juice. Now if you add some type of alcohol this could be an amazing drink!

 

They got the guy back, and “coached” him into calming down until we landed and he was carted off by medical personnel when we pulled into the gate. We found out he was fine, and had just had a diabetic complication. I am using some humor in the story cause it actually was scary and now that I know he is fine, I can find some laughable moments in what happened.

 

So I got to see someone make his way through what could have been a life altering (ending?) situation “saved” by “two everyday” people or in this case guardian angels…and one guy just trying to type a report?

 

We find out that the male who was helping was a nurse, and the female he was barking to was a Doctor. I found this very funny, and wondered how many times prior the roles had been reversed.

 

I also started to worry. I saw firsthand how diet and exercise, if not followed can have MAJOR health complications that not only effect the person who is consuming the poor diet, and not exercising, but in this case all of us on a plane. I have a family member who has just been diagnosed with Diabetes. He does not exercise, and can go through a pint of ice cream quicker than me (that is saying a lot). After I was in awe of watching the man on the plane be “brought back,” I began to get pi**ed off!

 

Each of us can prevent this type of situation, by just eating and exercising “smart.” I saw firsthand what my gym workouts can prevent, and I guess I now will try to bring that to someone else to prevent this from happening to anyone I know.

 

So this guy was reported fine and made it, but this week we did lose some folks.

 

In the past couple of weeks we have lost Whitney Houston and a few more. Some of those “more” were 7 brave Marines killed in Arizona during training missions, and few dozen overseas fighting the war on terror.

 

Some are saying that the loss of Whitney is being overblown, and there are some nasty jokes being made (even if funny). Some say the lives of those Marines and other military should be honored more than Houston. Some think that Whitney Houston was a one of a kind entertainment that should be remembered and honored for her role in the entertainment world. I think all may be right.

 

ALL LIFE is precious and valuable. We all should honor those who risk their lives so that we can have our everyday freedoms, and honor someone who has a great gift that can inspire and even entertain us. BUT no life should be condemned just because the media makes it a front page story, just as no life is less important because a liberal media agenda does not want to honor our heroes who are no longer with us!

 

In all cases of death there are family members, friends, and loved ones who are grieving for the loss of someone they cared about. These people are missing someone…

 

I find myself doing that every day as well. Some are people from history books who inspire me, others are in fact entertainers who are no longer here, some are Brave Men & Women who I did not have the honor of meeting-but thankful for their service, others like my Grandma are no longer here physically but live on in my heart and my memories, while others are in fact here but not in my everyday life.

 

I miss people every day, those who are on this earth, and those who are not. These people I wish I could share some of the amazing experiences I am blessed to encounter. One person I miss daily is here on this great earth, but not in my life. She is celebrating a special day this week, and I do not have the honor of sharing it with her. This makes me miss her even more;

 

“Missing someone isn’t about how
long it’s been since you’ve seen
them last or the amount of time since
you’ve talked. It’s about that very
moment when you’re doing something,
and you wish that they were right
there with you.”

 

So as I celebrate the birthday of my friend who I AM missing, we also had other events that are back that I have missed to celebrate. One, Pitchers and Catchers reported to Spring Training and the Boys of Summer are ready to make their return! I would also say celebrating the return of NASCAR, but I don’t want to play into any Red Neck comments. BUT in addition to the “Heartland” sport of NASCAR, and “America’s Pastime” (Baseball) returning, we as a country had a 3 day weekend to celebrate 2 GREAT Presidents in Lincoln and Washington with Presidents Day (more than a 3 day weekend, or an excuse to buy a new recliner).

 

I found this article and found it to be very inspiring:

President’s Day & what we can take from it
When one stops & thinks of the 44 Presidents we have had, & a little trivia; we have had actually 45 Presidencies because Grover Cleveland served two separate non-consecutive terms. Now despite the fact in my life time I did not vote for a couple of them, but I do honor the office, & appreciate the fact someone wants to enter into the only grueling career path other than the Music Industry (LOL) & have their lives totally upheaval in order to be called “President” is an honorable task.

