Djmattsexton’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Busy weekend being a kid again with memories of a movie

GREETINGS FROM backstage at The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion as I get ready for sound check at the Miracles and Magic 10 year kick-off party supporting A Kid Again.

 

It is going to be a busy weekend for us with; Miracles & Magic, an Iron Pony Event, The St. Paddy Day Kinsdale 4 miler, an event with Big & Rich at Ford Field, and Jackets game on Sunday.

 

I guess this weekend more than many you could say…”We’re comin to yer city!”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d5LlkvWexvA&ob=av2e

 


PLUS this weekend we “Spring Forward” for Daylight Savings Time this weekend. That means when you go to bed Saturday you set your clock ahead by 1 hour. Here are some tips to help deal with the loss of sleep:
1. Tonight and tomorrow night try to go to bed 15 minutes earlier;

2. The week of the time change (all next week), stop drinking caffeine at 1:30p;

3. Be sure to exercise during the week for better sleep quality;

4. Get lots of exposure to sunlight the morning after the time change to help reset your body clock.

 

PLEASE make your way to the LC on Friday

Miracles & Magic: Opening Night Party – 10 Year Celebration Friday
* 6:30pm until 12:00am
The Miracles & Magic: Opening Night Party is back at the LC Pavilion on Friday, March 9 with bigger plans and more amazement than ever before! See world-class sleight-of-hand illusions in a private show or at your cocktail table alongside other unique entertainment and surprises that can ONLY be seen at this annual event. We hope you will join us for a night full of cause and celebration featuring fine food, drink and music!

NEW for the 10th Anniversary party: I will be rockin and rollin, and Lt. Dan’s New Legs will cap off the night with a special performance!

Tickets are available now:
$100 VIP and $65 General Admission
Visit www.MiraclesAndMagic.com for information on our two great ticket levels and to purchase yours! 

 

For full details:

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/life_and_entertainment/2012/03/08/illusions-make-kids-smile-awhile.html

 

While I am slammed with commitments and gigs this weekend, I am really looking forward to this event! In addition to getting to work with one of my favorite people, Jon Petz, I also get to be part of an event that helps kids do what they are supposed to do…BE KIDS while fighting for their lives and helps the parents enjoy what parents are supposed to do, enjoy their kids being children-while for a moment or two escaping the expenses, as well as life and death scenarios that are taking place in doctors’ offices and hospitals.

 

The above thought was triggered in a movie I watched last night. Growing up ‘Footloose’ with Kevin Bacon was always one of my favorites, and the remake with the beautiful Julianne Hough is almost as good. Both relate to me; small town kid in a hick-town with a love for music, and kinda rubs people the wrong way creating a bad reputation. My mom always liked the original as well, and last night I realized that there is another theme of the movie(s).

 

The Footloose storyline is based on laws outlawing dancing, music, etc in attempt to shelter the kids of a small town, and “protect” them. While these rules are idiotic, the concept and reasoning is not that out of reach. Any parent wants the best for their children and for their children to be protected. One line in the movie states “Parents are supposed to look after kids, and kids are supposed to be ‘dumbasses’.” In all honesty, behind the music, dancing, and action of this movie-and in life…that is what a parent and child relationship is all about it. It is parents wanting to protect their children and keep them safe, and for kids to have fun, mess up…and just be healthy KIDS! This is the reason I love the movie ‘Footloose’ and the reason I am looking forward to being part of the Miracles and Magic event on Friday! To help kids have the chance to mess up and be a kid (even if it means I will yell at them).

 

The only reason I rented a movie last night is cause I have not been feeling good this week. The weather changes have triggered my sinus issues AGAIN, and the weeks of training I have been involved with I think caught up with me, as my entire body is achy and sore.

 

A lot of people reached out to me and asked how I did last weekend with my “Pump & Run” event. The short end is I was close to my time in the run I wanted, and my lift-while good, was not what I wanted. The long end, like anything I do…has a story and one of those “only Matt” backlines.

 

I did do a “Pump & Run” workout out last Sunday, however it was not “official.”

 

I received a text from a friend who was supposed to get me into the event after registration had been maxed out. The reason my buddy got me in, is due to the inability, and false truths told by another individual that he would get me in. This did not happen, and my buddy “miracled” me in. Like me, this guy is on the road a lot, and in his efforts to help me, did not get my paperwork in on time for me to compete on Sunday.

 

I had been training since January 1st, so I said SCREW IT, I am not doing any of this for a medal, I am doing for me!

 

The day prior I spent most of the day in the sauna, and was “ready.” When I left the gym, I  weighed in at 169 pounds, my strength was up and it had been nice out that week so the run should be good as well (was hoping for an 8:47 pace mile-which to runners sucks, for me, it would have been great!). I talked my trainer and talked him into meeting me at his gym to weigh and do the bench portion of the “Pump & Run” task at hand. He agreed, however told me he was competing in events at the Arnold later in the day and had to make it quick. Quick is an understatement.

 

I arrived to his gym early on Sunday (the same time the “official” event was taking place), and was anxious to meet my goals! I was a lil pi**ed about all the events of this day but, whatever I was gonna do it! My trainer arrived, opened the doors and grabbed the scale. I did not have time to get ready to weigh in, or “relieve” myself, as I anticipated to get my weight down. I weighed in heavy at 173 (yet DID NOT EAT ANYTHING OR DRINK VERY MUCH WATER THE NIGHT PRIOR). Oh well.

 

Again my trainer was in a hurry, and was doing me a favor, he racked 175 on the bench (not 173) and said “let’s go.” In all of my training sessions I had done A LOT of warm ups before “repping out.” While I did have a lil bit of warming up, it was not what I wanted and did not prepare adequately resulting in 175 for 21 reps. I was more than a lil disappointed, and my shoulder and wrist were more than a lil hurting!