I would have to say my favorite is Abraham Lincoln & here is why: YEARS OF FAILURES or SETBACKS 1832 Lost job Defeated for state legislature 1833 Failed in business 1835 Sweetheart died 1836 Had nervous 1838 Defeated for Speaker Nominated for Illinois House Speaker 1840 Argues first case before Illinois Supreme Court 1843 Defeated for nomination for Congress 1849 Rejected for land officer Admitted to practice law in U.S. Supreme Court Declined appointment as secretary and then as governor of Oregon Territory 1854 Defeated for U.S. Senate Elected to Illinois state legislature (but declined seat to run for U.S. Senate) 1856 Defeated for nomination for Vice President 1858 Again defeated for U.S. Senate and in 1860 Elected President !


Now in-between all that “failure” he did see many success that pen will not allow me to post, but here is the moral of the life of a great man: “…Failure + Failure + Failure = SUCCESS!!
I wake up every single day of my life not afraid of FAILURE, I wake up every single day AFRAID that I may sub come to QUITING!! Now the chances of that happening are slim to none, BUT it is one of my greatest FEARS! Each day I remind myself of our 16th President & what he went through to lead this great Country, along with other mentors in my life that did not know the meaning of QUIT! I also remind myself if I QUIT, I may be responsible for leading someone else down that path, & THAT IS JUST UNACCEPTABLE IN MY LIFE!! Pass it forward with Hope! Cheers! doc

I follow up my buddy doc’s words above;
The right to life means that a man has the right to support his life by his own work (on any economic level, as high as his ability will carry him); it does not mean that others must provide him with the necessities of life. | The Virtue of Selfishness, 97 

 

So this weekend enjoy those around you, and YOURSELF! Take care of your health so that others won’t “miss you.” Take care of friendships so you won’t find yourself “missing someone.” Work hard to achieve success and learn from the failure. Hell, celebrate the failures!!! Celebrate those around you, as well as yourself!

 

For ANYONE in a Band AND DJ’s. I am looking for a large number of bands, and DJ’s to play an early morning event on Saturday May 5 from (approx 8am-Noon). There is pay involved, and minimal to no work with exposure to over 15,000 people!!! If you or anyone you know is interested please email me at matt@m3ssport.com.

 

 

PLEASE JOIN ME: 

FRIDAY: Join my Crew at The Filling Station for the “All request Dance Party”

 

SUNDAY: Join my crew and our friends from Premier Sports for the “Last Chance for Boston” marathon in Dublin http://www.premierraces.com/lastchance/lastchance.html

 

PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton

PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?) http://www.rmsexton.com

TIME TO BOOK YOUR 2012 Events
“Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

March 1
Join ME at The Arnold Classic, Rock Star Bikini Party-The Official Rockstar Bikini Party will be held on March 1, 2012! at: The Vault! 35 E. Gay Street between High St. & 3rd St. Directly across from the Residence Inn.
http://rockstarbikini.com/events.html

March 4
My crew rocking the start line for the Arnold Classic Pump & Run (while I am competing in it)

March 1-4
More events for the Arnold Classic Weekend, announced soon

March 9
Please join ME, and my buddies, Lt. Dan’s New Legs at The Miracles & Magic: Opening Night Party at the LC Pavilion on Friday, March 9 with bigger plans and more amazement than ever before! World-class sleight-of-hand illusions in a private show or at your cocktail table alongside other unique entertainment and surprises. For more info: www.MiraclesAndMagic.com

 

March 10
Join my crew, and The Reaganomics at The St. Patrick’s Day 4 Miler at Kinsale. Produced by M3S Sports, this event running and walking event slightly veiled as a reason to party over a four-mile course through the neighborhood around the beautiful Kinsale Golf and Fitness Club. For more info: http://www.m3ssports.com/events/st-patricks-day.htm

 

Roar into the Irony Pony, and watch the Daytona Supercross Speedvision Broadcast LIVE Super Cross on our Jumbo Screen while rockin’ and “rollin” along inside the store with the season debut of the newest products and apparel!
https://www.ironpony.com/news.asp

March 11
Join me as I rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The St. Louis Blues

 

MARCH 17 (St. Patty’s Day!)

Two Pending Bar Events

 

MARCH 23

Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Hurricanes

 

MARCH 30

Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Panthers

 

MARCH 29-30

Join my crew and Get down with Saint Agatha’s at the grooviest
70th party ever. We’ll be celebrating all things 70s, with all of the proceeds from ticket sales,
our silent auction and the live auction going to support our school.
Can you dig it at Monsignor Kennedy Parish Hall

MARCH 30-APRIL 1st

I AM ROCKING THE NCAA FINAL FOUR, In New Orleans!!!

 

 

THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:
As we are heading into March, the Month of The Irish, many are celebrating ‘The Godfather (movie) 40th Anniversary,’ and millions tune into Jersey Shore every week; just remember no one wants to be Christopher Columbus on Columbus Day, but “everyone” is Irish on St. Patty’s Day!

 
SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:
I had this EXACT conversation this week, and found this great version of a classic!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YtXUr17-JEA&feature=related

 

Great version of one of my favorites
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=L-LU4tNKddE#!

 

Even at his age…Mick is STILL FUNKY!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=JWaR29_sMrs#
I got goose bumps from this remake
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u9lEd5bIbbQ

 

My kinda “Party Rock”
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uwNIMM4qnrI

 

 

DID YOU KNOW?:
The more you practice willpower to control one behavior, the more it applies itself to other parts of your life: http://t.co/qfBXya0h

 
QUESTION OF THE WEEK:
“…we all are a work in progress, the question is what kind of material are we using in building the work”? -doc

 

 

IRONIC:

Man suffers heart attack while eating “Triple Bypass” burger at Heart Attack Grill

“Doctor” Jon Basso thought “Nurse” Bridgett was kidding when she informed the Heart Attack Grill owner that a customer was suffering some medical difficulties in the dining room.

The situation was, in fact, as serious as a heart attack. FOX5 News Las Vegas reports that this past weekend, a man in his 40s began experiencing chest pains while consuming one of the restaurant’s signature 6,000 calorie “Triple Bypass” burgers. Basso, who is not a medical professional, called 911, and EMTs and paramedics arrived on the scene quickly.

The customer – or “patient” as they are referred to at the restaurant, which moved from Chandler, Arizona to Las Vegas last October – is reportedly alive and recuperating. Sadly, that’s not the case for the restaurant’s 575-pound spokesman, who died last March at the age of 29.
http://eatocracy.cnn.com/2012/02/15/man-suffers-heart-attack-while-eating-triple-bypass-burger-at-heart-attack-grill/

 

 

HELP:
Voting is officially opened for the 2012 “Infinity Coaches’ Charity Challenge”, a competition between 48 of the top college basketball coaches in the nation. This year, Coach Thad Matta has been selected for the challenge, and we are thrilled to support him! As a part of the promotion, each coach has been asked to select a charity, and we are excited to announce that Coach Matta has chosen Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio! If we help Coach Matta receive the most votes, a donation of $100,000 will be given to RMHC of Central Ohio!

 

Help put Coach into the Final 4

Fan participation will determine the ultimate winner over an eight-week period beginning January 18th by registering and voting on a custom microsite on www.ESPN.com/Infiniti.  For the first six weeks, four brackets of 12 coaches will be paired against each other, with the winners from each group moving onto the next round in week seven and the final round in week eight.  Fans can vote for up to four coaches per day.  The winning coach will be announced March 9, 2012.

Here is what we need you to do:
1. Go to ESPN.com/Infiniti and vote for Thad Matta in the Midwest Region
2. If you already have an ESPN account, submit your username and password. If you do not, you will need to register. It’s a very simple process.
3. Share this with all of your friends
4. Repeat steps 1 – 3!
Thank you all for your support. Together we can help Coach Matta win and earn $100,000 for Ronald McDonald House Charities of Central Ohio.

 

 

MUST READ:

Are We Raising a Generation of Helpless Kids?

When a college freshman received a C- on her first test, she literally had a meltdown in class. Sobbing, she texted her mother who called back, demanding to talk to the professor immediately (he, of course, declined). Another mother accompanied her child on a job interview, then wondered why he didn’t get the job.

A major employer reported that during a job interview, a potential employee told him that she would have his job within 18 months. It didn’t even cross her mind that he had worked 20 years to achieve his goal.