 

Next up was the run. I hate running to begin with! My buddy had a mile long loop set up for me and left to go to his event with me to run with my GPS, and report back to him. I have not run in the cold since high school (YES I KNOW A MISTAKE!), I had been running inside when cold locally, and outside in the warm when on the road out of town. So you can imagine how much I was looking forward to running in a “wind advisory” with snow showers and 28’ early on a Sunday morning.

 

My first ½ mile I thought, this is nothing! Very easy and not very cold. I rounded my first turn and it was easy, I then rounded the second turn and HOLY SH*T! Straight into the wind and snow, and it was uphill (didn’t realize the first half wind was to my back and I was going downhill). So this began to SUCK! Still got in an 8:37 minute mile and I was happy. The next half again was easy with the mile mark at 1 ½ miles was really sucking! I was huffing and puffing, but still got in an 8:32 minute mile. Now for the fun part…

 

Not only was I gassed, and cold! But there was a new obstacle presented to me in the weekend of “Matt Moments.”

 

I was running a loop in Grandview, and there was a building that looked like some folks were moving offices or warehouse space. I didn’t pay much attention, except to notice the nice looking brown and white spotted dog in the yard of the building. I watched him out of the corner of my eye, and he did not seem to notice, or mind me as I was continuing to go on my way with the headphones blasting some Pantera.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AkFqg5wAuFk&ob=av2e

 

The crunchy guitars were helping me to stay focused and tune everything out (especially at a high volume).

 

As I was made my way towards my start of the final mile there was car coming towards me in the street and he was stopped. I thought “come on dude, I AIN’T gonna dash out in front of you”-and was actually annoyed! I then turned and saw why he was stopped. He thought he was gonna get a show.

 

I turned to see the good looking brown and white spotted dog sprinting towards me barking growling and snarling with his owner about 100 yards behind yelling (I heard the yelling over the loud guitars and bass lines of Pantara in the headphones). Dogs DON’T scare me, but this dog that could have been as cute and cuddly as Snoopy, reminded me more of Cujo from a Stephen King Novel. SO I stopped, took the headphones out, and prepared to stop him. He probably could have taken me, but as his owner was yelling “he won’t hurt you” (REALLY!!! You are in a dead spring and still 100 yards behind this beast and you have the balls to THINK THAT!?!?), I put my hand between his snarling foaming large jaws (trust me he will get bigger and meaner every time I tell the story), and told him to STOP! Well he listened to this Dog Whisperer and stopped even though he was growling foaming and snarling with his big white fangs…he was sitting! The owner came retrieved his beast , and I was back at.

 

That last mile REALLY SUCKED! Now I was wet from sweat, and had stopped and was COLD! But I got it done and finished with a pace of 8:57 mile for 27:54 at 3.11 miles. It was not a good day, or even close to what I wanted but I was dealt some bad cards and had to play what I had.

 

That is what we have to do in life. Day in and Day out can suck. There are many things that we do to ourselves to prevent us to making our goals (like me not saying I HAVE TO WARM UP, or prepping for the possible elements by running outside), or life throws at us (like the HUGE UGLY SNARLING DOG with only 2 front fangs and rabies who was chasing me down to kill me). We must find a way to meet our goals, learn to overcome the situation, adapt and find a way to get ‘er done next time, find joy in success, and not b*tch about what we are dealt with.

 

But one area I will bitch about, after weeks of dieting, and this sh*tty run, all I wanted was a Cinnamon Roll for breakfast (screw the Gator Aid/Vitamin Water and Banana!). So I went to Tuttle Mall to get a Cinnabon before church. By this point in the day it was 10:15am AND THEY WERE CLOSED!?!? Funny thing this pi**ed me off worse than any of the other obstacles of the day!

 

 

For ANYONE in a Band AND DJ’s. I am still looking for a large number of bands, and DJ’s to play an early morning event on Saturday May 5 from (approx 8am-Noon). There is pay involved, and minimal to no work with exposure to over 15,000 people!!!

Interested bands and DJ’s should e-mail matt@m3ssports.com and include a link to music samples. Confirmation
e-mails will be sent upon acceptance. The number of entertainment acts selected will be capped at 50.

 

 

PLEASE JOIN ME: 

March 9
Please join ME, and my buddies, Lt. Dan’s New Legs at The Miracles & Magic: Opening Night Party at the LC Pavilion on Friday, March 9 with bigger plans and more amazement than ever before! World-class sleight-of-hand illusions in a private show or at your cocktail table alongside other unique entertainment and surprises. For more info: www.MiraclesAndMagic.com

March 10
Join my crew, and The Reaganomics at The St. Patrick’s Day 4 Miler at Kinsale. Produced by M3S Sports, this event running and walking event slightly veiled as a reason to party over a four-mile course through the neighborhood around the beautiful Kinsale Golf and Fitness Club. For more info: http://www.m3ssports.com/events/st-patricks-day.htm

Roar into the Irony Pony, and watch the Daytona Supercross Speedvision Broadcast LIVE Super Cross on our Jumbo Screen while rockin’ and “rollin” along inside the store with the season debut of the newest products and apparel!
https://www.ironpony.com/news.asp

March 11
Join me as I rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The St. Louis Blues
PLEASE “suggest” “like” or become a “fan” of our new “fan page” Matty Sexton on facebook.http://www.facebook.com/DJMattySexton

PLEASE check out the updated website (please let us know what you think?) http://www.rmsexton.com

TIME TO BOOK YOUR 2012 Events
“Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

 

Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

 

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:
MARCH 17 (St. Patty’s Day!)
Two Pending Bar Events

MARCH 23
Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Hurricanes

MARCH 30
Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Panthers

MARCH 29-30
Join my crew and Get down with Saint Agatha’s at the grooviest
70th party ever. We’ll be celebrating all things 70s, with all of the proceeds from ticket sales,
our silent auction and the live auction going to support our school.
Can you dig it at Monsignor Kennedy Parish Hall

MARCH 30-APRIL 1st
I AM ROCKING THE NCAA FINAL FOUR, In New Orleans!!!

 

April 7th

Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The New York Islanders

 

 

THOUGHT(s) FOR THE WEEK:
‘Don’t Make Assumptions. Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.’- Tommy Hampton

 

 

QUESTION OF THE WEEK:

One question. One simple little question that if answered consistently could be worth millions, not to mention improved happiness and health. It’s a fact that modeling a positive attitude reduces injury and sickness by thirty percent, and can even extend a person’s life by fourteen years.

We have heard the importance of being positive for years, but prior to this one little question, very few knew exactly how to be optimistic and positive. As a psychologist, I can say the truth is that our minds have a “negativity bias” and are built in a way that it is easier to focus on problems than to emphasize solutions. The good news is that most of us are already somewhat solution-focused. The path to greatness begins by becoming more solution-oriented until focusing on solutions becomes the norm. The key to optimism lies in the simple question:

What is one thing I can do differently that could make this better?

Be sure to follow a few guidelines when using the million dollar question:

* The + 1 Concept: Focus on improving, not perfecting. You do not need complete resolution of the problem. You only need improvement. Consistent improvement over time leads to resolution. With this in mind, all problems have a +1 solution.

* Be Relentless: Within sixty seconds, turn every problem thought into a solution focus.

* Utilize the Socratic Power: The power of this tool lies in its use as a question. Avoid answering this question for another person. Encourage others to develop their own solutions by answering for themselves.
http://www.positivelypositive.com/2012/03/04/the-million-dollar-question/

 
SONG(s) FOR THE WEEK:
YEP!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Y2icHOgC5U

 

Having a down day this week, this came on and not only a big smile…but some great memories

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2uNl0648zQ&ob=av2e

 

YEA, please do!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqEO-WNQuC4&feature=share

 

I love this song, and since I will be with them at Ford Field this weekend:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpCtGmaNd-Q&ob=av2e

 

Don’t like him, or HIM, but this is a GREAT SONG! (melody brings back a memory)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HBh7cVZubk

 

 

DID YOU KNOW?:
The most effective way to cure intractable hiccups? A butt massage with your finger
Sounds extremely weird, but a paper written by the Department of Internal Medicine from the Bnai Zion Medial Center in Haifa Israel, found just that.

A 60-year old man with acute pancreatis developed persistent hiccups after they put a nasogastric tube in him. When they removed it, the hiccups didn’t stop. They tried a bunch of methods, and none work.
http://www.omg-facts.com/

HELP:
Help my Buddy “Lars”-Larry Miller out? “Out” literally?

Please help bail me out!  I am participating in the upcoming MDA
“Lock-Up” event on March 15th and my bail goal is to raise $2,400 for local
children and adults with muscular dystrophy.  I need your help…and every donation
makes a difference right here in our community.

If each one of you will give just a small donation toward
my bail, I will reach my goal in no time!

Here’s how it will add
up:
-$80 per person: I will exceed my goal and be able to provide service support to a local
family for a year!!
-$70 per person: I will raise enough to fund 10 visits to the MDA Clinic at Nationwide
Children’s Hospital (children) or The Ohio State  University Hospital (adults)
-$55 per person: I will raise enough to send 2 local children with muscular dystrophy to
summer camp
-$25 per person: I will raise enough to assist 1 person with repairs their wheel
chair/leg braces for one year.

Your tax-deductible donation is appreciated and really matters to those living with
muscular dystrophy – right here at home.  For your convenience, following is a link
to MDA’s secure site; just click on the link and you will directed to my “bail”
page.
http://www2.mda.org/goto/larrymiller

If you prefer to make your donation by check, just make it payable to “MDA” and I will turn it
in when I go behind bars. Just let me know if that is your preference.

Our help is their hope for treatments, cures and assistance.  Thank you in advance for
your consideration and for helping to make a difference.

 

MUST READ:

Epiphany Of A Cancer Survivor: Celebrate Every Day
“Celebrate every day.”—Wendi Cooper
To make a long story short, in the past I went through domestic abuse and divorce, and for some time was the single mother of two boys from two different fathers. But for the past thirteen years I’ve been married to a wonderful man, and I have had a thriving, successful direct response production company since 1994.

Five years ago I thought I had an inguinal hernia and went in for the operation to fix it. When I woke up from the operation, the doctor stood over me saying that I did not have a hernia but ovarian cancer—stage III-C ovarian cancer, as it turned out, which had oddly enough surrounded a lymph node located in the groin, and to this day no doctor has been able to understand it. They had to give me a complete hysterectomy—I mean complete, I have only a bladder—and I had to undergo major chemotherapy.

They gave me my first chemo treatment of Taxol and carboplatin, which is extremely strong and incredibly toxic. I didn’t really know what to expect. Chemo doesn’t affect you at first—then several days later you start feeling sick. So the first time you go through the session you’re kind of waiting for it to happen. Gradually I started to feel gross, and every day it got a little bit worse, until one night I was lying in bed thinking, praying, “Oh God, I’m not going to be able to do this. I can’t do it.” I was thinking about my mother, whom I’d been watching battle cancer for years, and now I had cancer. “I can’t do this.” And I meant it with every fiber of my being. I was desperate and terrified.

I was lying there thinking this, praying this, and suddenly I heard this voice say to me, “You’re going to be okay. Everything will be fine.” That’s what I heard. It wasn’t my inner voice or a voice in my head, but a man’s voice outside of me to my left. I can’t describe it really, but it was soothing, very soothing, and I wasn’t scared at all. It was what you would think a Higher Being’s voice would sound like. It might sound crazy, but I know I heard it, and I know it was real.
http://www.positivelypositive.com/2012/03/06/cancer-survivor/

 

 

PASSING:
Cindy King, former owner of Nancy’s Home Cooking, 1949-2012
‘Angel’ fed residents’ bodies, spirits

The phrase was used by many people when referring to a beloved community member whose feisty personality and mouth-watering foods were a staple of the area.