Sound crazy?

Sadly, the stories are all true, says Tim Elmore, founder and president of a non-profit, Growing Leaders, and author of the “Habitudes®” series of books, teacher guides, DVD kits and survey courses. “Gen Y (and iY) kids born between 1984 and 2002 have grown up in an age of instant gratification. iPhones, iPads, instant messaging and immediate access to data is at their fingertips,” he says. “Their grades in school are often negotiated by parents rather than earned and they are praised for accomplishing little. They have hundreds of Facebook and Twitter ‘friends,’ but often few real connections.”
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/Mickey-goodman/are-we-raising-a-generati_b_1249706.html?ref=fb&src=sp&comm_ref=false

 

PASSING:
THE OSBOURNES’ BULLDOG LOLA PASSES AWAY

Anyone who ever watched ‘The Osbournes,’ the reality tv show based around the life of rockstar Ozzy Osbourne and his family, knows how much the Prince of Darkness and his gang love their furry friends. There was always a cavalcade of four-legged furfaces running around, most notably their beloved bulldog Lola.

Some sad news to report, Jack Osbourne took to Twitter last night to announce the passing of Lola Osbourne at the age of 12.
http://loudwire.com/the-osbournes-bulldog-lola-passes-away/

BIRTHDAY:
My friend who changed my life and I miss everyday-JMI

 

Since mine is next week…if looking for something to get me?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150635053212859&set=a.10150634971052859.414262.94603757858&type=1&theater 

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150634971522859&set=a.10150634971052859.414262.94603757858&type=1&theater 

 

 

ANNIVERSARY:

Do you believe in Miracles?

On February 22, 1980, the United States Olympic hockey team pulled off one of the greatest upsets in sports history, defeating the Soviet Union, 4-3.

Back in 2005, ESPN replayed this game and the gold medal game against Finland as part of the 25th anniversary of these Olympics. Everyone has their own story to tell about where they were or what they were doing during this game. I encourage all of you to tell your story or stories below. Now, because I was born in 1994, I don’t have a story to tell, but I will tell you my father’s story. He had the flu and wasn’t really feeling well, so he didn’t watch the game. In fact, he even asked his roommate to turn the volume down on the TV.

Al Michaels and Ken Dryden on the call.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qYscemhnf88&feature=youtu.be

 

 

ENTERTAINMENT:
The Biggest Loser Contestants: On Strike!

Contestants on this season of The Biggest Loser have a weighty issue with NBC.
Those remaining on the reality competition have actually walked off the set and are threatening to collectively quit because they learned producers were planning to bring back former contestants to compete for this season’s $250,000 grand prize.

This is not an atypical move in the world of reality TV, of course, but this season’s hopefuls all find it unfair that past losers are now being given a chance to become winners again.
NBC has not commented on the situation, and production has been suspended for a few days, but season 12 contestant John Forger tells TMZ this season’s competitors are missing the point of their participation.
http://www.thehollywoodgossip.com/2012/02/the-biggest-loser-contestants-on-strike/#ixzz1nG4rLsAP
MUSIC:
Miranda Lambert Upset Over Chris Brown’s Recent Success

It’s been 3 years since R&B / pop singer Chris Brown famously assaulted his (now ex) girlfriend Rihanna, on the eve of The GRAMMY Awards. Brown faced felony charges over the incident, publicly apologized numerous times, and took a hiatus from music to focus on his anger-management rehabilitation and re-vamping his image. At this years GRAMMY Awards, Brown came back with a vengeance, performing twice and taking home the award for best R&B Album. Rihanna even seems to have forgiven the singer as he appears on the new remix of her track “Birthday Cake.” Although those two seem to have moved past the incident, Brown is making headlines in the country world as superstar Miranda Lambert has been very vocal over the last week with her anger over his success.
http://www.countrymusicislove.com/2012/02/miranda-lambert-upset-over-chris-browns-recent-success.html

BOOKS:

“Purpose Driven Life”-Rick Warren
It is the Lenten season (and no I don’t mean a time period where the lint things in the dryer is not cleaned), it is a 40 day period for sacrifice, and betterment. I have this book with me at all times.
A groundbreaking manifesto on the meaning of life.