Cindy King, former owner of Nancy’s Home Cooking, died Saturday, March 3, at the age of 63. King, who had suffered from heart disease, was in hospice at the time of her death.

After purchasing Nancy’s Home Cooking in 1971 from Nancy Kimmerling, King turned the little diner into the community landmark it is today. “Eat it and Beat it” was the message to customers, who usually understood the importance of moving along so Nancy’s could serve the next person standing and waiting in line.
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/trending-now/obese-man-emotional-plea-help-goes-viral-170515091.html

 

 

BIRTHDAY:

Lady Antebellum Help Ring in Oreo’s Centennial Birthday
Lady Antebellum helped celebrate a very important 100th birthday today, but it wasn’t the birthday of a historical figure or a celebrity. No, this was a birthday party for a cookie — the Oreo, to be exact. The ‘We Owned the Night’ singers took the stage at the Grove in Los Angeles to perform in honor of the centennial birthday of America’s favorite cookie. To add to the festivities, the opening act was a flash mob.

“We just had a flash mob open for us, first time that’s ever happened,” Charles Kelley told USA Today after the performance. Lady A performed a handful of their chart-topping songs and then led the audience in singing a rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’ to the Oreo. And don’t think that the occasion made the cookie any less susceptible to consumption. On the contrary, the whole band and their enthusiastic crowd had their fair share of cookies and milk.

“I had three,” said Dave Haywood. When asked how many she had enjoyed, Hillary Scott said, ”Two or three.” Then, Kelley added to Haywood’s total tally, interjecting, “Dave’s lying. He did 100 — for the 100th birthday!”

http://tasteofcountry.com/lady-antebellum-oreo-birthday/ 

 

 

ANNIVERSARY:
Anniversary of the 2008 Central Ohio record snowstorm
With temperatures in the 60s this week, it seems odd that today is the anniversary of the biggest snowstorm in Columbus history.

The monster storm dumped a total of 20.4 inches of snow on Columbus by the end of the day on March 8, 2008, breaking the record for a single storm. The previous record of 15 inches had stood since 1910.

The late-season snow paralyzed central Ohio, but its arrival on a Saturday was less disruptive than it might have been on weekday. Many weekend events, including some church services, were canceled, and most schools remained closed on Monday.

Here is some highlights of that storm:
* Non-emergency driving was prohibited in 24 counties that declared Level 3 snow emergencies, including most of central and southeastern Ohio.

* More than 90 percent of the flights at Port Columbus were canceled on March 8.

* Two deaths were attributed to the snow. A 61-year-old man died while shoveling at his Union County home, and a Pickaway County woman, 49, died in a traffic crash.

* The State Highway Patrol handled 1,914 crashes around Ohio.

* Among the events postponed due to the storm were the four high school girls state championship basketball games.

 

* AND MY BIRTHDAY PARTY was cancelled

http://www.dispatch.com/content/stories/local/2012/03/08/2008-snowstorm-revisited.html

 

 

ENTERTAINMENT:
4 Famous Pop Culture Moments Everyone Remembers Incorrectly

I pride myself on having a fairly good memory. Not when it comes to directions, phone numbers, people’s birthdays or what my friends look like, mind you; I’m just talking about important things, like pop culture. The parts of my brain that are supposed to be dedicated to remembering where I parked my car, math and whether or not I left my front door unlocked have been reassigned to focus on random bits of pointless TV and movie trivia, because I work for a website that covers pop culture in exhaustive detail (and because I don’t actually have anything worth stealing, so really, who cares if my door’s unlocked?).

It always throws me for a loop, then, when I discover that one of my long-held, previously unquestioned beliefs about pop culture is completely and utterly wrong. These are just a few of the pop culture truths that I need to remind myself of occasionally …

#4. The Word “Ewok” Was Never Once Said in Star Wars
Star Wars is and was always expanding its library of weird aliens. A New Hope gave us Jawas and Sand People, The Empire Strikes Back gave us Tauntauns and Return of the Jedi gave us the ridiculous mini-Wookiees known as Ewoks.

And they were known as Ewoks, right? Someone certainly called them that in the movie, right?
But Actually …Nope!

.
#3. In Humpty Dumpty, No One Says Anything About an Egg
Humpty Dumpty is an egg.
But Actually …Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall
Humpty Dumpty had a great fall
All the king’s horses and all the king’s men
Couldn’t put Humpty together again.
Nope. Not a single mention of an egg in the whole poem. I mean, egg or no egg, it’s weird that the king’s horses would even be involved in this kind of restoration project, but even that’s not as strange to me as the fact that I have never once questioned Humpty Dumpty’s egg status, even though it’s never explicitly brought up. Going just by that poem, there’s no reason to assume he’s an egg; he could just be a guy who fell and cracked his skull open, which makes the king’s desperate and futile attempt to “put him back together” much more tragic (and the involvement of the horses even more suspect).

#2. Will Smith Never Says “Welcome to Earf” in Independence Day
Handsome air-and-eventually-space-pilot Will Smith, after being chased by an alien spacecraft, manages to force the craft into a crash landing. When the spaceship opens up and a spooky alien emerges, Smith fearlessly punches it in the face and, like the unflappable badass he always plays, casually drops a classic movie one-liner that can only be described as Willsmithian: “Welcome to Earf.” Audiences cheer, aliens tremble and Earf continues to spin.

But Actually …He says “Earth,” you racist.
I’ve seen this movie a lot, so if you asked me, I’d tell you that Will Smith obviously never said “Welcome to Earf” in Independence Day. If you ask the Internet, however, he most certainly did:
That’s over 40,000 results, and none of them are saying “You know he actually says ‘Earth.'”

 

#1. No One Asks Scotty to Beam Them Up (and a Bunch of Other Stuff No One Ever Said)
“Beam me up, Scotty” is so iconic that even non-Trek fans know that it refers to the original Star Trek series. It was one of the show’s catchphrases, uttered by one of the cast members at least once an episode, whenever they needed Montgomery “Scotty” Scott to teleport them from some alien planet to the ship. “Beam me up, Scotty” was Star Trek’s “Book ’em, Danno.”
But Actually …In truth, it’s the exact opposite of that, because they said “Book ’em, Danno” on Hawaii Five-O all the time.
Take a wild guess at how many times “Beam me up, Scotty” is used on Star Trek. If you guessed any number other than zero, congratulations, you’re wrong! Members of the Enterprise would say “Scotty, beam us aboard” or “Beam me up” or “Hurry up and beam my shit, boy-eeeee,” but never, not once, did anyone say “Beam me up, Scotty.”

Similarly, Darth Vader never once says the phrase “Luke, I am your father.” The actual line is “No, I am your father,” because Vader is reacting to Luke, who accuses Vader of murdering his father. If you don’t believe me — if, like me, you’ve lived your whole life hearing Vader say that line in your head so clearly that you know the pitch and cadence of the word “Luke” in the context of that phrase.

You can’t get any clearer than that. Even though the line in my head is and always will be “Luke, I am your father,” there’s no denying that it’s a line that has never once been said. Just like “Elementary, my dear Watson” (never used in any of the Sherlock Holmes books) or “Play it again, Sam” (never uttered in Casablanca). It’s not just that a few people are forgetting the actual quotes; these are all cases where the misquotes are infinitely more famous than the truth.

There’s a new Snow White movie coming out called Mirror, Mirror, despite the fact that the phrase “Mirror, mirror, on the wall” was never used in Disney’s Snow White (it’s actually “Magic mirror on the wall”). Granted, the original Snow White story as it appears in the Brothers Grimm collection contains the words “Mirror, mirror,” but, hell, I’ve never read that collection and it doesn’t change the fact that, until I Googled “Snow White” a few days ago for this article, I always believed that the evil queen said “Mirror, mirror” and not “Magic mirror.” It’s so ingrained in my memory that, even as I sit here, watching clips from Snow White where the queen is clearly saying “Magic mirror,” I’m still inclined to say “No, bullshit, you’re saying it wrong.”

http://www.cracked.com/blog/4-famous-pop-culture-moments-everyone-remembers-incorrectly_p2/#ixzz1oZjBrgOs

 

MUSIC:
Garth Brooks among those chosen for Country Music Hall of Fame
Country Music Hall of Fame announces 2012 inductee…: Garth Brooks, Connie Smith and Hargus ‘Pig’ Robbins Garth Brooks, Connie Smith and pianist Hargus “Pig” Robbins are the newest members of the Country Music Hall of Fame, hall officials announced Tuesday.
Brooks has been tapped as this year’s “modern era artist” inductee, while Smith fills the hall’s “veterans era artist” slot and Robbins enters in the category for “recording and/or touring musician prior to 1980.” The latter rotates every third year with “nonperformer” and songwriter inductees.
“I am astounded and honored to be in the Country Music Hall of Fame,” Brooks said in a statement. “At the same time, I can’t help but feel guilty going in when there are so many deserving artists that came before me who are yet to be inducted.

“There’s a room that the best days in your career stand in,” Brooks added through his spokeswoman. “This honor will stand beside being inducted into the Opry, playing the 100th anniversary of Cheyennne with Chris LeDoux and getting to be part of Oklahoma’s centennial celebration.”

Brooks is the biggest-selling country artist of all time and ranks third on the Recording Industry Association of America’s list of top-selling artists in all genres, behind only the Beatles and Elvis Presley.
http://www.postcrescent.com/article/20120308/APC0502/120308023/Garth-Brooks-among-those-chosen-Country-Music-Hall-Fame

 
BOOKS:

‘Don’t Put Me In, Coach: My Incredible NCAA Journey from the End of the Bench to the End of the Bench’-Mark Titus

In 2006, Mark Titus arrived on Ohio State’s campus as a former high school basketball player who aspired to be an orthopedic surgeon. Somehow, he was added to the elite Buckeye basketball team, given a scholarship, and played alongside seven future NBA players on his way to setting the record for most individual career wins in Ohio State history. Think that’s impressive? In four years, he scored a grand total of nine—yes, nine—points.

This book will give readers an uncensored and uproarious look inside an elite NCAA basketball program from Titus’s unique perspective. In his four years at the end of the bench, Mark founded his wildly popular blog Club Trillion, became a hero to all guys picked last, and even got scouted by the Harlem Globetrotters. Mark Titus is not your average basketball star. This is a wild and completely true story of the most unlikely career in college basketball. A must-read for all fans of March Madness and college sports!
http://www.amazon.com/Dont-Put-Me-Coach-Incredible/dp/0385535104

 
MILITARY:
If Senator Graham is so excited about war, put a helmet on him and let him go over. I served with him, we and others made a mistake being taken in by the big Bush WMD lie. It was a lie-period. Now, the neo-cons are doing everything possible for a war. Have we not learned? –Congressman Ney

 

(I may be a Bush supporter {The GW prior to his last 9 months in Office}, however I listen to those who know far more than I. Bob Ney may have made some mistakes, but he knows what he is talking about, and he is a great man!). He introduce me to the following article;

 

Another bogus argument for war with Iran?

You know a case for war is weak when its advocates have to marshal blatant untruths in order to convince people that their advice should be followed. Exhibit A is today’s alarmist op-ed in the New York Times, in which former IDF general Amos Yadlin argues for a preventive strike against Iran’s nuclear facilities.