The most basic question everyone faces in life is Why am I here? What is my purpose? Self-help books suggest that people should look within, at their own desires and dreams, but Rick Warren says the starting place must be with God and his eternal purposes for each life. Real meaning and significance comes from understanding and fulfilling God’s purposes for putting us on earth.
The Purpose-Driven Life takes the groundbreaking message of the award-winning Purpose-Driven Church and goes deeper, applying it to the lifestyle of individual Christians. This book helps readers understand God’s incredible plan for their lives. Warren enables them to see the big picture of what life is all about and begin to live the life God created them to live.

The Purpose-Driven Life is a manifesto for Christian living in the 21st century…a lifestyle based on eternal purposes, not cultural values. Using biblical stories and letting the Bible speak for itself, Warren clearly explains God’s five purposes for each of us:
* We were planned for God’s pleasure, so your first purpose is to offer real worship.
* We were formed for God’s family, so your second purpose is to enjoy real fellowship.
* We were created to become like Christ, so your third purpose is to learn real discipleship.
* We were shaped for serving God, so your fourth purpose is to practice real ministry.
* We were made for a mission, so your fifth purpose is to live out real evangelism.

This long-anticipated book is the life-message of Rick Warren, founding pastor of Saddleback Church. Written in a captivating devotional style, the book is divided into 40 short chapters that can be read as a daily devotional, studied by small groups, and used by churches participating in the nationwide 40 Days of Purpose campaigns.

 
MILITARY:
THIS IS AWESOME!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=l7GFo1U5kew#!

POLITICS:
‎”I have been advocating for us to stop Iran for 8 years, and even Bush opposed me and of course Barack Obama did. I have always also said that if you want the right position on foreign policy just do the opposite of what Joe Biden does, you will be right every time.”-Rick Santorum

 

Obama doesn’t accept responsibility for gas prices
President Obama does not “accept responsibility” for high gas prices, his spokesman indicated today, arguing that Obama has done everything he could to bring down the price of oil and blaming the high gas prices on oil price increases caused by global factors.
http://campaign2012.washingtonexaminer.com/blogs/beltway-confidential/obama-doesnt-accept-responsibility-gas-prices/388946

 

 

YOU DA MAN:

Site Unseen: Red Sox Spring Training Park Gaffe

Sure the Chicago Cubs can’t compete with the Red Sox most seasons, but a fan of the lovable losers just pulled of a World Championship move in cyberspace.

Boston’s beloved baseball team is moving into JetBlue Park this spring in Ft. Myers, Fla. The new crown jewel of the Grapefruit League cost an estimated $78 million to build … but they probably wish they’d spent a few more bucks.
http://www.thepostgame.com/blog/travelers-check/201202/cubs-fan-wins-gigabyte-glory

 

Kidnapping survivor Elizabeth Smart gets married in Hawaii
Elizabeth Smart, who was kidnapped at age 14 from her Salt Lake City home and held for what she described as “nine months of hell,” married her fiancé in Hawaii on Saturday, surrounded by only immediate family.

Smart, 24, and Matthew Gilmour became engaged in January, initially announcing a summer wedding. According to the Smart family spokesperson, NBC station KSL of Salt Lake City reported, those plans changed a week ago in order to avoid attention to the unscheduled ceremony in the Laie Hawaii Temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Oahu.
http://usnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/02/18/10445305-kidnapping-survivor-elizabeth-smart-gets-married-in-hawaii

 

 

WOW!

Witness The Most Disastrous Conversation In Texting History
http://www.happyplace.com/14359/witness-the-most-disastrous-conversation-in-texting-history

UMMM?:

Danica Patrick found her street car isn’t so practical
As she approaches age 30, Danica Patrick is going conservative.
Well, sort of.

She’s still attempting a bold career move by trying to win Sunday’s Daytona 500. In her personal life though, she barely ever whips around anymore in her silver Lamborghini Gallardo. (Retail price: about $202,000. Horsepower: about a million.)