He recites the by-now familiar arguments for an attack, and makes it clear that he thinks Obama should make an “ironclad” pledge to do it if Iran doesn’t cease its nuclear activities. But the big historical howler comes in the middle of the piece, where he attempts to deal with the counter-argument that an attack would only delay an Iranian program, and probably not for all that long.

 

He writes:
“After the Osirak attack and the destruction of the Syrian reactor in 2007, the Iraqi and Syrian nuclear programs were never fully resumed.”
http://walt.foreignpolicy.com/posts/2012/03/01/another_bogus_argument_for_war_with_iran#.T0_qtM3_owx.facebook

 

 

POLITICS:
Mitt Romney Is Winning, But He’s Not ‘Winning’

After he’d absorbed the reality of Super Tuesday, in early February 2008, former Gov. Mitt Romney concluded he had no path to the GOP presidential nomination. In the CPAC speech where he announced he was dropping out of the race, Romney cited the need for Republican unity in a time of war. The truth was, this “conservatives’ conservative” (as he was introduced at the ’08 CPAC) could not shake former Gov. Mike Huckabee on his right flank—especially in the all-important Southern states.

Sen. John McCain did not deliver a knockout punch to Mitt Romney on Super Tuesday. He needed Huckabee’s help. Nevertheless, it was spun as a clear McCain victory in aggregate. Romney’s summary departure and endorsement only intensified McCain’s aura of inevitability.

After 2008’s Super Tuesday, with Romney out, Huckabee (having won Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, and Tennessee) went on to defeat McCain in the Kansas caucuses and Louisiana primary. But these were token victories. It was widely understood that Huckabee would drop out once McCain reached the delegate threshold. The McCain campaign was politely letting Huckabee ride in its sidecar.

This was the position Romney hoped to be in after this year’s Super Tuesday contests.
He’s not.
http://www.usnews.com/opinion/blogs/scott-galupo/2012/03/07/mitt-romney-is-winning-but-hes-not-winning

 

 

IDEER OF WEEK:

I am glad he said it!

GLAAD Fires Back After ‘Growing Pains’ Star Kirk Cameron Calls Homosexuality ‘Unnatural’
Former Growing Pains star Kirk Cameron is taking heat from GLAAD after remarks made on CNN’s Piers Morgan Tonight.

During Friday’s interview, Cameron called homosexuality “unnatural” and “destructive.”

“I think that it’s unnatural. I think that it’s detrimental and ultimately destructive to so many of the foundations of civilization,” the actor, who played Mike Seaver on the 1980s TV series, said on the program.

“Marriage is almost as old as dirt, and it was defined in the garden between Adam and Eve. One man, one woman for life till death do you part. So I would never attempt to try to redefine marriage. And I don’t think anyone else should either,” Cameron said. “So do I support the idea of gay marriage? No, I don’t.”
http://tv.yahoo.com/news/glaad-fires-back-growing-pains-star-kirk-cameron-221503692.html?fb_action_ids=833345477327%2C3410351386649%2C833612741727%2C1951760371231%2C3452876444432&fb_action_types=news.reads&fb_source=other_multiline&code=AQDy4YK3PAWZigyaVSmGfmsmoh1dDlckv16Rj7P3Lk_OBU8291J0XWZfYFfoJt439aESKQy8qDjlpxEG1xar6r6qongkj6opZu6-0soScllGTgHcUPwOn2kLhF9H36-q9Z8VdYkGqC_5ZSiOVTwJouO1RCTy1iJkwe18AbVcRcF0ovhyNAiwuRH4gZdr2DIST6U#_=_ 

 

 

YOU DA MAN:

Pure Class
http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=7656806

 
UMMM?:

I don’t know much about soccer, but this does not seem right?

Unconscious Soccer Player Gets Red Card For Diving

Diving is a serious problem in soccer, yes? One referee is fighting the good fight, no matter how many critically injured players he has to send off.
From the lower tiers of Belgium comes poor Julien Lecomte, who was elbowed in the back of the head during a match last week. As he was being wheeled off on a stretcher, the referee decided to show him a red. Lecomte was taken to the hospital and diagnosed with a concussion and three displaced vertebrae. The lesson here is that if you simply must suffer a painful and debilitating neck injury, don’t do it in the box. They’ll never believe you.
http://deadspin.com/5890870/

 
WHAT THE HE**?:
Obese Man’s Emotional Plea for Help Goes Viral

A 23-year-old obese man’s video plea for help is going viral. Robert Gibbs of Livermore, California, recorded a video of himself asking the world to help him lose weight. In the video, Gibbs says he weighs between 600 to 700 or more pounds. He has tried everything on his own to lose weight, from going on diets to being hospitalized, but has been unsuccessful at keeping off the weight.

Gibbs says he’s “making this video, because he doesn’t know what else to do.” He asks viewers to “please post and share this video as much as possible,” because he is hoping that it will go viral and he will get the help he needs from a nutritionist, a personal trainer, or maybe even Dr. Phil McGraw or “The Biggest Loser.”
http://news.yahoo.com/blogs/trending-now/obese-man-emotional-plea-help-goes-viral-170515091.html

 

 

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?:

Outrageous Story: Hockey Dad Accused of Trying to Blind Teenage Goalie With Laser
The father of a youth hockey player in Massachusetts is facing charges for disrupting a game. According to police, Joseph Cordes used a laser to attempt to blind a Medway goalie who was playing against Winthrop, his daughter’s team. Julie Banderas reported that witnesses say they saw Cordes shining a bright green laser into the eyes of the teenage goalie.

The goalie of the Medway team said at the time she thought someone was trying to take a picture. She recalled seeing a spot, kind of like when you look at the sun and then look away. Meanwhile the goalie’s father said, “The fact of the matter is that a malicious act by one individual actually turned the tide of the game.”
http://foxnewsinsider.com/2012/03/07/outrageous-story-hockey-dad-arrested-for-trying-to-blind-teenage-goalie-with-laser/

 

NO WAY!:

Mila Kunis: ‘I Don’t Get Asked Out’
Mila Kunis is Harper’s Bazaar’s April cover girl. Mila Kunis is arguably one of the hottest actresses in the world, but that doesn’t mean guys are banging on her door asking for a date. After ending an eight-year relationship with Macauley Culkin in 2010, the “Friends With Benefits” star has been unattached — not that she’s complaining. “I honestly think being single’s great,” Kunis, 28, tells Harper’s Bazaar in its April issue. But she’s quick to add, “Being in a relationship’s great [too]. It’s all about the timing.” But time is what she doesn’t seem to have. The actress just wrapped a six-month shoot in Detroit filming “Oz the Great and Powerful” with James Franco and Michelle Williams (Kunis plays Theodora, the Wicked Witch of the West), and the time away really affected her dating life. “I don’t get asked out,” she says. “This past year, I haven’t been home, so who’s going to ask me?”
http://omg.yahoo.com/blogs/aline/mila-kunis-don-t-asked-213935508.html

 

 

SPORTS:

Cardio And Pooping: A Chart Of Every MLB Player Who Reportedly Lost Or Gained Weight This Offseason (And Why)

Every spring training, seemingly every other ballplayer shows up to camp and declares himself “in the best shape of my life.” Our pal Craig Calcaterra over at Hardball Talk has done yeoman’s work on this phenomenon over the years, but we wanted to know more: Who gained weight?

 

Who lost weight? How much? And why?

We’ve compiled a list below featuring baseball’s biggest losers and gainers for the 2012 baseball season. With a few exceptions, the 2012 weight figures were calculated using listed weights for 2011 and adding or subtracting whatever pounds were gained or lost. A word of caution: Because we’re talking about two things that entail a great deal of magical thinking—baseball players and weight—it’s likely that just about every number listed below is a fib.

http://deadspin.com/5889745/

BUCKEYES:

scUM got something right this week!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uZxViLo5Yl4&feature=player_embedded

 

 

RELIGION:
I have my own beliefs and do NOT force on others, I have no desire to have a politician and someone who wants to be in the White House, OR HIS FOLLOWERS do the so either!

The Under-Told Story of How Santorum Became a Crusader for the Religious Right

With his narrow defeat in Ohio on Tuesday night, Santorum missed his chance to send Mitt Romney reeling, and to become the arguable front-runner for the Republican nomination. But Santorum didn’t fare poorly enough to slink off and call it a campaign. The former Pennsylvania Senator has made clear that he’s staying in the race, especially as it heads into a batch of Southern states where Romney, who fares best among well-educated, high-income, non-evangelical Republicans—might find a lukewarm reception.

And as long as he sticks around, Santorum is sure to keep steering the political conversation towards the issues of religion, morality and sexual mores that have come to define his political identity, but which may be causing the Republican party severe damage with the moderate swing voters they’ll need to beat Barack Obama this fall. And don’t discount the possibility that Newt Gingrich drops out of the race, suddenly creating a head-to-head contest between Romney and Santorum (with Ron Paul nibbling at the margins) that could spell Rommey’s doom.
http://swampland.time.com/2012/03/08/the-under-told-story-of-how-santorum-became-a-crusader-for-the-religious-right/

 
FINANCE/BUISNESS:
The Warren Buffett Haters Club
After his manifesto in the New York Times last August titled “Stop Coddling the Super-Rich,” Berkshire Hathaway (BRK.A) Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Warren Buffett—a man who had seemed universally admired in capitalist circles for both his business acumen and kindly Midwestern disposition—found himself under attack. In the article he’d questioned a tax code in favor of the “mega-rich,” and declared “it’s time for a shared sacrifice.” A Republican chorus called on him to simply open his checkbook if he felt his taxes were too low. Corporate titans such as former General Electric (GE) Chairman Jack Welch and former American Express (AXP) CEO Harvey Golub expressed their disappointment, as well. Now that the Obama administration hopes to make the “Buffett Rule” official policy (in his State of the Union speech in January, President Obama invoked it as a proposed 30 percent minimum tax on incomes over $1 million), Bloomberg Businessweek compiled some of the criticisms of Buffett and his namesake rule—and the instances when the Oracle of Omaha deigned to respond.

“He should just write a check and shut up. Really. And just contribute. OK? I mean, the fact of the matter is that I’m tired of hearing about it. If he wants to give the government more money, he has the ability to write a check. Go ahead and write it.” —New Jersey Governor Chris Christie, Feb. 22, 2012, regarding the Buffett Rule

Buffett’s Response:
“It’s sort of a touching response to a $1.2 trillion deficit, isn’t it? That somehow the American people will all send in checks and take care of it?” —Feb. 27, 2012

“If he’s feeling guilty about it, I think he should send in a check. … But we don’t want to stagnate this economy by raising taxes.” —Senator Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Sept. 18, 2011, regarding the Buffett Rule

Buffett’s Response:
“It’s sort of astounding to me that somebody that has the responsibility for being the Minority Leader in the Senate would think that you attack a $1.2 trillion or so deficit by asking for voluntary contributions.” —Feb. 27, 2012

“If Warren Buffett believes that he is not paying enough taxes, then he should write a check today to the United States Treasury.” —Representative Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.), Sept. 19, 2011, regarding the Buffett Rule

“I think Mr. Buffett is a real intelligent individual, but I can promise you, he doesn’t know what’s going on in places where the job creation is at a zero because of over-taxation and over-regulation.” —Texas Governor Rick Perry, Sept. 29, 2011, regarding the Buffett Rule

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/the-warren-buffett-haters-club.html

 