“I don’t drive it much at all really,” Patrick said.
More From Dan Wetzel

The problems are myriad: potholes, parking and nowhere to put her black coffee when she’s running errands in Scottsdale, Ariz., where she lives with her husband.
“I just needed something more practical,” Patrick said. “It sounds stupid but there are no cup holders in my Lamborghini.
http://sports.yahoo.com/nascar/news?slug=dw-wetzel_danica_patrick_lamborghini_mercedes_022012

WHAT THE HE**?:
5-Year-Old Brings Gun To Daycare
Police said that a child brought a handgun to a Toledo daycare, 10TV News reported on Wednesday.

The 5-year-old boy told police that he found the gun in the grass behind the apartment where he lived.

The boy allegedly told police that he thought the gun was a lighter and even told his mother about it.

The daycare spotted the child showing friends the unloaded gun and confiscated it.

Police were called, but officers said charges were not likely to be filed.
http://www.10tv.com/content/stories/2012/02/22/toldeo-boy-brings-gun-to-daycare.html

 
ARE YOU KIDDING ME?:
2 charged in death of girl forced to run

 

Roger Simpson said he looked down the road and saw a little girl running outside her home but didn’t give it another thought. Police, however, said the man witnessed a murder in progress.
Authorities say 9-year-old Savannah Hardin died after being forced to run for three hours as punishment for having lied to her grandmother about eating candy bars. Severely dehydrated, the girl had a seizure and died days later. Now, her grandmother and stepmother who police say meted out the punishment were taken to jail Wednesday and face murder charges.
http://news.yahoo.com/2-charged-death-ala-girl-forced-run-082216169.html

 

 

NUH UH!?!?

”Do Fairies live at the bottom of your garden?

Maybe not anymore but a recent discovery would suggest that they probably did. What appear to be the mummified remains of a fairy have been discovered in the Derbyshire countryside. The 8inch remains complete with wings; skin, teeth and flowing red hair have been examined by anthropologists and forensic experts who can confirm that the body is genuine. X-rays of the ‘fairy’ reveal an anatomically identical skeleton to that of a child. The bones however, are hollow like those of a bird making them particularly light. The puzzling presence of a navel even suggests that the beings reproduce the same as humans despite the absence of reproductive organs.

The remains were discovered by a local man, who wishes to remain anonymous, while walking his dog along an old roman road situated between the Derbyshire villages of Duffield and Belper. The area has long been shrouded in mystery with tales of ghostly highwaymen and strange ‘dancing’ lights on warm summer evenings.

“I was walking along the lane at a point which passes an old Iron Age barrow (burial mound) when my dog began to bark and act rather strangely. He was barking in the direction of the barrow and would not go anywhere near it which was strange as we walk past it almost every day. I was curious and approached the mound to see what could be disturbing him and it then I noticed something odd…..in the side of the barrow, a fissure as if a section of ground had subsided or opened up. The crack measured about 2ft long and 1ft wide and looked to have been formed recently as I had never seen it before. I knelt down and looked inside the dark hole. The hill seemed to be hollow like a cave as I could feel a cool draught against my skin. I used the small led torch on my car keys to see if I could see anything in the darkness. It was at this point I saw something that startled me, 2 or 3 feet in front of me I could see a human like form only this was much smaller.
My initial instinct was to call the police as I thought it may be the body of a small child but as I looked closer I could see that this was not the case. It was too small and more importantly, it had what appeared to be wings! Not want to touch it I used a stick to carefully drag it out and picked it up in one of the dog’s poo bags (empty of course).”

He immediately called his wife stating he had found something ‘unbelievable’ and asked her to bring a camera and a box immediately.“When I first arrived I could hear the dog barking from some distance, I had no idea what he had found. As I approached the barrow I could see my husband crouched down looking at something on the floor. “What have you found?” I shouted, “See for yourself” he said. I looked down and saw a tiny but perfect mummified human body with hair, dark brown skin and more disturbingly, wings. “I know what it looks like”, he said “but how can it be? And there’s not just one, I’ve had another look inside that hole in the ground and there are more!”

The body was taken home in a biscuit tin and kept in a garage overnight. The following day the local police were informed and the remains were taken away for analysis. As a local expert on the paranormal I was approached by the police for my advice although this was kept rather quiet to avoid ridicule and press attention. I was taken to the location by the man who originally discovered this amazing find. On closer inspection the barrow appears to contain more that 20 fairy bodies all in varying states of mummification.

The dry cave like interior has preserved the remains to such a degree that some bodies even have tiny finger nails and eye brows. I have returned since then to document the find as much as possible. On one particular occasion I was shocked to discover that some attempt had been made to reseal the barrow but by whom?

The site appears to be a burial ground for fairy folk and the exact location of the find has not been revealed and no further remains have been removed from the mound. It has not been substantiated how long the remains have been there although the state of mummification would suggest more than 400 years. The countryside could be strewn with hidden burial mounds which have lain undiscovered for centuries. How could such creatures exist without detection for so many years? Cryptozoologists who have examined the remains suspect they have evolved to suit their surrounding so well they would be virtually invisible to the naked eye. Their wings and skin pigment would camouflage them extremely well and they would most probably live in the tree tops and rarely venture down to ground level. In winter they would probably retreat underground into cave networks. Whether they still exist is another question but the remains found in Derbyshire have laid thousands of years of folklore to rest.”

 

 

SPORTS:

ESPN Fires Lin Headline Writer
ESPN hasn’t always been quick to admit and rectify its mistakes. But in the 36 hours after the racially insensitive headline “Chink in the armor” appeared on its mobile website about Jeremy Lin, the Worldwide Leader issued a strongly-worded apology and now has handed out punishments.

In a “Follow-up statement and action” released Sunday morning, ESPN announced the following:
At ESPN we are aware of three offensive and inappropriate comments made on ESPN outlets during our coverage of Jeremy Lin.
http://www.thepostgame.com/blog/daily-take/201202/espn-fires-lin-headline-writer

 
BUCKEYES:

Dissecting the Buckeyes’ basketball team

Based on last year’s success and the spotlight that came with it, there were certain things we knew about this year’s Ohio State basketball team before the season even started.

We knew that Jared Sullinger was pretty darn good. We knew that William Buford was going to get his shots and make his share, and that Buford also would be streaky. We knew that Deshaun Thomas was going to get his shots, too, and might even make Buford look shy. We knew that Aaron Craft would be a steady leader and a great defender.

We knew that Ohio State would miss the shooting and experience of Jon Diebler and David Lighty. We knew that Thad Matta had young talent on hand ready to step up, but that talent — including Thomas, to an extent — was unproven. We also knew that Matta preferred a short rotation, especially in big games.

Now, with just three games left in the regular season, we know No. 9 Ohio State is easy to read in some regards and very difficult to read in others.
http://www.foxsportsohio.com/02/23/12/Dissecting-the-Buckeyes-basketball-team/landing_ohiostate.html?blockID=672680&feedID=4015

 

 

RELIGION:
“Nothing is exciting if you know what the outcome is going to be.
You keep wanting to know how things will play out, keep asking to see the future. God doesn’t give anyone the power to know the future, because life becomes maddeningly boring when you know everything upfront. So, instead of struggling, enjoy the uncertainty – to be alive means to not know.”

 
LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 25,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

BOOKING EVENTS FOR 2012! “Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT
Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

HEALTH:
Just Sayin’…

5 Health Benefits of Masturbation

“Just a sec, babe . . . I, er, have to check on my stocks!”
A new survey from adult product peddler AdamandEve.com reveals that 27 percent of Americans admit to masturbating once or twice a week.

That number seems suspiciously low to us, especially since science has shown that being master of your domain can provide additional feel-great benefits. (Also because the people surveyed were browsing an adult toy website.) “Masturbation is part of a healthy sex life,” says Gloria Brame, Ph.D., a clinical sexologist. “It’s totally safe and harmless. It’s healthier than brushing your teeth every day.”
http://news.menshealth.com/masturbate-every-day/2011/12/29/?cm_mmc=Facebook-_-MensHealth-_-Content-Sex-_-ReasonstoMasturbate

 

 

INSPIRATION:.

Yes, I believe hard work, passion, giving and “GRACE is the path out of “hell”- Tony Robbins

SUCCESS:
“Success is not achieved by winning all the time. Real success comes when we rise after we fall. Some mountains are higher than others. Some roads steeper than the next. There are hardships and setbacks but you cannot let them stop you. Even on the steepest road you must not turn back.” – Muhammad Ali

 

Success in life comes not from holding a good hand, but in playing a poor hand well.

 

Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later. ~Og Mandino

 

QUOTES:

“Doesn’t matter if glass is half empty or full, what matters is whether you have a glass” Octavia Spencer

 

CLOSING:

“No problem is permanent.” Weather tough times and the “winter” seasons of your life.- Tony Robbins

 

In quietness and in confidence shall be your strength….

 

 

TO DO:

SATURDAY:
Jane’s Addiction plays The LC, The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion

Young The Giant plays a SOLD OUT Newport Music Hall

The Robert Cray Band plays the historic Midland Theater in Nerk Ahia

SUNDAY:
I have not seen him in awhile I guess “I miss Billy The Kid”, Billy Dean plays Fairfield Union
MORE TO DO:
ALL WEEKEND:

Central Ohio Home & Garden Show at The Ohio Expo Center. For more info: www.ohioexpocenter.com

FUNNIES:
ALL WEEKEND:

Jake Johannsen  plays all weekend at The Columbus Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

IN THEATERS:
The romantic comedy, ‘Wanderlust’  starring Paul Rudd and Jennifer Aniston. Rated “R.”

The thrilling ‘Gone starring Amanda Seyfried , rated “PG-13.”

 

It isn’t a great movie, but a very cool event ‘Act Of Valor’ starring active Navy Seals rated “R.”

DVD:
Clint Eastwood directs Leonardo DiCaprio and Naomi Watts in ‘J. Edgar’ rated “R.”

‘Tower Heist’ is an action packed comedy rated “PG-13,” starring Ben Stiller , Ferris Beuhler, Eddie Murphy , Casey Affleck , Téa Leoni , and Alan Alda

Based on a true story, ‘The Mighty Macs’ follows the story of  Cathy Rush, a women’s basketball coach in the early ’70s. Macs is rated “G.”

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town

March 1
Join ME at The Arnold Classic, Rock Star Bikini Party-The Official Rockstar Bikini Party will be held on March 1, 2012! at: The Vault! 35 E. Gay Street between High St. & 3rd St. Directly across from the Residence Inn.
http://rockstarbikini.com/events.html

March 4
My crew rocking the start line for the Arnold Classic Pump & Run (while I am competing in it)

March 1-4
More events for the Arnold Classic Weekend, announced soon

March 9
Please join ME, and my buddies, Lt. Dan’s New Legs at The Miracles & Magic: Opening Night Party at the LC Pavilion on Friday, March 9 with bigger plans and more amazement than ever before! World-class sleight-of-hand illusions in a private show or at your cocktail table alongside other unique entertainment and surprises. For more info: www.MiraclesAndMagic.com

 

March 10
Join my crew, and The Reaganomics at The St. Patrick’s Day 4 Miler at Kinsale. Produced by M3S Sports, this event running and walking event slightly veiled as a reason to party over a four-mile course through the neighborhood around the beautiful Kinsale Golf and Fitness Club. For more info: http://www.m3ssports.com/events/st-patricks-day.htm

 

Roar into the Irony Pony, and watch the Daytona Supercross Speedvision Broadcast LIVE Super Cross on our Jumbo Screen while rockin’ and “rollin” along inside the store with the season debut of the newest products and apparel!
https://www.ironpony.com/news.asp

March 11
Join me as I rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The St. Louis Blues

 

MARCH 17 (St. Patty’s Day!)

Two Pending Bar Events

 

MARCH 23

Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Hurricanes

 

MARCH 30

Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Panthers

 

MARCH 29-30

Join my crew and Get down with Saint Agatha’s at the grooviest
70th party ever. We’ll be celebrating all things 70s, with all of the proceeds from ticket sales,
our silent auction and the live auction going to support our school.
Can you dig it at Monsignor Kennedy Parish Hall

MARCH 30-APRIL 1st

I AM ROCKING THE NCAA FINAL FOUR, In New Orleans!!!
Follow us:
www.RMsexton.com
www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

February 24, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