LET ME HELP YOU GET YOUR PRODUCT/SERVICE OUT TO CONSUMERS!!! How does over 25,000 EMAILS sound to your come company. We have a list of over 20,000 and can assist you in getting YOUR MESSAGE/BRAND/IDEA directly to consumers. The Hyatt has even recently booked our services. WE GET MESSAGES OUT TO CONSUMERS! This is a unique and inexpensive chance to brand your services, and reach beyond your current clientele list. My current list of customers has indicated that this unique form of FREE advertising has helped their brand and ID name. If anyone provides me a lead, and I can close the lead…I will pay 100% of first week revenues received. You make 100% of what I make, just for referring me to someone. For more info, or a list of current ecstatic customers e-mail sosaudio@yahoo.com

BOOKING EVENTS FOR 2012! “Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.”- WARREN BUFFETT

Now is the time of year that is especially popular for engagements, and for putting together wedding plans for 2012. If you or someone you know is getting married, we can make their day special. We have been in the entertainment and wedding industry for over 25 years. Our expertise will make you or your friend’s wedding, a moment to remember. Call 614-580-3118 to secure your date, or go to www.rmsexton.com

 

 

HEALTH:
This explains it!!!

Kids’ Snoring Linked to Behavioral Problems
Researchers Say Parents and Doctors Need to Pay Closer Attention to Breathing During Sleep

The more young children snore, breathe through their mouths, or stop breathing while asleep for a few seconds at a time, the more likely they are to develop behavioral problems, a new study shows.

Previous research had suggested a link between these “sleep-disordered breathing” symptoms and such problems as hyperactivity, but the authors of the new study say theirs is by far the largest and most comprehensive of its kind.

The researchers followed more than 11,000 children in an ongoing study in southwest England. The study enrolled pregnant women who were due to deliver between April 1991 and December 1992.

For the latest findings, researchers asked parents to fill out questionnaires about their children’s snoring, mouth breathing, and apnea, which refers to abnormal pauses in breathing while asleep. The questionnaires were completed when the children were 6, 18, 30, 42, 57, and 69 months of age. When their children were 4 and 7 years old, the parents were asked to complete questionnaires about their children’s behavior.

About 45% of the children breathed just fine while asleep, according to their parents. Of the rest, the “worst case” children had elevated levels of all three breathing symptoms at 30 months of age, says researcher Karen Bonuck, PhD, a professor of family and social medicine and of obstetrics and gynecology and women’s health at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York.
http://children.webmd.com/news/20120302/kids-snoring-linked-behavioral-problems

 

 

INSPIRATION:.

5 Reasons Today Isn’t Going to Suck
http://www.cracked.com/blog/5-reasons-today-isnt-going-to-suck/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=fanpage&utm_campaign=new+article&wa_ibsrc=fanpage

 

SUCCESS:
Take pride in how far you have come, and have faith in how far you go. –Christian Larson

 

Success is simple. Do what’s right, the right way, at the right time. ~ Arnold H. Glasow

 

QUOTES:

“Thunder is good, thunder is impressive; but it is lightning that does all the work” – Mark Twain
CLOSING:

‘Time = Life, Therefore, waste your time and waste of your life, or master your time and master your life.’

 

When we Consistently Generate Thoughts of Giving … we Attract the Energy of Giving Back to Us” ~Wayne Dyer

 

 

TO DO:
THURSDAY:
My Buddy, Matt, aka Uncle Kracker- Live in Concert at The Bluestone

THURSDAY AND FRIDAY:
Tracy Silverman plays the Midland Theater

SUNDAY:
The Glenn Miller Orchestra plays The Midland Theater

MORE TO DO:
SATURDAY:
Kick off St. Paddy’s Day Early with a HUGE St. Patrick’s Day Celebration and one of the largest St. Paddy Day Parades in The World Throughout Dublin Ohio

www.irishisanattitude.com

ALL WEEKEND:
Columbus RV Supershow at The Ohio Expo Center.

www.ohioexpocenter.com

FUNNIES:
THURSDAY:

Gabriel Iglesias plays The Franklin County Veterans Memorial

SATURDAY:
Lisa Lampanelli plays The Palace Theatre

CAPA: The Second City’s Laugh Out Loud Tour at The Lincoln Theatre

ALL WEEKEND:
Rob Little plays all Weekend at The Columbus Funny Bone Comedy Club at Easton

IN THEATERS:
‘John Carter’ opens in Imax, 3D, and other formats, rated “PG-13”

The terrifying ‘Silent House’ rated “R”
Eddie Murphy stars in ‘A Thousand Words’ rated “PG-13”

 
DVD:
A GREAT REMAKE, and one of my favorites, ‘Footloose’ rated “PG-13”
Adam Sandler, and well…Adam Sandler star in ‘Jack & Jill’ rated “PG-13”

Date Night Movie…that I actually liked (yes that is kinda sad). The soundtrack alone has a very cool hip coffee shop vibe to it (AND I DON’T DRINK COFFEE) ‘Like Crazy’ rated “PG-13”

ON THE MUSIC SHELVES:
The Rock & Roll poser, Bruce Springsteen releases his much over hyped, “Wrecking Ball”

COMING SOON PUBLIC EVENTS:

Every Friday join my buddy DJ Chris O at The Filling Station kicking off your weekend with all your favorite hits, and some of the cheapest drinks in town
MARCH 17 (St. Patty’s Day!)
Two Pending Bar Events

MARCH 23
Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Hurricanes

MARCH 30
Join my crew when they rock the Budweiser Terrace as The Columbus Blue Jackets take on The Panthers

MARCH 29-30
Join my crew and Get down with Saint Agatha’s at the grooviest
70th party ever. We’ll be celebrating all things 70s, with all of the proceeds from ticket sales,
our silent auction and the live auction going to support our school.
Can you dig it at Monsignor Kennedy Parish Hall

MARCH 30-APRIL 1st
I AM ROCKING THE NCAA FINAL FOUR, In New Orleans!!!
Follow us:
www.RMsexton.com
www.facebok.com/theonemattsexton
http://www.twitter@mattysexton
http://foursquare.com/user/mattysexton

March 9, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment